• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

8800gt overclock advice

Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#1
this is my card 8800gt
my pc overclock stable and 3d marrk 06.JPG
and what you think guys about o'c my card and don't forget this card based in suck mobo called abit nf-m2s
and if i change my mobo with abit 8200 chipset and it will be run 16x2.0*16x2.0 how much i get more score and fbs
and i know i have low score , i think cuz drivers, or any idea guys cuz i got 10760 in my old driver 169.21 and did new physics driver work on xp , i don't see any change
i know it is too much heat but im try to somehow decrease it
thanx for post
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
no idea about changing mobo, even with an 8200 chipset many features such as hybrid SLI will not work (they only work with 8400/8500 cards, to my knowledge)

If you had a core 2 quad, you'd be seeing 12-13k so your score isnt that bad, AMD's just arent as fast as an OC'd intel and it really shows in 3dmark due to the CPU tests.

740MHz is a nice core clock, and 62C seems just fine.

The best way to increase your speed would be to get a faster CPU, and that implies grabbing an OC'able intel such as the E7200. (of course, you'd need a new mobo too)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#3
no idea about changing mobo, even with an 8200 chipset many features such as hybrid SLI will not work (they only work with 8400/8500 cards, to my knowledge)

If you had a core 2 quad, you'd be seeing 12-13k so your score isnt that bad, AMD's just arent as fast as an OC'd intel and it really shows in 3dmark due to the CPU tests.

740MHz is a nice core clock, and 62C seems just fine.

The best way to increase your speed would be to get a faster CPU, and that implies grabbing an OC'able intel such as the E7200. (of course, you'd need a new mobo too)
thanx mussels , but what about if i o'c my cpu to 3.3 or more , but in this way i change my mobo for o'c the cpu only
and the card with 62c not full load , so i check it go up to 75c with full load
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
75C is a bit warm, i'd consider either putting a fan on the back of the video card (it can help upto 15C) or buying an accelero S1 cooler like i have.

OCing your CPU more on a new board would help, but let me just point this out: go look in the benchmark threads here on TPU (devil may cry 4 and 3dmark 06 in particular) and look for any AMD systems. You'll notice that they're all fairly low in the rankings, they just cant compete with intel for speed.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#5
75C is a bit warm, i'd consider either putting a fan on the back of the video card (it can help upto 15C) or buying an accelero S1 cooler like i have.

OCing your CPU more on a new board would help, but let me just point this out: go look in the benchmark threads here on TPU (devil may cry 4 and 3dmark 06 in particular) and look for any AMD systems. You'll notice that they're all fairly low in the rankings, they just cant compete with intel for speed.
yes i know that even AMD's BE product not go high overclock like intel , but i chose amd and i can't go upgrade now cuz my next target is gigabyte x48 with q6600 or q9450 so im wait now and try to make my amd more useful with overclock, the new abit i want price at 105$ but the x48 priced 340$ and q6600 for 280$ i know it is expensive but this is our market price so what you think now
and i pay for my amd 220$ before 6 months
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
if you're going to upgrade later, i'd suggest spending the money on a better video card cooler, and possibly on the CPU (make sure its 775 compatible as well, such as the xigmatek HDT1283)

The logic being that you can possibly OC higher, and you can reuse them on the new PC. If you got a new AM2 mobo and went to upgrade, you'd have two leftover AM2 mobos.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#7
if you're going to upgrade later, i'd suggest spending the money on a better video card cooler, and possibly on the CPU (make sure its 775 compatible as well, such as the xigmatek HDT1283)

The logic being that you can possibly OC higher, and you can reuse them on the new PC. If you got a new AM2 mobo and went to upgrade, you'd have two leftover AM2 mobos.

so i see this water cool what you think

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835128016
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#8
Gigabyte water cooling sucks..
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
Gigabyte water cooling sucks..
^ dont ever bother with pre assembled water cooling.

not to mention the very first comment mentions it doesnt work on the Geforce 8 series.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#10
Swiftech actually has a few good AIW kits.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#11
that is suck, i can't find somthig good in our markets so any idea for home moding
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#12
so if my card run at 16x2.0 with abit nforce 8200 , how much i get more fbs and score cuz it is run now 8x1.0 , and im sure i get better overclock with 2.0
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#13
so if my card run at 16x2.0 with abit nforce 8200 , how much i get more fbs and score cuz it is run now 8x1.0 , and im sure i get better overclock with 2.0
I had pretty much the exact same system as you did 6000 x2 and 8800GT and I moved to a pci-e 2.0 and didn't see any fps increase at all, Also it didn't overclock any better either :(
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#14
thanx , that is what i worry about it , that mean i still what i am , or do high jump
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,753 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,021
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#15
With a single 8800GT and a Q6600 at 3.8gig I got a 3D Mark score of 15,600. Can I assume that the OP has done the bios volt mod?

No there will be little or no increase in performance from the added throughput of PCI-E 2.0 because quite simply....the 8800GT does not push out the numbers to use any of the extra bandwidth (5Gbit as opposed to 2.5Gbit on PCI-E 1.1).

Can I ask what you bench your 6000 at?
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#16
Hmm why don't you get another 8800GT and +1 on getting a q6600 because that was a massive increase in benchmark scores.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#17
With a single 8800GT and a Q6600 at 3.8gig I got a 3D Mark score of 15,600. Can I assume that the OP has done the bios volt mod?

No there will be little or no increase in performance from the added throughput of PCI-E 2.0 because quite simply....the 8800GT does not push out the numbers to use any of the extra bandwidth (5Gbit as opposed to 2.5Gbit on PCI-E 1.1).

Can I ask what you bench your 6000 at?
in 3d mark 06 you can see in top thread picture , i get about 2500 ,but i think my amd 6000 is good and it is not bottlenick my card
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#18
No the 6000 isn't bottlenecking the gpu :)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#19
Hmm why don't you get another 8800GT and +1 on getting a q6600 because that was a massive increase in benchmark scores.

righ 3d mark 06 depend too much of cpu , but increase 3d mark score not mean increase game performance , i care about my card score
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#20
The only game that is heavily cpu dependant is supreme commander, the rest are gpu dependant and for that a 8800GT is very good for them.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#21
Also think "Are benchmarks worth spending extra hundreds of dollars on?" If your system does everything you need it to do comfortably, well then i cant see the point in buying newer stuff YET. My 5000+ did everything fine on a 3.1Ghz OC, but now i find its struggling with gamnes such as mass effect and multi tasking at the speed that id like it to be able to. So i will be going intel + Q6600 within the next few weeks, purely because my system cannot keep up with what i need doing.

Just think if you REALLY need it and then go buy or dont buy accordingly.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,753 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,021
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#22
Have you modded your BIOS? and is 740mhz the max you can bench at?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#23
don't remember me for my bios , im tired too much from it , ketxxx and spoud help me and mode bios for me but my bios is died , with marvel i find some friend have ecs mobo with same chipst , so i fix my bios by swapping bios in two times ,this is my biggest problem i have and it is first reason to make want change my mobo , any idea
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,753 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,021
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#24
don't remember me for my bios , im tired too much from it , ketxxx and spoud help me and mode bios for me but my bios is died , with marvel i find some friend have ecs mobo with same chipst , so i fix my bios by swapping bios in two times ,this is my biggest problem i have and it is first reason to make want change my mobo , any idea
I was talking about video BIOS.