• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

7th Gen Core "Kaby Lake" Won't Work on 300-series Chipset Motherboards

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,804 (8.50/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
The upcoming Intel 300-series chipset, and LGA1151 socket continues to be a source of chaos for PC builders. While the 100-series and 200-series chipset based motherboards support both 6th generation Core "Skylake," and 7th generation Core "Kaby Lake" processors, they will not support the upcoming 8th generation Core "Coffee Lake" chips. What's more, the upcoming 300-series chipset motherboards, which were earlier believed to feature backwards-compatibility for "Skylake" and "Kaby Lake" chips, will not support them, according to a Hardware.info report.

The LGA1151 socket between the two platforms remains unchanged, down to the package notches, which are designed to prevent you from installing a processor on an incompatible motherboard (eg: LGA1150 processors on LGA1151 motherboards). This isn't even a case like the incompatibility between LGA2011 and LGA2011v3, where the latter features DDR4 memory I/O, compared to the former's DDR3. Platform segmentation, and synthetically keeping up with a product development cycle, by forcing people to upgrade motherboards every two generations, appears to be Intel's primary motivation. The Hardware.info report, however, doesn't rule out the possibility of 300-series chipset motherboards getting support for older LGA1151 processors in the future, through BIOS updates.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
3,183 (3.85/day)
System Name Grunt
Processor Intel i7-7820x
Motherboard MSI X299 Raider
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory Corsair LPX 3600 32GB (4x8GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor Vega 64
Storage Intel 900p 280GB, 660p 2TB, Seagate Barracuda Pro 10TB
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2457, Samsung NU8000 TV
Case Corsair C70
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Win 10 Pro
Somehow I already assumed this. I guess this makes it official though.
 

Psinet

New Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Location
Melbourne
Is that even news that new Intel CPU will need new motherboards?
...it is the same repackaged core, on the SAME SOCKET. Same RAM - almost same EVERYTHING.

This is the biggest middle finger to the average consumer that Intel could possibly make.

They are showing that despite AMD's new offerings and competition, Intel doesn't give 2 #$%$s!. It is almost CERTAIN that Intel could support Coffee Lake on Z270 if they so desired, without much effort. Instead, they would rather make money and hide behind the IDEA that they used to force consumers to upgrade, because of significant advances in technology.

I suggest the 'average consumer' should vote with their money. If you need a new motherboard to upgrade to a CPU REPACKAGE (despite it being on the identical socket - an unprecedented move) - then move across to an AMD platform when you do. Their Threadripper processors are brilliant AND value-for-money.

To Intel: Go. 2. Hell.

Edit: I spent $1500 upgrading a few months back, ensuring I had 32Gb DDR4 3866mhz, Thunderbolt 3 and the latest Intel chipset in anticipation of their re-re-release of their 14nm line in more than just a quad-core configuration (2007 says Hello, Intel). In the meantime I grabbed a G4560. Seems Intel has arbitrarily shafted me and short-circuited my otherwise intelligent purchasing decision. May AMD bring it to them.

Yours Sincerely,

Psinet
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
1,886 (1.81/day)
Processor i5-8400
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I GAMING
Cooling Alpenföhn Black Ridge
Memory 2*16GB DDR4-3200 CL16
Video Card(s) Gainward GeForce RTX 2080 Phoenix
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Pro, 2TB Intel 660p
Display(s) ASUS PG279Q, Eizo EV2736W
Case Dan Cases A4-SFX
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Corsair K60
i cannot help bot wonder what the hell is intel thinking? they should just come out and say what they are going to do. whatever processors are going to be supported on what platforms or not, having rumors flying around cannot be the best approach, can it?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,653 (0.84/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
It is entirely possible that the additional cores means that Intel had to assign additional pads to pins that weren't used in previous chipsets and this is causing the issue.

