• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8GB of DDR2 1066Mhz or 4GB of DDR3 1333Mhz

Duekay

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
1
Location
Brisbane AU
System Name Workstation : Server/HTPC
Processor Core i7 920 @ 4.2GHz : Core i3 2120
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 : Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
Cooling Cooler Master V8 : Stock
Memory Corsair DDR3 12GB @ 1600Mhz : Corsair DDR3 8GB @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 560 Ti & GT 430 : Onboard
Storage OCZ Max I/O 2x128 SSD Raid0 + Corsair 3x120GB SSD Raid0 : Corsair 2x60GB SSD Raid0
Display(s) Dual samsung 24" & 1 Acer 22" : Acer 22 & Samsung 46" TV
Case Antec P182 Performance One : Antec 4U rackmount
Audio Device(s) Mackie Onyx 400F 10x10 : Maudio Fast Track Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 : Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 64bit, Cubase 5 : Windows 7 64bit
#1
I am wanting to find out if ill see more performance from 4GB of DDR3 1333Mhz or 8GB of DDR2 1066Mhz.

The DDR3 with 4 GB cost $70 more than the 8GB of DDR2

Im running Windows XP 64-bit if any one was wondering :D

Thanks

Dave
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
487 (0.11/day)
Likes
56
Location
Stamford, UK
System Name The Money Sink
Processor Intel i7-5960X at 4.60Ghz
Motherboard MSI X99A Godlike
Cooling Custom watercooling loop, single D5 -> CPU, dual D5 -> GPU's
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) 2 x 1080Ti @ Stock for the moment (40oC LOAD)
Storage 960GB Mushkin Scorpion Deluxe and 2 x 512GB M.2 SSD RAID0
Display(s) Dual Curved LG 34" Display
Power Supply EVGA 1600W G2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores ALOT
#2
Without doubt I would buy the DDR2! Price/performance DDR2 wins hands down... DDR3 isn't good enough yet to warrant the price difference.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.28/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#3
Size of memory translates to the ability to run more programs at once. Frequency of memory translates to speed.

Don't forget to look at the timings. You have a link or part numbers to the RAM you had in mind?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
740 (0.20/day)
Likes
155
Location
Belgium ⇒ Limburg
System Name HP Z800 Workstation
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon 5680 ( = 12 x 3.463Ghz )
Motherboard HP Z800 Workstation - Motherboard
Cooling HP Z800 Workstation - Liquid cooling solution
Memory 16GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 1333MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX Vega 56 ( with Vega 64 bios )
Storage SSD Samsung 840 Pro 500GB
Display(s) EIZO FS2434-BK
Case HP Z800 Workstation
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser GSP 300 ( Headset )
Power Supply HP Z800 Workstation - 1110 WATT ( 36 amps on 12V )
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G 15
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#4
You have XP, the performance difference isn't going to be much.

But once you upgrade to Vista X64, the 8GB will come in handy. Everything boots so much faster thanks to superfetch.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,415 (3.52/day)
Likes
4,277
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#5
like danishdevil said, the ram timings are important. i bet that ddr3 is around 8-9 CL and the ddr is prolly around 5.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
my advice would be simple: ram speed is most important when OCing.

1066 means 533 FSB, 1333 means 666 when using 1:1 divider (the lowest many modern motherboards will go)

The most important thing being... you have a DDR2 motherboard. you cant use DDR3 anyway.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.28/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#7
like danishdevil said, the ram timings are important. i bet that ddr3 is around 8-9 CL and the ddr is prolly around 5.
Keep in mind, that performance is equal at higher MHz with a looser timings as compared to a lower MHz with a tighter timings. Intel systems like bandwidth, and AMD systems seem to like tighter timings.

So, DDR3 at CL9 sounds bad, right? What if it's running at 2GHz? :nutkick:
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,846 (0.79/day)
Likes
631
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#8
my advice would be simple: ram speed is most important when OCing.

1066 means 533 FSB, 1333 means 666 when using 1:1 divider (the lowest many modern motherboards will go)

The most important thing being... you have a DDR2 motherboard. you cant use DDR3 anyway.
Enough said.

Unless, ofc, you have plans for a DDR3 motherboard, in which case, there's still some discussion to be had ...
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,998 (2.26/day)
Likes
3,936
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#9
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.28/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#10
Or you get the right kit of $150 DDR3 and OC the balls out of it :D
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.56/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#11
haha GSKILL FTW :rockout !
 

