• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

8800GT crashes

Zeyckler

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi, first sorry for my english, but I am Spanish.
The problem with the graphic is that, in 2D run perfectly seeing videos or the desktop but when I put a game in 3D, as Bioshock, Gears of Wars, Crysis,etc depending of the game, I can play more or less, but finally the game crash, remaining the screen of the game in the display or putting on the totally black screen. What problem might be?

Bye
 

ccleorina

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
195 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
Location
Overclocking Hell
Processor Intel Core i7 Extreme Edition 965 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-EXTREME Intel X58
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE1366 120mm SSO CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 2000Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 XFX GeForce GTX 295 1792MB GDDR3 SLI
Storage 2 WD VelociRaptor 300GB RAID0 + WD GP 2TB Data
Display(s) 2 Samsung 30W" LCD 6ms
Case Thermaltake SwordM Black Liquid Cooling Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Falat1ty X-Fi
Power Supply Ultra X3 1600W Modular PSU
Software Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 64-Bit SP1 OEM
#2
Can show us your system SPEC 1st????:rockout:
 

Zeyckler

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Can show us your system SPEC 1st????
AMD 64 3200+ "Venice E6" (300x8)
DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D
512MBx2 OCZ EL Gold Edition VX
Point of View GeForce 8800GT 512MB
Hitachi DeskStar 250GB SATA II
Corsair VX550W

Bye
 

ccleorina

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
195 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
Location
Overclocking Hell
Processor Intel Core i7 Extreme Edition 965 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-EXTREME Intel X58
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE1366 120mm SSO CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 2000Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 XFX GeForce GTX 295 1792MB GDDR3 SLI
Storage 2 WD VelociRaptor 300GB RAID0 + WD GP 2TB Data
Display(s) 2 Samsung 30W" LCD 6ms
Case Thermaltake SwordM Black Liquid Cooling Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Falat1ty X-Fi
Power Supply Ultra X3 1600W Modular PSU
Software Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 64-Bit SP1 OEM
#4
Point of View GeForce 8800GT 512MB???:roll: What your 8800GT Subvendor u buy from? And what OS u running?:rockout: What driver version u install for your 8800GT?
 

Zeyckler

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
The graphic was bought in a spanish shop called "APP Informática", the OS is XP SP2 Professional and the drivers are the 169.21. I have installed too the Vista Ultimate 64, but it dont boot, only can see the loading screen and nothing else.
 

ccleorina

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
195 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
Location
Overclocking Hell
Processor Intel Core i7 Extreme Edition 965 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-EXTREME Intel X58
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE1366 120mm SSO CPU Cooler
Memory G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 2000Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 XFX GeForce GTX 295 1792MB GDDR3 SLI
Storage 2 WD VelociRaptor 300GB RAID0 + WD GP 2TB Data
Display(s) 2 Samsung 30W" LCD 6ms
Case Thermaltake SwordM Black Liquid Cooling Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Falat1ty X-Fi
Power Supply Ultra X3 1600W Modular PSU
Software Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 64-Bit SP1 OEM
#6
Ic.... Did u try to use with other graphic card?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#7
Point of View GeForce 8800GT 512MB???:roll: What your 8800GT Subvendor u buy from? And what OS u running?:rockout: What driver version u install for your 8800GT?
:wtf: Err.. haven't you heard of POV? Zeyckler, its most likely your cooling thats the issue. The 8800GT cooler is rather inefficient thanks to the low CFM fan. I'd replace the cooler with something like a VF700ALCU + The Zalman BGA heatsinks (for the MOSFETs).
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2006
Messages
86 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Location
Spain
System Name My pc
Processor intel 4690K @4200
Motherboard Asus z97 Pro Gamer
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (lapped)+Silverstone FM121 (adapted)
Memory 16 Gb kingston hyper cl9
Video Card(s) gigabyte GTX960
Storage SSD Samsung 850 EVo + 2 x barracudas 7200.10 500 Gb Raid0
Display(s) Samsung BX2231
Case Antec Sonata Plus 550
Power Supply Antec NeoPower 550w (included in case)
Software win 7 64 + Windows 10 pro
#9
I think you need a fresh windows install and search for the latest drivers. If the problem persists and you are sure it isn't a temp problem (use rivatuner to check it and control the fan speed), then I think your card has a major problem. You should return it to the shop.