However, this should at least have been done so the 300 series chipset was backwards compatible with the 6000 and 7000 series CPUs, if it really is the case.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
1,308 (0.40/day)
Location
Right where I want to be
System Name Ratchet
Processor Ryzen 3800X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VII Formula
Cooling Ek Velocity
Memory F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage 1TB WD M.2 SSD/ 2T WD SN750
Display(s) DELL AW3420DW / HP ZR24w
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 1000W
Mouse Corsair Scimitar/Glorious Model O-
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
It is entirely possible that the additional cores means that Intel had to assign additional pads to pins that weren't used in previous chipsets and this is causing the issue.

However, this should at least have been done so the 300 series chipset was backwards compatible with the 6000 and 7000 series CPUs, if it really is the case.
Might not be that simple, I have a very strong hunch that number of total lanes will increase along with core count.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
645 (0.42/day)
Location
Latvija
System Name Fujitsu Siemens, HP Workstation
Processor Athlon x2 5000+ 3.1GHz, i5 2400
Motherboard Asus
Memory 4GB Samsung
Video Card(s) rx 460 4gb
Storage 750 Evo 250 +2tb
Display(s) Asus 1680x1050 4K HDR
Audio Device(s) Pioneer
Power Supply 430W
Mouse Acme
Keyboard Trust
Its to expensive for these times RAM 16GB 140 euro, motherboard 150-200, CPU 150-200 I suppose will keep playing and finding games like Left 4 Dead 2, Life is Strange and similar games who do not require 10 times faster CPU and who works on new erx card.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Messages
126 (0.11/day)
Location
Nea Makri, Greece.
System Name Dark Sith Lord / Fat Boy
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600X / AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASrock X370 Gaming X / Gigabyte 990XA UD3 R5
Cooling Cooler master Hyper 212 Turbo LED (2x120mm in push-pull) / Antec Kuhler 2x120mm in push-pull
Memory 2x8gb Patriot Viper4 DDR4 3200MHz / 4x4gb Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6gb / Gainward GTX 950 2gb
Storage Crucial P1 NVMe 1tb, 2x Barracuda 2TB, 1x IronWolf NAS 2TB / Samsung 840 Evo 500gb + Samsung F1 1tb
Display(s) BenQ GL2450 24'' / Samsung Syncmaster 20'' 2043nw
Case CM HAF 932 (CM 200mm [Red Led] front & side intake, Shark Evil Black 140mm exhaust) / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 on Creative Inspire S2 2.1 / Realtek 889 on Creative SBS Vivid 60 2.0
Power Supply EVGA Supernova B2 750w / Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Mouse Steelseries Rival 110 / Sharkoon Skiller SGM2
Keyboard Philips SPK84 (blue switches) / Motospeed CK-104 (red switches) - All with silicone o'rings Mods
Software Win10 Pro x64 / Win7 Ultimate x64
Why not? Intel always use to change sockets, often for no particular reason other than just.. replacing the whole system. People seem to be ok with that policy since they buy intel products!!!!!!!! They seem to like it. Now they can even make incompatible processors for the SAME socket. I bet people will still buy them. The sheeps love intel. Intel love the sheeps. What a great relationship.

P.S. And yes, i am buying only AMD cpus since 1998.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
616 (0.13/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor Intel Core i5 4670k
Motherboard Asrock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu Mark II
Memory 2x8GB Kingston DDR3 1600 CL11
Video Card(s) Galax GTX 1070 Katana
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case NZXT Phanton 240
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD with Kurtzweil KS-40A
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
This is exactly the same story as Haswell and Broadwell
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
335 (0.19/day)
System Name Marmo / Kanon
Processor Intel Core i5 6600K / Intel Core i7 9700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270X-Gaming 5 / Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi
Cooling Thermalright TRUE Spirit 120M / Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 21300C16 / 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 21300C16
Video Card(s) Palit GTX980 Super Jetstream / MSI GTX1080 Gaming+ X 11Gbps
Storage Intel 760p 512GB, Toshiba 1TB / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2414H / Dell UltraSharp U2715H
Case Lian-Li PC-60FN / Lian-Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Creative SB ZxR
Power Supply SeaSonic Platinum 660W / SeaSonic X 750W
Mouse Logitech G1
Keyboard Logitech G413
Software MS Windows 7 Professional SP1 / MS Windows 10 Pro
This is exactly the same story as Haswell and Broadwell
Not really. At least Z97 supports all existing LGA1150 CPUs.

