• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

9800 gx2 only uses one of its cards...

lurikeen

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
yesterday i had an electrical problem in my computer (hard drive fire) and the usual stuff happened, ie cpu clock speed set to 1.6 ghz and whatnot. but my graphics card also took a hit.

under vista, it works perfectly, but under xp 64 bit it will only use one card, not matter what i set it to. i know this is the problem because i get virtually identical 3dmark 06 scores in xp as i do in vista with only one card enabled, and the same scores in xp with one card as with 2.

i tried reinstalling the drivers and messing with the control panel, but none of that worked. MSI is a terrible company (already sent in the card a few times for overheating, with no replacement), so i cant send it back to anyone.

ideas?
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.86/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#2
it's not overheating because it's MSI, it's overheating because the dual-PCB design is crappy. Mine gets really hot too, just blow the card out every month or so.
As for the 06 score, that's not really a fair comparison because 06 mainly stresses CPU and bases your score off of that.
Download GPU-Z from the downloads section and open it, it should tell you if the SLi is working or not.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,280 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,375
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Clean drivers with Driver Sweeper, then re-install. I had similar problems with SLi from time to time, the drivers don't get installed for the second card, so SLi wouldn't properly enable.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
732 (0.16/day)
Likes
87
Location
NY
System Name Ummmm...Mine
Processor I7 920 @ 4.2ghz @ 1.29v's load
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Custom 1/2 inch H20
Memory 3x2gb Patriot Sector 7 @2008Mhz 27-9-11-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 580 SC 900/1800/1090
Storage 1-Mushkin 60gb SSD 1-500GB WD Black and 2-1TB 32mb WD Black
Display(s) 25 inch Hanns-G 2ms
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Turtle Beach Catalina
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Pro Series-Modular
Software All Kinds...and then some.
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 11 P7066 Compare Link- http://3dmark.com/3dm11/251153
#4
under vista, it works perfectly, but under xp 64 bit it will only use one card, not matter what i set it to.

That statement right there sums it up to be an OS issues or driver Issue....my moneys on it being the video driver.


Hope it helps. :rockout:
 

lurikeen

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
it's not overheating because it's MSI, it's overheating because the dual-PCB design is crappy. Mine gets really hot too, just blow the card out every month or so.
As for the 06 score, that's not really a fair comparison because 06 mainly stresses CPU and bases your score off of that.
Download GPU-Z from the downloads section and open it, it should tell you if the SLi is working or not.
The only thing I do is the graphics tests, not the whole thing. So it is a good comparison. It is no coincidence that I get the exact same score (basically) with one card in vista as "two" in xp.

Clean drivers with Driver Sweeper, then re-install. I had similar problems with SLi from time to time, the drivers don't get installed for the second card, so SLi wouldn't properly enable.
Tried this for the display drivers and it did not work, but it seems to be exactly what I need to do. Do I need to do chipset as well? Or any other ideas on how I might access a lower level (if one exists)? Any advice is welcome...
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,280 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,375
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
No, don't do the chipset drivers. Just the display.
 

lurikeen

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
Edited my post. By it did work, I meant it did not work. Any other suggestions?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,280 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,375
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
You might have to clean the PhysX stuff also, there should be an option for it.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.86/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#10
Humor me and post a gpu-z screenie?
Did you go into the NVCP and manually turn off sli and then back on? It's worked for me before.