Duekay

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
1
Location
Brisbane AU
System Name Workstation : Server/HTPC
Processor Core i7 920 @ 4.2GHz : Core i3 2120
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 : Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
Cooling Cooler Master V8 : Stock
Memory Corsair DDR3 12GB @ 1600Mhz : Corsair DDR3 8GB @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 560 Ti & GT 430 : Onboard
Storage OCZ Max I/O 2x128 SSD Raid0 + Corsair 3x120GB SSD Raid0 : Corsair 2x60GB SSD Raid0
Display(s) Dual samsung 24" & 1 Acer 22" : Acer 22 & Samsung 46" TV
Case Antec P182 Performance One : Antec 4U rackmount
Audio Device(s) Mackie Onyx 400F 10x10 : Maudio Fast Track Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 : Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 64bit, Cubase 5 : Windows 7 64bit
#12
You have XP, the performance difference isn't going to be much.

But once you upgrade to Vista X64, the 8GB will come in handy. Everything boots so much faster thanks to superfetch.
I got XP 64bit, so thats way im going for the 8gig :rockout:
 

Duekay

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
1
Location
Brisbane AU
System Name Workstation : Server/HTPC
Processor Core i7 920 @ 4.2GHz : Core i3 2120
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 : Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
Cooling Cooler Master V8 : Stock
Memory Corsair DDR3 12GB @ 1600Mhz : Corsair DDR3 8GB @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 560 Ti & GT 430 : Onboard
Storage OCZ Max I/O 2x128 SSD Raid0 + Corsair 3x120GB SSD Raid0 : Corsair 2x60GB SSD Raid0
Display(s) Dual samsung 24" & 1 Acer 22" : Acer 22 & Samsung 46" TV
Case Antec P182 Performance One : Antec 4U rackmount
Audio Device(s) Mackie Onyx 400F 10x10 : Maudio Fast Track Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 : Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 64bit, Cubase 5 : Windows 7 64bit
#13
my advice would be simple: ram speed is most important when OCing.

1066 means 533 FSB, 1333 means 666 when using 1:1 divider (the lowest many modern motherboards will go)

The most important thing being... you have a DDR2 motherboard. you cant use DDR3 anyway.
My mobo will run it as long as they are right on the asus web site,
they said:

The chipset officially supports the memory frequency up to DDR3 1066MHz/DDR2 800. Due to the tuning by ASUS exclusive technology, this motherboard natively supports up to DDR3 1333/DDR2 1066MHz.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
the chipset doesnt mean the motherboard.

You list a P5K-VM

http://asus.com/search.aspx?searchitem=1&searchkey=P5K-VM

This link says

asus said:
- Support Intel® next generation 45nm Multi-core CPU
- Intel LGA775 Platform
- Intel® G33 chipset
- Dual-channel DDR2 1066/800/667 MHz
- 2x1394
- 12xUSB 2.0
- All High-quality Conductive Polymer Capacitors
no DDR3 support mentioned. only DDR2 Later down the page it also mentions 'native DDR2 support' but again no mention of DDR3

Either we arent talking about the motherboard in your system specs, or you looked up the wrong one.
 

Duekay

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
1
Location
Brisbane AU
System Name Workstation : Server/HTPC
Processor Core i7 920 @ 4.2GHz : Core i3 2120
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 : Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
Cooling Cooler Master V8 : Stock
Memory Corsair DDR3 12GB @ 1600Mhz : Corsair DDR3 8GB @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 560 Ti & GT 430 : Onboard
Storage OCZ Max I/O 2x128 SSD Raid0 + Corsair 3x120GB SSD Raid0 : Corsair 2x60GB SSD Raid0
Display(s) Dual samsung 24" & 1 Acer 22" : Acer 22 & Samsung 46" TV
Case Antec P182 Performance One : Antec 4U rackmount
Audio Device(s) Mackie Onyx 400F 10x10 : Maudio Fast Track Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 : Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 64bit, Cubase 5 : Windows 7 64bit
#15
the chipset doesnt mean the motherboard.