Anyway we will just have to wait to find out if Z370 indeed drops support for sky and kaby.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,690 (0.80/day)
Uhm is this google translate accurate?
For this quicktest we got started with an Intel Z370 motherboard and a Kaby Lake processor. We used an affordable Celeron G3930 processor to minimize damage to any accidents. The CPU turned out to be without problems: physically, the "new" socket 1151 is identical to the processor foot that we know. Once installed, we tried to boot the system. The motherboard went on and began his self-test but fell out during the last step (VGA) and started again. This was also the case with a single video card. Now, of course, this is just one Z370 motherboard, but we have no reason to believe that it would work with other boards.
To me it sounds like it might work with updated microcode. Maybe motherboard manufacturer just did not bother adding support for some low end cpu for their high end motherboard. Or maybe firmware ain't just ready yet for retail market. But if cpu would not be compatible I don't think it would even post that far.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
6,805 (4.08/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Might not be that simple, I have a very strong hunch that number of total lanes will increase along with core count.
Different voltage may be required as well. Incompatibility sucks whenever it happens, but we don't yet know the reasons this time.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
616 (0.13/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor Intel Core i5 4670k
Motherboard Asrock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu Mark II
Memory 2x8GB Kingston DDR3 1600 CL11
Video Card(s) Galax GTX 1070 Katana
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case NZXT Phanton 240
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD with Kurtzweil KS-40A
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Not really. At least Z97 supports all existing LGA1150 CPUs.

Anyway we will just have to wait to find out if Z370 indeed drops support for sky and kaby.
True, but annoying if you already have a perfectly good Z87 motherboard (like I do) but needs to upgrade it to buy Broadwell
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
3,183 (3.85/day)
System Name Grunt
Processor Intel i7-7820x
Motherboard MSI X299 Raider
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory Corsair LPX 3600 32GB (4x8GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor Vega 64
Storage Intel 900p 280GB, 660p 2TB, Seagate Barracuda Pro 10TB
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2457, Samsung NU8000 TV
Case Corsair C70
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Win 10 Pro
...it is the same repackaged core, on the SAME SOCKET. Same RAM - almost same EVERYTHING.

This is the biggest middle finger to the average consumer that Intel could possibly make.

They are showing that despite AMD's new offerings and competition, Intel doesn't give 2 #$%$s!. It is almost CERTAIN that Intel could support Coffee Lake on Z270 if they so desired, without much effort. Instead, they would rather make money and hide behind the IDEA that they used to force consumers to upgrade, because of significant advances in technology.

I suggest the 'average consumer' should vote with their money. If you need a new motherboard to upgrade to a CPU REPACKAGE (despite it being on the identical socket - an unprecedented move) - then move across to an AMD platform when you do. Their Threadripper processors are brilliant AND value-for-money.

To Intel: Go. 2. Hell.

Edit: I spent $1500 upgrading a few months back, ensuring I had 32Gb DDR4 3866mhz, Thunderbolt 3 and the latest Intel chipset in anticipation of their re-re-release of their 14nm line in more than just a quad-core configuration (2007 says Hello, Intel). In the meantime I grabbed a G4560. Seems Intel has arbitrarily shafted me and short-circuited my otherwise intelligent purchasing decision. May AMD bring it to them.

Yours Sincerely,

Psinet
I'm not going to migrate to AMD unless they get their graphic division's crap together. Migration for me would be an all or nothing thing, I guess.

Why not? Intel always use to change sockets, often for no particular reason other than just.. replacing the whole system. People seems to be ok with that policy since they buy intel products!!!!!!!! They seem to like it. Now they can even make incompatible processors for the SAME socket. I bet people will still buy them. The sheeps love intel. Intel love the sheeps. What a great relationship.

