• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

7970 WILL NOT overclock

yabizar

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
i have the sapphire 7970 ghz Edition, am using Trixx utility trying to overclock.

At STOCK voltage i can get 1175/1700 .... now when i go in trixx and try to up my voltage from stock to ANYTHING it will change but i cant overclock anymore.. if i even go to 1176 i get artifacts...its like voltage is doing nothing? i overclocked it to 1.3V!!! still couldnt get 1176 or anything higher still same artifacts? whats up with this? gpuz shows my vddc at the right voltages i pick in Trixx but i cant get ANY overclock out of the extra voltage i put iin. is it really not giving my card that? i tried force voltage...any ideas thax guys
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
575 (0.28/day)
Likes
188
System Name Main rig
Processor Intel i7-4790K Devils Canyon
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengence Pro
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 600T
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI HD Platinum
Power Supply Corsair AX750 Gold
#2
check the Vcc when benching to make sure you are actually getting a voltage increase.

if it goes over your stock Vcore, then your card is not locked.

for example: My stock Vcore is 1.175. My Vcc usually hovers around 1.000 when loaded.

if i crank the Vcore up to 1.25, my Vcc is around 1.203, so i know the voltage is not locked.

Vcc=measured core voltage (Vcore-Vdroop)
Vcore=Target voltage.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,585 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,821
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#3
i have the sapphire 7970 ghz Edition, am using Trixx utility trying to overclock.

At STOCK voltage i can get 1175/1700 ....
Which is a very decent combo - especially on the memory. Even outside of the overclocking issues you're getting your clocks are fast. I had an OC MSI that reached about 1125/1575 stable (max bios overclock).

If you get your voltage sussed and overclock it further, good one - but otherwise - like i say, good clocks!

And remember - you are never guaranteed a chip that will overclock. That's silicon luck.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
575 (0.28/day)
Likes
188
System Name Main rig
Processor Intel i7-4790K Devils Canyon
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengence Pro
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 600T
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI HD Platinum
Power Supply Corsair AX750 Gold
#4
almost 1200 on stock volts?

id say thats damn good.

probobly a high ASIC >80.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
Most likely some sort of power throttling kicking in. Do you have the Power Control Settings slider over to 20% in CCC?
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
So your card does 1175mhz on stock voltage and you say "WILL NOT overclock" ... :wtf:
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#7
I made the same face Clayomax, my Direct Cu II TOP barely did 1100, the RMA replacement was 1050 max lol. 1175 at stock volts is pretty damn good.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.58/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#8
My 7970s get nothing with additional voltage. I suspect that this is perfectly normal.
 

yabizar

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Thx for comments! I work 3rd shift gota leave n 30mins. When I get home from work ill check more into my voltage in game. And yea ccc is 20% I no I got great clocks as is but wanting 1250 badly haha
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#10
your unlikely to get 1250 core, the only cards ive seen do it have been reference design cards from the first batches or those who just got REALLY REALLY REALLY lucky.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,555 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,460
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#11
Thats higher than mine will do. Take what you can get.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#12
I have a msi ref 68% when they first came out benches higher then the new diamond 75% but had a msi oc ref it sucked highest I could just bench was 1200 with artifacts

but its luck on how high they oc the msi oc also had a thinner pcb then the msi/diamond which I can bench them both at 1275

I really don't believe ppl that are running 1250+ on reg water or air cooling :p
 

yabizar

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
Well after more testing using trixx and increasing voltage and then watching the voltage under load. My card is getting the voltage. So its not locked. Looks like my card won't overclock more with more voltage. I have force voltage on as well
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#14
That is some good clocks for stock volts! I have a ASIC >80 and I only get 1150/1500 on stock volts.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#15
Well after more testing using trixx and increasing voltage and then watching the voltage under load. My card is getting the voltage. So its not locked. Looks like my card won't overclock more with more voltage. I have force voltage on as well
Curious, have you checked it's ASIC quality yet with GPU-Z?