• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6990 Watercooled Temp Question

Ricin

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#1
I wonder if anyone can help me please. I recently bought a 6990 then over this weekend fitted a waterblock just like with my old 5970.

Well so far it seems solid it will run Heaven Benchmark for hours no problem. Also seems good in games.

Now my question is this I use GPUZ to monitor the temps to make sure everything is OK. The GPU for both cores seem fine the Vram seems fine both cores.

The one that is concerning me is on Core1 what does GPU Temp #1, GPU Temp #2, GPU Temp #3 measure any ideas please ?

Specially GPU Temp #3 after gaming I have seen that go over 100c on Core1. Core2 is always much much cooler than that. Even just in normal Windows 7 it runs around the 75c to 80c which seems hot to me.

I did try Furmark for about 1 minute then had to close it down. On Core 1 GUP Temp #3 got to 150c and I shut it down at that point before any problems happened.


Core 1

Core 2
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
SRI LANKA
System Name UNKNOWN
Processor E8400 @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Foxconn G31MX-K
Cooling Stock Intel Cooler
Memory 3GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI 4870 512MB Reference
Storage 500GB SATA2
Display(s) SAMSUNG E2220
Case Mercury ATX
Audio Device(s) Inbuilt Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic SS-400ET 400W + mod
Software Win7 Ultimate 32-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't care it
#2
these temps (GPU Temp #1,2,3) may not indicate GPU core temps, It may be various area of card like Memory, VRM.

try to point a fan in to cards Memory area and VRM area, then check temps for any change..
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
194 (0.08/day)
Likes
32
Location
Montreal, Canada
Processor Phenom II 955 @ 3955Mhz 1.45v
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper TX3 push-pull /2x140mm + 2x230mm + 2x120mm = super noisy computer
Memory 4x2Gb Kingston DDR3-1333 8-8-8-22 @ 1527Mhz
Video Card(s) Crossfire 2x Sapphire Radeon 6850 @ 850/1200
Storage 320Gb Western Digital WD3200AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 23" 1920x1080
Case Azza Solano 1000R Full-Tower
Audio Device(s) VIA VT1708S (integrated) + quadraphonic speakers
Power Supply CoolerMaster Extreme Power Plus 700w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#3
GPU Temperature is for sure the core temp
Temp #1 maybe a sensor near the core since temperature are similar
Temp #2 and #3 should be two rows of ram next to the core which is not being cooled by the water block, which explains the high temps
VReg is obviously the vid card VRM module
 

Ricin

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#4
Thanks for that responses so far guys.

Pavithra good idea on trying a fan over the card never thought of that I will dig one out and give it a go.

St-Alia I am fairly sure its not the RAM. There are 8 RAM Chips on the front of the card & 8 on the back. The ones on the front are covered by the waterblock its a full cover waterblock each RAM chip has a thermal pad on it to make sure they get good contact.

On the back of the card the 8 chips are covered by the original metal cover. I cant see the would get that hot to be honest. Otherwise ATI would have put a fan to blow over the back if you see what I mean. :)
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
416 (0.15/day)
Likes
331
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2667 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage Many = 12TB + Crucial MX200 SSD
Display(s) Dell P2414H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
#5
The AMD GPU Temp sensors usually work as follows:

Temp 1 = Display IO (Display controller in GPU)
Temp 2 = Memory IO (internal memory controller in GPU)
Temp 3 = Shader (internal temperature in the shader core)

All the sensors are inside the GPU itself, not on the card. The MemIO Sensor is usually the hottest. The sensor for the VRMs is listed separately, and not included in those temps. The RAM itself doesn't have a temp sensor AFAIK.

Normally on the dual GPU cards one GPU is hotter than the other, sometimes its due to one GPU doing more work, or the cooler itself.
 

Ricin

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#6
Ahh so if its inside the core itself. As long as the card is stable you think I should pretty much ignore it ?

The waterblock has good contact on the core as you can see the actual core is only at 48c. Even gaming it does not much get above 65c ish.

Never thought I should have looked at the temps before I took the air cooler off lol.

