• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

7970 Not a problem this time

Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
233 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
Location
Australia, SA
System Name Computer MkVIII
Processor 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth P67
Cooling CPU: 212+ EVO GPU: Stock
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ares @2133mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 24" Asus VE248
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#1
Hey guys n' gals.

Just thought I would post some observations between the drivers AMD are releasing these days for the 7970

I'll get right to the point and suggest you use RC11 unless there's a problem between them and your card, because they are far and away the best for gaming. I'll provide some examples below, just Saints Row for the moment until I do some more driver shuffling.

Latest 12.2 WHQL



Old faithful RC11 (Apart from texture/landmass disappearing in TERA)



A bit odd nighttime is only increased by 4fps, but look at that daytime difference, 20fps, that's just sad. I chose this location due to it being a fairly intensive safe house for fps, while driving around RC11 sticks to 55-60, while 12.2 sinks to 30-45.

If anyone else would like to post comparisons, feel free, I'll get to work on some more examples.
 

WiL11o6

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
21
#2
What resolution is that? Just wondering because I've never played Saints Row and 55-60 seems kind of low when BF3 Ultra'd gets low 40fps (min) and 65fps (avg) in 1080p and that's the most intensively graphical game at the moment.

But back on topic, yes I still think the RC11 are the best and is what I am using for my 7970s. It has worked fine since the day I bought my cards, albeit it took me 2 full days to get the drivers to work, but it as worked flawlessly ever since then. New beta drivers have been coming out and I've been ignoring them all since it's working fine now. Every game has been 60fps+ with no stutter so that's all that matters to me. Until an official driver comes that improves the games I play then I'll make a switch.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
233 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
Location
Australia, SA
System Name Computer MkVIII
Processor 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth P67
Cooling CPU: 212+ EVO GPU: Stock
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ares @2133mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 24" Asus VE248
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#3
1920x1080 :)

I don't have an opinion on it, but SRTT is labeled as a fairly mediocre console port, plus this kinda fps is a breeze for the 560Ti in my mates comp with very similar specs.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
229 (0.09/day)
Likes
44
Location
Toronto, ON
System Name The Sovereign's Prince
Processor i5 6600K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290X DirectCU II OC
Storage SanDisk Extreme Pro 480GB, Intel 730 480GB, 2 x 3TB WD Red in RAID 1, 2 x 4TB WD Green in RAID 1
Display(s) BenQ V2400W 24" 16:10 1920*1200 LCD (Review/Pics @ http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1315565)
Case Fractal Define R5 Windowless
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Siberia 800, Asus Xonar Essense STX
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X6
Software Win10 Pro x64
#4
Hey guys,

Just wanted to say regarding Saints 3rd, I've played it multiple times and asking what resolution you're playing it at is the wrong question.

First off, Saints 3rd has a plethora of DX10+ graphical options and since the people labeling it a mediocre port don't know anything about what's necessary to insert DX10-11 features into a DX9 game, it's best not to believe the judgment of the masses unless you're interested in looking into PC port history and then judging it yourself. Straight FPS upon load aren't everything and Saints 3rd is an above average port, at least in this display options context.

Secondly, I've personally verified that Saints 3rd will auto-adjust your settings (usually Shadows) in order to shoot for and maintain 60FPS if you set the profile to "Custom" and then attempt to set each factor yourself. I've seen this when I wanted "Ultra" settings but with AA @ 4x rather than the preset 8x. It changed Shadows from High to Medium on me after about 10 mins of play.

I mention this because it's possible that the game simply hadn't seen you move yet (since your screenshots are in Cribs) and adjusted whatever it adjusts in the background to get your FPS up. So whether you're using the "Ultra" or "Custom" presets might be a factor in all this.

I'm not sure if they patched this out on Feb. 22nd as I haven't seen the auto-adjustments since then (though I haven't really been looking), but if you're interested in another datapoint, I'd like to see the WHQL 12.2 in Saints 3rd again, both when you load up into your Crib... then grab a VTOL and fly a quick lap in your Cribs sector, getting low to the ground and letting trees, cars and people render... then back to the Crib and the same window. There might be changes in the FPS and your Custom settings (if you're using Custom) that you wouldn't expect.

