• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8800GT red & green lines

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
Got my Inno3D 8800GT 512MB on friday and I get red & green very thin lines on screen in 3D.

Card looks like this http://www.lapstore.net/store/images/DSCN6191_small.jpg

And before you ask about the temps, I can't tell, as the temperature reading doesn't work from this model with any program (tried RivaTuner, ATItool, nTune, etc.) I've sent Inno3D mail about the issue and the missing temperature reading, but in the mean time I'd like to know has any 8800GT owner got these too.

Here's a picture of 3dMark05 demo run with1280x1024 4xAA 8xAF that you can see the artifacts in question.

crate, about head hight ...... red lines on the bottom

Picture is best I could do with my 3.2Mpixels, as the lines are so thin and they don't show up in screenshots. Used 169.08 drivers on the CD and it was worse, could get those lines with ATITool furrycube. Now using 169.28 and I have to game a while to get them and there are less of them.

I did put a 120mm extra fan blowing straight to the cooler (as it's not the great looking :p) and I could run the whole demo without any line artifacts. Card is not overclocked, runs on default 600/900. Fan spins on same speed all the time (2 wires) and RivaTuner hang if you try to get to the fan page. Cards heatsink isn't hot to touch.

I'm not that interested sending the card back, as I've already waited 3 months to get one and these got sold out in 2 days, next patch not coming until week 7. I have a VF900 waiting to be changed, but if the card is faulty and not just overheating, I'd rather not remove the orginal fan.

So gurus, overheating and prope the orginal fan for bad paste & stuff and change it?
Or it should work with default cooler without artifacts and it's faulty -> RMA?
Or bad drives, try some better ones (which)?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
9,009 (1.76/day)
System Name Black Panther
Processor i9 9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 AORUS PRO Wifi 1.0
Cooling NZXT Kraken X72 360mm
Memory 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit RTX2080 Ti Dual 11GB DDR6
Storage Samsung EVO 970 500GB SSD M.2 & 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm
Display(s) 32'' Gigabyte G32QC 2560x1440 165Hz
Case NZXT H710i Black
Audio Device(s) Razer Electra V2 & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GX-850 Gold 80+
Mouse Some Corsair lost the box forgot the model
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
I did put a 120mm extra fan blowing straight to the cooler (as it's not the great looking :p) and I could run the whole demo without any line artifacts. (which)?

I think that shows what the problem is.

One question - do you hear your fan increase its whirring during gaming? (The stock fan of 8800GT is far from silent - when you power up your pc, that hair-dryer sound which comes out for a few seconds is the GT fan!)

Many GT owners had the problem of the fan remaining at 29% during 3d gaming, and hence resulting in artifacts. Hopefully Nvidia will release a better driver in the future, but so far this can only be solved with Rivatuner or Ntune.

Did you try Ntune? After you load the program you enter it via the nvidia control panel. Do it, and set the fan speed at 60% through ntune, then check if the artifacting happens again. (If you click on 'monitor temperature levels' in nvidia control panel, it will directly take you to the site to download ntune).

My card's fan automatically goes up to 60% (with Rivatuner) and at that fan speed during 3d games like Crysis, Oblivion and benchmarks it goes up to 78 degrees, sometimes topping at 81. I've set rivatuner to pump up the fan to 90% if it goes over 85 degrees, but so far it hasn't happened.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
614 (0.11/day)
Location
QLD, Australia
Processor i7 7820X - |Delidded - 4.7GHz - 30 Mesh|
Motherboard MSI X299M Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED 3400MHz (4 x 8GB) @ 3466MHz 15-14-14-34-280-CR1 1.36V
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti 11GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO NVMe M.2 500GB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 500GB | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB
Display(s) AOC U3277PWQU 32in 4K
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv mATX TG
Audio Device(s) Onboard --> S/PDIF Out --> Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair HX850i 850W
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
Keyboard Corsair Gaming Strafe RGB Cherry MX Silent
Software W10 Pro 64 bit | Ubuntu 18.04
I agree with Black Panther. Anywhere from 50% - 100% fan speed you will definately hear it. If not I assume that the cards fan is only running at default 29% in which the GPU will get bloody hot resulting in the descibed artifacts. The fact that you have placed a 120mm fan directly on the card aslo indicates a heat problem. Try downloading a progam call Expertool 6.1 http://www.gainward.net/support/support_uk.html and try adjusting the fan speed. It may work with your card, give it a go or try adjusting the fan speed through nTune.
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.38/day)
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
I had something like that on a 8600GT. It was these small vertical green lines that only appeared in 3d applications. I returned it and the replacement worked fine.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
7,756 (1.37/day)
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 9900K 4.8 at 1.152 core voltage minus 0.120 offset
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z370-F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Gaming Pro OC 2080TI
Storage 150 nvme boot drive partition.. 1T Sandisk sata.. 1T Transend sata.. 1T 970 evo nvme m 2..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and nothing special..
Audio Device(s) onboard sounds with stereo amp..
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores Firestike 29500.. timepsy 14000..
parts of the cards components were wrongly shipped.. they were intended for ati cards but have ended up on an nvidia card..

red and green lines.. get it..:laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh:

trog
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
Hehe, made a too long post, people didn't read it trough :)

Black Panther: the fan runs at a constant speed and no software shows fan speed or temperature and can adjust it (as it's Inno3D own design).