Anyone that has a 6990 running on Air Cooler. If you would not mind please post up your temps when your card is sat idle. Thanks :)
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
416 (0.15/day)
Likes
331
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2667 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage Many = 12TB + Crucial MX200 SSD
Display(s) Dell P2414H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
#7
from what i see in your pics of the 2 core temps, it looks like something is using core 1, its clocked up slightly (450MHz vs 250MHz) and the vcore is 1.0v as opposed to the 0.9 of the other core. Looks like some video playing or something, even a 720p you tube video can clock up the cores.

Also, are you running the latest Catalyst version (11.6)?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,186 (3.44/day)
Likes
18,169
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#8
All the sensors are inside the GPU itself, not on the card. The MemIO Sensor is usually the hottest. The sensor for the VRMs is listed separately, and not included in those temps. The RAM itself doesn't have a temp sensor
that.

the dispio/... locations you listed were confirmed on some older asics, for newer generation gpus nobody outside ati/amd knows
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
416 (0.15/day)
Likes
331
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2667 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage Many = 12TB + Crucial MX200 SSD
Display(s) Dell P2414H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
#9
that.

the dispio/... locations you listed were confirmed on some older asics, for newer generation gpus nobody outside ati/amd knows
Interesting... Thanks W1z. I assumed that the locations on a 69xx would be same as 58xx / 59xx. Didn't think AMD would have any reason to change their locations on such a "minor" architecture change. I stand corrected though, thanks again :)
 

Ricin

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#10
Not running anything in the background no vids etc. I think it might have something to do with Windows 7 Aero might be the difference in the core speeds at idle.

Yeah running 11.6 Cats as I say it seems OK in games etc. Runs good fps etc no stuttering or problems. Just a scary high temp that can reach. Specially with Furmark I wont be running that again lol :)

Had the waterblock off & on about 4 times temps always do about the same as above. Maybe it just runs that way. It seems to kick out some serious heat I have it rigged up to a 120.3 with 3 120mm fans running flat out when gaming to keep it cool.

Not so bad when idle also gives me a chance to turn the fans right down.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#11
Not running anything in the background no vids etc. I think it might have something to do with Windows 7 Aero might be the difference in the core speeds at idle.

Yeah running 11.6 Cats as I say it seems OK in games etc. Runs good fps etc no stuttering or problems. Just a scary high temp that can reach. Specially with Furmark I wont be running that again lol :)

Had the waterblock off & on about 4 times temps always do about the same as above. Maybe it just runs that way. It seems to kick out some serious heat I have it rigged up to a 120.3 with 3 120mm fans running flat out when gaming to keep it cool.

Not so bad when idle also gives me a chance to turn the fans right down.
Hi

When you fitted the block, did you check that you had good contact between the thermal pads and the block; from past experience not all PSB's are equal and VRM hight varies. If you did check before your final build all well and good, but the temps on GPU 3 look a little high.

nb: you may have inadvertently knocked a thermal pad out of position! which could course this issue.

atb

Law-II
 

Ricin

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#12
Yeah tried to make sure each one had contact fully. Also tightened down the screws in the correct order etc.

The pads are double sided stick and stick to the card so they can not move. But to answer your question. Yes I put the block in place took the block off made sure nothing moved etc.

I might try that idea above with the fan blow that across it slowly moving from one end to the other. Monitoring the temps. If that has an effect may be its not good enough contact as you say.

But if the temps are on the GPU and that runs at 48c. Then I cant see there is a lot I can do about it.

I do agree though Temp 3 is pretty bad. Just cant understand how that is so high yet on Core2 it seems half the temp.

Would really like to see someone that has one on Air post up there idle temps. I should have done that to mine before putting the waterblock on. Then again hindsight is a wonderful thing :)
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#13
Yeah tried to make sure each one had contact fully. Also tightened down the screws in the correct order etc.

The pads are double sided stick and stick to the card so they can not move. But to answer your question. Yes I put the block in place took the block off made sure nothing moved etc.

I might try that idea above with the fan blow that across it slowly moving from one end to the other. Monitoring the temps. If that has an effect may be its not good enough contact as you say.

But if the temps are on the GPU and that runs at 48c. Then I cant see there is a lot I can do about it.

