1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

7970 Waterblocks on FrozenCPU

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ZenZimZaliben, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
    i hate you rofl

    go run some bench 3dmark or something haha
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9,786 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,939
    Location:
    Florida
    This has gotten me excited about my 7970. Came this evening, and I'm getting to give it some test runs. Next comes a waterblock, probably the EK like you all have ordered. Looking good.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,947 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    1300/1800 not stable @ 1.3v... Looking like 1266/1800.


    [​IMG]

    I am actually a little hesitant to push the memory any further. Going to wait and see what other people get.

    Got the core at 1285 seems to be stable. Need to bench/burn.

    Also for those daring enough. Here is the Voltage HardMod.
    http://kingpincooling.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1553&page=2

    Nothing I will be doing until this card is worth a lot less.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
    So what all comes with the wb ?

    Do i need to get my own barbs and pads for the mem ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,947 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    Just the block and equipment (screws, thermal pads, end caps) to attach it. Barbs are extra.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,505 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,886
    Thank god my card doesn't have a cold bug. All put together and it idles at 5c above ambient.

    Zim,is your 8 pin connector black or gray?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Erocker how long did you have to wait to get one shipped out? I ordered one over the weekend cuz I wanted the shim to put it on ln2 :)

    Also what's your ASIC erocker & Zen?

    Only thing I did wrong was not tell the wife she had a cow :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,947 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    Hmmm...I think, not 100% sure, it's black. Why?

    Yeah the more I think about it, I'm pretty sure both are black.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,505 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,886
    Mine is 68.8%

    It took three days to get it shipped out and three days to ship.


    Some are claiming that the grey ones work better, but I honestly don't believe it.

    So my card's temperature under load is about what it was at idle on air!

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,947 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    Great temps. Pretty much the same as mine. I peaked around 39c (overclocked), then again I live in AZ.

    I call BS on plug colors making any difference at all. What would the plastic color have to do with anything?

    I haven't got the ASIC yet. I know mine needed 1.10v to run stock, so it's probably not a 80%+. But it is better "Supposedly" then the ones that require 1.175v.

    I'm still fine tuning my system. Adding the GPU to my wc loop increased temps by about 6c. So trying to dial in my CPU OC and GPU OC.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,580 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,320
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Could be a batch thing.

    Nobody has a 1.15v card yet?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,505 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,886
    Did you see the voltage my card is pulling in GPU-Z? Though, I'm not totally sure GPU-Z is reading it right and/or there's some sort of vdroop going on. Max clocks in CCC is definitely stable. I'm thinking I'm going to wait until temps are available for the vregs before I start adding voltage... just to be safe, I'm now broke!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,947 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    So is 1.3v the max the card can do in software? I haven't found a definitive answer yet.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,505 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,886
    That's what I've been seeing.
     
    ZenZimZaliben says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
    mines 83.5% msi ab shows 1050mV for stock

    but gpu-z shows the vdroop cuz beta 10 showed it but 11 doesnt:rolleyes:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,947 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    Not sure I'm doing this right. But I got 80.7%
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Erocker how long did you status sat on processing ? My orders still on that :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,291 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,123
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Noob question. Having never dismantled a gfx card to pop on a w/c block, is it straight forward enough to do? I custom build as it is and have a cpu loop on - just a bit apprehensive about doing my first gpu water block on a card that 'll cost me £450 ($706) :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

    Hadn't done that conversion yet. Yes, that's how much it costs us here for the cheapest 7970. Fuuucking helll.
     
  19. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q0z080q6pFw&feature=player_embedded#! ;)


    mines in the mail :D
     
    the54thvoid says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,505 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,886
    Sometimes they can be a pain due to the spacers. Thankfully EK has integrated the spacers on the 7970 blocks. It's just as easy as mounting any air cooler. The trickiest part I suppose is just hooking up the tubing.
     
    the54thvoid says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,947 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    Painless install. Only thing that may trick you is the thermal paste holding on tight. But if you have done custom air coolers then you are already aware of this. Just wiggle it left/right|up/down to break the bond.

    One other thing don't be in a hurry, and add the block to your loop to test for leaks before putting in case. Typical Water Cooling safety precautions.
     
    the54thvoid says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)