• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8 Pin PCI-E connector

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.49/day)
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
NOTE: Scroll to the bottom of this post for the correct diagram.


Ok, to start off, help on this would be greatly appreciated.

I'm trying to get a pin-out of the 8-Pin PCI-E connector for those of us who would rather make one than buy one, or who can't find one to buy (if anyone knows where to buy one, that would be good too).

So far, I have the original 6-pin pin-out thanks to our own W1zzard!
here's my more in-depth version, albeit made in paint...


Here's what I have on 8-pin so far, I don't know what the rails are, but the shape of the pins is a start...


I will keep this post(and the above image) edited as we find out more.


EDIT:
COMPLETED!!!




EDIT:
After further research and ample time of the cards that require these being released, the diagram I made was found to be wrong. I used a picture of a 6 to 8 pin adapter, and that company must have color coded the wires incorrectly. Thanks to KennyT772 we have an up-to-date, CORRECT diagram.
 
Last edited:

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.49/day)
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.13/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
OneCool said he tried running a 12v+ to the other pin, and it didn't work.

Can anybody confirm this?
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.49/day)
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
OneCool said he tried running a 12v+ to the other pin, and it didn't work.

Can anybody confirm this?
he said so about the 2900xt, and we're not even sure if it just his card or not. verificataion would be appreciated.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,535 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
afaik. to enable overdrive the 2900 xt needs to "see" the 4th ground pin connected, not the +12v one
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.13/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Would there be any benefit to attaching the 12v+, especially with stock cooling?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,535 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
ati says better overclocking. i seriously doubt it, but if you want to use ccc overclocking you must have the 4th ground connected for the overdrive tab to be visible
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,079 (0.21/day)
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
afaik. to enable overdrive the 2900 xt needs to "see" the 4th ground pin connected, not the +12v one
Yeah that's all.

As far as the extra 12v line I seen know deference in OCing at all
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.71/day)
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
.

The correct diagram made in paint. Correct pinouts and socket, the current diagram at the top of the page is incorrect in both.
 
Last edited:

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,623 (4.40/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
I want to use molex :(
 

DeathVark

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane@2.875GHz
Motherboard ASUS M2R32-MVP
Cooling ZALMAN 9700 LED
Memory OCZ Platinum Revision-2 2GB (2 x 1GB)
Video Card(s) VisionTech HD 2900XT 512Mb
Storage WD 320GB
Display(s) Dell 2005FPW
Case Thermaltake Tsunami Dream
Power Supply OCZ GameXtream 700W
Software Win XP Home SP2

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.13/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
HAHAHAHAHA!!! BOTH extra pins are ground. Talk about a marketing scam. lol
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,716 (2.13/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
found adapter: converts 6-pin to 8-pin.
$9.99 but shipping to me is like another $8 :banghead:
Anybody seen cheaper?
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/6088/cab-97/6_Pin_PCI-E_to_8_Pin_PCI-E2_Adapter_Cable.html?tl=g11c28#options
I looked and can't find anything cheaper myself - just ordered one. I'd prefer to see one with an additional 4-pin Molex draw, but two dedicated 6-pin pci-e connectors should do it... My system (X1950XTX) now draws 320 Watts under load (measured with Kill-A-Watt). And thats with a single 6-pin connector.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,686 (4.34/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.375V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Excuse my ignorance not having a 2900 card, but for those who have not got the 8 pin PCI-E....what proggie are you using to overclock?
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.14/day)
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
Find em on Ebay. Way cheaper.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.71/day)
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
Atitool, ati clock set, tray tools, i think rivatuner works too.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,716 (2.13/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
Talk about not understanding electronics. Obviously the current on those pins can be pretty high, therefor the extra ground.
Who knows... I *wish* someone would test that, I don't have the equipment. The ATX std wire guage may or may not support it - the question is what amps the pins draw - for sure.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,716 (2.13/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.71/day)
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
In order for a PSU to be pci-e 2.0 certified the 8pin power cables have to be higher gauge wire, enough so they can handle like 4amp per wire. That is easy for even 22ga wire but some cheaper units cannot output this kind of amperage over each wire. 12.5amp over 3 wires is quite a bit a juice so instead of just requiring higher gauge all around, they added 2 extra grounds making it only 2.5amp per ground. This allows smaller gauge ground wire to be used saving cost and sets an easy way to check if the power supply is pci-e 2.0 compliant.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,716 (2.13/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
In order for a PSU to be pci-e 2.0 certified the 8pin power cables have to be higher gauge wire, enough so they can handle like 4amp per wire. That is easy for even 22ga wire but some cheaper units cannot output this kind of amperage over each wire. 12.5amp over 3 wires is quite a bit a juice so instead of just requiring higher gauge all around, they added 2 extra grounds making it only 2.5amp per ground. This allows smaller gauge ground wire to be used saving cost and sets an easy way to check if the power supply is pci-e 2.0 compliant.

Thx Kenny - did you write that or is it a quote?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.13/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Talk about not understanding electronics. Obviously the current on those pins can be pretty high, therefor the extra ground.
Well, where is the benefit to these extra grounds, when they are just jumped off of the other grounds, as per the photo of the adapter? And, considering that I haven't heard of anyone melting their 6pin connectors, I seriously doubt there is any real benefit to the 8pin, unless, of course, your psu manufacturer cheaped out on the wire gauges. If that's the case, you probably should've bought a better psu to begin with. My understanding of electronics is what lead me to deduce that this is a scam.
 
B

bassmasta

Guest
wait now, I just thought of a fun thought. If the extra ground is to help with the "high current" coming off of the pins, doesn't that mean that the yellow wires would melt before the black ones? unless the 2900 has a generator in it, or there is a shortage of ground-pins, What's the point?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,433 (5.23/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
This can't be right, can it? You can put a 6-pin plug into an 8-pin socket, so if this was right the 12vDC on the 6-pin would be going into the ground of the 8-pin.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.13/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
This can't be right, can it? You can put a 6-pin plug into an 8-pin socket, so if this was right the 12vDC on the 6-pin would be going into the ground of the 8-pin.
Nope, post #9 has the correct diagram.
 
Top