• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

7950GX2 OC help-

Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#1
Hello-
I would like to get some info on OC my current system specifically my graphics card.
I am trying to squeeze out a little more performance until I can do a complete build later this year.
I have OC my AMD 4000+ some and have found many very helpful articles so I am going to give it another go.
But I am really unsure how to go about OC my XfX 7950GX2.
Any suggestions-
BTW- This is my first post, and have to say the TPU is a great forum with tons of good info. :respect:
Thanks
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#2
Hello-
I would like to get some info on OC my current system specifically my graphics card.
I am trying to squeeze out a little more performance until I can do a complete build later this year.
I have OC my AMD 4000+ some and have found many very helpful articles so I am going to give it another go.
But I am really unsure how to go about OC my XfX 7950GX2.
Any suggestions-
BTW- This is my first post, and have to say the TPU is a great forum with tons of good info. :respect:
Thanks
Download Riva Tuner and you'll be able to overclock it somewhat.

But ideally the card would need to be flashed to make the overclock permanent...Personally the 7900 series is old even with a 50% overclock (which is near impossible) the card will struggle on today’s games.


Riva tuner:
http://www.guru3d.com/category/rivatuner/

Edit:

a_ump, but to be fair you have a Q6600 to balance your rig out. Also Unreal Tournament 3 is scalable and it used to play well on my old ATI x1600 pro.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#3
Download Riva Tuner and you'll be able to overclock it somewhat.

But ideally the card would need to be flashed to make the overclock permanent...Personally the 7900 series is old even with a 50% overclock (which is near impossible) the card will struggle on today’s games.


Riva tuner:
http://www.guru3d.com/category/rivatuner/
at a respectable resolution that is. I run UT3 1280x1024 max details 2aa, 8xAF(i thk will double check in min) and i get 40+fps, never noticed lag in it. Now games like far cry 2 i have to run it at 1280x768 at all high no aa/af or i run all med 2xaa. The main thing im interested in is if his 7950GX2 even has SLI support for modern games(crysis, FC2, UT3, Fallout 3, etc).

as darren said, use rivatuner and i'd find your max stable core clock then your memory, as core will have a bigger influence on performance. For stress testing which you should do after each increment you increase your clock(10mhz is what i use), run a program called Furmark. Run the stability test at w/e resolution, doesn't really matter, for 10-15min. If there are no artifact(abnormalities of discoloration in the fuzzy donut :p) then it is stable. Then just increase, furmark, increase, furmark, etc until you have found your max stable clocks.
 
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#4
That will give me a place to start-
I have seen ppl talk about volt mods and adjust fan speed and such, but I really didn't know how to start-

I will give this a try and see how it goes-
Thanks! I will keep you posted-
Edit: The card will need to be flashed... I am not sure I follow you?
Thanks
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#5
That will give me a place to start-
I have seen ppl talk about volt mods and adjust fan speed and such, but I really didn't know how to start-

I will give this a try and see how it goes-
Thanks! I will keep you posted-
Edit: The card will need to be flashed... I am not sure I follow you?
Thanks

Flashing the bios means replacing the old bios with the new edited bios. The advantage if this is the overclock doesn't require any software and is permanent.

I'm not sure if there are any volt mods for the 7900 series, but its too much hassle to figure out. If performance is lacking just spend $90 and get a new card.
 
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#6
I know... Time to upgrade......:)
but figure I have to wait til later in the year might as well OC as hard as it will go-
plus will be a good "experiment" LOL
Thanks
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#7
$90 isn't going to solve too much for a new card. The 7950Gx2 is inline with the rest of his comps performance. Really when it's time for an upgrade something like a PII 710/720, 780g/790x/790GX/790FO mobo, 4GB ram, and a new card would really be the only way to go. Of coarse other choices can be made for parts, but thats a good start for pretty cheap.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#8
i concur with kurgan :p. oc that baby to its max and then save for a new rig if you feel performance is insufficient, and come back here when(if) you plan to build that new rig :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#9
also try GPUtool from here, so we will know if it works with your card.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#10
ah, great suggestion, as it's stress test runs my GPU temp just as high(i thk higher actually) as Furmark. Download GPUTool here. Using "find max" buttons for memory and core helped me find my max stable oc past what i thought it was with rivatuner.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#11
Last edited:

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#12
Thats not too simple. Here's simple, CCC, GPUtool, or ATItool. Move sliders up on GPU 5mhz at a time find max. Then move mem sliders up 5mhz at a time till max. As the GPU OC is going to provide more gain in power then a higher mem OC.

