• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6x2GB DDR3 1600MHz or 6x4GB DDR3 1333MHz

6x2GB DDR3 1600MHz or 6x4GB DDR3 1333MHz


  • Total voters
    20
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
415 (0.13/day)
Likes
95
Location
You are here.
System Name Prometheus
Processor Intel i7 4930K
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Quad Channel 64GB DDR3 1.35V
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 4GB
Storage 2 x Intel 330 240GB RAID0 + 2 x Intel X-25M G2 160GB MIRROR + 4 x 2TB WD Green
Display(s) AMH A409U 4K
Case Intertech AP1
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCIe
Power Supply Seasonic X660
Mouse Razer Death Adder 2013
Keyboard FILCO Majestouch 2 Ninja
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
Hello guys. I guess you won't see this question asked very often. What would you buy, 12GB DDR3 1600MHz 7-8-7-20 1.65V with heat spreaders or 24GB DDR3 1333MHz 9-9-9-25 1.5V without heat spreaders? I know that 12GB is enough for now, but I expect that by the end of next year, 12GB would be the norm for top Intel platforms.

I often use multiple VMs (2 or 3), for certain programming projects, also a heavy Photoshop (ab)user, I have multiple IDE's open all the time, a couple of database servers also an apache server with multiple modules installed and other stuff that can eat up RAM really fast.

The kits in question are made by Kingston, the only other manufacturer I trust is Mushkin. Corsair has fallen from my graces due to multiple defective DDR2 kits I had in the past.

I use an overclocked i7 930 CPU (3.5 - 4.2 depending on my needs) and a Gigabyte X58A-UD7.

As for the price of the kits, the 24GB kit is just 30% more expensive then the 12GB kit. Both kits are 6 modules, also I will not be able to buy 3x4GB now and 3x4 "later" since DDR3 kits become EOL very quickly and I do not want to run mismatched modules (I know it should work)...
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#2
Hello guys. I guess you won't see this question asked very often. What would you buy, 12GB DDR3 1600MHz 7-8-7-20 1.65V with heat spreaders or 24GB DDR3 1333MHz 9-9-9-25 1.5V without heat spreaders? I know that 12GB is enough for now, but I expect that by the end of next year, 12GB would be the norm for top Intel platforms.

I often use multiple VMs (2 or 3), for certain programming projects, also a heavy Photoshop (ab)user, I have multiple IDE's open all the time, a couple of database servers also an apache server with multiple modules installed and other stuff that can eat up RAM really fast.

The kits in question are made by Kingston, the only other manufacturer I trust is Mushkin. Corsair has fallen from my graces due to multiple defective DDR2 kits I had in the past.

I use an overclocked i7 930 CPU (3.5 - 4.2 depending on my needs) and a Gigabyte X58A-UD7.

As for the price of the kits, the 24GB kit is just 30% more expensive then the 12GB kit. Both kits are 6 modules, also I will not be able to buy 3x4GB now and 3x4 "later" since DDR3 kits become EOL very quickly and I do not want to run mismatched modules (I know it should work)...
If you really expect to use up 12GB+ of RAM then get the 24GB kit since the price difference is tiny for twice the memory. The performance difference between the kits isn't anything to get overly excited about anyway and if you really do enough work to use up a ton of RAM having more of it is better. The only issue I see is that the faster RAM might be better for overclocking your CPU - but the 1333 kit will OC as well.

Though I do have to wonder why you need this much RAM. I have a 12GB kit and I do all sorts of memory eating things on my system and my 12GB aren't even close to getting eaten up. I have a friend who actually worked as a graphics designer, and he still dabbles in Photoshop and 8 gigs of RAM with his 1055T is more than sufficient for him (including for some gargantuan images).
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,834 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,125
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#3
12GB will exceed memory requirements for a few years yet, buy 24GB and think that possibly 12 - 16GB will never get touched, surely thats the same as emptying your wallet into the toilet and flushing? If you really are or beleive your using more than 12GB regularily and you mention server apps, perhaps you should be moving to a multi CPU system and slotting in that extra ram, that way you would be getting the most productivity for your needs.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,027 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#4
- RAM will not affect your i7 Overclocking...

- RAM is not like hard drives, matching sticks WILL NOT BE BETTER than mismatched sticks

- With your extra RAM, you can RAMdisk

- Value is better with the 24GB kit

And Tatty, there area actually ways to use all the RAM :p VM wares, photoshop, video editing and RAMdisks are only a few examples

EDIT: good call on the multi CPU, though he would have to invest alot that he might not have too for his needs. If you do go dual CPU, 2x E5620s are real nice b/$ wise
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
415 (0.13/day)
Likes
95
Location
You are here.
System Name Prometheus
Processor Intel i7 4930K
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Quad Channel 64GB DDR3 1.35V
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 4GB
Storage 2 x Intel 330 240GB RAID0 + 2 x Intel X-25M G2 160GB MIRROR + 4 x 2TB WD Green
Display(s) AMH A409U 4K
Case Intertech AP1
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCIe
Power Supply Seasonic X660
Mouse Razer Death Adder 2013
Keyboard FILCO Majestouch 2 Ninja
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
Just to clarify, 12GB is a must. I now have 6GB and my pagefile has already increased in size. I can of course tweak the software I use so that I can live with 12GB, from what resources I see to be using at the moment. One thing I could start doing is close/reopen applications.

