• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

a cpu and motherboard upgrade..

Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
6,452 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,037
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 8700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.264 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z370-F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 11508.. everyday settings..
#1
i am toying with the idea of moving from my 7700K kabylake to a six core 8700K which of course will require a new mobo..

whats the best way of avoiding windows thinking its a new machine and trying to skank me for a new copy of windows.. its a retail copy of windows not oem..

trog
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,152 (0.95/day)
Likes
2,749
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#3
If its as you say "Retail" then you can legally transfer.
Because it is a "Retail" license, I agree - AS LONG AS you uninstall it from all previous systems. That license can only be used to install Windows on one computer at a time.

FTR, I have never yet had to call Microsoft when installing previously used "retail" licenses. But if the time comes, I don't anticipate any problems because they can tell immediately from the product key it is a retail license.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
985 (0.24/day)
Likes
135
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K Unlocked Coffee Lake OEM CPU/Processor
Motherboard AORUS Gaming 7 Intel Z370 (Socket 1151) DDR4 ATX Motherboard
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3000MHz Memory
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 250GB 960 Evo, 2 x 480 Crucial and 1 x 512 Crucial ssd.
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#4
Hi just moved to an 8700k with new motherboard and I didn't need to buy a new windows.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
968 (0.69/day)
Likes
597
Location
Birmingham UK
System Name El Calpulator \Gaming Laptop
Processor i7 7700K@4.8ghz \i7 5700HQ@3.5ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270 Gaming 7 \ MSIGE62 HM87
Cooling AC Liquid Freezer 240 4x120mm Fans \MSI Dual Fan
Memory 24GB DDR4 3200mhz Corsair Vengance White+Red\16GB DDR3 1600mhz Kingston
Video Card(s) Palit GTX1080 Game Rock@2050/11000mhz \ MSI GTX 970M@Stock
Storage Crucial MX300 m.2 275GB+MX500 500GB+MX100 256GB+Toshiba 2TB HDD \128GB m.2 SSD+1TB HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz G-Sync \15.6 Screen
Case Phanteks Enthoo PRO M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX + Edifier 2000RB+Logitech G533\ Realtek ALC 892 Nahimic+Dynaudio Speakers
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G2 650W\MSI Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus \ A4 Tech V7 Bloody
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum \SteelSeriesGE62
Software Win 10 Pro\Win 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Not enough!
#5
A call to Microsoft would be enough to re-activate your Windows copy in case you need to.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
6,452 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,037
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 8700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.264 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z370-F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 11508.. everyday settings..
#6
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
530 (0.44/day)
Likes
327
#7
With retail versions of Win 7 it's not an issue; with OEM versions it might be. I have done many MoBo / CPU upgrades and OEM copies reinstalled and auto activated w/o issue when using same brand and model series. This is because MS expects that warranty replacements for say a Z270 Hero might be replaced by a Z370 Hero. Change a whole bunch of stuff and expect problems

Win 10 OTOH is not an issue either way. Windows retail and OEM licenses with be fine as long as you bought the OS as an individual purchase:

Invoice A is fine:
List of components - $1200
MS Windows 10 - $100
Total $1300

Invoice B is not:
Whoopdedoo 2000 PC w/ Windows 10 - $1300

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/Useterms/Retail/Windows/10/UseTerms_Retail_Windows_10_English.htm

4. Transfer. The provisions of this section do not apply if you acquired the software in Germany or in any of the countries listed on this site (aka.ms/transfer), in which case any transfer of the software to a third party, and the right to use it, must comply with applicable law.

a. Software preinstalled on device. If you acquired the software preinstalled on a device (and also if you upgraded from software preinstalled on a device), you may transfer the license to use the software directly to another user, only with the licensed device. The transfer must include the software and, if provided with the device, an authentic Windows label including the product key. Before any permitted transfer, the other party must agree that this agreement applies to the transfer and use of the software.

b. Stand-alone software. If you acquired the software as stand-alone software (and also if you upgraded from software you acquired as stand-alone software), you may transfer the software to another device that belongs to you. You may also transfer the software to a device owned by someone else if (i) you are the first licensed user of the software and (ii) the new user agrees to the terms of this agreement. You may use the backup copy we allow you to make or the media that the software came on to transfer the software. Every time you transfer the software to a new device, you must remove the software from the prior device. You may not transfer the software to share licenses between devices.
You don't say what th PC is used for but, all that being said, in all likelihood there will be no perceptable increase in performance after all that time, effort and money spent. MS Word will be 7% faster running a script of successive actions, but having a user in the middle of each of those renders that moot. gaming wise, you won't see anything. See image linked below

https://tpucdn.com/reviews/Intel/Core_i7_8700K/images/perfrel_2560_1440.png
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,152 (0.95/day)
Likes
2,749
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#8
it is just a mobo and cpu change..
You say "just" but that really is a major upgrade. For licensing purposes, a new motherboard is considered a new computer. Do be careful, however, as a new motherboard often also requires new RAM. Check the motherboard's QVL (qualified vendors list) for compatible RAM on the board's website. There are too many for them to test them all so you don't have to buy listed RAM, but you should buy RAM with the same specs as listed RAM to ensure compatibility.
with OEM versions it might be.
OEM licenses are not "legally" transferable to a new motherboard under any circumstances - with one exception. That is if the new board is a replacement during a repair process for a board that has failed. And then it MUST be an exact replacement, or the recommended replacement by the same manufacturer if the original board is no longer in production or available.