ME I personally just shoot high, I set the OC to my goal and try it, if it doesnt work I get sad and work backwards. As todays hardware is so hard to kill, not like older comps. :D
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#13
Thats not too simple. Here's simple, CCC, GPUtool, or ATItool. Move sliders up on GPU 5mhz at a time find max. Then move mem sliders up 5mhz at a time till max. As the GPU OC is going to provide more gain in power then a higher mem OC.

ME I personally just shoot high, I set the OC to my goal and try it, if it doesnt work I get sad and work backwards. As todays hardware is so hard to kill, not like older comps. :D
this is dose not always work , some card's when you fined max gpu you can't reach real max memory cuz high GPU sometimes hold memory overclock
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#14
this is dose not always work , some card's when you fined max gpu you can't reach real max memory cuz high GPU sometimes hold memory overclock
very true, but a high core clock on nvidia cards is more benefitial than a higher mem clock. That's why i always find my max core. If i do memory first i can reach 1360 stable but only like 476 or something core. Core first i reach 496, then 1340 mem which is slightly better according to 3dmark06 and CSS benchmark.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#15
very true, but a high core clock on nvidia cards is more benefitial than a higher mem clock. That's why i always find my max core. If i do memory first i can reach 1360 stable but only like 476 or something core. Core first i reach 496, then 1340 mem which is slightly better according to 3dmark06 and CSS benchmark.

also 100% right and agree with you this is the point , so we say better reach max GPU overclock with nvidia cuz nvidia always Lack for high gpu speed , but with ATI better overclock the memory cuz ATI Lack of high memory bandwidth
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#16
also 100% right and agree with you this is the point , so we say better reach max GPU overclock with nvidia cuz nvidia always Lack for high gpu speed , but with ATI better overclock the memory cuz ATI Lack of high memory bandwidth
Not really, if your talking 4870/4890 they have a ton of bandwidth, GDDR5. And even on the lower end cards the GPU clock is almost always going to give you better results. A furmark run on my 4870x2 showed that a GPU core increase of 3mhz gave better results then a memory increase of 30mhz, which is unreal.

Thats why I said to OC up the GPU first and not the memory, the high mem clock just isn't going to be as beneficial.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#17
IIRC when i was reading up on those cards, there were some quite nice solutions for cooling and modding the 7950GX2's.

For one there is a spacer mod, that opens the gap between the cards to allow for aftermarket coolers. I saw Zalman 700's and 900's could fit then, even Maze4 water blocks could fit after the mod.

I also remember a few Volt mod tutorials comming up in my google searches.

If its just a toy and you want to get every last drop out of it, google is your friend here. Just read up on what you can do, and see if you mechanical abilities can achieve what you are looking to do. As a last word of help, most of the mods are alot simpler than they appear, to actually do, assuming you have the correct tools to do the job at hand.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#18
Not really, if your talking 4870/4890 they have a ton of bandwidth, GDDR5. And even on the lower end cards the GPU clock is almost always going to give you better results. A furmark run on my 4870x2 showed that a GPU core increase of 3mhz gave better results then a memory increase of 30mhz, which is unreal.

Thats why I said to OC up the GPU first and not the memory, the high mem clock just isn't going to be as beneficial.
yeah im talk about 4870 and 4890 , keep 4870x2 on a side cuz it is 512 bit , the bandwidth of 4870 is like gtx 260 shown in GPU-z 115G , but you see gtx 260 have better performance than 4870 , sure cuz too many things booth of us know it but in same time increase memory in 4870 give more FPS in games better than increase GPU , games like crysis warhead , more GPU give high 3d mark 06 score right but we are gaming i can give you high sore in 3dmark 06 with overclocking my cpu and you see 3d mark 06 sore with 4870 and overclocked cpu higher than 4870x2 with cpu on stock
and you can see the 4870 card have greater clock than gtx 260 but 260 have better performance , so high GPU isn't everything
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#19
yeah im talk about 4870 and 4890 , keep 4870x2 on a side cuz it is 512 bit , the bandwidth of 4870 is like gtx 260 shown in GPU-z 115G , but you see gtx 260 have better performance than 4870 , sure cuz too many things booth of us know it but in same time increase memory in 4870 give more FPS in games better than increase GPU , games like crysis warhead , more GPU give high 3d mark 06 score right but we are gaming i can give you high sore in 3dmark 06 with overclocking my cpu and you see 3d mark 06 sore with 4870 and overclocked cpu higher than 4870x2 with cpu on stock
and you can see the 4870 card have greater clock than gtx 260 but 260 have better performance , so high GPU isn't everything
Furmark has zero to do with a CPU, isn't like those other tests. I outscores another 4870x2 when my processor was a lowly AMD 5000+ black Edition and the other guy had a Intel Q9650. The 4870x2 isn't 512bit either though, only 256, the old 2900's were the 512bit.

