• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8800 gt crashing big time, help!

Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
411 (0.11/day)
Likes
44
System Name Komputor
Processor 2500k
Motherboard p5b d
Cooling stock
Memory 8gigs ddr 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Turbo GTX 970 4 gig
Storage sata II 500 gig
Display(s) 30inch Dell ultrasharp
Case Haf 922
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply 600w OCZ stealthxtream
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 7 home premium 64 bit.
#1
Hey guys, well I finally got my x2 6400 and 8800gt running. What a fiasco with that BIOS!
Anyhoo, the next set of probs is this. I can get in most games, and then they dont last long. Freeze 10 seconds later a quick blue screen pops up and reboot! I can even get past Crysis's EA logo! I get like a green mesh across the screen, sometimes worse than others. Games that do crash, which is a few I have tried, ususally do the green dot/mesh thing across the screen. I did a clean install of the beta 169.09 drivers, and COD4 has lasted the longest on them, but nothing else. I can play BF2 for a bit,then it crashes. My temp seems to be fine on the vid card (31 degrees) Stalker gives me hard time as well. Any suggestions. AA turned on seems to make it crash more often,
specs are:
ocz stealthxsteam 600w psu
x2 6400 cpu with artic freezer
Asus m2a-vm mobo with 1509 bios
2 gig corsair, xms twin ddr2 800mhz
Nvidia 8800 gt
DVD burner
250gig sata HD
win xp sp 2

thanks in advance.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#2
It sounds like you simply got a borked 8800gt, rma it
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
411 (0.11/day)
Likes
44
System Name Komputor
Processor 2500k
Motherboard p5b d
Cooling stock
Memory 8gigs ddr 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Turbo GTX 970 4 gig
Storage sata II 500 gig
Display(s) 30inch Dell ultrasharp
Case Haf 922
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply 600w OCZ stealthxtream
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 7 home premium 64 bit.
#3
Oh for the love of god dont tell me that! I just got it today and waited a week for the bloody thing, what is RMA ? Oh, return to manufacturer?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#4
I think it means Return Manufacturer Assistance or something. If you got it from Newegg, try calling thier customer service.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
411 (0.11/day)
Likes
44
System Name Komputor
Processor 2500k
Motherboard p5b d
Cooling stock
Memory 8gigs ddr 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Turbo GTX 970 4 gig
Storage sata II 500 gig
Display(s) 30inch Dell ultrasharp
Case Haf 922
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply 600w OCZ stealthxtream
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 7 home premium 64 bit.
#5
Ya, I got it from tiger direct here in Canada. I believe their policy is "call the manufacturer"
Dam , I dont know, think I'll screw with it for a few days, then go from there. Just to let you know, I was having a hell of a time after flashing the BIOS. So I'm not sure if thats part of it or not. I was getting lots of crashes after flashing, even with my x1950xt. But no green stuff.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#6
Which BIOS? The motherboard? Oh man, you need to try flashing that again..
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
411 (0.11/day)
Likes
44
System Name Komputor
Processor 2500k
Motherboard p5b d
Cooling stock
Memory 8gigs ddr 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Turbo GTX 970 4 gig
Storage sata II 500 gig
Display(s) 30inch Dell ultrasharp
Case Haf 922
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply 600w OCZ stealthxtream
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 7 home premium 64 bit.
#7
Man that scares the crap outta me, It was screwed for 3 days, and then I just said screw it, I installed my new CPU and PSU and this card and everything kinda worked, kinda. so that's where I am. Maybe I should eh? Is it ok to use the asus updater in windows? Cause thats what caused all my grief the first time around.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
411 (0.11/day)
Likes
44
System Name Komputor
Processor 2500k
Motherboard p5b d
Cooling stock
Memory 8gigs ddr 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Turbo GTX 970 4 gig
Storage sata II 500 gig
Display(s) 30inch Dell ultrasharp
Case Haf 922
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply 600w OCZ stealthxtream
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 7 home premium 64 bit.
#8
Its an asus mobo, so should I follow that guide you just put the link up for?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.48/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#9
what is the make of the 8800gt?
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
497 (0.13/day)
Likes
22
Location
Australia
Processor AMD Athlon X2 3800+ Toledo (2.0ghz for now) (Looking for Opty)
Motherboard DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 NT + 6 120mm Zalman ZM-F3GL case fans through Zalman ZM-MFC1
Memory 2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400 + 2 GB for spare (Or Vista)!
Video Card(s) PNY 8800GTS 320MB
Storage 2x Western Digital 320GB 16MB Cache SATAII Raid 0
Display(s) 17" Philips 107S6E CRT (226BW early `08)
Case CoolerMaster Centurion 534 with upcoming modifications
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Audigy
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 550W (Soon to be ToughPower 750W)
Software Windows XP SP2
#10
Yeah, sounds like a bodgey card man. Call them up and ask them how long it'll take. Correct me if I am wrong but if it were your motherboard BIOS then you would be experiencing a whole other level of crashes/glitches/crapness?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,206 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,694
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
sounds like a bad card. i can confirm the OCZ PSU is good enough for the GT (i have a similar system with the same PSU) so its either drivers or a bad card.