Saludos!!!
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,132 (0.28/day)
Likes
293
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor FX-9590
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory 4x4GB Dominator Platinum 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus 780 Poseidon (only on air)
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) 32" 1080p TV and 22" Dell 1680x1050....
Case Raidmax Monster II SE
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
#10
New thermal grease always helps. But the card you own should be new enough to where the thermal paste hasn't dried up completely, some of the more "generic" vendors use the worst thermal paste you could immagine.

Run Rivatuner's Hardware Monitor in the background, keeping track of temps at all times. That way, when you've been playing a game for about 10 minutes, you can Alt-Tab and see what the temperatures are like.

8800GTs should run as hot as 100c, without crashing (hopefully). But, it would be preferable to keep temps around 70-75, if possible with the stock cooler. Normally you have to manually turn the fan speed up in the control panel. The fan speed doesn't automatically go up on a lot of the newer cards, they are scared to let you know how loud the fan actually is I guess..... So, you end up running your card at 90c, and your fan speed is still 40%, which is bad. Turn the fan speed up to 75% once (it should be very audible at this point), and keep track of the temperatures.

Stress the card for a little while, and tell us the temps. Maybe try the new BETA driver that nvidia has out right now (it's on TPU's front page).

When you install new drivers, you uninstall the old drivers first, right?? AND, you uninstall any previous drivers from any other video cards too.

Oh, yeah, and also, I had a similar problem with my x800, on an older motherboard. I updated my motherboards BIOS, and everything was fine... try maybe updating your motherboards BIOS too. After all the 8800GT was designed for PCI-E 2.0, and that wasn't even out when you purchased your motherboard, so you may very well need a BIOS update (not that your mobo will support 2.0 with the update, but it might help.)
 
Last edited:

Zeyckler

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
I have tried change the BIOS of the motherboard, same result. I have tried change the drivers to the last beta, same result. I have tried to underclock the DDR to 200Mhz (before 280Mhz), same result.
I saw that the temperatures are inside of the secure range, I test with World of Warcraft and the sensor measure of about 52-55ºC when the game froze.

Thanks
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,074 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,991
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#12
After all the 8800GT was designed for PCI-E 2.0, and that wasn't even out when you purchased your motherboard, so you may very well need a BIOS update (not that your mobo will support 2.0 with the update, but it might help.)
thats total bs. all current generation cards have been designed for 1.x with 2.0 support as marketing gimmick. actually there are a ton of 2.0 boards out there that dont run the new cards in 2.0 mode
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,132 (0.28/day)
Likes
293
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor FX-9590
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory 4x4GB Dominator Platinum 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus 780 Poseidon (only on air)
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) 32" 1080p TV and 22" Dell 1680x1050....
Case Raidmax Monster II SE
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
#13
How is it bs? I'm just trying to hint that he should try a BIOS update, since the card was built around new technology. Maybe the 2.0 boards that wont run in 2.0 mode just need BIOS updates then? Or the cards themselves need a new BIOS? Unless the boards you speak of are just "2.0 compatible"...

The temps don't seem bad at all, are you measuring all through gameplay? Or just once at the end when (or after) it crashes? It happens with ALL 3d? XP or Vista? How many video cards have been in and out of your system, and how well do you get rid of old drivers and stuff? Maybe you just need to "clean" your hard drive out real good or something, or reformat like said above.:confused:
 
Last edited:

Zeyckler

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
In my desperate attempt of looking for possible failures, I was ran the memtest86 of the my motherboard BIOS and I have a some errors: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/Zeyckler/memtest.jpg
This errors are "important" or errors that dont have importance?

