• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

8800GTX not OC'ing...not even a little bit...

AceAngel

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
The Great White
System Name Aurora Angel
Processor Core 2 Duo - E6750 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE: GA-P35-DS3L/S3L
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory A-DATA - 1GB (x4) @ 960MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia Gigabyte - 8800GTX @ 620/1420/1010
Storage Samsung - 500GB @ 7200RPM
Display(s) N/A
Case GIGABYTE - 3D Aurora Chassis
Audio Device(s) Built-In HD Realtek Sound Card
Power Supply 700W Epsilion (SLi Ready)
Software Windows XP - SP2
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 13K
#1
Hey to all, sorry if this type of question was asked several hundred time or it is posted in the wrong section, so forgive me. Other then that, newbie here...

Oh, and Happy New Year to all.

Anyways, I am having this issue where basically when I OC my VGA, my games end up freezing. What happens is that my game (depending on how intensive it is) will lock up after 'X' amount of time. Older game will take longer, while new, more power hungry game can lock my game under 10 minutes to 5.

When they lock up, I can't do anything, my controls even don't respond. I hear a screeching noise in the game (usually the FX) then I only hear the ambient noise, the the only image on my screen is the last Frame in the game. I can't Alt+Tab, Alt+F4 or even Ctrl+Alt+Del out of the game. I MUST restart my PC by pressing the Power Button or pressing the Reset Button.

I have OC'ed my CPU E6750 from 2.6 to 3.2 GHz on stock fans, and it didn't give me any problems. But as soon as I OC my VGA, my games keep on having this issue.
I didn't OC anything else for those wondering.

I have all my information filled out in my Systems Specs. tag.

I would like to know why people are able to OC they VGA to Ultra levels, yet I am not able to even to get it at 600/1100 ratios.

Thanks in advance =D
 

Exavier

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
981 (0.27/day)
Likes
78
Location
Bath, UK
Processor Q6600 G0 Stepping @3.4
Motherboard DFI LanParty DK P45 T2RS-PLUS
Cooling Fitseries3 Edition Fuzion v1, XSPC Razor X2, XSPC RS320, Hydor L30
Memory Crucial Ballistix @972mhz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB x2 (I need another OS drive LOL)
Display(s) Sony Bravia 40L4000 40" HDTV :D
Case Silverstone TJ07 (Mod is a WIP)
Power Supply Corsair HX620w
Software Windows Vista
#2
No two GTX are the same. Whilst people CAN reach 800/whatever levels, it's only an indication that the model itself is able to do it.
Back down your OC in increments of 5-10mhz and test for artifacts at each stage, then see how high YOUR card can go.
 

PyroX1040

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
283 (0.08/day)
Likes
13
Location
Chicago, IL
System Name Phoenix EGTX 8400
Processor Intel E8400 3.0Ghz / 4.5Ghz - 2000FSB 1.6375 Vcore
Motherboard 3VGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI
Cooling Straight Air
Memory 4.0GB Kingston HyperX Gaming Ram 800Mhz [OC]
Video Card(s) SLI 3VGA 8800 GTX 606/1800 / BFG Tech PhysX GPU GDDR3
Storage Western Digital Raptor X 150GB 10,00RPM [x2]
Display(s) KDS 22" Widescreen 2ms
Case Tagan Aplus+ Black Pearl WCR Edition
Audio Device(s) Built In
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST1000 1000W Modular Power Supply - SLI Ready x4
Software Windows XP Professional 2003 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06': 19000 On The Nose!
#3
No two GTX are the same. Whilst people CAN reach 800/whatever levels, it's only an indication that the model itself is able to do it.
Back down your OC in increments of 5-10mhz and test for artifacts at each stage, then see how high YOUR card can go.
I suggest using ATI-Tool to check your highest memtest and GPU speed so you make sure you don't fry anything and then go from the normal speed to the highest while checking stability as Exavier said ^.^!
 

AceAngel

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
The Great White
System Name Aurora Angel
Processor Core 2 Duo - E6750 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE: GA-P35-DS3L/S3L
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory A-DATA - 1GB (x4) @ 960MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia Gigabyte - 8800GTX @ 620/1420/1010
Storage Samsung - 500GB @ 7200RPM
Display(s) N/A
Case GIGABYTE - 3D Aurora Chassis
Audio Device(s) Built-In HD Realtek Sound Card
Power Supply 700W Epsilion (SLi Ready)
Software Windows XP - SP2
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 13K
#4
Hey, thanks for the quick replay.