Try running ATI tool, if it crashes/screws up doing the artifact scan, the card is bad.

Obviously, the CPU coudl be overheating as well. you should check its temps.


edit: and of course, if its a new system (or one thats always been finicky) the ram could be bad or set bad. Try running one stick at a time and see if it gets better. (bad system memory feeding bad data to the video card, can often appear as graphical issues right as it crashes)
 
Last edited:

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#12
Can you tell us the BSOD error? I was getting BSOD's constantly with my 8800GT in one specific game and realized it was actually my sound card's driver, nothing to do with the GT.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#13
You got a dying 8800GT take it back get a new one
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.73/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#14
Just to be sure, lock the PCI-e bus to 100. Some boards had troubles with auto setting + 8800GT. It does sound like there is one memory chip bad, turning on AA would mean more memory usage.

One simple test would be to run some game with 640x480 all low settings, if the lower range of memory is good. Under clocking core/memory would be another, but do try that pcie frequency first.

And I feel you on not wanting to return it unless it's must. Not like these things grow on trees, so no telling when you'd get a replacement.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
1,044 (0.22/day)
Likes
42
Location
Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
System Name Jezebelle
Processor FX6300 @4.5GHz
Motherboard Biostar A880GZ
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD 7870 Tahiti 2GB
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB, Sammy 1TB F3
Display(s) BenQ Xl2411Z
Case Acer Aspire T180 stealth case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 7.1 HD, does the job!
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software 7 Pro
#15
Oh for the love of god dont tell me that! I just got it today and waited a week for the bloody thing, what is RMA ? Oh, return to manufacturer?
Only a week? I've been waiting ALL MONTH for mine :cry:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,206 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,694
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#16
Only a week? I've been waiting ALL MONTH for mine :cry:
lol i ordered two at the same time, one (inno3d Overclocked) arrived in 24 hours, the other is at a week now.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
411 (0.11/day)
Likes
44
System Name Komputor
Processor 2500k
Motherboard p5b d
Cooling stock
Memory 8gigs ddr 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Turbo GTX 970 4 gig
Storage sata II 500 gig
Display(s) 30inch Dell ultrasharp
Case Haf 922
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply 600w OCZ stealthxtream
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 7 home premium 64 bit.
#17
It is a Nvidia card, real one, thats why I paid 365 for it! I know its alot. I did have a really shaky flashing of the BIOS though. Tell me how this works..... My setup used to have a x2 4600 and a x1950xt with a 480w psu, nothing else is different in my setup from then until now. So those are the 3 things I have replaced. (rest of specs on side or up top of post) Now upon hearing that the bios of the mobo, which was dated last spring, would prolly not support the x2 6400, I updated the BIOS to the most current- 1501. I used the "easy updater" or whatever its called. Upon reboot it would not stay stable for more than 10 seconds, and that was like that for about 3 days! so long story short, after screwing with it for ever, I decided I would just install my new components-PSU,CPU, VID CARD- and go from there. Well what do you know the machine was stable after installing the new components. Weird or what? But of course the card has not been. I cranked cod4 and it ran for quite a while at a blistering 140 fps, but then crash! Oblivion ran forever without crashing. BF2 lasted only 5-10 mins, and Crysis I can barely get to the main menu without major green meshy screen and lockup-reboot. My system ram totally fine till that Bios flash. I know my ram is good. I'm thinking I need to at least try flashing the BIOS one more time.