Technically, you often can get away with it. But that does not make it legal. And since these conditions are set in the EULA we agree to abide by when we decide to keep using the license on the original computer, that makes the terms legally binding - whether Microsoft decides to pursue it in court, or not.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
6,452 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,037
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 8700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.264 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z370-F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 11508.. everyday settings..
#9
the deed is done its on its way bill.. its just the asus Z340 version of what i already have.. the ram should be okay..

with graphics cards and ram the price they are £500 quid for new mobo and cpu for sure aint the major part of a new £2000 quid plus PC any more... irrespective of what windows thinks..

my machine has 32 gigs of ram.. near £400 quids worth at todays prices .. two graphics cards at £1000 todays prices.. to me just new mobo and cpu is "just that.. a relatively minor upgrade.. he he

but if i do end up having to spend £140 quid on new win 10 pro licence so be it.. i am committed now.. :)

trog
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,353 (2.25/day)
Likes
4,224
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#10
I purchased a previously used Win7 retail license/box and had zero problems activating it. I've also moved an OEM licence to a new PC and activated it no problem.

There is a "re-arm count" associated with a given COA ...if you exceed that then you may need to call MS with a plausible story. Been there with WinXP COA I got with an old laptop and activated no prob after a quick call and explanation.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
6,452 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,037
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 8700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.264 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z370-F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 11508.. everyday settings..
#11
With retail versions of Win 7 it's not an issue; with OEM versions it might be. I have done many MoBo / CPU upgrades and OEM copies reinstalled and auto activated w/o issue when using same brand and model series. This is because MS expects that warranty replacements for say a Z270 Hero might be replaced by a Z370 Hero. Change a whole bunch of stuff and expect problems

Win 10 OTOH is not an issue either way. Windows retail and OEM licenses with be fine as long as you bought the OS as an individual purchase:

Invoice A is fine:
List of components - $1200
MS Windows 10 - $100
Total $1300

Invoice B is not:
Whoopdedoo 2000 PC w/ Windows 10 - $1300

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/Useterms/Retail/Windows/10/UseTerms_Retail_Windows_10_English.htm



You don't say what th PC is used for but, all that being said, in all likelihood there will be no perceptable increase in performance after all that time, effort and money spent. MS Word will be 7% faster running a script of successive actions, but having a user in the middle of each of those renders that moot. gaming wise, you won't see anything. See image linked below

https://tpucdn.com/reviews/Intel/Core_i7_8700K/images/perfrel_2560_1440.png
tis purely a psychological thing john.. there is no real logic to it.. i just feel the need.. he he

i am fully aware my machine is perfectly okay as it is.. but the upgrade bug is biting and in the end i know it will get its way it always does.. :)

trog
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,152 (0.95/day)
Likes
2,749
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#12
but if i do end up having to spend £140 quid on new win 10 pro licence so be it.. i am committed now..
The good news is, new W10 license are full retail. So you won't have to do it again.
I purchased a previously used Win7 retail license/box and had zero problems activating it. I've also moved an OEM licence to a new PC and activated it no problem.
The retail license is not a problem (assuming the previous owner uninstalled it from his systems). As for the OEM license, again, that was not legal - even though you can get away with it most of the time. But that does not make it right, or legal. Microsoft tech support people are not "legal" representatives of Microsoft. They often just let people get away with it to avoid hateful publicity.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,353 (2.25/day)
Likes
4,224
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#13
The retail license is not a problem (assuming the previous owner uninstalled it from his systems). As for the OEM license, again, that was not legal - even though you can get away with it most of the time. But that does not make it right, or legal. Microsoft tech support people are not "legal" representatives of Microsoft. They often just let people get away with it to avoid hateful publicity.
If it were in a commercial IT environment, I'd care. in this case, I don't ;)
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,152 (0.95/day)
Likes
2,749
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#14
Well, its another one of those circumstances where you have to let your conscience be your guide. Do you violate the terms of the EULA you agreed to abide by and illegally use the license again because you can? Or do you buy a new license because it is the right thing to do?

For me, the cost of a new license is not unreasonable or prohibitive. And since I prefer to use Windows 10 and not one of the many free Linux alternatives, I am willing to spend the money and be legal.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
1,907 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,353
Location
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
System Name Home Brewed
Processor i9-7900X and i7-7700K
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7-ACK & ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
Cooling Kraken X41 & Thermaltake Water 3.0
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000 GSKill RipJaws-V & 32GB DDR4-3200GSKill RipJaws-V
Video Card(s) 2X-GTX-1080 SLI & 2 GTX-1070 8GB G1 Gaming in SLI
Storage Both have 2TB HDDs for storage, 480GB SSDs for OS, and 240GB SSDs for Steam Games
Display(s) ACER 28" B286HK 4K & Samsung 32" 1080P
Case NZXT Source 540 & Rosewill Rise Chassis
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000 & Corsair RM850
Mouse Generic
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Tournament & Corsair K90
Software Win-10 Professional
Benchmark Scores yes
#16
i dont need it but something makes me want to do it
You're not alone in this. The little man on my shoulder talks me into new gear all of the time. :peace:
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
5,225 (3.73/day)
Likes
4,203
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#17
You're not alone in this. The little man on my shoulder talks me into new gear all of the time. :peace:
Same. But I find it rewarding to resist the urge - even for a looong time. Its nice to have more control over these things.
 
Top