You list a P5K-VM

http://asus.com/search.aspx?searchitem=1&searchkey=P5K-VM

This link says



no DDR3 support mentioned. only DDR2 Later down the page it also mentions 'native DDR2 support' but again no mention of DDR3

Either we arent talking about the motherboard in your system specs, or you looked up the wrong one.
Lol now i see were you coming from, yea that is strange there must be different boards for different country's,- http://au.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=542&l4=0&model=1690&modelmenu=2
 

Vagike

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
89 (0.02/day)
Likes
9
Processor AMD 965 BE
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Stock
Memory 4gb Mushkin Ridgeline
Video Card(s) ASUS HD 5870 V1
Storage 640GB WD + 1TB WB
Display(s) Syncmaster T220 20000:1
Case Cooler Master 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Onboard X-fi
Power Supply 1000watt
#16
Lol now i see were you coming from, yea that is strange there must be different boards for different country's,- http://au.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=542&l4=0&model=1690&modelmenu=2
In the first 4 lines of the motherboard overview specs it says DDR2. I have seen that chipset used on DDR3 motherboards, but that board is NOT DDR3 compliant.

P5K-VM

ASUS Super Memspeed Technology Enhances Memory Speed
- Support Intel® next generation 45nm Multi-core CPU
- Intel LGA775 Platform
- Intel® G33 chipset
- Dual-channel DDR2 1066/800/667 MHz
- 2x1394
- 12xUSB 2.0
- All High-quality Conductive Polymer Capacitors
- Compatible with all FSB1333/1066/800/533MHz CPUs except Quad Core




"The chipset officially supports the memory frequency up to DDR3 1066MHz/DDR2 800. Due to the tuning by ASUS exclusive technology, this motherboard natively supports up to DDR3 1333/DDR2 1066MHz. Please refer to www.asus.com or user manual for Memory QVL" -ASUS
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#17
i tend to not use the asus au site, as it lags horribly for me... odd, especially since i'm australian too.

ok after it eventually loaded, i see what confused you. The CHIPSET can use DDR2 or DDR3 - however, this motherboard can only use DDR2. Notice how at the top, it only mentions DDR2?

The asterisk and mentioning DDR3 is a mistake on the webstite - another reason to check the alternate ones, and not just say with the .au version.

For your future reference, DDR2 and DDR3 slots are physically different - if it did have them, it would clearly label two slots for DDR2 and two for DDR3... and you wouldnt be able to run 4x DDR2 sticks anyway, if it was a combo board.
 

Duekay

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
1
Location
Brisbane AU
System Name Workstation : Server/HTPC
Processor Core i7 920 @ 4.2GHz : Core i3 2120
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 : Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
Cooling Cooler Master V8 : Stock
Memory Corsair DDR3 12GB @ 1600Mhz : Corsair DDR3 8GB @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 560 Ti & GT 430 : Onboard
Storage OCZ Max I/O 2x128 SSD Raid0 + Corsair 3x120GB SSD Raid0 : Corsair 2x60GB SSD Raid0
Display(s) Dual samsung 24" & 1 Acer 22" : Acer 22 & Samsung 46" TV
Case Antec P182 Performance One : Antec 4U rackmount
Audio Device(s) Mackie Onyx 400F 10x10 : Maudio Fast Track Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 : Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 64bit, Cubase 5 : Windows 7 64bit
#18
i tend to not use the asus au site, as it lags horribly for me... odd, especially since i'm australian too.

ok after it eventually loaded, i see what confused you. The CHIPSET can use DDR2 or DDR3 - however, this motherboard can only use DDR2. Notice how at the top, it only mentions DDR2?

The asterisk and mentioning DDR3 is a mistake on the webstite - another reason to check the alternate ones, and not just say with the .au version.

For your future reference, DDR2 and DDR3 slots are physically different - if it did have them, it would clearly label two slots for DDR2 and two for DDR3... and you wouldnt be able to run 4x DDR2 sticks anyway, if it was a combo board.
Thanks man, I really didn't know what was going on there.

good thing i didn't buy the DDR3 today lol, well this makes things a lot easer with the choice :D
What brand would you go for, Corsair, G.Skill, Geil, Kingston, OCZ or Team, i have been eying up the OCZ Platinum PC8500
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.28/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#19
OCZ's RMA process is really great, and they make good RAM, but some isn't that great for overclocking.

Corsair can be good, but expensive. G.Skill has some really nice budget overclockers, and I love my new DDR3 from them. Geil, meh. Kingston, overpriced. Team is really overclocker's ram, but you pay the price for it.

If you're getting 4x2GB, get some G.Skills to save some money. I figure you're not doing extreme OCing anyway, because anything but 2x1GB with DDR2 will impede your max OC.

