• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

9600gso 768mb Grabing during games

nukerzero

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi all , I'm a newbe , and have a problem with a new set up , low budget that it is but I can not play BF2 in fact cant play anything , it grabs all the time,
I'm running m2n-mx-se M/B
6400x2 cpu
2gig 667 ram
9600gso 768mb card
650watt P/S
320 H/D
XP home
I have loaded all the latest drivers and patches etc but still no joy , so here I am on my old trusty 2500+ amd with a wee 128 card , so much for moving up : (
any help would be very much appreciated
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#2
Hi all , I'm a newbe , and have a problem with a new set up , low budget that it is but I can not play BF2 in fact cant play anything , it grabs all the time,
I'm running m2n-mx-se M/B
6400x2 cpu
2gig 667 ram
9600gso 768mb card
650watt P/S
320 H/D
XP home
I have loaded all the latest drivers and patches etc but still no joy , so here I am on my old trusty 2500+ amd with a wee 128 card , so much for moving up : (
any help would be very much appreciated


That should be more than enough to play Battlefield 2, infact it should be enough to play practically any game to date at med/high settings at whatever resolution you choose for the next one year. Something is definately wrong. Have you tried any other games, newer games?

Download GPU-Z and put up a few screenshots


http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/


Download CPU-Z and again put up a few screenshots of the "CPU", "Memory", and "Motherboard" tab.

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

Download 3D Marks 06 and run it at default settings, once we've got a score we can determine if your system is performing below what it should be :)

http://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/3dmark06/download/


Edit:

Is the system prebuilt or is it custom built. I'm guessing that you conducted a fresh format and reinstall of Windows after putting the components together?


Edit 2:

Can a Moderator move this thread to the appropriate section please :)
 
Last edited:

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#3
Well, lets see. Drivers can cause this. Have you ever had a different card installed? If so, did you clean the old drivers out? What brand is that power supply? Does it happen only while online, or does it happen in single player games too?
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
3,503 (0.96/day)
Likes
428
System Name Xazax
Processor 6700k
Motherboard ASrock Fatal1ty z170
Cooling H240X
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800mhz
Video Card(s) Gtx 980ti
Storage 1TB Mushkin
Display(s) ASUS PG27 G-sync
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35
Power Supply Corsair 1500w Digital
Keyboard Patriot Viper
Software Windows 10
#4
What do you mean by "grabs all the time"
 

nukerzero

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Hi Folks thank you very much for your replies , I' m trying to work through them as directed , not that PC savvy but I shall endeavor to do all the above , shall be back soon with results
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2008
Messages
261 (0.08/day)
Likes
16
Location
vancouver
#6
i think he is says "grabs all the time" is that whenever he plays it lags or all his memory is being used or it isnt enough?
 

nukerzero

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
i think he is says "grabs all the time" is that whenever he plays it lags or all his memory is being used or it isnt enough?
yes that is it exactly, on line game even when game intro is playing it garbs, patcy type play , infact unable to play its that fullstop , : (
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
143 (0.04/day)
Likes
11
Location
Norway
System Name "My Computer", huehuehue
Processor Core i5 6600K
Motherboard ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-U9B
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Vengeance LPX PC2666
Video Card(s) Gainward GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 EVO + 1TB Samsung F3 HDD + 2TB external WD USB HDD
Display(s) BenQ RL2755HM 27"
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Audio Device(s) On board codec
Power Supply Corsair RM750x
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei Raw
Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 350
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores The scouter says it's over 9000
#8
Yeah, sounds like a software issue, even my old Pentium 4 w/2GB and 6800 Ultra 256MB used to run BF2 in 1280x1024 w/details at full back in 2005/06.