• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8gb only allows 4gb usable 4gb only allows 2gb usable

Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.92/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#1
so I know there are tons of threads like this but i have searched and none of the current threads have helped.

I had a 2X2GB ddr3 kit installed and it only allowed 2gb to be used, so I upgraded to a 4X2GB kit and now it only allows 4gb to be used. in bios it only shows 4gb installed, but in windows it shows 8gb installed 4 usable, cpu-z says 8gb dual channel. I have memory remap enabled, also tried disabling it and nothing. I have tried all sticks indepepndant and they work fine. I have tried reseating the cpu numerous times. I had thought it was my windows install so I did a fresh install yesterday, same issue. I have tried a different cpu thinking it was my memory controller, same problem. system is in specs, and yes it is a 64bit windows 7 ultimate install
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
969 (0.31/day)
Likes
173
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / BW-16D1H-U PRO blu-ray
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, Dali Zensor 7´s, Dali Zensor Vokal, Dali Zensor 1´s, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#3
+1 for BIOS issue. Download and flash the latest, than load CMOS defaults. Must work!
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,600 (3.83/day)
Likes
11,006
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#4
Can be caused my pushing the memory controller too far(usually the OS will show al lram ,but only 1/2 available), memory not seated correctly(common on ASUS boards that do nto have clips at both ends of teh DIMM), or CPU not seated correctly.

Can also be caused by mounting cooler too tight and flexing the board, or even just board flex from the socket.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.92/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#5
Can be caused my pushing the memory controller too far(usually the OS will show al lram ,but only 1/2 available), memory not seated correctly(common on ASUS boards that do nto have clips at both ends of teh DIMM), or CPU not seated correctly.

Can also be caused by mounting cooler too tight and flexing the board, or even just board flex from the socket.
I did recently flash to the latest bios, ill try flashing back, because for a while this issue was not present. I have reseated the cpu and memory tons in the past day still the same affect. my board has never had the socket tightening issue before, I use a venomousx with the preassure screw taken out so it uses minimal preassure. it is a board with the newer dimm slots, ill keep playeng with the memory slots as well as trying a older bios
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,995 (2.22/day)
Likes
2,354
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#7
Have you tried removing one stick to see if you have some bad slots?
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.92/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#8
Have you tried removing one stick to see if you have some bad slots?
yes. with lynnfeild you have to have one stick in slot 4 at all times but I checked all slots one by one otherwise and all sticks as well. all work fine
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.92/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#9
so still nothing tomorrow im going to pull the board and try it out of the case, if that dont work im rmaing the cpu because if it isnt the board its gotta be a shit controller
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.92/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#10
so I took the board out and with the board out of the case everything check out perfect but somehow my mobo tray is casusing the board to flex just enough to cause the socket issue. what a PITA well now I got a good excuse to tell the wife when i buy a new case!
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.40/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#11
Sweet, at least you figured it out, and you get to buy a new case too.