The temps don't seem bad at all, are you measuring all through gameplay? Or just once at the end when (or after) it crashes? It happens with ALL 3d? XP or Vista? How many video cards have been in and out of your system, and how well do you get rid of old drivers and stuff? Maybe you just need to "clean" your hard drive out real good or something, or reformat like said above.
The temps are measuring through all the gameplay, and crashes randomly. It always happens with 3D, seeing videos or simply seeing the desktop never have a crash.
Before, I have an Ati video card, an X850XTPE, but before I put the 8800GT I unistalled and cleaned (with Driver Cleaner and a reg cleaner) the drivers of the ATI. All of that I say happens in XP.

Edit. I tried to run Crysis with only stick of ram,first one and before the other, and both crash before or after but crashed
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
732 (0.16/day)
Likes
87
Location
NY
System Name Ummmm...Mine
Processor I7 920 @ 4.2ghz @ 1.29v's load
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Custom 1/2 inch H20
Memory 3x2gb Patriot Sector 7 @2008Mhz 27-9-11-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 580 SC 900/1800/1090
Storage 1-Mushkin 60gb SSD 1-500GB WD Black and 2-1TB 32mb WD Black
Display(s) 25 inch Hanns-G 2ms
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Turtle Beach Catalina
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Pro Series-Modular
Software All Kinds...and then some.
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 11 P7066 Compare Link- http://3dmark.com/3dm11/251153
#15
All memory errors are "Important"......all your Data travels through your memory....so bad memory equates to bad overall system performance.....stop looking at the Vid card and replace your Ram....I think you'll see your crashes are a thing of the past.....and you should do a fresh Install after replacing the memory.....no telling what corruption has occurred.

Hope It helps. :)
 

xt198

New Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2007
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Hungary
System Name my pc
Processor Core 2 Duo E6750 2,66Ghz @ 3,6Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3
Cooling 2x80mm fan in case
Memory 4x1GB Kingmax 800Mhz @ 900Mhz
Video Card(s) Inno3D GeForce 8800GT 512 @ 742/1895/1042
Storage 40GB+80GB+250GB Samsung ata133 HDD @ 7200rpm
Display(s) LG 17" 1024x768@85hz
Case Normal atx ;)
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Chieftec 400W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3dmark'06 - 13178
#16
take your 8800gt fan with RivaTuner to 80% and it will be no problem, if yes, dont overclock your card, if you didnt, take it back to the shop
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,132 (0.28/day)
Likes
293
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor FX-9590
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory 4x4GB Dominator Platinum 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus 780 Poseidon (only on air)
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) 32" 1080p TV and 22" Dell 1680x1050....
Case Raidmax Monster II SE
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
#17
Maybe run Memtest on one stick of RAM at a time.... then you don't HAVE to replace both sticks if you don't want to.... Maybe your overclock isn't stable?
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2006
Messages
86 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Location
Spain
System Name My pc
Processor intel 4690K @4200
Motherboard Asus z97 Pro Gamer
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (lapped)+Silverstone FM121 (adapted)
Memory 16 Gb kingston hyper cl9
Video Card(s) gigabyte GTX960
Storage SSD Samsung 850 EVo + 2 x barracudas 7200.10 500 Gb Raid0
Display(s) Samsung BX2231
Case Antec Sonata Plus 550
Power Supply Antec NeoPower 550w (included in case)
Software win 7 64 + Windows 10 pro
#18
Seeing your memtest capture, your memory timmings seems a little bit aggressive. I don't know if that memory is able to run as such timmings. Try to modify in bios to 3-3-3-6 and pass memtest again... If you obtain no errors, then check a game...

Download an run CPU-Z from TPU and look in the memory tab the timmings that your memory supports....

Good luck

Si necesitas que te aclare algo, envíame un mail. <---- If you need further explanation, send me an email.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,202 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#19
I put the fan at 60% and was ran the 3DMark06, the 1st test run well, but in the 2nd the system crashes.
If I put Artic Silver 5, will fix it?

Bye

Edit. Before, when I run the "stress test" of Nvidia Control Panel the system throws the next error: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/Zeyckler/errorvga.jpg
Even though that is in Spanish, the given driver (nv4_disp) is an nVIDIA driver issue.

