• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

a faulty CPU can cause hangs????

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#1
If the CPU became faulty It can cause hangs/freezes???

I ask you 'cause my system worked like a charm when I has my (now dead) Ep35-DS3L mobo, but when I buyed my currently P5Q-E from Asus the system can't be OCked at all, just the system becomes fully stable at stock, any other configuration makes the system hang/freeze at random, could be within an hour, or after 6 hours, but in the end It always happened.

I think on various reasons.

1.- The CPU became faulty.

2.- The mobo doesn't support any OC 'cause it uses a 8pin CPU jack, and I only plugged a 4pin connector 'cause my PSU only have this....or the mobo is faulty (came with the onboard sound dead)

3.- The mobo isn't fully compatible with my actual ram, I taking the ram itself out of the equation 'cause at stock it shows zero errors on memtest, also when they are OCked.

I'm mostly sure that the mobo It's causing me the hangs (already trying to sell it, to buy again a P35 from Gigabyte), but I dunno if a faulty CPU could bring hangs/freezes.....

Please show me the light with this....THANX!!.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#2
If the CPU was faulty it probably wouldn't POST, mobo is a big possibility considering everytime you are changing things it crashes. But the PSU could be it to, try doing very small OC's, maybe the PSU cant handle the speed you want it at. There are many different reasons a system will crash tho.
 

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#3
but using the same PSU on my ep35-ds3l mobo was fully stable at 3.9GHz using 1.33v.

It could be the PSU indeed, but only using this Asus board (must be due to it need more juice using an 8pin jack), and since It came with the onboard sound dead, I'll change it with a normal 4pin CPU jack gigabyte mobo.

So the CPU is fine????
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#4
I had P35 DS3L. It died randomly one day and started giving me crap before so that's probably what it is.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#5
but using the same PSU on my ep35-ds3l mobo was fully stable at 3.9GHz using 1.33v.

It could be the PSU indeed, but only using this Asus board (must be due to it need more juice using an 8pin jack), and since It came with the onboard sound dead, I'll change it with a normal 4pin CPU jack gigabyte mobo.

So the CPU is fine????
CPU's normally dont fail that much, but it does happen, if you can try another CPU i say do it. Also yes, the CPU power connector could be the issue, i would really say you need the other connector to really push the CPU, which could be the reason of the crashing. Does it say stable on the Asus board with a small OC?
 

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#6
CPU's normally dont fail that much, but it does happen, if you can try another CPU i say do it. Also yes, the CPU power connector could be the issue, i would really say you need the other connector to really push the CPU, which could be the reason of the crashing. Does it say stable on the Asus board with a small OC?
the less I tried was 3.55GHz using only 1.23v, I cannot OC right now, I a little busy encoding some stuff for a customer, but once I finish I'll try OC with all settings on AUTO and see what happens.
 

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#7
I had P35 DS3L. It died randomly one day and started giving me crap before so that's probably what it is.
I think that too, just I'm stuck with Asus....Gigabyte never failles me, when It dies mostly was due to a corrupt BIOS on the floppy drive, not GB fault, but anyway I'm after a GB model that has the Intel P35 (4pin CPU jack) but has dual-bios feature (just in case, I'm not rich enough to buy new HW all the time, mi wife almost cut my balls everytime I buy new HW:cry:)
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#8
I had P35 DS3L. It died randomly one day and started giving me crap before so that's probably what it is.
Don't know the reliability of those boards, but that is a big possibility.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#9
I hear the P45 boards are very reliable tho, and people always go on my 680i like its crap, but for me its been stable for a long while now.:)
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
217 (0.06/day)
Likes
9
Location
England!
System Name Core i7
Processor i7 920 @ 3.3 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120
Memory Corsair XMS-3 18GB 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Unlocked and overclocked XFX ATi HD6950 2GB
Storage Main Drive - OCZ Vertex 2 120gb; storage -WD Caviar Blue 640Gb, 4Tb Seagate and 240gb Crucial mx100
Display(s) 27" LG Black Full HD Widescreen 3dtv, 1920x1080.
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Be Quiet Dark Power Pro 650w
Software Windows 7
#10
When my socket 478 P4 was faulty, the system resetted at times when loading XP.

it was hard to figure out what the problem was, so i just took it back to the shop to have it sorted.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#11
Yes it can, especially if you have high temps or an unstable oc. HDD failure can cause it too. Something messed up between the cpu and mb, especially if your not fully powering it.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#12
I already had this problem once. It was the GPU of the videocard that overheat and keep hanging the system. Maybe the thermal paste is dry and in need to be changed or the small fan itself have difficulty winding. Look for that.
 

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#13
Yes it can, especially if you have high temps or an unstable oc. HDD failure can cause it too. Something messed up between the cpu and mb, especially if your not fully powering it.
I know having an unstable OC can cause hangs/freezes, but at the minimal OC charge the system freezes randomly.....the ask about the faulty CPU is if my CPU could be damaged??
 

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#14
I already had this problem once. It was the GPU of the videocard that overheat and keep hanging the system. Maybe the thermal paste is dry and in need to be changed or the small fan itself have difficulty winding. Look for that.
I don't think the VGA is the cause because It happens at IDLE, and the card doesn't reach even the 60C (stays at 54C), this cards are maded to resist more than 100C.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#16
I had P35 DS3L. It died randomly one day and started giving me crap before so that's probably what it is.
Same here :laugh: p35 DS3L... random weirdness... mobo blamed everything but itself. I ended up with 2 PSU's and 8GB of ram at the end of it all :banghead: