1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8 Pin PCI-E connector

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Random Murderer, May 13, 2007.

  1. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    NOTE: Scroll to the bottom of this post for the correct diagram.


    Ok, to start off, help on this would be greatly appreciated.

    I'm trying to get a pin-out of the 8-Pin PCI-E connector for those of us who would rather make one than buy one, or who can't find one to buy (if anyone knows where to buy one, that would be good too).

    So far, I have the original 6-pin pin-out thanks to our own W1zzard!
    here's my more in-depth version, albeit made in paint...
    [​IMG]

    Here's what I have on 8-pin so far, I don't know what the rails are, but the shape of the pins is a start...
    [​IMG]

    I will keep this post(and the above image) edited as we find out more.


    EDIT:
    COMPLETED!!!
    [​IMG]



    EDIT:
    After further research and ample time of the cards that require these being released, the diagram I made was found to be wrong. I used a picture of a 6 to 8 pin adapter, and that company must have color coded the wires incorrectly. Thanks to KennyT772 we have an up-to-date, CORRECT diagram.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2007
    W1zzard says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    Updated!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    OneCool said he tried running a 12v+ to the other pin, and it didn't work.

    Can anybody confirm this?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    he said so about the 2900xt, and we're not even sure if it just his card or not. verificataion would be appreciated.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,644 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,226
    afaik. to enable overdrive the 2900 xt needs to "see" the 4th ground pin connected, not the +12v one
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Would there be any benefit to attaching the 12v+, especially with stock cooling?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,644 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,226
    ati says better overclocking. i seriously doubt it, but if you want to use ccc overclocking you must have the 4th ground connected for the overdrive tab to be visible
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Yeah that's all.

    As far as the extra 12v line I seen know deference in OCing at all
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,572 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    [​IMG].

    The correct diagram made in paint. Correct pinouts and socket, the current diagram at the top of the page is incorrect in both.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2007
    Random Murderer says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,219 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Ohio
    I want to use molex :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. DeathVark New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    HAHAHAHAHA!!! BOTH extra pins are ground. Talk about a marketing scam. lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,271 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I looked and can't find anything cheaper myself - just ordered one. I'd prefer to see one with an additional 4-pin Molex draw, but two dedicated 6-pin pci-e connectors should do it... My system (X1950XTX) now draws 320 Watts under load (measured with Kill-A-Watt). And thats with a single 6-pin connector.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  14. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,480 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,382
    Talk about not understanding electronics. Obviously the current on those pins can be pretty high, therefor the extra ground.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,376 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Excuse my ignorance not having a 2900 card, but for those who have not got the 8 pin PCI-E....what proggie are you using to overclock?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Kansas
    Find em on Ebay. Way cheaper.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,572 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Atitool, ati clock set, tray tools, i think rivatuner works too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,271 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Who knows... I *wish* someone would test that, I don't have the equipment. The ATX std wire guage may or may not support it - the question is what amps the pins draw - for sure.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,271 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Have you seen them.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  20. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,572 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    In order for a PSU to be pci-e 2.0 certified the 8pin power cables have to be higher gauge wire, enough so they can handle like 4amp per wire. That is easy for even 22ga wire but some cheaper units cannot output this kind of amperage over each wire. 12.5amp over 3 wires is quite a bit a juice so instead of just requiring higher gauge all around, they added 2 extra grounds making it only 2.5amp per ground. This allows smaller gauge ground wire to be used saving cost and sets an easy way to check if the power supply is pci-e 2.0 compliant.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,271 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    Manchester, NH

    Thx Kenny - did you write that or is it a quote?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Well, where is the benefit to these extra grounds, when they are just jumped off of the other grounds, as per the photo of the adapter? And, considering that I haven't heard of anyone melting their 6pin connectors, I seriously doubt there is any real benefit to the 8pin, unless, of course, your psu manufacturer cheaped out on the wire gauges. If that's the case, you probably should've bought a better psu to begin with. My understanding of electronics is what lead me to deduce that this is a scam.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. bassmasta Guest

    wait now, I just thought of a fun thought. If the extra ground is to help with the "high current" coming off of the pins, doesn't that mean that the yellow wires would melt before the black ones? unless the 2900 has a generator in it, or there is a shortage of ground-pins, What's the point?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,829 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,977
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    This can't be right, can it? You can put a 6-pin plug into an 8-pin socket, so if this was right the 12vDC on the 6-pin would be going into the ground of the 8-pin.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Nope, post #9 has the correct diagram.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)