I agree with the fresh install of Windows. Backup all important data and wipe the drive clean. Make sure you install ALL current drivers for everything.
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.74/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#20
I'd go for 0.1v more for memory and run test 8 in memtest some passes (I found it the fastest way to spot too aggressive timings or too low memory voltage). You should not get any memory errors in memtest. If you get those it means that ANY program can crash and those error messages don't have anything to do with that hardware or driver.

If a bit more voltage doesn't help, try more relaxed timings (2.5-3-3-8 BH5 sticks won't boot with cas3). Also see if you have 1T or 2T timing set for memory. If 1T drop to 2T and see if it fixes errors.

Once you get memtest to pass without errors and still get crashes, you can rule out the memory at least.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#21
In my desperate attempt of looking for possible failures, I was ran the memtest86 of the my motherboard BIOS and I have a some errors: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/Zeyckler/memtest.jpg
This errors are "important" or errors that dont have importance?



The temps are measuring through all the gameplay, and crashes randomly. It always happens with 3D, seeing videos or simply seeing the desktop never have a crash.
Before, I have an Ati video card, an X850XTPE, but before I put the 8800GT I unistalled and cleaned (with Driver Cleaner and a reg cleaner) the drivers of the ATI. All of that I say happens in XP.

Edit. I tried to run Crysis with only stick of ram,first one and before the other, and both crash before or after but crashed
First off, if one stick of RAM has problems, I would immediately replace the RAM, why? Isn't it bloody obvious that your RAM is the problem? Replace the RAM already. How warm the card gets doesnt seem to be one ounce relevent to the reason why your system is crashing.

But, one thing though crashing while watching video... I'd expect the IO of the video would use the RAM in a way.

Even though that is in Spanish, the given driver (nv4_disp) is an nVIDIA driver issue.
I agree with the fresh install of Windows. Backup all important data and wipe the drive clean. Make sure you install ALL current drivers for everything.
A whole system wipe? Whats with you guys... Uninstall driver, reboot, install new driverr, reboot done...? I wonder what you guys do to end up with corrupted drivers :wtf: Anyway, reinstalling windows is irrelevant to the fact that his RAM is faulty.

In all, half of you don't seem to know that RAM faliure is important... and are just thinking about the drivers.

take your 8800gt fan with RivaTuner to 80% and it will be no problem, if yes, dont overclock your card, if you didnt, take it back to the shop
Same story... RAM issues during load, even mem test spurted out errors.

Zeckyler, please listen, replace the RAM if one stick is dying it causes shitloads of problems? (and please the next guy, dont post something thats along the lines of "fan speed or drivers") If you want to test cooling capacity, I would have set it at 100% on the first go.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,202 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#22
If it wasnt due to the RAM then I was saying to do a reinstall of the OS.

When it comes to a corrupted anything, I format. I dont bother doing a repair or anything like that. However, the one time I did have a bad video driver, i did uninstall it and reinstall the driver and all was fine. But when it comes to system files, I just format.
 

Zeyckler

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
News, I have tried rising the voltage of the RAM from 3.1v to 3.2v, and I have had fewer errors, but the problem persist.
I have probed to put the settings of the BIOS to the default values and the games continue failing.
Finally I have format the hard disk, and with the XP newly installed, the games on having put them, to a little time the screen freezes.
My brother was bought a new PC, and I a few days I will be able to try his RAM of the old PC.

Bye
 

Zeyckler

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#24
Hi, in other attempt to search the possible error I have tried another ram and similar result, the game crashes (Crysis in this case). I do not know that it can be, already I have tried everything...
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
20 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Trinidad
System Name Darksector
Processor i7 4770K @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H - F10
Cooling Thermalright Silverarrow SB-Extreme
Memory (2) Silicon Power 16GB DDR3-2400 - C11
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce 780Ti Sup[erclocked
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Yamakasi Catleap Q270SE
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek - DDL/DTS Unlocked
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 1200W
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 - MX Brown
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike 1.1 - 11026 http://www.3dmark.com/fs/7104249
#25
raise the ram timings to 2-3-2-5 or 2-3-3-6
i had similar 2-2-2-5 errors on ram that was tested at 2-2-2-5.
my problem was my dimm voltage only reached to 2.8v max