• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

A 1 page website, what would be my best option?

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (1.13/day)
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
#1
I'm looking for a low cost solution to having a website domain that only consisted of 1 page.. this page would only show a schedule of events for guests interested in what entertainment we will be offering for the week.

What's the cheapest way or site to use?

I ask because even if I search I doubt I could find a better offer than one someone will/could suggest.

Thanks for the help.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,154 (0.57/day)
Likes
877
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage ssd's baby
Display(s) AOC Q3279VWF
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
Buy a domain and point it to a free host. That would be the cheapest way I guess. It depends on if you have already built the site yourself and know how to upload it to a server via FTP. If you need one built some of the free host's have a site builder. 000webhost springs to mind they have one I think.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.61/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#4
How much bandwidth are you expecting? Should be able to do it on the cheap if you don't expect more than a couple hundred MB a week.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,154 (0.57/day)
Likes
877
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage ssd's baby
Display(s) AOC Q3279VWF
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
#5
If you own a domain www.yoursite.com you can host it at a free server that will let you use your domain name. domains can be had cheap.
Most just ask that somewhere in your site you link back to them. which is not a big ask considering they host your site for nothing.
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (1.13/day)
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
#6
Understood. I will look into buying a domain name 1st.

As far as traffic.. I might get 50 hits a week... if that lol. when you hit my site it will show just a list of bands/djs/comedians playing this week.. simple schedule.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,154 (0.57/day)
Likes
877
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage ssd's baby
Display(s) AOC Q3279VWF
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
#7
Understood. I will look into buying a domain name 1st.

As far as traffic.. I might get 50 hits a week... if that lol. when you hit my site it will show just a list of bands/djs/comedians playing this week.. simple schedule.
Easy as that :)
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#8
$10 a month will pay for the domain name. If you got a computer that runs 24/7 with internet access, you could install Apache or IIS and host your page on that machine. A single page shouldn't take much bandwidth and any computer would do.

Perhaps you could find a friend that already hosts a site and ask if he/she could host the page and you point your domain to that specific page.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.61/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#10
Which is better, apache or IIS?

I'm using win7 64
Most people would probably say apache. But I don't think it's going to matter at all for a 1 page server.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,154 (0.57/day)
Likes
877
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage ssd's baby
Display(s) AOC Q3279VWF
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
#11
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,154 (0.57/day)
Likes
877
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage ssd's baby
Display(s) AOC Q3279VWF
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
#13
To be honest . I have never hosted my own so I would not know. But not so long ago I needed a website and looked into the cost of having one built. I thought I would give it a try. I used serif webplus x4 to make it. And I use 000 webhost for hosting and upload it with smart FTP. It was actually easier than I thought. If I can do it anyone can :D.
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#14
Which is better, apache or IIS?

I'm using win7 64
I'd say IIS. It runs in the background of Windows, updates with Windows Update, and is stupid simple to configure. You can install it via Programs and Features in the Control Panel then on the left, click Turn Windows features on or off.

Expand "Internet Information Services" and check the box next to "World Wide Web Services."

After that, you should be able to access Internet Information Service from the Control Panel or Accessories -> Administrative Tools. Throw the file you want to host into the wwwroot and there ya go.


I don't mean to sound like an idiot but what is easier.. to pay for a webhost or use the apache?
Depends on the reliability of your ISP, how frequently your IP changes, and how familiar you are with port forwarding in routers.

Webhosts generally have good reliability, infrequent IP changes (and if it does, they'll update your domain too), and you don't have to think about port forwarding at all.

Actually, I screwed up. Domain names cost $10 a year. A cheap, decent webhost might cost $4 a month or about $5 a month total.

I've done business with LVCS.net in the past and it was good (that's where the $5/month figure comes from):
http://www.lvcs.net/
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576 (0.65/day)
Likes
510
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
#15
This is my suggestion: keep it very simple and keep it under your control so that you can learn from the process.

Do you have an old computer at home? If so, use that with Win XP and install IIS server on it. It is free from MS.

Use dyndns.org and their utility dyndnsupdater on the PC to update the pointing of your domain name to your PC.

Run something like http://www.silverstripe.com/ opensource. This will let you build your website. It has LOTS of features and is easy to use.

Job done. No cost. Except for the domainname.

----------------

If you dont have a second PC, just run in on your main rig. Your Core2 will not even notice the CPU cycles needed to keep such a simple thing running in the background.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#17
Should be more than enough.