Well, I did those. I used both ATi Tools and RivaTuner (not together BTW - just saying which programs I gave a try) and no difference so far.

Anyways, ATi says that my Card can reach Ultra levels (Core: 612/ Memory: 1080). However, even then, my games keep on having this issue. I even ran a 3 loop test of 3DMark06 to make some kind of stress and see if it would crash on me, but no avail.

Is there anything else I need to know of?

BTW: My card is a nVidia Logo (meaning that EVGA, XFX or any other brand hasn't touched it).
 

PyroX1040

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
283 (0.08/day)
Likes
13
Location
Chicago, IL
System Name Phoenix EGTX 8400
Processor Intel E8400 3.0Ghz / 4.5Ghz - 2000FSB 1.6375 Vcore
Motherboard 3VGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI
Cooling Straight Air
Memory 4.0GB Kingston HyperX Gaming Ram 800Mhz [OC]
Video Card(s) SLI 3VGA 8800 GTX 606/1800 / BFG Tech PhysX GPU GDDR3
Storage Western Digital Raptor X 150GB 10,00RPM [x2]
Display(s) KDS 22" Widescreen 2ms
Case Tagan Aplus+ Black Pearl WCR Edition
Audio Device(s) Built In
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST1000 1000W Modular Power Supply - SLI Ready x4
Software Windows XP Professional 2003 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06': 19000 On The Nose!
#5
What kind of computer is it like:

1) Custom
2) Dell
3) Gateway
4) Etc?
 

AceAngel

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
The Great White
System Name Aurora Angel
Processor Core 2 Duo - E6750 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE: GA-P35-DS3L/S3L
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory A-DATA - 1GB (x4) @ 960MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia Gigabyte - 8800GTX @ 620/1420/1010
Storage Samsung - 500GB @ 7200RPM
Display(s) N/A
Case GIGABYTE - 3D Aurora Chassis
Audio Device(s) Built-In HD Realtek Sound Card
Power Supply 700W Epsilion (SLi Ready)
Software Windows XP - SP2
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 13K
#6
Custom made...I chose all the parts, took them to 'Certified' person who set everything in place and pretty much I was set to go.

I even took a peek inside to see if anything was 'wrongly' adjusted, as far as I could see everything is as smooth as a baby's bum.
 

PyroX1040

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
283 (0.08/day)
Likes
13
Location
Chicago, IL
System Name Phoenix EGTX 8400
Processor Intel E8400 3.0Ghz / 4.5Ghz - 2000FSB 1.6375 Vcore
Motherboard 3VGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI
Cooling Straight Air
Memory 4.0GB Kingston HyperX Gaming Ram 800Mhz [OC]
Video Card(s) SLI 3VGA 8800 GTX 606/1800 / BFG Tech PhysX GPU GDDR3
Storage Western Digital Raptor X 150GB 10,00RPM [x2]
Display(s) KDS 22" Widescreen 2ms
Case Tagan Aplus+ Black Pearl WCR Edition
Audio Device(s) Built In
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST1000 1000W Modular Power Supply - SLI Ready x4
Software Windows XP Professional 2003 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06': 19000 On The Nose!
#7
All I can think of that would cause freezing would be to high of an overclock without enough power..
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#8
Are both 6-pin PCIe power connectors hooked into the card?
 

AceAngel

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
The Great White
System Name Aurora Angel
Processor Core 2 Duo - E6750 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE: GA-P35-DS3L/S3L
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory A-DATA - 1GB (x4) @ 960MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia Gigabyte - 8800GTX @ 620/1420/1010
Storage Samsung - 500GB @ 7200RPM
Display(s) N/A
Case GIGABYTE - 3D Aurora Chassis
Audio Device(s) Built-In HD Realtek Sound Card
Power Supply 700W Epsilion (SLi Ready)
Software Windows XP - SP2
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 13K
#9
Strange...I specifically bought an ATX 12V 700W power supply with SLi Ready on it...

EDIT: Yeah I checked, and they're connected...

EDIT2: I just took out my box of the VGA, and on it is written the brand name GIGABYTE...I'm guessing the reason I can't OC is because the company GIGABYTE had something to do with it? Could be...I don't see many people singing thier praises.
 

