• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

A program that lets you change songs without minimizing another program

Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
209 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Processor amd fx8350 4.0ghz stock speeds 8cores
Motherboard Asus m5a99fx pro r2.0
Cooling coolermaster nepton 280L
Memory 16gb RAM
Video Card(s) gigabyte windforce r9 290
Storage OCZ 120gb SSD and 1tb hitachi HDD
Display(s) AOC 2436 24inch FULL HD
Case corsair 750D
Power Supply CORSAIR HX series 850w
Software WINDOWS 7 64bit
#1
does anyone know of a program that lets you play songs and lets you change songs while doing something else for example im playing a game and listening to music at the same time i really.. don't want to minimize my game is there a program that can let me change to a different song without minimizing my game
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Messages
283 (0.09/day)
Likes
81
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
Processor Phenom II X3 720 BE @ 3.15 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Optima
Memory Corsair XMS2, 2x2 GB DDR2, 800 MHz, CL5
Video Card(s) Asus R9 270X DirectCu II
Storage Caviar Black 500 GB & Caviar Green 1 TB
Display(s) Dell U2311H (23'' IPS)
Case Gigabyte GZ-X5
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Win 7 Pro 64-bit
#2
Most audio players have the option you desire via global hotkeys / global shortcuts.
For example, I use foobar2000 and I can play/pause/stop, go to next song etc, all via global shortcuts (I had to enable and bind them myself)

To configure (global) shortcuts in foobar2000:
File -> Preferences -> (under General) Keyboard Shortcuts ->
once there, edit the shortcuts you wish to make them global and assign them to keys / key combinations of your suiting ;)


PS I am quite sure more audio players support this feature. If I remember correctly, even Winamp supports that, but I haven't used it for quite some time...
PS2 how is this related to hardware? :p
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#3
You could just get a keyboard with button shortcuts for Next pause play and Previous.

That way if you want to skip a song you just hit the next button on your keyboard and there you go :)
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
209 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Processor amd fx8350 4.0ghz stock speeds 8cores
Motherboard Asus m5a99fx pro r2.0
Cooling coolermaster nepton 280L
Memory 16gb RAM
Video Card(s) gigabyte windforce r9 290
Storage OCZ 120gb SSD and 1tb hitachi HDD
Display(s) AOC 2436 24inch FULL HD
Case corsair 750D
Power Supply CORSAIR HX series 850w
Software WINDOWS 7 64bit
#4
lol sorry if this is posted in wrong section anyway ive tried assigning hot keys and everything
but i just seem to not be able to get it to work.. i press the hot key and it just does not work... nothing happens
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,247 (0.89/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
#5
It should work with windows media player..not sure about other players though.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.04/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#6
lol sorry if this is posted in wrong section anyway ive tried assigning hot keys and everything
but i just seem to not be able to get it to work.. i press the hot key and it just does not work... nothing happens
What program? I used media keys with Winamp and Media Player, on XP and 7, and they always worked fine for me. Hotkeys might not work that well, especially with keys bound to the game or the Windows key.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,570 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#7
Win7 plus WMP. The taskbar WMP icon lets you change songs, etc :)
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.61/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#8
Media Monkey.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#9
I use Media Monkey as well. After I disabled the pop-ups for the songs I was able to play Starcraft II without problems, and switch songs with my side mouse buttons! :rockout:
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#10
Only program I couldn't use hot keys with was iTunes but you can google a plugin that will let you use your keyboard shortcut keys with it. If you need it done with iTunes let me know and I'll even upload the plugin for you.