• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

8500/8600/GT/GTS Mod guide...

Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
United Kingdom, Kent county
System Name Main
Processor AMD A64 AM2 3000+ @ 2.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-M57SLi-S4
Cooling Scythe Ninja Plus Rev. B
Memory 2x 1GB Patriot Dual Channel Kit DRR2-800
Video Card(s) Xvision GeForce 8600GT 512MB DDR2 + AC Accelero S2 w/ Noctua S12-1200
Storage 1x WD Raptor OEM 160GB 10k RPM 16MB Cache SATA2
Display(s) Lenovo ThinkVision L192p 19" 4:3 1000:1
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX520W modular
Software Windows XP Professional
WTF?!!!! hmmmm idk gpu-z fkd up with me once....ill need you to answer a few questions
1. have you volt modded the card? if so what voltage?
2. sometimes the nvidia drivers screw up. Do you have riva tuner insalled?
3. if you have riva tuner installed in the monitoring window does it say thats what the clocks are?
4. how hot is it idle at those speeds?
5. what is your 3dmark score? with those speeds it should be over 75xx
1. No vmods.
2. Yes, I do have.
3. It says the same clock which are set by ATITool 0.26
4. Idle 49 with open Antec Nine Hundred case.
5. Sadly only 33xx @ 1280x1024.

Can it be the nVidia drivers buged?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
1. No vmods.
2. Yes, I do have.
3. It says the same clock which are set by ATITool 0.26
4. Idle 49 with open Antec Nine Hundred case.
5. Sadly only 33xx @ 1280x1024.

Can it be the nVidia drivers buged?

i absolutely think so....he nvidia driver monitor [with the bar graph recording clock and temp] that says the same clocks as gpu-z and ati tool? the driver can bug things up i rely on the hardware monitor in rivatuner because it reads directly from the pll. if the hardware monitor is reading those clocks either the driver is totally fkd or its idling at that but clocks down during 3d load. I dont wish to discredit yu in anyway...if those clocks are real ill give you a trophy but i have beat my card to a pulp worked on my buds and aided many people here with theirs ...and the score and heat output dont ad up...i lapped my cooler got it extremely cool 38 at idle at like 800mhz but on load it would sky rocket 70's plus...at 800mhz though its possible youd almost absolutely need way better cooling than that...to be able to pull it off stabily.
 
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
United Kingdom, Kent county
System Name Main
Processor AMD A64 AM2 3000+ @ 2.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-M57SLi-S4
Cooling Scythe Ninja Plus Rev. B
Memory 2x 1GB Patriot Dual Channel Kit DRR2-800
Video Card(s) Xvision GeForce 8600GT 512MB DDR2 + AC Accelero S2 w/ Noctua S12-1200
Storage 1x WD Raptor OEM 160GB 10k RPM 16MB Cache SATA2
Display(s) Lenovo ThinkVision L192p 19" 4:3 1000:1
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX520W modular
Software Windows XP Professional
i absolutely think so....he nvidia driver monitor [with the bar graph recording clock and temp] that says the same clocks as gpu-z and ati tool? the driver can bug things up i rely on the hardware monitor in rivatuner because it reads directly from the pll. if the hardware monitor is reading those clocks either the driver is totally fkd or its idling at that but clocks down during 3d load. I dont wish to discredit yu in anyway...if those clocks are real ill give you a trophy but i have beat my card to a pulp worked on my buds and aided many people here with theirs ...and the score and heat output dont ad up...i lapped my cooler got it extremely cool 38 at idle at like 800mhz but on load it would sky rocket 70's plus...at 800mhz though its possible youd almost absolutely need way better cooling than that...to be able to pull it off stabily.
I'll try to downgrade drivers to older version, as they worked better with my 8500GT at the time. Will update the thread asap.
 

Wyshniukas

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
United Kingdom, Kent county
System Name Main
Processor AMD A64 AM2 3000+ @ 2.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-M57SLi-S4
Cooling Scythe Ninja Plus Rev. B
Memory 2x 1GB Patriot Dual Channel Kit DRR2-800
Video Card(s) Xvision GeForce 8600GT 512MB DDR2 + AC Accelero S2 w/ Noctua S12-1200
Storage 1x WD Raptor OEM 160GB 10k RPM 16MB Cache SATA2
Display(s) Lenovo ThinkVision L192p 19" 4:3 1000:1
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX520W modular
Software Windows XP Professional
Downloaded 177.79 drivers & it seems previous were the problem. With new ones, I can reach 702 core, 445 memory with nTune GPU clock test & idle temp now is 45...haven't pushed more yet, but will do it later. This is my VGA, any suggestion which manufacture to look as the example? It's Xpertvision TD51-PM8K86

