• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

A few questions about multi-gpu setups.

Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
146 (0.11/day)
Likes
42
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage OS is on 120GB Kingston, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD.
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Software Win 8.1
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#1
Can you have a 770 as your main card and lets say a 760 dedicated to PhysX or MSAA?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
Can you have a 770 as your main card and lets say a 760 dedicated to PhysX or MSAA?
For dedicated PhysX only, but a 760 would be a massive waste. You can use something with just a few hundred CUDA cores for dedicated PhysX, and it's a fairly small performance requirement. I managed a GTX 275 for dedicated PhysX in the past, and it barely went over 30% usage.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
146 (0.11/day)
Likes
42
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage OS is on 120GB Kingston, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD.
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Software Win 8.1
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#3
Ok. so a dedicated PhysX card doesn't have to be much, got it. What about MSAA could I have dual 760s and run one for AA only?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#4
Ok. so a dedicated PhysX card doesn't have to be much, got it. What about MSAA could I have dual 760s and run one for AA only?
Not that I'm aware of. The only option for dedicated cards is PhysX processing.

 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
146 (0.11/day)
Likes
42
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage OS is on 120GB Kingston, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD.
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Software Win 8.1
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#5
So if I want to run games with MSAA would I be better off getting the highest VRAM, fastest single GPU or a SLI setup?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#6
So if I want to run games with MSAA would I be better off getting the highest VRAM, fastest single GPU or a SLI setup?
Whichever setup has more General GPU power in your case. I don't think much over 3GB VRAM is necessary for MSAA on 1080p despite it upscaling the resolution of everything.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
146 (0.11/day)
Likes
42
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage OS is on 120GB Kingston, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD.
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Software Win 8.1
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#7
It would be on 1440p or 4K whenever I decide to build this winter. So for example say you had two 1,700cuda core GPUs in SLI, 4GB each, lets say scaling is right and all that. Would they handle MSAA better at higher resolutions than say a 3100-3200Cuda core gpu with 6GB VRAM?
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2014
Messages
105 (0.08/day)
Likes
29
Processor 4770K 4.2
Motherboard Z87 WS
Cooling H100i with Delta blowers
Memory Trident X 2400 2x4gb
Video Card(s) Zotac Reference GTX 980
Storage Dual SuperSSpeed S301 RAID0
Display(s) Samsung HU6900 55'
Case 750D Stripped
Audio Device(s) X-Fi HT HD
Power Supply AX1200i
Software Win 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores 12k in Firestrike Extreme
#8
What about MSAA could I have dual 760s and run one for AA only?
Yes, it's called SLI AA. One card gets dedicated to running AA only while the other renders the scene. You need SLI in order to do it.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#9
It would be on 1440p or 4K whenever I decide to build this winter. So for example say you had two 1,700cuda core GPUs in SLI, 4GB each, lets say scaling is right and all that. Would they handle MSAA better at higher resolutions than say a 3100-3200Cuda core gpu with 6GB VRAM?
There is no point in using MSAA on 4K. The higher the PPI, the less need there is for any anti-aliasing whatsoever. If you intend on going 4K, stick to CS or TX or plain old AA.
MSAA will literally halve your performance.

SLI AA thanks to X71200:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/slizone_sliAA_howto2
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
146 (0.11/day)
Likes
42
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage OS is on 120GB Kingston, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD.
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Software Win 8.1
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#10
Ok. so the cards would HAVE to be the same? I couldn't have say a 780 and a 760 with the 760 on AA?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#11
Am I wrong in assuming that the need for a dedicated PhysX card is pointless as a single 770 should be able to do that and it's original graphic work without issue?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
146 (0.11/day)
Likes
42
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage OS is on 120GB Kingston, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD.
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Software Win 8.1
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#12
I don't think so. I'm really just trying to learn what exactly all you can do with multiple gpus. Same architecture or not. Same VRAM amount or not. If a dedicated AA card is possible.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2014
Messages
105 (0.08/day)
Likes
29
Processor 4770K 4.2
Motherboard Z87 WS
Cooling H100i with Delta blowers
Memory Trident X 2400 2x4gb
Video Card(s) Zotac Reference GTX 980
Storage Dual SuperSSpeed S301 RAID0
Display(s) Samsung HU6900 55'
Case 750D Stripped
Audio Device(s) X-Fi HT HD
Power Supply AX1200i
Software Win 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores 12k in Firestrike Extreme
#13
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
146 (0.11/day)
Likes
42
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage OS is on 120GB Kingston, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD.
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Software Win 8.1
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#14
Correct me if I am mistaken but can't you have an AMD gpu and a Nvidia gpu in the same system just choosing which one to run or what exactly can be done there?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,688 (2.78/day)
Likes
2,106
Location
Texas
System Name Alucard / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 5930K @ 4.5ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon X5670 / Intel i7 3610QM
Motherboard MSI X99S Gaming 9 AC / Dell Dual Socket (R710) / MSI Stock Gaming Laptop
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / MSI Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2666 16gb (4x4gb) CL 16 / 1333mhz DDR3 96gb 12 x 8gb / 12gb DDR3 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / GTX 880m
Storage Samsung 840/850 512gb Raid 0, WD Velociraptor 600gb x 5 Raid 5 / 300gb 15k RPM x 8 / 2x 240gb Adata
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor, 1 Hanns-G 27inch 1920x1080p Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R710 Rack Mount Case / MSI Gaming 17inch
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Pro
#15
Correct me if I am mistaken but can't you have an AMD gpu and a Nvidia gpu in the same system just choosing which one to run or what exactly can be done there?
Well technically if your talking about like say having an R9 290X and a GTX 780ti in the same system to run games separately you can do that by switching which connector your monitor is plugged into (I believe jokingly linus tech tips on youtube did something like that). Now if your talking about having like an R9 290 and then a GT 740 for PhysX that is only possible if you run a mod program called Hybrid PhysX.

But generally speaking an AMD card and Nvidia card do not work together in harmony.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
146 (0.11/day)
Likes
42
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage OS is on 120GB Kingston, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD.
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Software Win 8.1
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#16
My real question is whether or not you can have a dedicated AA card without having the same cards.
Could I use SLI AA with two different Nvidia gpus? What is it saying by SLI8x and SLI16x in the AA options?

Thanks for all the helpful answers so far.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#17
My real question is whether or not you can have a dedicated AA card without having the same cards.
No, you can't. Same GPU only for SLI, that goes for SLI AA.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#18
It would be on 1440p or 4K whenever I decide to build this winter. So for example say you had two 1,700cuda core GPUs in SLI, 4GB each, lets say scaling is right and all that. Would they handle MSAA better at higher resolutions than say a 3100-3200Cuda core gpu with 6GB VRAM?
Better read my topic here before you go 4k sli.
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/beware-of-4k-misleading-advertising-and-sli.204582/

There is no point in using MSAA on 4K. The higher the PPI, the less need there is for any anti-aliasing whatsoever. If you intend on going 4K, stick to CS or TX or plain old AA.
MSAA will literally halve your performance.

SLI AA thanks to X71200:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/slizone_sliAA_howto2
Agreed, you do not need MSAA.
I use AA x2 and that's it.
Things look insane.

This is how 4k looks with AA2x
I made these videos @4k with 2XAA
The awesom part is, this is only using ONE gtx 680, not even in sli and I stay above 30fps.
Any lag you see is due to fraps.

 
Last edited: