1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

965 or 975?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by niko084, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    I hear bad things about the 975, but I don't want the headache of the 965 and the ram issues.. Now I know that the bios updates solved quite a few of those problems..

    Is there any real downsides to the 975? I noticed most the really big records on oc speeds are set on the 965, but I'm not going to be shooting for numbers around 7ghz...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    i would go with the 975.... wait, i already did! lol!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    The P5W-DH, same board I'm looking at, its either that one or the P5B Deluxe- NO WIFI!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    you can always disable the wifi in bios ;)
    i was looking at the capabilities of the p5w dh before i bought it.... its a sexy board!
    there have been some amazing oc's on it... oc'ing has a lot to do with chipset(as you already know) but you can have the best chipset in the world on a shitty board and you wont be able to oc for shit!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    Well Durrr... Bad memory controllers are the end of the world! And bad voltage regulation! GUH!@#!@#!@#!

    If it's one thing I wish I could get rid of is fricken vdrop... I am still having issues on my new P5LD2....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    Heh and I would deal with the Wifi crap on the P5W.... But for the 20$ savings why bother on the P5B
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    the exact reason i didnt get a p5d series board!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    ohh its an issue with all P5 series boards?

    Lol that would have been nice to know... Ohh well now I have Pci-e at least, ddr2, and sata2 instead of sata1... So overall my system is quite a bit quicker.

    Went from a x1300Pro to a x1300xt agp to pci-e
    Then 512x2 DDR400 to 512x2 DDR2 675 Corsair XMS2 "BOOM HEADSHOT"
    And of course to a better mainboard.

    I sold me old mainboard P5P800 se and a new Celeron D 352 3.2ghz to my friend, and my X1300pro, so he got that over a Sempron 3400 512mb ddr400 and a ati 9200se 128mb.

    So overall did pretty good, but my video is still lacking hard.

    As soon as I can sell this other mainboard I have sitting sempron 2800 512 toss a ati 9250 on it. I'll buy myself a ATI X1950 :) BOOM HEADSHOT! Sorry just waiting and waiting..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    not all, some.
    the p5d deluxe to be exact.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    Well besides that one.....

    Guh speaking of which anyone know a vdrop mod for the P5LD2 R2? I tried searching didn't find anything... :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    i would say that if youre still thinking of buying the p5w dh deluxe, DO IT. you will not regret it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,479 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    The P5W dh delux is a good board.

    Also I have heard great things about the 650 and the 680i boards based on the new Nvidia chipset.
    The 680i boards are very expensive and might be out of your range.
    But the 650 boards should be in your range.

    Also, there are quite a few boards coming out soon so you might want to wait.

    Good luck.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
    I had the P5B Deluxe and the P5W DH Deluxe. P5B=8400 3dmarks, P5W=9500 3dmarks. That's my experience. The P5W was the most stable overclocking board I tested out of 4. The others being the MSI 975x Platinum v2 (slowest) and the Intel D975XBX2 (second place).

    My tests.
    Board-----------Score---rating
    P5W DH Deluxe--9500-----1st (crazy fast)
    Intel D975XBX2--9300-----2nd (using this board currently because of features)
    P5B Deluxe------8400 ----3rd
    975x PlatinumV2-8300-----4th (slowest pos rant rant rant @$%^$% hate this board!)

    The scores were mainly different due to overclocking limits.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    Looks good, never really wanted to test out an MSI board anyways... Intel boards are good, but options seem to be limited... Asus and DFI have never let me down *as long as I don't buy the bottom barrel trash*

    Looks like P5W will probably be it. As far as price range, don't really have one, nor do I really care what I spend, just want a good board, preferably one without an nvidia chipset though, they tend to limit ram pretty bad from what I have seen, and I like ATI cards. I'll run dual 1950s if I have to.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,665 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,869
    Location:
    Houston
    if you have to? i would love dual 1950s :eek:
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,271 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,343
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    If you are not interested in Crossfire...

    Get a Gigabyte DS3 (single PCIx16), or a DQ6 (two PCIx16 - one full speed and the other half).