Jarman

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
387 (0.10/day)
Likes
71
Location
Wrexham UK
Processor Opty 165 @ 3011 MHz
Motherboard DFI NF4 SLI-D
Cooling Koolance Exos, DD TDX/Maze4 GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill HZ DDR 500 Kit
Video Card(s) XFX Geforce 7900GT
Storage > 1.5 TB
Display(s) XEROX 19" TFT
Case Coolermaster ATCS 101
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Software XP serv pack 2
#10
it will be ur ram speed...its too optimistic. drop the ram speed to 1000 for now and concentrate on shaders and core. My 8800 wont go above 970 on ram..but will go to 1700 on shaders and 670 on core clock.
 

PyroX1040

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
283 (0.08/day)
Likes
13
Location
Chicago, IL
System Name Phoenix EGTX 8400
Processor Intel E8400 3.0Ghz / 4.5Ghz - 2000FSB 1.6375 Vcore
Motherboard 3VGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI
Cooling Straight Air
Memory 4.0GB Kingston HyperX Gaming Ram 800Mhz [OC]
Video Card(s) SLI 3VGA 8800 GTX 606/1800 / BFG Tech PhysX GPU GDDR3
Storage Western Digital Raptor X 150GB 10,00RPM [x2]
Display(s) KDS 22" Widescreen 2ms
Case Tagan Aplus+ Black Pearl WCR Edition
Audio Device(s) Built In
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST1000 1000W Modular Power Supply - SLI Ready x4
Software Windows XP Professional 2003 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06': 19000 On The Nose!
#11
And you have both power pins connected correctly right?
 

AceAngel

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
The Great White
System Name Aurora Angel
Processor Core 2 Duo - E6750 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE: GA-P35-DS3L/S3L
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory A-DATA - 1GB (x4) @ 960MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia Gigabyte - 8800GTX @ 620/1420/1010
Storage Samsung - 500GB @ 7200RPM
Display(s) N/A
Case GIGABYTE - 3D Aurora Chassis
Audio Device(s) Built-In HD Realtek Sound Card
Power Supply 700W Epsilion (SLi Ready)
Software Windows XP - SP2
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 13K
#12
@Jarman: RAM speed? My Memory clock? But I thought that this was the LEAST stressful option to use, and OC'ing the Core would be more (for a better lack of words) harder?

Or am I missing something here? (Sorry guys, it's been only my 2nd time at OC'ing).

@PyroX1040: I'm very well sure they are...unless I'm missing something. I'll be back in a jiffy to tell you (just want to make sure).
 

AceAngel

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
The Great White
System Name Aurora Angel
Processor Core 2 Duo - E6750 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE: GA-P35-DS3L/S3L
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory A-DATA - 1GB (x4) @ 960MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia Gigabyte - 8800GTX @ 620/1420/1010
Storage Samsung - 500GB @ 7200RPM
Display(s) N/A
Case GIGABYTE - 3D Aurora Chassis
Audio Device(s) Built-In HD Realtek Sound Card
Power Supply 700W Epsilion (SLi Ready)
Software Windows XP - SP2
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 13K
#13
Update: OK, just looked at my cables and all...as far as I can see, there's nothing wrong. Everything is well hooked.

I went to BIOS to see if everything is alright. My motherboards has a strange OC Program, and to the untrained eye (like mine), it seems daunting, so I'm not that great with it. Was wondering if anyone could tell me if this is my problem (as I set most things to Auto).

Basic Mode:


Expert Mode (gives a whole slew of RAM settings):


Other then that...
 

PyroX1040

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
283 (0.08/day)
Likes
13
Location
Chicago, IL
System Name Phoenix EGTX 8400
Processor Intel E8400 3.0Ghz / 4.5Ghz - 2000FSB 1.6375 Vcore
Motherboard 3VGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI
Cooling Straight Air
Memory 4.0GB Kingston HyperX Gaming Ram 800Mhz [OC]
Video Card(s) SLI 3VGA 8800 GTX 606/1800 / BFG Tech PhysX GPU GDDR3
Storage Western Digital Raptor X 150GB 10,00RPM [x2]
Display(s) KDS 22" Widescreen 2ms
Case Tagan Aplus+ Black Pearl WCR Edition
Audio Device(s) Built In
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST1000 1000W Modular Power Supply - SLI Ready x4
Software Windows XP Professional 2003 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06': 19000 On The Nose!
#14
Update: OK, just looked at my cables and all...as far as I can see, there's nothing wrong. Everything is well hooked.

