• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8 GB cl 9 vs 16 GB cl 11

Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
35 (0.03/day)
Hello all.

I got an old PC in my office, running windows 10, that currently has 8 GB (2x4) dual channel of DDR3 at 1600mhz and CL 9 latency.

I use this PC mainly for work but occasionally I run some light games on it on some free time (it has an old GTX 970).

Would I benefit on replacing those RAMs for a 16 GB kit (2x8) dual channel also at 1600mhz, but latency CL 11?

I don't know much about RAM so I read about in some pages and the information is not that clear on how much difference (if any at all) this "CL" latency increase would be, if its worth it for the increase in RAM size.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
403 (0.06/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCP655, MCR360, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) full ATX
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM750
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
You are not going to see or feel any difference between DDR4-1600 CL9 & CL11 except for slight differences in benchmark scores.
If you are using all of the 8GB and then you start using the page file, you will see a difference between 8GB & 16GB.
If you aren't using the page file for your current 8GB uses, you won't see any difference with 16GB.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
2,032 (0.39/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Intel Core i7-4770 (4C/8T) Haswell
Motherboard GA-Z87X-UD5H , Dual Intel LAN, 10x SATA, 16x Power phace.
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon - Dual GELID 140 Silent PWM
Memory Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400 997123F 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 OC 6GB (single fan) Micron
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music + mods, Audigy front Panel - YAMAHA quad speakers with Sub.
Power Supply HPU-4M780-PE refurbished 23-3-2022
Mouse MS Pro IntelliMouse 16.000 Dpi Pixart Paw 3389
Keyboard Microsoft Wired 600
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail Box ) for EU
Old PC have limits, its not of what you wish, rather of what the specific motherboard model can do.
Does it support over 8GB of RAM? = the first question to be answered.
If this is a motherboard of low price point, it will not do the trick.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
35 (0.03/day)
Old PC have limits, its not of what you wish, rather of what the specific motherboard model can do.
Does it support over 8GB of RAM? = the first question to be answered.
If this is a motherboard of low price point, it will not do the trick.
Yes it supports up to 32gb at 1600hmz max speed
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,595 (0.69/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 64Gb DDR3 Kingston/Mushkin 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-24-162-1T)
Video Card(s) 1)RX 5700 Sapphire-1910Mhz***2)MATROX M9120LP
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gbSSD +SSD Kinston 480Gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR) / Acer 24"(1080P) / Eizo 2336W(1080p) / 2x Eizo 19"(1280x1024)
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
VR HMD Oculus Rift DK2
Software Win 11
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3791.Passmark=20689,Geekbench4=32885
Yes you will benefit if you have more ram for sure also if you have 4 slots maybe you can keep those 2x4 gb and add this other 2x8 gb it should work without the problem most likely it will work on CL11 but if you know and have unlocked bios on your mobo you can tweak memory timings by yourself.......GL
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
35 (0.03/day)
Yes you will benefit if you have more ram for sure also if you have 4 slots maybe you can keep those 2x4 gb and add this other 2x8 gb it should work without the problem most likely it will work on CL11 but if you know and have unlocked bios on your mobo you can tweak memory timings by yourself.......GL
Do I lose the benefit of "dual channel" if I'm using all 4 RAM slots? And also being that the 4 sticks would not be of the same capacity and timings.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,595 (0.69/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 64Gb DDR3 Kingston/Mushkin 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-24-162-1T)
Video Card(s) 1)RX 5700 Sapphire-1910Mhz***2)MATROX M9120LP
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gbSSD +SSD Kinston 480Gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR) / Acer 24"(1080P) / Eizo 2336W(1080p) / 2x Eizo 19"(1280x1024)
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
VR HMD Oculus Rift DK2
Software Win 11
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3791.Passmark=20689,Geekbench4=32885
Do I lose the benefit of "dual channel" if I'm using all 4 RAM slots? And also being that the 4 sticks would not be of the same capacity and timings.
No it should work as dual channel....just make sure that same memory works in pair so in short keep them in same slot color(on your mobo) for example those 2x4 should be in same slot-color to work in dual channel and other 2 in other 2 slots of the same color
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
3,016 (4.38/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Would I benefit on replacing those RAMs for a 16 GB kit

That depends on your usage; take a look if you regularly use all 8 GB
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
2,032 (0.39/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Intel Core i7-4770 (4C/8T) Haswell
Motherboard GA-Z87X-UD5H , Dual Intel LAN, 10x SATA, 16x Power phace.
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon - Dual GELID 140 Silent PWM
Memory Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400 997123F 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 OC 6GB (single fan) Micron
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music + mods, Audigy front Panel - YAMAHA quad speakers with Sub.
Power Supply HPU-4M780-PE refurbished 23-3-2022
Mouse MS Pro IntelliMouse 16.000 Dpi Pixart Paw 3389
Keyboard Microsoft Wired 600
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail Box ) for EU
At my 1080P gaming : 16GB ... DDR3 2400 = 1GB free ... Win7.