    If I did it again, I'd go for the top of the line Abit AW9D-MAX, but there are major physical PCI slot limitations if you go Crossfire. Abit makes the best overclocking BIOS bay far

    Otherwise, here's a good article using the Gigabyte board:

    http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/01/18/overclocking-guide-part-1/

    I hit a limit of about 480 with my DQ6, most boards, including some Asus resuire a hard-wire mod to get more current enabling higher than that.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  17. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    Well in turn if I had to get the extra performance. I would take dual 1950s before I put an nvidia card in my computer... No offense to Nvidia guys, just not my taste.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    I may or may not go crossfire... I'm not sure yet. Also not to worried about pci slots, I only run a sound card, and may run a physx card at some point, but probably not anytime real soon here. The most 3d intensive game I play is Ghost Recon AWF, and really I don't play it... So its more or less neverwinter nights 2...

    Hmm I should just get another x1300xt and run them crossfire lol... How sad would that be...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    you are correct, the dq6 runs two pcie slots, one at 16, the other at 8. the p5wdh deluxe runs them both at 16.
    the abit aw9d max is one of the boards i was looking at getting. after reading some reviews, i chose he asus. same chipset(they can both run crossfire and sli), but the p5wdh can run quad core and the aw9d max cant.
    also, i've seen way more impressive oc's on the p5wdh than i have on the aw9d max.
    dont get me wrong, theyre both awesome boards, and i love abit, but i cant justify losing so much performance just so i can save $20.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
    Main reasons for the Intel choice was a parallel port, 8 sata, WAY cleaner audio, 3 pcix slots, and heatsinks on the regs. With 3pcix you can run a couple crossfire cards and a 3d say, x1950pro for physics (cheaper then ageia). I dont know how well this works yet. The asus board gets a bit toasty in that regulator department. I would suggest some small sinks for them. The asus p5w has a 2 port -raid only- controller and only 3 on the intel chipset with an external 4th. This limits my hdd options and I didn't find the SI raid controller any more or less impressive then the Intel.

    I'm happy with the Intel choice. If I built another I'd choose the Intel again unless I actually had a reason for 3 network controllers. :rolleyes:

    I have the P5W DH Deluxe forsale if your interested. I paid $266 after a few discounts but that was locally. It had the bios flashed with an update, benchmarked, then repackaged.

    Just to note about the d975xbx2. I have 2 x1950pro working finally, a c2d 6600@3.5ghz on air@60c and score is now 17,280 in 3dmark05.

    If there isn't some specific reason/feature for you to choose the P5W I'd recomend the P975xbx2 over it for the cost savings alone.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    Aww ha, ya I am thinking about a x1950 thats my next shot and another gig of ram. I wont be using sata much longer anyways, I'm probably going to buy a few scsi 160 or maybe 320 10k drives. -Raid only-? You mean I CAN'T run the drives without using raid at all?

    I have an audigy I don't think I'll ever get rid of, unless its to upgrade it to a different model, I love creative cards, even though they can be a pain at times. Probably wont oc at all if any, I mean I run my 2.8 at 3.1, don't even know why its not like its really a noticeable difference, I just did it when I got the new mainboard.

    But sounds like its going to be a 975 at least, thats for sure.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    no, you can run the drives outside of raid.
    theres 6 sata ports and two of them are raid only.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    Ohh okay, I would still be safe then.. I just want another 160gig to replace my 80. So 2 hard drives and then I want these stupid Plextor 8mb cache sata dvdrw's but I don't want the slot load ones....

    Good to know though!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    i have a p5b-dlx,it will do at least 560fsb to windows and 500fsb stable 24/7.what is the highest for a p5wdh?

    my only problem with the dh is it still uses the "old" ich7r with the supposedly newer 975 chipset.why did they not partner it with the ich8r?.

    i am happy with my dlx,i could'nt afford the dh and as i wont ever use crossfire it would have been pointless.i run my dlx at 500fsb which is 3.5ghz on my e6300 24/7 stable.

    what exactly is so shitty about the mem controller on the 965 chipset?.can someone explain to me please.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    Without updates it requires 1.8 volt ram with 5-5-5 or 6-6-6 timings... And I honestly don't know what they allow even after updates... So it's really not something I want to deal with.... I want my good fast ram, and not have to worry about it not working....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)