Cheers.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#5
Are you saying that the drivers provided with the card at release are better than the latest WHQL ones?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
233 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
Location
Australia, SA
System Name Computer MkVIII
Processor 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth P67
Cooling CPU: 212+ EVO GPU: Stock
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ares @2133mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 24" Asus VE248
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#6
Hey guys,

Just wanted to say regarding Saints 3rd, I've played it multiple times and asking what resolution you're playing it at is the wrong question.

First off, Saints 3rd has a plethora of DX10+ graphical options and since the people labeling it a mediocre port don't know anything about what's necessary to insert DX10-11 features into a DX9 game, it's best not to believe the judgment of the masses unless you're interested in looking into PC port history and then judging it yourself. Straight FPS upon load aren't everything and Saints 3rd is an above average port, at least in this display options context.

Secondly, I've personally verified that Saints 3rd will auto-adjust your settings (usually Shadows) in order to shoot for and maintain 60FPS if you set the profile to "Custom" and then attempt to set each factor yourself. I've seen this when I wanted "Ultra" settings but with AA @ 4x rather than the preset 8x. It changed Shadows from High to Medium on me after about 10 mins of play.

I mention this because it's possible that the game simply hadn't seen you move yet (since your screenshots are in Cribs) and adjusted whatever it adjusts in the background to get your FPS up. So whether you're using the "Ultra" or "Custom" presets might be a factor in all this.

I'm not sure if they patched this out on Feb. 22nd as I haven't seen the auto-adjustments since then (though I haven't really been looking), but if you're interested in another datapoint, I'd like to see the WHQL 12.2 in Saints 3rd again, both when you load up into your Crib... then grab a VTOL and fly a quick lap in your Cribs sector, getting low to the ground and letting trees, cars and people render... then back to the Crib and the same window. There might be changes in the FPS and your Custom settings (if you're using Custom) that you wouldn't expect.

Cheers.
Good idea, I'll make a little recording of them both. Both screenshots are set to Ultra (got this card to max it all out so I see no reason for custom :p)

Are you saying that the drivers provided with the card at release are better than the latest WHQL ones?
The ones supplied with my card were even lower version that RC11, but I never really look back on those after RC11 due to such a huge performance boost (I have one of the very first batch ASUS 7970 DCII)

Edit: I don't record often, is there a way for FRAPS to record the fps while recording? Doesn't seem to have an option :(
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
229 (0.09/day)
Likes
44
Location
Toronto, ON
System Name The Sovereign's Prince
Processor i5 6600K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290X DirectCU II OC
Storage SanDisk Extreme Pro 480GB, Intel 730 480GB, 2 x 3TB WD Red in RAID 1, 2 x 4TB WD Green in RAID 1
Display(s) BenQ V2400W 24" 16:10 1920*1200 LCD (Review/Pics @ http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1315565)
Case Fractal Define R5 Windowless
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Siberia 800, Asus Xonar Essense STX
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X6
Software Win10 Pro x64
#7
Edit: I don't record often, is there a way for FRAPS to record the fps while recording? Doesn't seem to have an option :(
Doesn't MSI Afterburner do ingame recording better than FRAPS? I've just heard this, I can't help you with the actual execution.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
233 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
Location
Australia, SA
System Name Computer MkVIII
Processor 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth P67
Cooling CPU: 212+ EVO GPU: Stock
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ares @2133mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 24" Asus VE248
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#8
Well I haven't had any luck recording the fps, but I did remember fraps has a benchmarking mode, completely forgot about it.

Took me awhile to get these due to the amount of times I had to practice the course and making sure each run had the same time of day.

Saints Row the Third

12.2 WHQL (Funny story, these show up as 12.3 if you look under information in CCC)
Frames 5801
Time (ms) 120000
Min 34
Max 98
Avg 48.342
RC11
Frames 7281
Time (ms) 120000
Min 42
Max 100
Avg 60.675

I also tested with Skyrim but the difference is so small it isn't work mentioning, so I guess SRTT doesn't like something changed in the latest drivers. :(

Anyway, thanks for having a read, any suggestions/comments/etc are awesome.