P.S. And yes, i am buying only AMD since 1998.
lol... I'm just a guy with a computer. I'm not a sheep.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
1,308 (0.40/day)
Location
Right where I want to be
System Name Ratchet
Processor Ryzen 3800X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VII Formula
Cooling Ek Velocity
Memory F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage 1TB WD M.2 SSD/ 2T WD SN750
Display(s) DELL AW3420DW / HP ZR24w
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 1000W
Mouse Corsair Scimitar/Glorious Model O-
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
I'm not going to migrate to AMD unless they get their graphic division's crap together. Migration for me would be an all or nothing thing, I guess.
lol... I'm just a guy with a computer. I'm not a sheep.
AMD CPU/NVIDIA GPU, what do AMD's gpu have to do with it or did I miss something and Intel got their graphic division's crap together when I was wasn't looking?
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
3,183 (3.85/day)
System Name Grunt
Processor Intel i7-7820x
Motherboard MSI X299 Raider
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory Corsair LPX 3600 32GB (4x8GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor Vega 64
Storage Intel 900p 280GB, 660p 2TB, Seagate Barracuda Pro 10TB
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2457, Samsung NU8000 TV
Case Corsair C70
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Win 10 Pro
AMD CPU/NVIDIA GPU, what do AMD's gpu have to do with it or did I miss something and Intel got their graphic division's crap together when I was wasn't looking?
It has nothing to do with Intel.

I'm just saying I'd rather get both products from AMD if I switch. I like the whole package, but I'm not going to bother until it's all available at will.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,255 (0.49/day)
...it is the same repackaged core, on the SAME SOCKET. Same RAM - almost same EVERYTHING.

This is the biggest middle finger to the average consumer that Intel could possibly make.

They are showing that despite AMD's new offerings and competition, Intel doesn't give 2 #$%$s!. It is almost CERTAIN that Intel could support Coffee Lake on Z270 if they so desired, without much effort. Instead, they would rather make money and hide behind the IDEA that they used to force consumers to upgrade, because of significant advances in technology.

I suggest the 'average consumer' should vote with their money. If you need a new motherboard to upgrade to a CPU REPACKAGE (despite it being on the identical socket - an unprecedented move) - then move across to an AMD platform when you do. Their Threadripper processors are brilliant AND value-for-money.

To Intel: Go. 2. Hell.

Edit: I spent $1500 upgrading a few months back, ensuring I had 32Gb DDR4 3866mhz, Thunderbolt 3 and the latest Intel chipset in anticipation of their re-re-release of their 14nm line in more than just a quad-core configuration (2007 says Hello, Intel). In the meantime I grabbed a G4560. Seems Intel has arbitrarily shafted me and short-circuited my otherwise intelligent purchasing decision. May AMD bring it to them.

Yours Sincerely,

Psinet
So intelligent that you decided, for some reason, that intel WOULDNT change sockets after 2 CPUs, like they have been doing since 2009? :laugh:

You also thought that coffee lake would be such a major improvement, unlike ivy bridge, haswell, broadwell, skylake, and kaby lake, that you bought a tin-plated pentium to go with this $1500 machine rather then just buying the good chip now :roll:

And, despite thinking AMD's newest platform is great, you bought an intel platform anyway, then complain when intel bends you over the barrel?o_O :slap:

Yeah, good job there bud. Intel doesn't give 2 #$%$s! because consumers like you will blindly buy their stuff.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 10, 2013
Messages
89 (0.04/day)
Location
Denmark
...it is the same repackaged core, on the SAME SOCKET. Same RAM - almost same EVERYTHING.

This is the biggest middle finger to the average consumer that Intel could possibly make.

They are showing that despite AMD's new offerings and competition, Intel doesn't give 2 #$%$s!. It is almost CERTAIN that Intel could support Coffee Lake on Z270 if they so desired, without much effort. Instead, they would rather make money and hide behind the IDEA that they used to force consumers to upgrade, because of significant advances in technology.

I suggest the 'average consumer' should vote with their money. If you need a new motherboard to upgrade to a CPU REPACKAGE (despite it being on the identical socket - an unprecedented move) - then move across to an AMD platform when you do. Their Threadripper processors are brilliant AND value-for-money.