Dia01: that was a good idea, used to have gainward 6800LE si ExperTool was familiar then. It let's me adjust core, memory and shaders, but no sign of fan speed.

nTune looks like this, it's in Finnish (can't find language in there) but you'll get the idea. Temperatures and fans settings are just grayed out
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
I had something like that on a 8600GT. It was these small vertical green lines that only appeared in 3d applications. I returned it and the replacement worked fine.

Didn't want to hear that :( My friend has identical card and his is fine too, starting to suspect that one of the memory modules is faulty :banghead:

But I can't get a replacement in 2 weeks even if I wanted, so I might as well take the orginal cooler apart and see what happens, maybe there is just a contact issue with something, as more airflow did help and faulty ram shouldn't go unfaulty with lower temps :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,792 (0.47/day)
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) heaps of dead GPUs in the garage
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006 / Contour Balance Keyboard / Logitech diNovo Edge
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores It does boot up? I think.
Oletko kokeillu sitä kortin toista DVI-liitintä että tekeekö se samat viivat?

edit:
Koska sanot että viivat ei tartu kuvankaappaukseen ei vika täten ole muisteissa tai GPU:ssa vaan välillä kortti<->monitori. Eli joko RAMDAC, DVI-portti, DVI-kaapeli tai monitori on syypää.
 
Last edited:

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
Oletko kokeillu sitä kortin toista DVI-liitintä että tekeekö se samat viivat?

edit:
Koska sanot että viivat ei tartu kuvankaappaukseen ei vika täten ole muisteissa tai GPU:ssa vaan välillä kortti<->monitori. Eli joko RAMDAC, DVI-portti, DVI-kaapeli tai monitori on syypää.

On kokeiltu toista DVI porttia, sama tulos ja nyt on jäähy vaihdettu, kohta testaamaan. Monitori ja kaapeli on ehjiä kun päivitin x1900xt:stä.

Same for English, he asked if I have tried the other DVI port and I have. Also supected the error to be in between card and the monitor, like in RAMDAC. Monitor and DVI cable are good as I upgraded from x1900xt.

But as soon as I saw the orginal heatsink (that weight 170g with the fan) I'm 99% certain that it's the problem along with the thermalpad to memory (wirdest plasticy stuff ever). Pictures to follow.

edit: not the cooling, that 1% part of me was right :(

parts of the cards components were wrongly shipped.. they were intended for ati cards but have ended up on an nvidia card..

red and green lines.. get it..:laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh:

Hehe :)
 
Last edited:

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
Here are the pictures of the card and the cooler change:


Cooler off, full aluminium :shadedshu .. Thermalpads, imagine 5 year old solid stretchy silverpaste :D I could just peel the 4 that stuck to memory with my fingers, no residue. These both compined I think was the problem and memory just overheated, will test after this post if I'm line free.

Samsung memory :rockout: .. I suspect this to be first reduced layer 8800GT .. With new cooler.

No busser, no VIVO chip hole and other components differently too. Testing ->

EDIT: no lines in 1st part of 3DMark05 demo like before :toast: Next 3dMark06 Demo with VF900 on 5V. That brought even more lines in the Canyon Flight part, when sun was shining.

Still don't know what temps are, but if this is indeed a new PCB desing, soon all will be like this and surely programs will be modified. As long as it works I'm fine and others with VF900 seemed to get max 70C to core.

EDIT2: read below
 
Last edited:

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
Well that joy didn't last long, something is broken in this card. Tried some OCing with ATITool cube and green lines came back. No matter if you raise core or memory. Tried with stock clocks and they are still there from time to time with artifact scanning :(

OC potential is bad on the core, real yellow artifacts show up somewhere near 650MHz, but mem seems great. Run ATITool cube with 1100MHz without artifact (not counting those green lines). 500MHz in core still brings green lines, 150MHz I didn't see them.

Isn't the VIVO chip now inside the core, maybe that's what is broken? Or like largon said the RAMDAC.

edit: with 1100MHz memory 3DMark03 passed fine and score went 35553 -> 36808, pity that this card is broken :/
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,456 (0.24/day)
Location
66 feet from the ground
System Name 2nd AMD puppy
Processor FX-8350 vishera
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2
Memory 16 Gb DDR3:8GB Kingston HyperX Beast + 8Gb G.Skill Sniper(by courtesy of tabascosauz &TPU)
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+;1450/2000 Mhz
Storage SSD :840 pro 128 Gb;Iridium pro 240Gb ; HDD 2xWD-1Tb
Display(s) Benq XL2730Z 144 Hz freesync
Case NZXT 820 PHANTOM
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE with Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Riotoro Enigma G2 850W
Mouse Razer copperhead / Gamdias zeus (by courtesy of sneekypeet & TPU)
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software win10 64bit ltsc
Benchmark Scores irrelevant for me
if a memory chip is damaged you'll get artifacts when the card startto work in 3d mode;depend how big the damage is that particular chip;if is big the card will show artifacts also in 2d mode and as finally won't start 3d at all so send the card back asap
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,034 (8.20/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO | Custom 280mm EK loop
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz) - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
sounds like a bad card - return it.
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
sounds like a bad card - return it.