ps, sorry for the long read!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,206 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,694
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
it could be bios, but dont rule out scrweing up the CPU install or something too. you could have messed up the grease job or something small like that, and overlooking those can be a problem.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
411 (0.11/day)
Likes
44
System Name Komputor
Processor 2500k
Motherboard p5b d
Cooling stock
Memory 8gigs ddr 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Turbo GTX 970 4 gig
Storage sata II 500 gig
Display(s) 30inch Dell ultrasharp
Case Haf 922
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply 600w OCZ stealthxtream
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 7 home premium 64 bit.
#19
Ok heres the lates update, reinstalled the bios, no difference. Messed with voltages in bios, no difference. It seems that it doesnt happen - the green meshy, freeze , hard lock up reboot - when I'm playing source based games, ie hl2 , cs, dod,etc. It doesnt happen in oblivion. GOW does it, COD i can play for a few minutes and crysis still cant get past main menu. It really makes me think its drivers. My cpu is at a cool 30 degrees, so I dont think its working hard. But why can I play some games and not others? Red orchestra gave me the green meshy screen/ lockup too. Maybey this cheap mobo hates this all! BF2 will crash to desktop or just reboot whole machine, but I never get the green stuff. PSU maybe?
anymore ideas would help guys , thanks!
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#20
always flash in dos. windows flashing is nutoriously risky/
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
411 (0.11/day)
Likes
44
System Name Komputor
Processor 2500k
Motherboard p5b d
Cooling stock
Memory 8gigs ddr 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Turbo GTX 970 4 gig
Storage sata II 500 gig
Display(s) 30inch Dell ultrasharp
Case Haf 922
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply 600w OCZ stealthxtream
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 7 home premium 64 bit.
#21
Ok I think I have flashed in the EZ flash from within the BIOS, is that ok, because there is no DOS in xp right?
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,496
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#22
As long as the flash worked its OK...and NO DOS is not in XP....DOS is when you boot from a floppy/CD drive prior to loading the OS.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
411 (0.11/day)
Likes
44
System Name Komputor
Processor 2500k
Motherboard p5b d
Cooling stock
Memory 8gigs ddr 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Turbo GTX 970 4 gig
Storage sata II 500 gig
Display(s) 30inch Dell ultrasharp
Case Haf 922
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply 600w OCZ stealthxtream
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 7 home premium 64 bit.
#23
"I recently built a new system, which seemed to run fine till I tried a graphics intensive game like Hellgate London, which seemed to only work on medium/low graphics settings on DirectX9 since DX10 was just horribly laggy. It would crash from 5-30minutes, I then tried Crysis which once in the game crashed after 2 seconds. By crash I mean either screen freeze, or screen freeze with artifacts, both causing my computer to completely freeze and force me to power off then back on, no alt+tab, or ctrl+alt+del."

My system specs are:
CPU: Intel Core2Duo E6850 3.00GHz
RAM: A-Data 2x Paired 2x1GB PC6400 800MHz (4GB total)
Motherboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3P
Video: Gigabyte 8800GT 512MB
O/S: Vista Home Premium 32bit
PSU: ThermalTake Tough Power 600W
HDD: Western Digital 750GB SATAII
Monitor: Chimei 946D 19" Widescreen 1440x900"


THATS A QUOTE FROM NVIDIA FORUMS, HIS DESCRIPTION OF CRYSIS IS EXACTLY MINE,
HE IS USING LATEST DRIVERS. I'M GOING TO UNINSTALL DRIVERS, PUT ON OLDER ONES, LET YOU KNOW WHAT HAPPENS......
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
411 (0.11/day)
Likes
44
System Name Komputor
Processor 2500k
Motherboard p5b d
Cooling stock
Memory 8gigs ddr 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Turbo GTX 970 4 gig
Storage sata II 500 gig
Display(s) 30inch Dell ultrasharp
Case Haf 922
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Power Supply 600w OCZ stealthxtream
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 7 home premium 64 bit.
#24
well, just installed 1.67's and cod4 seems to be ok, but crysis is same. STALKER went for a bit, then boom , green junk and hard lock.
I'm thinking I might re-install windows and start fresh.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.68/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#25
well, just installed 1.67's and cod4 seems to be ok, but crysis is same. STALKER went for a bit, then boom , green junk and hard lock.
I'm thinking I might re-install windows and start fresh.
Dont be lazy. Send the card back asap, the longer you muck with it the less likely you will get the card replaced, I've seen it happen before. As far as I know, you MIGHT be suffering from heat, 31 Degrees doesnt tell a lot, as thats the idle temperature. You may have a load temp of around 100*C. If the card still mucks up, after you get it replaced it could be the following:

-Direct X Installation
-Cooling.