It was nice to see GPU-Z validation with 800% OC thought.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
i need my 8800gts to run a 9800gts bios.

we will have to make one though. need to combine the 9800gt with the 8800gts

there will be a 9800gts sometime soon but no word on when.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Need help

Hi guys, Sol great thread bookmarked it a long time ago but i have a question, why is my 8600gt clocks dropping to stock when i run an artifacts scan with ATITool and when i run a game? I was thinking of doing the pencil mod and lapping the cooler so i started to remind myself of the things i needed when i noticed. please dont tell me i never edited the bios right in the first place :banghead:
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Hi guys, Sol great thread bookmarked it a long time ago but i have a question, why is my 8600gt clocks dropping to stock when i run an artifacts scan with ATITool and when i run a game? I was thinking of doing the pencil mod and lapping the cooler so i started to remind myself of the things i needed when i noticed. please dont tell me i never edited the bios right in the first place :banghead:
that may be it you may have edited the 2d clocks and left the 3d clocks stock which would explain your drop :)
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
wow that was fast, no got all 3 lines of clocks to my desired setting 640/1500/800. poor oc i know but i dont play many games
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
wow that was fast, no got all 3 lines of clocks to my desired setting 640/1500/800. poor oc i know but i dont play many games. trying to attach my bios file to let you see
 

Attachments

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
ok i renamed it to .zip as well change it to .rom and try it..if that doesnt work uninstall your drivers and install the 178.24 drivers (or 180.10 if your vista x64) and try again ..also make sure you have the latest rivatuner ati tool doesnt play nice with the nvidia cards some times.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
thanks a million Sol, i will flash it later and see how it goes, off to watch the formula one 6:10am here Scotland. I will let you know how it goes, Thanks again
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
more help needed

Ok i flashed my card with the bios you edited... no change then got the drivers nv_177.98_Win2KXP_CD124 which opens up to be 178.24 (uninstalled originals) and then got ATItool 0.27 still no change except ATItool now changes to 0.00 clocks when i scan for artifacts, but everest shows as going to 540/1188/700 any ideas ?? what have i done wrong ?? :respect:
 

Attachments

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
uninstall your old drivers and get these.


178.24

xp x32 i presume?



those should work but make sure you uninstall the old first. if these dont work install riva tuner


2.11

use that to OC it doesnt come with artifact scanning but it might work better than ati tool for obvious reasons
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
uninstalled the drivers rebooted installed the drivers from your link rebooted and its still the same with both ATITool and the game Portal and Brothers in Arms - Hell's Highway ( still dropping to stock clocks ). You seem to be going down the driver road, so was thinking would it have anything to do with my monitor driver?? i actually have a 32" tv 1366 x 768 showing up as plug and play monitor, so no driver. I do get flickers when i open a folder with thumbnails. Or would changing the bios to a 8600GTS make any diffrence ??? Thanks again for taking time to help me
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
uninstalled the drivers rebooted installed the drivers from your link rebooted and its still the same with both ATITool and the game Portal and Brothers in Arms - Hell's Highway ( still dropping to stock clocks ). You seem to be going down the driver road, so was thinking would it have anything to do with my monitor driver?? i actually have a 32" tv 1366 x 768 showing up as plug and play monitor, so no driver. I do get flickers when i open a folder with thumbnails. Or would changing the bios to a 8600GTS make any diffrence ??? Thanks again for taking time to help me
sry man i have to go to some kind of engagment cerimony but ill be back later tonight. your monitor driver wont be doing it. i need the 8600's temps and you should install riva tuner i really think its an ati tool problem (prolly with the new drivers) and rva tuner will tell you what your clocks are in real time and with a bar graph it might be throttling because of heat but im unsure because the bios settings are correct. ill need to speak with you about it later but i gotta jam i need to be in Massachusetts in 2 hours.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
ok been playing with Riva Tuner and set it to start with windows etc, but i notice that when i change the clocks in riva as soon as i apply the setting the clocks drop in everest to stock then jump to the right setting , and still drops when i play a game.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
check the rivatuner hardware monitor its the second drop down arrow then the button all the way to the right. something else seems like its controlling your clocks
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Riva hardware monitor is showing the drop in clocks too when playing a game. GPU temp is 48 idle then 63 under load. I think a clean reinstall of xp is the way to go if you dont have any more ideas?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Riva hardware monitor is showing the drop in clocks too when playing a game. GPU temp is 48 idle then 63 under load. I think a clean reinstall of xp is the way to go if you dont have any more ideas?
in all honesty i am completely out of ideas....i even modded your bios so the start up clocks (which are usually lower) are the same as your over locks' just incase it was defaulting back and i cannot explain the drop is speed.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
awe well clean install it is ... its about time for clear out... i will let you know when i get it working and give you a shout before i buy my next card.
thanks for helping
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
awe well clean install it is ... its about time for clear out... i will let you know when i get it working and give you a shout before i buy my next card.
thanks for helping
np man i hope it sorts it.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 @ 2200MHz OC'd to 3150MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X38-DS5
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme / HR-05 SLI
Memory Team Group A2 DDR800 x 2GB
Video Card(s) XFX 8600GT 256MB DDR3
Storage Seagate 250GB/WD 500GB
Case ANtec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2zs
Power Supply Antec Truepower 480
Xfx 8600gt Oc