Yep, have to do that and wait 2 weeks for replacement :( Here's a GPU-z screenshot just for fun.
 
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
9,009 (1.76/day)
System Name Black Panther
Processor i9 9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 AORUS PRO Wifi 1.0
Cooling NZXT Kraken X72 360mm
Memory 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit RTX2080 Ti Dual 11GB DDR6
Storage Samsung EVO 970 500GB SSD M.2 & 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm
Display(s) 32'' Gigabyte G32QC 2560x1440 165Hz
Case NZXT H710i Black
Audio Device(s) Razer Electra V2 & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GX-850 Gold 80+
Mouse Some Corsair lost the box forgot the model
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
I agree with Mussels. It's probably a faulty memory module.
True it's a hassle and you'll have to wait - but better wait a couple of weeks and get a good card, rather than being stuck with a bad one.

As a last thing before rma'ing it - which driver are you using? Have you tried the one on the cd which was shipped?
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
I agree with Mussels. It's probably a faulty memory module.
True it's a hassle and you'll have to wait - but better wait a couple of weeks and get a good card, rather than being stuck with a bad one.

As a last thing before rma'ing it - which driver are you using? Have you tried the one on the cd which was shipped?

Yep, better to have a good card, that lasts years. I've just waited 3months for this one, a bit sick of waiting more ;)

Card is already in the box with it's orginal cooler, back to x1900xt. But I used first the one supplied with CD, was 169.09 or something, then I took the latest 169.32 and as a last try I tried 169.28, WHQL both, rest seem beta.

One last funny thing. On the back of the card the sticker say 03 2008 and the core say 0802. The card was sent to me 31th of January, how can it have a core manufactured in february and card assembled in march :confused: :D
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,034 (8.20/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO | Custom 280mm EK loop
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz) - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Yep, better to have a good card, that lasts years. I've just waited 3months for this one, a bit sick of waiting more ;)

Card is already in the box with it's orginal cooler, back to x1900xt. But I used first the one supplied with CD, was 169.09 or something, then I took the latest 169.32 and as a last try I tried 169.28, WHQL both, rest seem beta.

One last funny thing. On the back of the card the sticker say 03 2008 and the core say 0802. The card was sent to me 31th of January, how can it have a core manufactured in february and card assembled in march :confused: :D

because the cores are added on later :p they make them seperately.
 

Gruffalo.Soldier

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,788 (2.12/day)
That is possible,the core was made in feb,shipped to inno and they made the card in march.

I think yor right sending it back,pity it will take 3 weeks tho'.
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
because the cores are added on later :p they make them seperately.

That is possible,the core was made in feb,shipped to inno and they made the card in march.

Think you both forget we are living the start of february 2008, core was supposedly made THIS month and card assembled NEXT month =) NVIDIA is making future cores and Inno3D future cards :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,034 (8.20/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO | Custom 280mm EK loop
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz) - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Think you both forget we are living the start of february 2008, core was supposedly made THIS month and card assembled NEXT month =) NVIDIA is making future cores and Inno3D future cards :)

well, they could be different meanings. 2008 batch #3, something like that.

I'm aussie so i'm already in the future :p
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,792 (0.47/day)
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) heaps of dead GPUs in the garage
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006 / Contour Balance Keyboard / Logitech diNovo Edge
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores It does boot up? I think.
"03 2008" = 3rd week of 2008
"0802" = 2nd week of 2008
;)
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
I have a new theory what wrong with this card:

NVIDIA in Discussion With TSMC to Increase G92 Wafer Orders
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=46972

"NVIDIA also integrated the NVIO-1 chip, which was previously separate from the G80. This handles the output capabilities of the G92 chip, and it supports HDCP at 2560 x 1600."

"Codename: G92
All interfaces (2xRAMDAC, 2xDual DVI, HDMI, HDTV) are integrated into the GPU (unlike the external NVIO in the GeForce 8800)"


So they asked last year TSMC to increase their wafer orders to this year, my core is done this year and part of that 15% higher volume. If quality control is also 15% less, or they use soso cores on the outside of the wafer too, there might be imperfections in RAMDAC or DVI/HDMI.

Remembered when I first plugged 8800GT to my LCD TV and run ATITool the speakers of my TV were crackling and popping. The card sent some audio signal along with the DVI-HDMI cable and had to change TV's HDMI input from digital to analog to make it stop. So the lines and sound had something in common -> core is good, but the NVIO part of it is not and as it's integrated it makes the whole chip bad.

And my friends identical card bought at the same time went bad today with the black screens and a pink screen. 8800GT pink screens can be found in youtube and on google, maybe all these are related and the problem is the same integrated NVIO chip.
 
Top