• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8600M GT why it shows 128 MB 64bit when its 256 MB 128bit?

Joined
Jan 18, 2019
Messages
7 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
#1
Hello all, I have an old laptop with a Geforce 8600M GT graphics card, the problem is that GPU-Z and Windows properties show that it is a 128MB 64bit card, but in reality it is 256MB 128bit.

Some info: Its ASUS G2S laptop, im running Windows 7 64BIT, checked performance on 3DMark06 and its about 1800pts, when it should be arround 3500pts, the original sticker on it says its 256MB, all specs on internet says its 256, and from what I've read 8600M GT in 128MB version was installed only on Apple machines.

What I've done so far: tried 6 or 7 different drivers, from really old ones to the newest, cleaned drivers with cleaning aps in safe mode, installed/updated chipset drivers and other too, I've updated motherboard BIOS despite it being up to date, in BIOS settings there's no VGA settings or turbo cashe options.

Really im pissed of and sad, wanted only to play one simple game and it runs pretty poorly with the card being seen as 128MB 64bit ;-( pls help :-(
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,049 (4.34/day)
Likes
7,097
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#2
Did you do a clean driver install with DDU?

Sometimes it will say that they are 256MB but half of that memory is actually 'hypermemory' or 'shared memory' memory is allocated to the graphics card from system ram when it needs it.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2019
Messages
7 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
#3
Tried almost everything I could with the drivers, I'm aware it takes the shared memory, but from what I've read it's much slower than the dedicated memory. From what I know it should be displaying 256MB dedicated memory. And I've run 3Dmark to test if it has the proper performance despite showing smaller memory amount.
From notebookcheck:
"Asus G1S T7500 2048 MB 256MB GDDR3 3994pts" - I had about 1900 pts ;-/
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,860 (5.99/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jan 18, 2019
Messages
7 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
#5
"What I've done so far: tried 6 or 7 different drivers, from really old ones to the newest, cleaned drivers with cleaning aps in safe mode, installed/updated chipset drivers and other too, I've updated motherboard BIOS despite it being up to date, in BIOS settings there's no VGA settings or turbo cashe options."
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,049 (4.34/day)
Likes
7,097
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#6
Actually according to notebookcheck. your laptop specs are legit.

If you scroll all the way down you'll see it says 8600M GT - 128

::EDIT::

youre not completely out of luck though. if you want to upgrade. you can get a GT240M that will fit that laptop just fine because it should be MxM II -- Price starting from 195-244złoty before P&P
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,049 (4.34/day)
Likes
7,097
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#8
where and when did you buy the laptop? If you bought it privately then you might of been cheated.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2019
Messages
7 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
#9
It was bought privately but I really don't think someone would make himself trouble to buy another sticker just to cheat on laptop worth two Johnny Walkers. Is there a way to verify it somehow?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,860 (5.99/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
Yeah there is. Take the card out and look at it/stop relying on software(which can be wrong). ;)

Anyway...here's what you need to do to make it a 256MB card <insert pipe dream here>.

BTW a game that runs poorly with 128MB is probably still going to run poorly with 256MB.
Yup this day and age 128-256 was the ideal in 2004, not today.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,049 (4.34/day)
Likes
7,097
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#13
It was bought privately but I really don't think someone would make himself trouble to buy another sticker just to cheat on laptop worth two Johnny Walkers. Is there a way to verify it somehow?
yeah, then you were probably cheated. He probably didnt buy the sticker but pulled if off another laptop that he had and stuck it on the one he sold you. Since you didnt exactly say what the spec was apart from the CPU was different from what was listed on notebookcheck, I can only guess that this person swapped out the original CPU with something inferior.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,860 (5.99/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
I'm aware of that mate, not long ago I had pretty decent Lenovo with GTX660M, but I've recked it to pieces in a car accident
Ok games that will run on a 9700128/9800 256 in a laptop was UT 2004
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,076 (5.32/day)
Likes
12,509
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
It was bought privately but I really don't think someone would make himself trouble to buy another sticker just to cheat on laptop worth two Johnny Walkers. Is there a way to verify it somehow?
I seem to remember ASUS getting in trouble because they "accidentally" put the wrong spec GPU in some laptops. So I wouldn't be surprised if the specs say 128-bit 256MB when it is really 64-bit 128MB.
 
Top