Use windows task manager and read available system RAM when your game this is loaded.
Win10 wastes more RAM for system tasks, than what a well tuned Win7 Pro system will use.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
14,978 (2.40/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Panasonic SA-PMX94 / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system / Harman Kardon Go + Play / Logitech G533
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1936 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 23006 @ stock
16GB ... DDR3 2400 = 1GB free ... Win7.

LOL! You must have a lot of malware running in the background if you say you only have 1GB free from your 16GB when you play a game...
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
2,032 (0.39/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Intel Core i7-4770 (4C/8T) Haswell
Motherboard GA-Z87X-UD5H , Dual Intel LAN, 10x SATA, 16x Power phace.
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon - Dual GELID 140 Silent PWM
Memory Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400 997123F 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 OC 6GB (single fan) Micron
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music + mods, Audigy front Panel - YAMAHA quad speakers with Sub.
Power Supply HPU-4M780-PE refurbished 23-3-2022
Mouse MS Pro IntelliMouse 16.000 Dpi Pixart Paw 3389
Keyboard Microsoft Wired 600
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail Box ) for EU
LOL! You must have a lot of malware running in the background if you say you only have 1GB free from your 16GB when you play a game...
There is no greater malware than Battlefield V.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
14,978 (2.40/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Panasonic SA-PMX94 / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system / Harman Kardon Go + Play / Logitech G533
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1936 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 23006 @ stock
There is no greater malware than Battlefield V.
BATTLEFIELD V MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
  • OS: 64-bit Windows 7, Windows 8.1 and Windows 10.
  • Processor (AMD): AMD FX-8350.
  • Processor (Intel): Core i5 6600K.
  • Memory: 8GB RAM.
  • Graphics card (NVIDIA): NVIDIA GeForce® GTX 1050 / NVIDIA GeForce® GTX 660 2GB.
  • Graphics card (AMD): AMD Radeon™ RX 560 / HD 7850 2GB.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
1,355 (1.75/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Project Kairi v0.5 (temporary downgrade)
Processor Intel Xeon E5-4669 v3
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-Ultra Gaming rev 1.0
Cooling id-Cooling Frostflow X 360 + Gelid GC-Extreme
Memory 64 GB (4x 16) Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-2133 @ 9-11-11-21 1.35v
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Gaming OC GeForce RTX 3090 24 GB GDDR6X
Storage WD Green SN350 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung The Frame 2022 32-inch (1080p60)
Case Cooler Master MasterFrame 700
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic)
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2 1.3kW 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed K/DA + Logitech G840 XL K/DA
Keyboard Logitech G Pro K/DA with GX Brown switches
Software Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 22H2
Benchmark Scores Older build pic (with R9 5950X installed): https://i.imgur.com/yxc0HrZ.jpg
At my 1080P gaming : 16GB ... DDR3 2400 = 1GB free ... Win7.

Use windows task manager and read available system RAM when your game this is loaded.
Win10 wastes more RAM for system tasks, than what a well tuned Win7 Pro system will use.

Now check your commit charge. In this case, you'll find that it has exceeded 16 GB by quite a while, you have long since run out of memory if you're only seeing 1 meager GB free while gaming... that's pretty much Windows' emergency reserves. It's hitting the swap file hard, and at that point your experience cannot be guaranteed. It will stutter whether you like it or not...

LOL! You must have a lot of malware running in the background if you say you only have 1GB free from your 16GB when you play a game...

