• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A few simple Powerline questions...

Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#1
I'm thinking of buying a powerline kit but before I do there is a couple of things that I'd like to know, if I buy a starter kit how easy is it to add to that? And if I did would I just go buy another adapter and plug in the wall + device or is there more to it than that?

All help/tips would be appreciated

ps I know I could use google but I prefer to ask real people.
 
Last edited:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,401 (5.43/day)
Likes
9,572
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
I'm thinking of buying a powerline kit but before I do there is a couple of things that I'd like to know, if I buy a starter kit how easy is it to add to that? And if I did would I just go buy another adapter and plug in the wall + device or is there more to it than that?

All help/tips would be appreciated

ps I know I could use google but I prefer to ask real people.
I have 4 in my house. I recommend the 500mbps ones, I have 200mbps ones and they're fairly average, they get me my 84mb broadband fine, but file transfer is pretty bad.

Literally you buy 2, plug them in whereever, plug one into router and the other into the device, then hold the reset button for 5-8 seconds. do not hold the button longer than 8 seconds otherwise it will just reset the adapter and not actually connect to each other. Whenever you want to add an adapter to the network, just plug it into the socket, hold the button for 8 seconds, and it will magically connect to your existing powerline network. Pretty easy stuff. I've had my 4 for 3 years, and they've never caused me any problems.

Even if you switch them off at night or whatever, they'll remain paired, so when you turn them back on, there's no need to resynchronise them all.

Do note, different power sockets seem to be more effective than others for some reason, so experiment with spare sockets if you have the length/time/space.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,209 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,396
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#3
I'm thinking of buying a powerline kit but before I do there is a couple of things that I'd like to know, if I buy a starter kit how easy is it to add to that? And if I did would I just go buy another adapter and plug in the wall + device or is there more to it than that?

All help/tips would be appreciated

ps I know I could use google but I prefer to ask real people.
Easy peasy, if you want to add to it just make sure you get plugs from the same brand. Some plugs dont play nice with each other because the encryption is different
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,512 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,597
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#4
It depends on the circuitry in your house. For example, since I'm on the second floor if I connect it to two outlets on different circuits, the signal has to travel all the way to the basement, into the breaker box, and back up to the second floor to wherever the other adapter is. Because of this I found that I wouldn't get much more than 35-40Mbit. Just keep that in mind.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#5
sounds like its just as simple as i thought, which is always good news! As for the circuitry that will be fine too as there is only my kitchen that is on a separate circuit.

On a side note, when did TPU get the new look? I love it on my mobile now!
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#6
What's this about they shouldn't be used with surge protected (power) extension leads/plugs?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,401 (5.43/day)
Likes
9,572
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#7
What's this about they shouldn't be used with surge protected (power) extension leads/plugs?
They severely bottleneck the potential bandwidth. Plugging mine into a surge protected extension lead literally halved my bandwidth.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#8
that sucks for me, all the sockets in this house are single sockets and aren't very well placed around the house at all! Meh... I'm only using 20mb broadband anyway and rarely do large file transfers its mainly for the odd computer that I get in for repair that doesn't have an wifi so obviously quicker to hook up via ethernet than to keep installing my own wifi drivers
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,512 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,597
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#9
that sucks for me, all the sockets in this house are single sockets and aren't very well placed around the house at all! Meh... I'm only using 20mb broadband anyway and rarely do large file transfers its mainly for the odd computer that I get in for repair that doesn't have an wifi so obviously quicker to hook up via ethernet than to keep installing my own wifi drivers
You can split a plug without it being on a surge protector. Just get a short extension cord that supports >1800w and has two plugs on it. It's less limiting than a surge protector is but you can still plug a surge protector into it without having the powerline adapter on it. It diminishes bandwidth but not nearly as much as putting it on a power strip.

Consider it a better bad option. :p
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
that sucks for me, all the sockets in this house are single sockets and aren't very well placed around the house at all! Meh... I'm only using 20mb broadband anyway and rarely do large file transfers its mainly for the odd computer that I get in for repair that doesn't have an wifi so obviously quicker to hook up via ethernet than to keep installing my own wifi drivers
You can use extension cords, but not surge protectors, just make sure it is a decent quality extension cord.