Well i'm new here, tho i have been following this thread for the past couple of days.

Config :-

MSI 975x Platinum Power-up Edition
Core2Duo E4500 @2.2 GHz OC'd to 3.09 GHz - thermalright 120 ultra extreme
Team Group RAM 2 GB kit
XFX 8600GT (540/1138/700) OC'd to 645/1450/900
250GB Seagate 7200 RMP
500GB WD Caviar 7200 RMP
LG DVD writer
Antec Truepower 450 Watts
Antec P180 Case


Following Sol's guide, i lapped the HS on the stock cooler and also removed the gasket plate around it. The stock HS has 4 rubber legs that keep the HS of the components on the board. On looking real close , i noticed that the 4 support legs were well above the PCB due to the HS coming in direct contact with the gasket around the GPU. Also noticed that the gasket is slightly higher that the GPU, resulting in a "not too good a contact" between the HS and the GPU... doing so gave me a 5C drop in temps. where as the GPU used to idle at 54C, it now idles at 49C.

With the above specs and OC, i scored 6090 3Dmarks.

though i want to push the card higher, am reluctant to do the same without proper cooling. So will push the card more once i get my Thermalright V2.

However i did test to see how high i could go on the core. (i use ntune to test the GPU OC ,as it does the same on the fly, and use rivatuner to set the clocks)

using ntune, i was able to get to 780/1450/900.

I am not sure of the stability as i am kinda worried about the temps. With 645/1450/900 , the GPU idels at 49C. when playing games like FarCry2, COD WaW, etc the temps go right upto 77C (too hot).

I have not modded anything on the card except for lapping the stock HS.

Will upload a few pics of my rig later.

Sol..... ur guide is real neat.....though am pretty scared to do some of the stuff that has been done......Thanks !!!
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,066
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Well i'm new here, tho i have been following this thread for the past couple of days.

Config :-

MSI 975x Platinum Power-up Edition
Core2Duo E4500 @2.2 GHz OC'd to 3.09 GHz - thermalright 120 ultra extreme
Team Group RAM 2 GB kit
XFX 8600GT (540/1138/700) OC'd to 645/1450/900
250GB Seagate 7200 RMP
500GB WD Caviar 7200 RMP
LG DVD writer
Antec Truepower 450 Watts
Antec P180 Case


Following Sol's guide, i lapped the HS on the stock cooler and also removed the gasket plate around it. The stock HS has 4 rubber legs that keep the HS of the components on the board. On looking real close , i noticed that the 4 support legs were well above the PCB due to the HS coming in direct contact with the gasket around the GPU. Also noticed that the gasket is slightly higher that the GPU, resulting in a "not too good a contact" between the HS and the GPU... doing so gave me a 5C drop in temps. where as the GPU used to idle at 54C, it now idles at 49C.

With the above specs and OC, i scored 6090 3Dmarks.

though i want to push the card higher, am reluctant to do the same without proper cooling. So will push the card more once i get my Thermalright V2.

However i did test to see how high i could go on the core. (i use ntune to test the GPU OC ,as it does the same on the fly, and use rivatuner to set the clocks)

using ntune, i was able to get to 780/1450/900.

I am not sure of the stability as i am kinda worried about the temps. With 645/1450/900 , the GPU idels at 49C. when playing games like FarCry2, COD WaW, etc the temps go right upto 77C (too hot).

I have not modded anything on the card except for lapping the stock HS.

Will upload a few pics of my rig later.

Sol..... ur guide is real neat.....though am pretty scared to do some of the stuff that has been done......Thanks !!!

thanks man im glad you liked it BTW your hot but not to hot id start getting worried around 85ºC