I went to BIOS to see if everything is alright. My motherboards has a strange OC Program, and to the untrained eye (like mine), it seems daunting, so I'm not that great with it. Was wondering if anyone could tell me if this is my problem (as I set most things to Auto).

Basic Mode:


Expert Mode (gives a whole slew of RAM settings):


Other then that...
Try setting your PCI-E Freq. to 100Mhz not Auto could be trying to use more than the card could need and handle.
 

Jarman

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
387 (0.10/day)
Likes
71
Location
Wrexham UK
Processor Opty 165 @ 3011 MHz
Motherboard DFI NF4 SLI-D
Cooling Koolance Exos, DD TDX/Maze4 GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill HZ DDR 500 Kit
Video Card(s) XFX Geforce 7900GT
Storage > 1.5 TB
Display(s) XEROX 19" TFT
Case Coolermaster ATCS 101
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Software XP serv pack 2
#15
default ram speed is 900mhz...it is unlikely to be stable much over 1000..and 1100 would be really unlikely.
 

AceAngel

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
The Great White
System Name Aurora Angel
Processor Core 2 Duo - E6750 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE: GA-P35-DS3L/S3L
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory A-DATA - 1GB (x4) @ 960MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia Gigabyte - 8800GTX @ 620/1420/1010
Storage Samsung - 500GB @ 7200RPM
Display(s) N/A
Case GIGABYTE - 3D Aurora Chassis
Audio Device(s) Built-In HD Realtek Sound Card
Power Supply 700W Epsilion (SLi Ready)
Software Windows XP - SP2
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 13K
#16
Ooooh, I have to thank you guys alot. Just played a straight shot of COD-4, and didn't get a hitch...

Now, all I need to do is get Crysis and see if THAT games lock down my PC due to the stress-factor...

Oh, BTW, my settings are now 600/1000...not alot, but hey, at least I got clean numbers here, so thanks guy =D

Other then that, what else can I do with my 700W power-supply? I kind of want to utilize as much as possible (without burning up anything of course).

So, any advice?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,956 (1.36/day)
Likes
830
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#17
u cant do anything else with your 700 watt power supply except perhaps add another grafix card.. its more than enough for what u are running at the moment..

trog
 

AceAngel

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
The Great White
System Name Aurora Angel
Processor Core 2 Duo - E6750 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE: GA-P35-DS3L/S3L
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory A-DATA - 1GB (x4) @ 960MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia Gigabyte - 8800GTX @ 620/1420/1010
Storage Samsung - 500GB @ 7200RPM
Display(s) N/A
Case GIGABYTE - 3D Aurora Chassis
Audio Device(s) Built-In HD Realtek Sound Card
Power Supply 700W Epsilion (SLi Ready)
Software Windows XP - SP2
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 13K
#18
Oh, so basically an SLi, is my only option? Bummer -.-;

But wait, didn't SLi require at least 1,000W? Or I was imagining stuff...

Oh well, thanks for all the help people =D
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
1,229 (0.34/day)
Likes
132
Location
vermont
System Name Dominator
Processor INTEL C2Q Q6600 FTW!!
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E!!!
Cooling TEC cooled cpu, everything else is under water :D
Memory 4GB CELL SHOCK D9GMH 1066MHZ/4GB CRUCIAL REDS
Video Card(s) 4850 (VT)/ 4850 IN CROSSFIRE!
Storage western digital= 1X 250GB, 1X 500GB, IDE 160GB (BOOT DRIVE ONLY). SEAGATE FREE AGENT 500GB EHDD
Display(s) viewsonic 19" hd widescreen
Case ROCKETFISH FOR NOW :(
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD WORKS JUST FINE FOR ME :p
Power Supply ULTRA X3 1KW MODULAR
Software win vista ultimate 64 TWEAKED!!!
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=434759 3dm06: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm0
#19
some of the 8800 series won't oc depending on the manufacturer. I read that on another forum, try using the oldest drivers if that won't work try using the newest, just a thought.
 