I'm not saying there is no gain in memory clocks, but as far as a FPS increase in games from the same % overclock to ram compared to GPU, I'm just doubting it. I wish I wasn't too lazy to test as I have a 4870 :p Memory OC is going to come in handy when you start bottlenecking from the GPU pushing too much info and that just isnt the case unless you have some awesome cooling and are volt modding, then when you turn the GPU clocks way up the memory clocks will provide a nice gain.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#20
Furmark has zero to do with a CPU, isn't like those other tests. I outscores another 4870x2 when my processor was a lowly AMD 5000+ black Edition and the other guy had a Intel Q9650. The 4870x2 isn't 512bit either though, only 256, the old 2900's were the 512bit.

I'm not saying there is no gain in memory clocks, but as far as a FPS increase in games from the same % overclock to ram compared to GPU, I'm just doubting it. I wish I wasn't too lazy to test as I have a 4870 :p Memory OC is going to come in handy when you start bottlenecking from the GPU pushing too much info and that just isnt the case unless you have some awesome cooling and are volt modding, then when you turn the GPU clocks way up the memory clocks will provide a nice gain.
ok that's acceptable
 
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#21
Thanks for all the suggestions-
I didn't get a chance to OC my card this weekend, I put my pc back togather, added more case fans, and worked on OC my AMD 4000+, I can get it to boot @ 2.9XX, but It is just not stable yet.. still in progress, but it is stable @ 2.86X so I am pushing for 2.9-3.0 ghz... so mabey... then it is on to OC my 7950GX2. I had to fix my friends sister's lappy, had a bunch of malware and then a random LAN party broke out, so that took most my time LOL.
Thanks for the suggestions, I will post back with results.
Thanks
 
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#22
also try GPUtool from here, so we will know if it works with your card.
I tried the GPU tool, it seems to work with my card, although i guess I don't have anything to compare it to.. LOL.

I am having a little trouble though, I use the find max, and it runs the clocks WAY UP, until the screen turns black and freezes up even if I (x) out of the "fuzzy donuts" window, it just keeps going up and up!! no artifacting that I can see ..... When move the slider, and the run the stability test, I get an error that says something about pixels... sorry can't remember exactly what it says.
Do both sliders need to be moved up in the same amount of increments (5mhz) or move them separate to find the max of each? (I am a n00b at this)
Since it is 2 cards togather I have the 2 cards listed in a drop down, should both cards have the same clock speeds? If I click default and check the 2 cards with the drop down, one is clock a little slower that the other.... does that matter... when I move the slider the are in sync with core and mem speeds?
Also, when you click run stability test, if you have a few errors in the "fuzzy donut" will it hurt anything to leave it like that, burn up your card, or will it be unstable like a CPU?
also, the fan part of gpu tool does not seem to do anything for me.... so I used rivia tuner to turn the fan up to 100%- IT IS LOUD, sounds like it is going to take off!!! :D

Any suggestions for a n00b....:confused:
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#23
I tried the GPU tool, it seems to work with my card, although i guess I don't have anything to compare it to.. LOL.

I am having a little trouble though, I use the find max, and it runs the clocks WAY UP, until the screen turns black and freezes up even if I (x) out of the "fuzzy donuts" window, it just keeps going up and up!! no artifacting that I can see ..... When move the slider, and the run the stability test, I get an error that says something about pixels... sorry can't remember exactly what it says.
Do both sliders need to be moved up in the same amount of increments (5mhz) or move them separate to find the max of each? (I am a n00b at this)
Since it is 2 cards togather I have the 2 cards listed in a drop down, should both cards have the same clock speeds? If I click default and check the 2 cards with the drop down, one is clock a little slower that the other.... does that matter... when I move the slider the are in sync with core and mem speeds?
Also, when you click run stability test, if you have a few errors in the "fuzzy donut" will it hurt anything to leave it like that, burn up your card, or will it be unstable like a CPU?
also, the fan part of gpu tool does not seem to do anything for me.... so I used rivia tuner to turn the fan up to 100%- IT IS LOUD, sounds like it is going to take off!!! :D

Any suggestions for a n00b....:confused:
-whatever is your slowest clock stable between the 2, run them both at that speed.
-Yes, lol i killed my 8800GT cause i ignored the errors in furmark and atitool.
-and yep fan part is still very buggy
haha yea, my 7800GTX's fan is loud, but eh i have an AC system right beside it so drowns it down