1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

939 options

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by candle_86, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Is it cost effective to upgrade my backup 939 rig. I was using an a64 3200 borrowed from a friend and oc'd it to 2.6 stable gave it back of course waiting on the 939 chip from a user here. Now would it be worth it save up a little and get say a dual core and more ram, and also a faster card than the FX5500PCI for it, or leave it as is?

    I just got a new job as a waiter and am told at this location the average is 80 a day from tips
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. xubidoo

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    888 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    its better than my backup/download rig :)

    altho im shortly upgrading it to a AMD XP2800+ for free.

    tbh if u dont play games on it then i dont really see much point in upgrading it,X2 939 chips seems to go for a silly amount on Ebay ,far more than they r really worth,unless uve got money to burn ,i wouldnt bother ,better to spend it on something else.
     
  3. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    well just an idea, i was gonna set it up as a server, Im gonna order another 1gb stick for it to bring it 2gb and damn DDR400 is gonna hurt the pocket lol. My plans are server and incase system goes down use it as my backup gaming rig
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. bigtye New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    212 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Given the high price of 1gb DDR ram and over inflated socket 939 chips, why don't you price yourself a cheap 965/p5 board and a second hand core2, chuck some generic DDR2 in and see how the cost compares.

    Where I am in Aus, for the price of 1gb DDR ram you can just about buy a mobo and CPU.

    Tye
     
  5. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    i wont buy intel, i disagree with there polotics
     
    xvi says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,964 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    I think if you find it necessary to upgrade then do so. But if it was my rig, i'd prolly just look for a cheap amd dual core proc to replace the 3200. I think a gig of ram is plenty for a back-up rig imo. But if you go with a better video card for it, then maybe upping the ram wouldn't be a bad idea, but it wouldn't be 100% necessary.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,527 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I was considering the same thing with my current system. I ended up going for some new ram which I had hoped would give me a higher overclock.

    Honestly, your specs are fine for Windows 2000/backup. I would be more concerned with hard drive space.

    What all does this computer do and what more would you like it to do?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I don't know why X2 939 and Opty 939s are still so expensive for.
    In some cases a X2 4800+ 939 goes for only a few dollars less than the higher end AM2 CPUs.
    As for DDR1 RAM, they are also very over priced.
    Especially if your'e looking at the performance stuff.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,527 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Simple. No one wants it anymore. There is bigger and better already available on the market. When people flood to a technology, the massive demand drives prices down as pieces can be mass produced. Older technology no longer has that demand, so prices go back up.

    My OCz Platinum 2x1GB kit was under $100. A backup computer like that could probably get by with 2GB of value ram.

    Honestly, I think 1GB is more than enough.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Wingo101

    Wingo101

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    473 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    South Africa
    Intel rules! :rockout:
     
  11. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,941 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,203
    Location:
    Watauga, Texas
    If its for a server them 512mb of ram and a 3200+ would be fine. Im still running a 939 dual core rig and it games fine. My server consists of a 754 3000+ and 512mb of PC2700. Works perfectly and dosent heat up at all.
     
  12. flashstar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    743 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    You should see my thread in the system builder's sub-forum. Just get completely used Intel stuff. You're not really helping Intel if you buy used. For just $110 you can get an entirely new platform that will eclipse a socket 939. You'd spend that much just to get a better socket 939 cpu. Anyway, an E2180 @ 3ghz is about 400% the speed of a 3200+ @ 2.6ghz.
     
  13. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Well here is what the use is for, why it needs for sure a better video card, im gonna get the 9500GT for it, simple reason for this is I intend to use it as a media server PC, I will have it jacked into the TV and am looking at remotes for it right now
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,527 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Ah! That is definitely a reason to upgrade then. I like AMD's video cards, but whatever works for you. The rest should be fine. I would make sure the card supports the flurry of hardware accelerated HD decoders as I was sad to find out my x850 does not.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  15. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    well blue ray doesnt matter to me, just good mpeg-4 acceleration.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,527 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Washington, US
    You know what? Who said Socket 939 processors were expensive? It wouldn't be much of an upgrade, but a new Athlon 64 3800+ is only $28. A Radeon 3650 is ~$60 (and better decoding).

    Perfect media PC.

    I think you said you've taken your Athlon 64 3200+ to 2.6 GHz? Is that 2.0GHz stock?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I thought we were talking about dual core 939s.
    They're the expensive ones. . . .usually.

    Single core CPUs are alot cheaper.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    yea from 2.0 stock to 2.6 on the winchester im borrowing
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,035 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    Im in the exact same postion. I have a HTPC that runs a sockte 939 x2 4400, 2 gigs Corsair XMS DDR500, and a pcie 3850.

    I been debating going to Intel, but for a low cost machine I could get a dual core black edition. But then I have to upgrade my ram to ddr2 and get a AM2/+ mobo...its a hard decsion.

    Im probably going to wait until I upgrade my main rig with a faster QX quad of some sort, and put the Q6600 and P35 in the htpc.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. mon74

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    174 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Ensenada, Mexico
    There is always fleabay for cheap 939 cpus ;)

    Just choose auctions that end after midnight or very early in the morning, so there will be less bidders.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. 2wicked

    2wicked

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Directly above the center of the Earth
    It's cheaper to hit up fry's for an am2 combo(cpu+mobo as low as $69) and 2gb of ddr2 (crucial as low as $20 after rebate) than to upgrade a 939 system.
    That's what I did to replace my socket 939 3500+ htpc, it wasn't worth it to spend
    $40 for another 1gb of ddr and to get a 939 x2 at any price.
     
  22. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Okay, off topic -- but I cringe to think of you as a waiter. :wtf: You might want to start budgeting for a low cost upgrade, because I don't think you're going to be making much in tips.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    candle, check my low power thread in ssytem builders advice
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,506 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,133
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I think this would be a good idea since 939 is EOL and slowly fading out. I had to take a hit on my 939 parts when I sold it out. There are plenty of people here that can contribute to a budget build, so set up a cheap wtb thread.
     
  25. flashstar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    743 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    I could sell you my skt. 939 motherboard, cpu, and ram. They're all top-end socket 939 components. I'd need to make enough money to upgrade to a decent C2D platform though since this is my main computer.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)