Edit: Some Crysis benchmarks

12.2 WHQL
10/03/2012 4:47:05 PM - Vista 64
Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX10 1920x1080, AA=8x, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=5, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality:
Custom Quality Values:
VolumetricEffects=VeryHigh
Texture=VeryHigh
ObjectDetail=VeryHigh
Sound=VeryHigh
Shadows=VeryHigh
Water=VeryHigh
Physics=VeryHigh
Particles=VeryHigh
Shading=VeryHigh
PostProcessing=VeryHigh
GameEffects=VeryHigh
==============================================================
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 28.05s, Average FPS: 71.29
Min FPS: 52.65 at frame 1958, Max FPS: 93.84 at frame 995
Average Tri/Sec: -21098708, Tri/Frame: -295958
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -3.10
!TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
Play Time: 25.81s, Average FPS: 77.50
Min FPS: 52.65 at frame 1958, Max FPS: 93.84 at frame 995
Average Tri/Sec: -22213298, Tri/Frame: -286625
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -3.20
!TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
Play Time: 25.71s, Average FPS: 77.78
Min FPS: 52.65 at frame 1958, Max FPS: 93.84 at frame 995
Average Tri/Sec: -22250348, Tri/Frame: -286055
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -3.20
!TimeDemo Run 3 Finished.
Play Time: 25.68s, Average FPS: 77.88
Min FPS: 52.65 at frame 1958, Max FPS: 94.36 at frame 990
Average Tri/Sec: -22298614, Tri/Frame: -286335
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -3.20
!TimeDemo Run 4 Finished.
Play Time: 25.70s, Average FPS: 77.83
Min FPS: 52.65 at frame 1958, Max FPS: 94.36 at frame 990
Average Tri/Sec: -22262024, Tri/Frame: -286032
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -3.20
TimeDemo Play Ended, (5 Runs Performed)
==============================================================

Completed All Tests

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

10/03/2012 4:47:05 PM - Vista 64

Run #1- DX10 1920x1080 AA=8x, 32 bit test, Quality: ~~ Overall Average FPS: 77.7475
RC11
10/03/2012 4:31:21 PM - Vista 64
Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX10 1920x1080, AA=8x, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=5, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality: VeryHigh
==============================================================
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 28.24s, Average FPS: 70.82
Min FPS: 52.66 at frame 1961, Max FPS: 93.38 at frame 997
Average Tri/Sec: -20896048, Tri/Frame: -295072
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -3.11
!TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
Play Time: 25.74s, Average FPS: 77.69
Min FPS: 52.66 at frame 1961, Max FPS: 93.58 at frame 134
Average Tri/Sec: -22273448, Tri/Frame: -286713
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -3.20
!TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
Play Time: 25.70s, Average FPS: 77.83
Min FPS: 52.66 at frame 1961, Max FPS: 93.58 at frame 134
Average Tri/Sec: -22303068, Tri/Frame: -286561
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -3.20
!TimeDemo Run 3 Finished.
Play Time: 25.68s, Average FPS: 77.90
Min FPS: 52.66 at frame 1961, Max FPS: 95.98 at frame 105
Average Tri/Sec: -22314102, Tri/Frame: -286461
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -3.20
!TimeDemo Run 4 Finished.
Play Time: 25.68s, Average FPS: 77.87
Min FPS: 52.66 at frame 1961, Max FPS: 95.98 at frame 105
Average Tri/Sec: -22343490, Tri/Frame: -286914
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -3.19
TimeDemo Play Ended, (5 Runs Performed)
==============================================================

Completed All Tests

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

10/03/2012 4:31:21 PM - Vista 64

Run #1- DX10 1920x1080 AA=8x, 32 bit test, Quality: VeryHigh ~~ Overall Average FPS: 77.8225
Edit2: Heaven benchmarks

12.2 WHQL
RC11
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#9
Only thing i can really say is if ur pal u keep on referring to is running a diff os such as 7 64bit u might wanna change. Also unstable overclocks can cause troubles.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
233 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
Location
Australia, SA
System Name Computer MkVIII
Processor 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth P67
Cooling CPU: 212+ EVO GPU: Stock
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ares @2133mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 24" Asus VE248
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#10
Only thing i can really say is if ur pal u keep on referring to is running a diff os such as 7 64bit u might wanna change. Also unstable overclocks can cause troubles.
That Crysis benchmark says Vista just because it's old and wasn't updated after Win7's release, and the test is running in 32bit due to the steam version of Crysis not having a 64 executable :(, also my tiny overclock on my CPU is all i have and that's stable as a rock. Nice fresh OS install too due to me liking fresh installs after SSD firmware updates; man that crucial update was awesome, so much performance increase (Yeah, bit slow I know, been out for ages)
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#11
the test is running in 32bit due to the steam version of Crysis not having a 64 executable
Really? Oh man, that's an epic fail.