• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A case with perfect grounding

Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,895 (0.45/day)
Likes
433
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#26
the best way to check if your case is grounded is...

take the plug out pf the PSU
take a LED, attach long wires to it.
then touch the positive wire to the top of the cmos battery.
take the other wire and touch it anywhere on the case, or the earthing wire of the PSU.

if the led glows, everything is well grounded.


this can be tested with a multimeter too, but how many peoplw have multimeters?
No, it is not. All that will prove is that the motherboard ground is connected to the chassis through the PSU.

I believe you are confusing "grounding" and "bonding".

"Grounded" means there exists an equipotential plane between the chassis and earth. In other words, the potential (voltage) difference between the chassis and earth is 0 Volts.

"Bonded" means two conductive parts are connected in such a way as to present 0 Ohms (or as close to 0 as possible) of resistance between them. However, they may not be "grounded" at all.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,895 (0.45/day)
Likes
433
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#27
My english is not good enough to translate that and besides, I have like zero knowledge about electricity, so sorry, can't.
You do not need to translate, if you will provide a link, hopefully I can use Babelfish.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,415 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,536
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#28
Tagan used have a nice feature(have had a Tagan in awhile now tho so don't know if they still do it.)
They actually had a ground loop on the PSU. You just put it under one of the MoBo mounting screws.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,122
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#29

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#30
the any closed volume closed off by a conductive material cuts off EMI. if you want i can give the mathematical proof too. but it includes calculus.

if you open your cell phone, you will see these rectangular clip on boxex made on ICs to preent EMI.


EMI interference causes problems when something is working with waves and frequency ad that sort. EMI can %&^* these up and so you get bad output.

sound circuitry is something that is hampered by EMI and so erocker is correct.

No, it is not. All that will prove is that the motherboard ground is connected to the chassis through the PSU.

I believe i are confusing "grounding" and "bonding".

"Grounded" means bla bla bla

"Bonded" bla bla bla

if the motherboard ground is connected to the chassis, and the PSU ground is connected to the chassis, that means everyone is grounded. you just need a conductive connection that can flow both ways.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,895 (0.45/day)
Likes
433
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#31
the any closed volume closed off by a conductive material cuts off EMI. if you want i can give the mathematical proof too. but it includes calculus.

if you open your cell phone, you will see these rectangular clip on boxex made on ICs to preent EMI.


EMI interference causes problems when something is working with waves and frequency ad that sort. EMI can %&^* these up and so you get bad output.

sound circuitry is something that is hampered by EMI and so erocker is correct.




if the motherboard ground is connected to the chassis, and the PSU ground is connected to the chassis, that means everyone is grounded. you just need a conductive connection that can flow both ways.
Really? Where did you learn that? What if the PSU grounding conductor is not connected to earth?

Having been an electrician for more than twenty-five years, I believe you should know what you are talking about before you start giving advice.

Why do you not just run along now and let the grownups talk?
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#32
Really? Where did you learn that? What if the PSU grounding conductor is not connected to earth?

Having been an electrician for more than twenty-five years, I believe you should know what you are talking about before you start giving advice.

Why do you not just run along now and let the grownups talk?
ok, when i said that, i assumed the house wiring was okay. to test if the earthing of the board is ok, you need an AC bulb, connect it to a holder with long wires, take a terminal, jab it into the "live" one of the socket(this should be the right hole, but sometimes people who are not good make the live one on the left too), then the other terminal needs to be jabbed into the earthing. if the bulb glows, your earthing is A-okay!

and i learnt the EMI stuff in school, and i have it in my first sem mechanical B.E syllabus too.
other stuff, i learnt from my dad who was an electrician in his youth, but runs a business now.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,895 (0.45/day)
Likes
433
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#33
ok, when i said that, i assumed the house wiring was okay. to test if the earthing of the board is ok, you need an AC bulb, connect it to a holder with long wires, take a terminal, jab it into the "live" one of the socket(this should be the right hole, but sometimes people who are not good make the live one on the left too), then the other terminal needs to be jabbed into the earthing. if the bulb glows, your earthing is A-okay!

and i learnt the EMI stuff in school, and i have it in my first sem mechanical B.E syllabus too.
other stuff, i learnt from my dad who was an electrician in his youth, but runs a business now.
Alright then, I apologize for being somewhat rude, but I know that improper handling of electrical components and wiring is dangerous and often fatal. I have had electricians under my supervision injured because they "knew what they were doing", so I am concerned when I see someone saying things that are not correct.

Now, I am giving the requirements of the National Electrical Code (NFPA 70) that is used in the U.S.A:

The proper way to check if an electrical service is properly "grounded" is inspect the main breaker panel/fuse box. Disclaimer: Electrical service work must only be performed by qualified personnel. In other words, if you do not know what you are doing, hire a professional.

If the panel is the first point of disconnect, the white or neutral (grounded conductor) wires are connect to a terminal bar and the bare or ground (grounding conductor) wires are connected to a separate terminal bar which is bonded to the panel. The two terminal bars are then connected together (bonded) with the "main bonding jumper", (sized according to the ampacity of the service) and a heavier gauge wire (also sized according to the service ampacity) is connected from the ground bar to the structure's metal cold water line at a point within five feet of where the line enters the structure. It is recommended, and some local codes require, that an auxiliary conductor be connected to second grounding electrode, such as a driven rod. There are other grounding means, but I will not go into that much detail.

If the panel is not the first point of disconnect (where another disconnecting means is between the meter and the panel), the neutral and ground wires are not bonded together in the panel, rather each still goes to separate terminal bars, but the neutral bar is insulated from the panel, while the ground bar is bonded to the panel. The service grounding conductor(s) is/are then connected to the grounding electrode(s) as before.

Even then to meet the code requirements, the resistance between earth and the grounding electrode must be 25 Ohms or less. If it is not, a second electrode must be installed no less than six feet away. This may need to be repeated several times. I remember a job where it required four driven rods to get below 25 Ohms.

The service may be "grounded" without the required electrodes being installed and connected, through the service cable grounded conductor which goes to the utility company's transformer, but it is not the correct method.

Regarding the EMI, if the chassis is made of metal (aluminum or steel) and completely encloses the internal components, it should act as a Faraday Cage, effectively blocking any stray signals. I noticed that some of the Asus sound cards have EMI shielding on the card.


EDIT: To check a receptacle outlet for ground, a receptacle tester should be used.
 
Last edited:

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#34
.

Regarding the EMI, if the chassis is made of metal (aluminum or steel) and completely encloses the internal components, it should act as a Faraday Cage, effectively blocking any stray signals. I noticed that some of the Asus sound cards have EMI shielding on the card.
Pssh. A faraday cage if you don't have a case window. Also, this is assuming that the power supply is in contact with the case. My IBM 5150 is lined with an extra metal liner to act as a faraday cage cause it is a milspec one.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,895 (0.45/day)
Likes
433
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#35
Pssh. A faraday cage if you don't have a case window. Also, this is assuming that the power supply is in contact with the case. My IBM 5150 is lined with an extra metal liner to act as a faraday cage cause it is a milspec one.
True, you will note that I said "completely encloses", however.

The PSU mounting screws should be enough to effectively bond the PSU to the chassis.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#36
i was thinking....
and i think the best possible way to make the cage would be to....
use the plastic coated aluminium foil and wrap it around the card (leaving out the slot pins of course).