1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8800GTX SLI Testing - Results

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by HeavyH20, Nov 20, 2006.

  1. HeavyH20

    HeavyH20 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    407 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Well, I have had a few requests, so I will post all the bench results here. Initially, I will run with air cooling. Then, once the Swiftech Storm is in place, I can update so we can see a delta. And, hopefully, the 8800GTX water blocks become available soon. Likely go with the DangerDen blocks.

    Test parameters:
    C2D x6800 @ 3.9 GHz on an EVGA 680i motherboard.
    EVGA 8800 GTX SLI @ about 630/950 for now.
    2 GB of Crucial Ballistix 4-4-4 DDR2 800


    3DMark06 - 16,632

    3DMark05 - 24,291

    3DMark03 - 61,157

    AM3 - Pending

    SuperPi

    [​IMG]


    Game Tests:

    Company of Heroes, all options maxed, HQ driver settings, 2560x1600

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,761 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,288
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    on 3dmark06 how many fps do you get on cpu 2?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    1...LOL! its aways one, some times two if your are lucky...


    i would suspect more on the 3dmarks06??? bottleneck in the memory perhaps?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,761 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,288
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    not always one on every systwem my dualcore 3800 was only getting 0.805 fps before i overclocked
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    with my xp3000+, it got a one...

    with my fx, it got a one...

    i saw a x6800 in action, it got a one...

    sure that it may differ by some in detail, but the average is still one...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I am very impressed. Have you installed fraps and benchmark any-games yet?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. HeavyH20

    HeavyH20 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    407 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    I have FRAPS. Will screenshot some game benchmarks, as well.

    Well, CPU2 goes something like 1-2-2-2-1-1-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-2-2-2-3-2-2-2-1-1 for a whopping fps of 1.647

    As of the 06 scores, they are spot on for the setup. Stock x6800 setups with 8800GTX SLI are around 14K or so. With a quad, OC'd decently and the card mildly OC'd, scores are around 17K or so. There are the phase changed results all around 18K or so. LN2 helps break the 20K border, like Kingpin or Shimano.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,064 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    241
    That is a very impressive system indeed :-O. I guess 3dmark is going to have to go and release an 07 edition now to shoot down your system ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,731 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,714
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Wow... way to go. :toast: What multi are you using on the X6800? A true dream machine ...for the moment :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    My god... :ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Gulp. Nice system.

    When I try to make my system go so fast, the rubberbands break.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    OMG, you have the system of my dreams! in fact I made a wish list of components in newegg shortly after the 8800GTX came out with the exact same specs as your system, down to the brands of the mobo and video cards :p

    At least now I have some numbers to go along with my dream system, hopefully I can get at least one 8800GTX next year when I move to the US :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Your coming over the the USA next year? A
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Yes, will be living in the Fresno area :D Anyone in that area fell free to contact me so we can throw some LAN parties :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    amazing

    ps-good to see another coh player
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,494 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    Would you like to slide one of those 8800's my way? ...Please?:D
    Lol you're beond addicted to that game.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. ryboto

    ryboto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    nice systems, minus the psu's...a bit more power than you'll ever need. I've seen 2x8800gtx's and an x6800 powered by a 650W seasonic.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Lt_JWS

    Lt_JWS

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,007 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Insane system :D Enjoy it!!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    just a little:ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. HeavyH20

    HeavyH20 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    407 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    As long as it is part of the M12 series, it should work decently until you attempt to OC. But, I wanted a PSU with 4 x PCI-E power. And, it is a good idea to run a PSU well within capacity to avoid any voltage drops, etc. And, it is not that much more for good insurance.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. ryboto

    ryboto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I just find it hard to believe one of those systems would actually be using 500W or more of power...just seems absurd and unrealistic.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    They may not use that much but I think having more power will prolong your psu's lifespan (a little... maybe:eek: ), well it will def keep the rails from fluctuating as much when using alot of power.

    SeaSonicM12 has quad 12v rails, I just had to upgrade my psu again for they sold out... getting the m12 500 now instead of the Ocz600 than Zalman600...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. HeavyH20

    HeavyH20 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    407 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Well, I have a monitor that tells me the use of power real time, and at the wall, the system consumes about 465 watts. Assuming 85% efficiency, that is about 400 watts supplied by the PSU. The Seasonic would be more than enough.

    I wanted a PSU that will work with a quad/quad setup. You never know what your PC will look like in 6 months.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. ryboto

    ryboto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    that's not too bad, although, I don't know if i would assume 85% efficiency...as 85% is around the maximum that the highest efficiency psu's are providing. Even so, only 465W, and that's under some load?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. HeavyH20

    HeavyH20 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    407 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Yup. Max running under 3DMark06. Have to try some other tests, but I have not seen it go over 500 Watts.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)