1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB] A MB that will replace Nvga for ?

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Hitman, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. Hitman

    Hitman

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    132 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Whittier so california
    Hello Gents
    I have currently a Nvga Nforce 750i Sli MB
    Although the board works well I am looking for a replacement.
    As I want to do Crossfire with 2 AMD 7850.

    I am looking for a MB that I can just switch my other hardware CPU Mem HD and the rest over.
    And do some decent OCING.

    My specs are under my name

    After I get the Holidays paid off I will save for a i7 system but for now would like to
    Learn play with the above.

    So If you have something or a recommendation please give me a shout.

    Thanks
    Ruben M.
     
  2. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,087 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Pune
    if i am not wrong, that core 2 duo is already bottle necking your 7850...
    i would suggest to get a new cpu AND mobo. it will be an upgrade and newer parts, so win win.
     
  3. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,439 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,689
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    I also choose to replace the CPU and RAM to when my mobo broke, because an E8400 compatible mobo is not easy to find because of the BIOS and FSB restrictions of many LGA775 boards. I managed to sell both the E8400 and the old RAM on ebay so the strategy DDD and I now proposed should work.
     
  4. Ramirez

    Ramirez

    Heatware:
    78 0 0 
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    562 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Murrieta, CA
    I have a EVGA 780i FTW
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Heatware:
    398 0 0 
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,383 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,895
    Location:
    Wyoming
    That is the Nforce 780i chipset and it will not do Crossfire. The 780i will only do SLi as far as I know.
    I have an XFX 780i board as well and it will only do SLi
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Heatware:
    13 0 0 
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,927 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,635
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Upgrade CPU motherboard and memory to something more current. Like AMD FX chip with a 990fx board or something from Intels Line. Ivy Bridge or Haswell.
     
  7. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie PC Gaming Enthusiast

    Heatware:
    13 0 0 
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,393 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,434
    Location:
    Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
    If you want good boards for your e8400, two of the most consistently reliable that also performed well and did crossfire were the ASUS P5Q Deluxe, and the Gigabyte EP45-UD3P. You can find each of them from time to time on auction sites. I picked up the Gigabyte about a year ago for auction.
     
  8. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Heatware:
    28 0 0 
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,112 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,168
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie PC Gaming Enthusiast

    Heatware:
    13 0 0 
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,393 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,434
    Location:
    Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
    You did the same exact thing I did! It was a constant struggle to overclock stable on the FTW. My son has my EP45 now and with the overclock on a q9450 and a GTX 580, he is perfectly content playing current games.
     
  10. Hitman

    Hitman

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    132 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Whittier so california
    Hello Gent's
    Thanks for the help and Info
    Still looking and giving it somemore thought I think my best bet is to just stick with what I have and save for a I7 machine.

    Thanks again
    Ruben M.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)