Two of these would do:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231166
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
to be honest, look for stock clocks as opposed to gaining an OC. i have cheap 1100MHz samsung generic ram that cost me $50 a stick, yet i see people paying more for OCZ ram that wont even do 900MHz at the same timings i can do 1000.

Go for warranty and stock clocks, as opposed to timings or brand name.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
740 (0.20/day)
Likes
155
Location
Belgium ⇒ Limburg
System Name HP Z800 Workstation
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon 5680 ( = 12 x 3.463Ghz )
Motherboard HP Z800 Workstation - Motherboard
Cooling HP Z800 Workstation - Liquid cooling solution
Memory 16GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 1333MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX Vega 56 ( with Vega 64 bios )
Storage SSD Samsung 840 Pro 500GB
Display(s) EIZO FS2434-BK
Case HP Z800 Workstation
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser GSP 300 ( Headset )
Power Supply HP Z800 Workstation - 1110 WATT ( 36 amps on 12V )
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G 15
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#21
I got XP 64bit, so thats way im going for the 8gig :rockout:
I really doubt that Xp will use up more then 4GB ram. Vista knows how to handle RAM very well, but XP uses a lot more virtual memory ( someone correct me if I am rong ).
 

Duekay

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
1
Location
Brisbane AU
System Name Workstation : Server/HTPC
Processor Core i7 920 @ 4.2GHz : Core i3 2120
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 : Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
Cooling Cooler Master V8 : Stock
Memory Corsair DDR3 12GB @ 1600Mhz : Corsair DDR3 8GB @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 560 Ti & GT 430 : Onboard
Storage OCZ Max I/O 2x128 SSD Raid0 + Corsair 3x120GB SSD Raid0 : Corsair 2x60GB SSD Raid0
Display(s) Dual samsung 24" & 1 Acer 22" : Acer 22 & Samsung 46" TV
Case Antec P182 Performance One : Antec 4U rackmount
Audio Device(s) Mackie Onyx 400F 10x10 : Maudio Fast Track Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 : Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 64bit, Cubase 5 : Windows 7 64bit
#22
I really doubt that Xp will use up more then 4GB ram. Vista knows how to handle RAM very well, but XP uses a lot more virtual memory ( someone correct me if I am rong ).
Well that sucks, i just got XP 64bit for the reason of taking advantage of getting extra Ram :banghead:
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
740 (0.20/day)
Likes
155
Location
Belgium ⇒ Limburg
System Name HP Z800 Workstation
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon 5680 ( = 12 x 3.463Ghz )
Motherboard HP Z800 Workstation - Motherboard
Cooling HP Z800 Workstation - Liquid cooling solution
Memory 16GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 1333MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX Vega 56 ( with Vega 64 bios )
Storage SSD Samsung 840 Pro 500GB
Display(s) EIZO FS2434-BK
Case HP Z800 Workstation
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser GSP 300 ( Headset )
Power Supply HP Z800 Workstation - 1110 WATT ( 36 amps on 12V )
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G 15
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#24
XP 64-bit will handle it fine. But one question. What do you do that needs or you wanting 8gb?
When I say "handle it" I mean utilize it. Vista will use all of it, XP will only use RAM when needed. That's one of the few good things about Vista.
 

Duekay

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
1
Location
Brisbane AU
System Name Workstation : Server/HTPC
Processor Core i7 920 @ 4.2GHz : Core i3 2120
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 : Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
Cooling Cooler Master V8 : Stock
Memory Corsair DDR3 12GB @ 1600Mhz : Corsair DDR3 8GB @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 560 Ti & GT 430 : Onboard
Storage OCZ Max I/O 2x128 SSD Raid0 + Corsair 3x120GB SSD Raid0 : Corsair 2x60GB SSD Raid0
Display(s) Dual samsung 24" & 1 Acer 22" : Acer 22 & Samsung 46" TV
Case Antec P182 Performance One : Antec 4U rackmount
Audio Device(s) Mackie Onyx 400F 10x10 : Maudio Fast Track Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 : Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 64bit, Cubase 5 : Windows 7 64bit
#25
XP 64-bit will handle it fine. But one question. What do you do that needs or you wanting 8gb?
I write music with this pup, i use heaps of samples and audio clips and she just cant really get anywhere with only 2 gig

All the new synth/samplers use the Ram just as much as the CPU, They take a Wav sample and use modulators and effect to modify the signal.

The more Ram i have the more of these high end demanding synths i can run at once, along with a nice fast CPU for processing powerful and complex algorithms.