• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8600 GTS weird lines across the screen.

Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86ghz
Memory 1gb
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8600 GTS 512mb
Display(s) acer 17"
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel Audio
Power Supply ULTRA 600 watt ATX power supply
#1
I started a thread on this about a month ago (was too lazy to find it, so started a new one.)

Anyways, when i play games with my 8600 gts 512mb graphics card, after about 5-10 mins of gameplay i experience weird colorful lines across my moniter (i think this is called artifacting.)

I was told that my card was overheating because i didn't have enough amps to power my card. So, i bought an ULTRA 600 watt ATX power supply with 35 amps on the 12 v rail. When i play games... i get the same problem.

Can anyone help? :banghead:
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,571 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,190
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#2
The card doesn't overheat because it's not getting enough amps, you should have came to us first!! Did the PSU company tell you that? If so, you've been royally ripped off.

In any case it's most likely overheating because the heatsink was incorrectly installed, or you have no airflow in your case (most likely). I bet if you take the side door off your case, you won't have the issue. If that fixes the issue, go buy some case fans.

If taking the side door off your case doesn't fix the issue, RMA the card, the core or memory is f***ed.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86ghz
Memory 1gb
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8600 GTS 512mb
Display(s) acer 17"
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel Audio
Power Supply ULTRA 600 watt ATX power supply
#3
I don't think the card is the problem. I had Two 7600 gt.. TWO... and the same problem happened with each. so maybe it IS airflow. But i shouldn't have to take off my case for the card to be cool.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,129
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#4
You should RMA the card. If you buy a new card that doesn't work properly, and everything else is fine just return the card.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,571 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,190
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
I don't think the card is the problem. I had Two 7600 gt.. TWO... and the same problem happened with each. so maybe it IS airflow. But i shouldn't have to take off my case for the card to be cool.
Taking the side door off is only a temporary solution unitl you get some fans. Just take it off, and order some fans.

Erocker, no matter how many times he RMAs the card he will still have the same issue, its overheating :p

Filling your FULL system specs will help, tell us what your case is..
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86ghz
Memory 1gb
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8600 GTS 512mb
Display(s) acer 17"
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel Audio
Power Supply ULTRA 600 watt ATX power supply
#6
I opened my case, but havn't tested any games yet...

But how do i RMA my card?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,129
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#7
Well, if this has happened before (which I didn't know) there are other issues. One being (yes, hat) temperature issues. Make sure your case has airflow. Another issue could be drivers. Have you updated all your drivers? Most importantly have you updated them correctly?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,129
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#8
I opened my case, but havn't tested any games yet...

But how do i RMA my card?
Try using the world wide web. If you do a "search" for the company "online" you may be able to find thier "homepage" where you can find the information on how to do so.:D A bad card probablly isn't that case though.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,571 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,190
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#9
If you got it from Newegg try Newegg customer support.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86ghz
Memory 1gb
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8600 GTS 512mb
Display(s) acer 17"
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel Audio
Power Supply ULTRA 600 watt ATX power supply
#10
Well, i opened my case, and stuck one of my mini fans next to my graphics card. I played bf2 for about 10 mins, and i still got the lines.

Afterwards, i closed out of bf2, and then look at the temperature of my card, which was at 50 degrees celsius. Im not sure if thats good or not...

I have yet to RMA my card.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,129
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#11
Then I would take a hard look at your motherboard. Drivers, drivers, drivers. Or a bad slot, in which case, get a new motherboard.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86ghz
Memory 1gb
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8600 GTS 512mb
Display(s) acer 17"
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel Audio
Power Supply ULTRA 600 watt ATX power supply
#12
My card is no longer under warrenty, so i cannot RMA.

I hope it's drivers...

Im going to rebuild my whole computer at the rate this is going.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,129
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#13
Instead of wasting your time any more. You should do a complete reinstall of Windows, and make sure you install all the up to date stuff the first time.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86ghz
Memory 1gb
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8600 GTS 512mb
Display(s) acer 17"
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel Audio
Power Supply ULTRA 600 watt ATX power supply
#14
Ive actually already done that.... twice. Back when i had my 7600s... and when i first discovered the problem with my 8600.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86ghz
Memory 1gb
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8600 GTS 512mb
Display(s) acer 17"
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel Audio
Power Supply ULTRA 600 watt ATX power supply
#15
Sorry for double post.
But i have a question.

Is it possible it can be the moniter? Maybe this moniter isn't cut out for high resolutions for long periods of time. Ill try another moniter and see.

If not, ill try different drivers.

If that doesn't work, ill run over to the computer store and ask them what da ell is wrong.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86ghz
Memory 1gb
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8600 GTS 512mb
Display(s) acer 17"
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel Audio
Power Supply ULTRA 600 watt ATX power supply
#16
Triple post (sORRY!)

ALSO... whenever i play bf2142, i don't get the line issue... for some reason i can play as long as i want.

So far, the games it occurs on (which are the games i play most of the time) are Call of duty, battlefield 2, and halo.