To Intel: Go. 2. Hell.

Edit: I spent $1500 upgrading a few months back, ensuring I had 32Gb DDR4 3866mhz, Thunderbolt 3 and the latest Intel chipset in anticipation of their re-re-release of their 14nm line in more than just a quad-core configuration (2007 says Hello, Intel). In the meantime I grabbed a G4560. Seems Intel has arbitrarily shafted me and short-circuited my otherwise intelligent purchasing decision. May AMD bring it to them.

Yours Sincerely,

Psinet
They change the soket a little, is LGA 1151 - V2 now. so no is fine.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
6,805 (4.08/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
It has nothing to do with Intel.

I'm just saying I'd rather get both products from AMD if I switch. I like the whole package, but I'm not going to bother until it's all available at will.
You're not saying you'd rather get both products from AMD, you're saying you're not buying AMD till they can give you both a CPU and a GPU. Huge difference.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
281 (0.12/day)
Location
Michigan, USA
Processor AMD 1700X
Motherboard Crosshair VI Hero
Memory F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 960 Pro
Display(s) PG279Q
Case HAF X
Power Supply Silencer MK III 850
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10
Is that even news that new Intel CPU will need new motherboards?
The real sarcastic question would be: Is it even news that an old Intel CPU doesn't need a new motherboard?

I guess this is at least discussion worthy but take a deep breath folks. Who gives a flying fart about forcing a Kaby processor into a Z370 motherboard?
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
3,183 (3.85/day)
System Name Grunt
Processor Intel i7-7820x
Motherboard MSI X299 Raider
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory Corsair LPX 3600 32GB (4x8GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor Vega 64
Storage Intel 900p 280GB, 660p 2TB, Seagate Barracuda Pro 10TB
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2457, Samsung NU8000 TV
Case Corsair C70
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Win 10 Pro
You're not saying you'd rather get both products from AMD, you're saying you're not buying AMD till they can give you both a CPU and a GPU. Huge difference.

I don't even understand the difference. Or why anyone's that interested in when and how I purchase something.

It's so pointless I don't even want to explain. It's just my OCD, if you will. My gravitation to having some neatness in having two big parts from the same brand.

Why anyone gets confrontational about that, I don't know. The fact that I even consider it should make an AMD fan happy... but apparently that's not good enough. It's "come to us right now or you're just a damn sheep". This is insanity.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,690 (0.80/day)
The real sarcastic question would be: Is it even news that an old Intel CPU doesn't need a new motherboard?

I guess this is at least discussion worthy but take a deep breath folks. Who gives a flying fart about forcing a Kaby processor into a Z370 motherboard?
Well you could ask that question from Sandy/Ivy bridge owner with dying lga1155 motherboard... Cpus usually last longer than motherboards just saying.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
1,308 (0.40/day)
Location
Right where I want to be
System Name Ratchet
Processor Ryzen 3800X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VII Formula
Cooling Ek Velocity
Memory F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage 1TB WD M.2 SSD/ 2T WD SN750
Display(s) DELL AW3420DW / HP ZR24w
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 1000W
Mouse Corsair Scimitar/Glorious Model O-
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
I don't even understand the difference. Or why anyone's that interested in when and how I purchase something.

It's so pointless I don't even want to explain. It's just my OCD, if you will. My gravitation to having some neatness in having two big parts from the same brand.

Why anyone gets confrontational about that, I don't know. The fact that I even consider it should make an AMD fan happy... but apparently that's not good enough. It's "come to us right now or you're just a damn sheep". This is insanity.
No it's not insanity, it's called a double standard. The things is the way you are talking right now means you are using an Intel CPU other brand GPU, most likely an Nvidia GPU. So if you were to dump Intel and go AMD nothing would change in this aspect but you want to be all irrational about it and claim CPU/GPU have to be both from the same camp when it comes to AMD. Pardon, but people are just pointing out that you aren't making any sense.
 
Top