• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

A couple of questions on fans, fan controllers and ram.

Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3.6ghz daul core
Motherboard asus P5L-VM
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) nividea geforce 6800
Storage 360gb
Display(s) 19" acer
Case a1-go2
Audio Device(s) realtek hd
Power Supply 500watt
Software windows vista 32 bit
#1
hey ppl just got a couple of quickies

1- my fans are all wacked lol my fan at the back is blowing the air out but their is no fan in the front to get the cold air in any ideas

2- i need a good fan controller i want it to be touch but i also want to have a lock feature so my 2yr old boy wont be able to play with it

3- and last is their any reason my computer is telling me that i have 6gig of ram when vista home will only pick up 4 and my mobo will only run 4
:toast:
 
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3.6ghz daul core
Motherboard asus P5L-VM
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) nividea geforce 6800
Storage 360gb
Display(s) 19" acer
Case a1-go2
Audio Device(s) realtek hd
Power Supply 500watt
Software windows vista 32 bit
#3
thanks for the welcome windows is the system properties yea i did put a fan their but their is no were to get the cool air in their aint no holes anywere
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.03/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#4
Is your Vista 32-bits or 64-bits?

32-bits can only address 4GB of memory.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#5
- and last is their any reason my computer is telling me that i have 6gig of ram when vista home will only pick up 4 and my mobo will only run 4
:toast:
Are you using 32 bit Vista not 64 bit?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
597 (0.19/day)
Likes
101
Location
Ireland.
#6
What kind of case do you have?

Download CPU-Z and check what RAM it reports.

Can you also fill in your system specs HERE so we can see what you got.
 
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3.6ghz daul core
Motherboard asus P5L-VM
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) nividea geforce 6800
Storage 360gb
Display(s) 19" acer
Case a1-go2
Audio Device(s) realtek hd
Power Supply 500watt
Software windows vista 32 bit
#7
32bit i beleave
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#8
32bit OS can only use up to 4Gb of ram.

Edit: my bad, I misunderstood the question. Where does your computer tell you that you have 6GB of ram
 
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3.6ghz daul core
Motherboard asus P5L-VM
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) nividea geforce 6800
Storage 360gb
Display(s) 19" acer
Case a1-go2
Audio Device(s) realtek hd
Power Supply 500watt
Software windows vista 32 bit
#9
3200 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory

Slot 'DIMM0' has 2048 MB
Slot 'DIMM1' has 1024 MB
Slot 'DIMM2' has 2048 MB
Slot 'DIMM3' has 1024 MB
 
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3.6ghz daul core
Motherboard asus P5L-VM
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) nividea geforce 6800
Storage 360gb
Display(s) 19" acer
Case a1-go2
Audio Device(s) realtek hd
Power Supply 500watt
Software windows vista 32 bit
#10
would it read more thou
 
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3.6ghz daul core
Motherboard asus P5L-VM
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) nividea geforce 6800
Storage 360gb
Display(s) 19" acer
Case a1-go2
Audio Device(s) realtek hd
Power Supply 500watt
Software windows vista 32 bit
#11
Operating System System Model
Windows Vista Home Basic Service Pack 1 (build 6001)
Install Language: English (United States)
System Locale: English (United States) No details available
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
3.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
16 kilobyte primary memory cache
2048 kilobyte secondary memory cache
64-bit ready
Hyper-threaded (2 total) Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5L-VM 1394 Rev 1.xx
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 0701 09/26/2007
Drives Memory Modules c,d
480.02 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
307.66 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GSA-H22N ATA Device [CD-ROM drive]
3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

Hitachi HTS543232L9A300 [Hard drive] (320.07 GB) -- drive 1, s/n 090306FB2406LEKLN9RH, rev FB4OC40C, SMART Status: Healthy
Sony Storage Media USB Device [Hard drive] (2.00 GB) -- drive 2, s/n ¬
ST3160215A [Hard drive] (160.04 GB) -- drive 0, s/n 9RA1QR63, rev 3.AAD, SMART Status: Healthy
3200 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory

Slot 'DIMM0' has 2048 MB
Slot 'DIMM1' has 1024 MB
Slot 'DIMM2' has 2048 MB
Slot 'DIMM3' has 1024 MB
Local Drive Volumes

c: (NTFS on drive 0) 160.03 GB 75.93 GB free
d: (FAT32 on drive 1) 319.99 GB 231.72 GB free

Network Drives
None detected
Users (mouse over user name for details) Printers
local user accounts last logon
jamie 4/22/2010 3:21:47 AM (admin)
local system accounts
Administrator 1/20/2008 7:02:26 PM (admin)
Guest never

Marks a disabled account; Marks a locked account EPSON Stylus CX3900 Series on USB001
Microsoft XPS Document Writer on XPSPort:
Send To Microsoft OneNote 2010 Driver on nul:


dont worry abaut the hdds lol they have been fixed up
 
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3.6ghz daul core
Motherboard asus P5L-VM
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) nividea geforce 6800
Storage 360gb
Display(s) 19" acer
Case a1-go2
Audio Device(s) realtek hd
Power Supply 500watt
Software windows vista 32 bit
#12
my case is a a1-go2
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#13
I am really confused now, do you physically have 6Gb or 4Gb worth of ram?
 
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3.6ghz daul core
Motherboard asus P5L-VM
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) nividea geforce 6800
Storage 360gb
Display(s) 19" acer
Case a1-go2
Audio Device(s) realtek hd
Power Supply 500watt
Software windows vista 32 bit
#14
when i bought the computer the gy said it had 4 every program ive had ran on my computer tells me 6 their is no stickers on the ram
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#16
Hmm, this is strange, you buy your computer with 4Gb worth of ram, and then it tells you that you have 6GB and you are running Vista 32bit? Something is not right.
 
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3.6ghz daul core
Motherboard asus P5L-VM
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) nividea geforce 6800
Storage 360gb
Display(s) 19" acer
Case a1-go2
Audio Device(s) realtek hd
Power Supply 500watt
Software windows vista 32 bit
#17
theirs 4 sticks
 
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3.6ghz daul core
Motherboard asus P5L-VM
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) nividea geforce 6800
Storage 360gb
Display(s) 19" acer
Case a1-go2
Audio Device(s) realtek hd
Power Supply 500watt
Software windows vista 32 bit
#18
how do i no if it is 32bit
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#19
4 sticks and no stickers on? I have a feeling that you have 2x1GB and 2x2Gb, but since that 32bit OS supports only 4Gb, Vista only reports 4Gb. Try upgrading your OS to 64bit. That means reinstalling.
 
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3.6ghz daul core
Motherboard asus P5L-VM
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) nividea geforce 6800
Storage 360gb
Display(s) 19" acer
Case a1-go2
Audio Device(s) realtek hd
Power Supply 500watt
Software windows vista 32 bit
#20
how do i do that do i need to buy another os
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#21
It would help if there was fan at front at the case to push air in. But even without that fan there is drop of pressure in the case and the air is coming in from the holes on the case. So you are getting air circulation.
Install 64bit OS to evade 32bit OS memory allocation limitations.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#22
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3.6ghz daul core
Motherboard asus P5L-VM
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) nividea geforce 6800
Storage 360gb
Display(s) 19" acer
Case a1-go2
Audio Device(s) realtek hd
Power Supply 500watt
Software windows vista 32 bit
#23
do i have to order that from microsoft or can i download it and just use my old key or do i need a new one of them to