The DB servers would be the ones eating up about 4-8GB or RAM, they like to cache things, and speed is greatly improved if I configure them to use more. Sometimes I need to do very large data imports from other applications and very often I need to fix any errors that can occur during these large imports and also any errors that can occur post import. I don't work with live DB's, but I do need to load up the entire dumps. The VM's are required for testing, you need an "unclean" development machine (the actual host) and more then a couple of clean VM's to simulate real clients' situations with different OS'es. A few times I needed to start up a few cloned VM's in order to at least try to simulate concurential loads on a given application. And more then a couple of times I find myself in need to rollback VM's to different snapshots in order to replicate a certain bug and I need to do that without "taking a break".

During all this crazyness I keep Photoshop open and slowly but steadly continue to develop a web presence or just to provide a distraction from all the "crazy".

But the thing is the price difference is relatively small. The 12GB kit would be ~275 EUR and the 24GB kit would be ~355 EUR. That comes down to an ~80 EUR difference, for 12GB "extra" RAM. I was dead set on 12GB when I realised how small this difference can be with the small speed downgrade. I am skilled enough to overclock my system with any kind of RAM, but faster is always better (and easilier).

I remember 3 years ago, when everyone told me that 2GB is enough and I used to have 8GB in my computer and it felt really good. There is a strange thing, but RAM will suffer from fragmentation. The more you have the better.

As for a true dual socket workstation. I wish. But what I realised is even without overclock, I rarely make full use of the CPU, the bottlenecks with memory and storage keep the CPU quite underutilised, even if I have SSD's in RAID0. I only overclock for that extra responsiveness that it adds to the system.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.37/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#6
To me, it sounds as if you've already made up your mind on the 24GB. In which case it definitely sounds as if it won't be wasted even if you don't use all of it.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,431 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,946
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#7
I work in Photoshop professionally and I used to run 8 gigs of RAM. I NEVER used it up. I went down to 4gigs for speed reasons. Even when I am working on major files 4 gigs is plenty. Hell I have TPU open, Bridge, iTunes, Illustrator and Photoshop with a 1gig file open right now and I am sitting at 70% with 4gigs.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,909 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#8
I work in Photoshop professionally and I used to run 8 gigs of RAM. I NEVER used it up. I went down to 4gigs for speed reasons. Even when I am working on major files 4 gigs is plenty. Hell I have TPU open, Bridge, iTunes, Illustrator and Photoshop with a 1gig file open right now and I am sitting at 70% with 4gigs.
Throw in some WM's there and see it get eaten up. :p

I would go for 12GB and buy beer or something for the rest, but that's just me.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
112 (0.04/day)
Likes
31
Location
Shreddzville, AZ (USA)
System Name Speeds Build
Processor Core I7-940 @ 3.8 GHz HT/on
Motherboard ASUS P6T-SE
Cooling Corsair H50 Hydro Series
Memory 12gb Corsair Dominators (6x2Gb) Tri-Channel 1600MHz DHX
Video Card(s) XFX 6870 BE
Storage WD Velociraptor 10kRPM 300GB /2x Samsung Spinpoint F3 7200 RPM
Display(s) LG FLATRON E2350V 23" / 17" Compaq monitor
Case SILVERSTONE RV02B-EW
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DG
Power Supply COOLERMASTER GX 650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (Build 7600) 64-bit
#9
The only reason why i would get 12+ gbs of ram would be if i did video encoding regularly, it does use up many cores and it does use up alot of ram, my cousin can almost max out his ram while doing encoding for work, and hes has 6 gigs of dominator GTs, and that just for 2 minute clips in HD.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,112 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,294
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#10
ramdisk 12gb and run the other 12 as system. though tbh an ssd in raid 0 would give around the same performance and cost less I think.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,027 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#11
a RAMdisk is HUNDREDS of times faster than any SSD in RAID 0...............

 
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
112 (0.04/day)
Likes
31
Location
Shreddzville, AZ (USA)
System Name Speeds Build
Processor Core I7-940 @ 3.8 GHz HT/on
Motherboard ASUS P6T-SE
Cooling Corsair H50 Hydro Series
Memory 12gb Corsair Dominators (6x2Gb) Tri-Channel 1600MHz DHX
Video Card(s) XFX 6870 BE
Storage WD Velociraptor 10kRPM 300GB /2x Samsung Spinpoint F3 7200 RPM
Display(s) LG FLATRON E2350V 23" / 17" Compaq monitor
Case SILVERSTONE RV02B-EW
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DG
Power Supply COOLERMASTER GX 650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (Build 7600) 64-bit
#13
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
415 (0.13/day)
Likes
95
Location
You are here.
System Name Prometheus
Processor Intel i7 4930K
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Quad Channel 64GB DDR3 1.35V
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 4GB
Storage 2 x Intel 330 240GB RAID0 + 2 x Intel X-25M G2 160GB MIRROR + 4 x 2TB WD Green
Display(s) AMH A409U 4K
Case Intertech AP1
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCIe
Power Supply Seasonic X660
Mouse Razer Death Adder 2013
Keyboard FILCO Majestouch 2 Ninja
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
Thanks a lot guys, if anyone wants to chip in and give their opinion why one or the other would be the better path, please continue to do so, at this time I am more an more leaning towards 24GB. I will make my final purchase decision by the end of the month. DDR3 prices continue to shift almost daily so who knows what goodies December will bring.