AceAngel

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
The Great White
System Name Aurora Angel
Processor Core 2 Duo - E6750 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE: GA-P35-DS3L/S3L
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory A-DATA - 1GB (x4) @ 960MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia Gigabyte - 8800GTX @ 620/1420/1010
Storage Samsung - 500GB @ 7200RPM
Display(s) N/A
Case GIGABYTE - 3D Aurora Chassis
Audio Device(s) Built-In HD Realtek Sound Card
Power Supply 700W Epsilion (SLi Ready)
Software Windows XP - SP2
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 13K
#20
I still haven't updated to the newest stable drivers (which I should BTW, just never got around to it)...I do have the latest BETA, and from personal experience, those drivers don't like either my ATi Tool or RT...I did a 'Find Max Core' test, and pretty much it shot my levels to 700 Core clock, from which my PC froze, and I had to reset.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
233 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
Location
Australia, SA
System Name Computer MkVIII
Processor 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth P67
Cooling CPU: 212+ EVO GPU: Stock
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ares @2133mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 24" Asus VE248
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#21
Hey, great to see your 8800GTX is overclocking properly, i was going to suggest the PSU might be the problem, but from what i've just been reading about the Epsilon 700w, you got a nice quality power supply. The only other thing i could suggest is a third party cooler, i'd recommend the Thermalright HR-03, keeps my GTX in the low 50°, and under load my GTX never gets over 70°.

Anyway, good luck with your overclocking mate, and have a great christmas :D
 

AceAngel

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
The Great White
System Name Aurora Angel
Processor Core 2 Duo - E6750 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE: GA-P35-DS3L/S3L
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory A-DATA - 1GB (x4) @ 960MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia Gigabyte - 8800GTX @ 620/1420/1010
Storage Samsung - 500GB @ 7200RPM
Display(s) N/A
Case GIGABYTE - 3D Aurora Chassis
Audio Device(s) Built-In HD Realtek Sound Card
Power Supply 700W Epsilion (SLi Ready)
Software Windows XP - SP2
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 13K
#22
Haha, thanks mate, a Great Christmas to you too good Sir =D

In the place I live, they had a 'part' of each. Meaning I got the last hardware bundle right before X-Mas...that was a close call of a bit for me (especially the PSU...), so this mean no cooling for me this yeah...yet.

Not a hassle anyways...my load at best is 85C or 84C...

Thanks for the advice =D
 

Jarman

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
387 (0.10/day)
Likes
71
Location
Wrexham UK
Processor Opty 165 @ 3011 MHz
Motherboard DFI NF4 SLI-D
Cooling Koolance Exos, DD TDX/Maze4 GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill HZ DDR 500 Kit
Video Card(s) XFX Geforce 7900GT
Storage > 1.5 TB
Display(s) XEROX 19" TFT
Case Coolermaster ATCS 101
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Software XP serv pack 2
#23
8800gtx runs out of overclocking headroom for voltage not temperature reasons. Ull get very little extra OC for watercooling it.

if u use rivatuner u can OC the core, shaders (which makes a really big difference) and ram seperately
 

AceAngel

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
The Great White
System Name Aurora Angel
Processor Core 2 Duo - E6750 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE: GA-P35-DS3L/S3L
Cooling Stock Fans
Memory A-DATA - 1GB (x4) @ 960MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia Gigabyte - 8800GTX @ 620/1420/1010
Storage Samsung - 500GB @ 7200RPM
Display(s) N/A
Case GIGABYTE - 3D Aurora Chassis
Audio Device(s) Built-In HD Realtek Sound Card
Power Supply 700W Epsilion (SLi Ready)
Software Windows XP - SP2
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 13K
#24
Hey Jarman (sorry for the delayed replay).

I just did what you said, I took RT and unlocked the Shaders option, and using ATi Tools to scan for artifacts started my new OC'ing proccess (I also checked 'unlinked' nodes).

It's strange to say the least...here's my new results:
Core Clock: 625 (I can reach 630, but 95% of the time my PC freezes up at that point, so I went down).

Shader Clock: 1425 (I can reach 1432, and thats where I get artifacts, so I went down to 1425 - I just love clean safe numbers).

Memory Clock: 1015 (I can go all the way to 1030 or around that number, but every minute or so I get artifacts, so I went to the value which didn't do that...tested it for about some time too to make sure).

I ran ATi Tools (scanning for artifacts that is) and for about 30+ minutes it didn't show artifacts.

My issue is however, aren't those numbers a bit too big? Should I lower them? I gave all the wall limits of my OC as well those number which it work well on, but do you people think I should lower them more?

EDIT: Oh, almost forgot, my card runs at a stable 85C when OC'ed at 100% Fan speeds...