I do agree though Temp 3 is pretty bad. Just cant understand how that is so high yet on Core2 it seems half the temp.

Would really like to see someone that has one on Air post up there idle temps. I should have done that to mine before putting the waterblock on. Then again hindsight is a wonderful thing :)
Hi

Just having a look around found this; may be worth having a look around the web

nb: Looking at the PCB layout of the HD 6990 the issue could be VPU 1 & Bridge chip being almost on top of each other; which may inturn allowing heat to build up in that section of the PCB

pic's here http://hothardware.com/Reviews/AMD-Radeon-HD-6990-Review-Antilles-Has-Arrived/?page=3

atb

Law-II

" EK Water Block for 6990 - 04-06-2011, 17:27 | posts: 2,097 | Location: uk nottingham
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Got the EK block fitted to the 6990 big improvement very quiet pc again and temps vastly improved.

AMD stock cooler the idle temps were 48c and running benchmarks using the fast bios it would top out at 90c now with water block idle temp is 33c and highest so far running heaven is 52c and this is with adding the card to the cpu loop.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=342220
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Last edited by John Dolan; 04-06-2011 at 19:02.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,682 (1.09/day)
Likes
967
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC / Miner
Processor i5 8600K @4.5Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970 / i5 2500k
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3/ P67 Pro 3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903 / Stock
Memory 16Gb Nighthawk 3000 MHz/ 4GB DDR3 / 16gb DDR3 / 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT / 2x1060 + 1080
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO/ 250gb Mechanical
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV/ None
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240 / Custom
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W / FSP 850 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#14
if in doubt, reapply the block and see if that "fixes" it. the only time i have had sensors give values more than 5 degrees apart is when the heatsink was unevenly applied, even if you think you've put it on as carefully as possible, it still could be crooked.
 

Ricin

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#15
Thanks for the search. I am using the very same waterblock as in your link an EK Nickel one.

Might take off the waterblock again fit it one more time then see if that helps. Just been playing Witcher 2 with it been rock solid.

Come out of game checked and Temp 3 maxed out at 107c on Core 1 on Core 2 maxed at 46c something must be wrong somewhere.

With the EK waterblock you basically put new thermal pads on pretty much exact same spots as with the Air Cooler.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#16
Uh are you aware of the serious issues with EK nickel blocks right now? How long have you had it?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#17

Ricin

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#18
Hmm well was not aware of the Nickel issue with EK I will have to keep an eye on the block. It has a plexi cover so should be OK to see I would think. Had an EK block on my old 5970 for well over a year. I trust EK if there is an issue they will replace it.

As an update thank you to everyone that has posted. It seems I have finally fixed it :) what finally did it was reinstalling the waterblock for the millionth time lol.

This info may be of some use. The guys that said GPU Temp #1 to #3 that it reads off of the GPU are 100% correct.

When I took off the waterblock I could see there was no thermal paste on GPU Core 1 on thee top left hand corner of the GPU. Rest of the GPU was fine had paste. That area must have been overheating paste must have smeared when I fitted it last time.

No idea if its of any help to know those 3 readings come from that corner of the GPU or not lol but it appears it is....

Now the new screenshots...

Core 1 idle

Core 2 idle

Core 1 after 5 mins of Furmark. Now before under 30 seconds GPU Temp #3 hit 150c. This time around ran it 5 mins it settled massive difference in temp.

Core 2 after 5 mins of Furmark.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,682 (1.09/day)
Likes
967
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC / Miner
Processor i5 8600K @4.5Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970 / i5 2500k
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3/ P67 Pro 3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903 / Stock
Memory 16Gb Nighthawk 3000 MHz/ 4GB DDR3 / 16gb DDR3 / 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT / 2x1060 + 1080
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO/ 250gb Mechanical
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV/ None
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240 / Custom
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W / FSP 850 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#19
99% of the time, any big discrepancies in temps are caused by incorrectly applied heatsinks. It's always worth double checking as it can be more dangerous to have an incorrectly seated heatsink as none at all. Usually the overheat protection kicks right in and shuts down your gpu, but i think it only monitors one of the temps, so if one is low, but the others are high i would imagine you could fry your card.