I must say, memory requirements have been climbing steadily recently and developers have been omitting that from their official spec sheets for some time now. With midrange GPUs readily having 12+ GB of memory nowadays, and WDDM's additive memory allocation (it counts allocated VRAM as a memory page, and doubles that down on your commit charge), you're going to find that it's hilariously easy to overwhelm 16 GB of RAM nowadays. I'd recommend 32 GB for a gaming PC that will be used to play AAA games released from 2021 onwards, but 16 will be perfectly adequate for a light gaming PC with a GTX 970 such as OP's, it's not like you'll be playing Forspoken on that ;)

Thankfully, DDR4 32 GB RAM kits are now inexpensive (you can find some as low as $65 these days if you aren't picky about latency), so it shouldn't come off as baffling as it once did.

Do I lose the benefit of "dual channel" if I'm using all 4 RAM slots? And also being that the 4 sticks would not be of the same capacity and timings.

You shouldn't mix the memory sticks, it's going to be tough to configure and stabilize. Grab a 16 GB kit, CL11 is fine, should not be too pricy, and keep your existing memory as a backup :) Have fun.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
7,538 (3.39/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R9 7900
Motherboard ASRock B650 Pro RS
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 32GB - FURY Beast RGB 5200 Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 7900 XT
Storage 1x Kingston A2000 NVMe 1TB, 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
LOL! You must have a lot of malware running in the background if you say you only have 1GB free from your 16GB when you play a game...

I was starting to get pretty close to full RAM utilization on some games when I had 16GB. 16 GB ain't as much as it once used to seem.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
14,978 (2.40/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Panasonic SA-PMX94 / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system / Harman Kardon Go + Play / Logitech G533
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1936 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 23006 @ stock
Thankfully, DDR4 32 GB RAM kits are now inexpensive (you can find some as low as $65 these days if you aren't picky about latency), so it shouldn't come off as baffling as it once did.
I got a DDR5 6000Mhz 32GB kit for myself, I'm good. Just haven't noticed a game at 1080p that is using 16GB of ram.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
1,355 (1.75/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Project Kairi v0.5 (temporary downgrade)
Processor Intel Xeon E5-4669 v3
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-Ultra Gaming rev 1.0
Cooling id-Cooling Frostflow X 360 + Gelid GC-Extreme
Memory 64 GB (4x 16) Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-2133 @ 9-11-11-21 1.35v
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Gaming OC GeForce RTX 3090 24 GB GDDR6X
Storage WD Green SN350 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung The Frame 2022 32-inch (1080p60)
Case Cooler Master MasterFrame 700
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic)
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2 1.3kW 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed K/DA + Logitech G840 XL K/DA
Keyboard Logitech G Pro K/DA with GX Brown switches
Software Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 22H2
Benchmark Scores Older build pic (with R9 5950X installed): https://i.imgur.com/yxc0HrZ.jpg
I got a DDR5 6000Mhz 32GB kit for myself, I'm good. Just haven't noticed a game at 1080p that is using 16GB of ram.

1080p helps conserve memory as long as you don't go uuuuultraaaaaa on the asset quality, though. For 1440 and 4K, memory requirements begin to climb a lot esp. if you want to use ray tracing ;)
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
2,032 (0.39/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Intel Core i7-4770 (4C/8T) Haswell
Motherboard GA-Z87X-UD5H , Dual Intel LAN, 10x SATA, 16x Power phace.
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon - Dual GELID 140 Silent PWM
Memory Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400 997123F 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 OC 6GB (single fan) Micron
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music + mods, Audigy front Panel - YAMAHA quad speakers with Sub.
Power Supply HPU-4M780-PE refurbished 23-3-2022
Mouse MS Pro IntelliMouse 16.000 Dpi Pixart Paw 3389
Keyboard Microsoft Wired 600
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail Box ) for EU
Now check your commit charge. In this case, you'll find that it has exceeded 16 GB by quite a while, you have long since run out of memory if you're only seeing 1 meager GB free while gaming... that's pretty much Windows' emergency reserves. It's hitting the swap file hard, and at that point your experience cannot be guaranteed. It will stutter whether you like it or not...
Good points, but .. I am after HDD storage upgrade, when cash flow this aloud it.
Two WD gold, along a dedicated SSD just for the swap file.

We all paying the price in money due the poor work of software developers.
Bad written games which cause system memory leakage and or at long time gaming, the cache grow with out limit.
And we have on top of that, the poor job of Microsoft, the gaming workstation has dynamic RAM loads, when the average server does not load and unload huge chunks of RAM.

Few smart IT, they did think to investigate windows memory handling, all that they succeed was to spot the problem, but there is no fix.
So we have to buy huge storage media, along plenty of RAM for us to keep the monster in control.
 
Top