• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A4-3400 bang for the buck build

Joined
Aug 28, 2011
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello,

Please help me build PCs that will use A4-3400 without discrete graphics. I will use this in computer shop open almost 24/7 so efficiency, price, and performance must be considered. (best PSU?)

It will not be for demanding games such as METRO 2033 or Crysis.

PC purpose:

web browsing, watch online(youtube and others alike), office application(MS word, excel, etc.),
and gaming. (1366x768, low to mid settings)

Games I plan to play are:
>Casual games
>LAN and Online games: Special Force, DOTA, HON, Rohan, Zhu Xian Online, Grand Chase, Cabal Online, Perfect World, Dragonest, Allods, Lucent Heart, Karma, Pandora Saga, KOS, Crazy Cart, Flyff, RFonline, and silk road online.

Store I'm planning to buy is
http://pcx.com.ph/

I live in Manila, Philippines. If you have any other suggested store near to my place, please let me know.
Thank you in advance.
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.61/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#2
if it will be on 24/7 maybe a brazos platform would be a bit more efficient?
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
144 (0.05/day)
Likes
29
Location
Houston, TX
System Name 2600k
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE_BK
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 760 OC
Storage 120GB Agility 3/2TB WD Caviar Black x 2/Intel 311 (Cache Drive)
Display(s) Dell S2340M
Case Lian Li PC-8FIR (Silver)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M 1000W
Software Win 7 Pro x64 SP1
Benchmark Scores Logitech G500 | Razer Lycosa Mirror | Logitech Z-5300
#4
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.61/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#5
Well if you want to stick with Llano then i strongly suggest you make the jump to A6-3500. You get roughly twice the GPU power and 1 extra core while staying in the same power envelope for ~20-25$

 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,517 (0.84/day)
Likes
758
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#6
tbh, me and a friend of mine did a comparison of an A8-3850 build vs an Athlon II x4 build with a 6670gpu, and we found that we would save about $60usd depending on motherboard going the Athlon route. Of course the APU would do better in power consumption.

i would config a cpu/mobo/ram/gpu for you but that website is... really hard to find stuff in. and it seems to hate chrome.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2011
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
Does the Philippines run 240V out of the wall or 120V? Reason I ask is the 240V power supplies are inherently more energy efficient. But from what I've read you'll have to use the hell out of the PC to make up for the cost of buying a highend Gold/Platinum certified power supply.

See here: http://www.hardocp.com/article/2011/10/04/80_plus_irrelevant_to_you_when_buying_psu/
Yes, the Philippines does, 220V to be exact. I think we should eliminate Gold/Platinum certified among the choices since it will cost too much. I'm on a tight budget.

Well if you want to stick with Llano then i strongly suggest you make the jump to A6-3500. You get roughly twice the GPU power and 1 extra core while staying in the same power envelope for ~20-25$

http://images.anandtech.com/doci/4742/Screen Shot 2011-09-07 at 12.58.21 PM.png
A6-3500 seems to be attractive. I hope, it will not break my budget. 340-350$ equivalent to my currency monitor included.

tbh, me and a friend of mine did a comparison of an A8-3850 build vs an Athlon II x4 build with a 6670gpu, and we found that we would save about $60usd depending on motherboard going the Athlon route. Of course the APU would do better in power consumption.

i would config a cpu/mobo/ram/gpu for you but that website is... really hard to find stuff in. and it seems to hate chrome.
Sorry for that. Can you use firefox or internet explorer? Please stick with the APU build.
I post that site because not all stuffs are easy to find in my country.

But if the Athlon II x4 setup with HD6670 will be much powerful than APU,( can play crysis at 1366x768 low-mid settings) maybe I will consider that.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,140
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#8
Yes, the Philippines does, 220V to be exact. I think we should eliminate Gold/Platinum certified among the choices since it will cost too much. I'm on a tight budget.



A6-3500 seems to be attractive. I hope, it will not break my budget. 340-350$ equivalent to my currency monitor included.



Sorry for that. Can you use firefox or internet explorer? Please stick with the APU build.
I post that site because not all stuffs are easy to find in my country.

But if the Athlon II x4 setup with HD6670 will be much powerful than APU,( can play crysis at 1366x768 low-mid settings) maybe I will consider that.
As you can see I merged your posts into one single post. In the future, use the "multi-quote" button to avoid double/triple posts.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,517 (0.84/day)
Likes
758
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#9
well that config i was talking about would cost more than the apu budget you had in mind. Was just saying you could find the separate component equivalents of the APU for less most likely, due to the socket FM1 boards costing a little more. However, If you want to stick with an APU and plan to run Crysis at all... an A6-3500 would probably do it. (edit: now that i think about it the higher cost of the motherboard could be offset by the cheaper cost of the PSU going the APU route)
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2011
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#10
I made a build my self but I'm not so sure with it.

AMD A6-3500 (2.1G) 3mb 4,450~ 98.89$
Gigabyte A55M-S2V VSL/ddr3 3,300~ 73.33$
4gb Lovo (1800C9D3LK2/4GX) 2x2 2,050~ 45.56$
500gb Seagate Barracuda Sata3 2,400~ 53.33$
FSP HEXA HE500 (Eff>80%) 500w 1,900~ 42.22$
(I can't find reputable brands such as antec, xfx, and corsair at low price so I choose this one.)
Orion 5835 all colors (case only) 800~17.78$
(This is just a generic case, I have no idea how bad it will be but compare to others which will cost 2000+, I made up my mind with it.)
18.5” ILLumina / E-Machines 3,700~ 82.22$
(Another lazy labeling, no details at all. Do you guys have an idea about that brand of monitors?
Win7 Home Basic OEM 3,850~ 85.56$
(Do I have to use the 64bit version of windows? If 1GB of RAM will be shared to IGP, now I only have 3GB.)
I can get all items above without additional cost. Tax for example. What can you say about the deal?
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
144 (0.05/day)
Likes
29
Location
Houston, TX
System Name 2600k
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE_BK
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 760 OC
Storage 120GB Agility 3/2TB WD Caviar Black x 2/Intel 311 (Cache Drive)
Display(s) Dell S2340M
Case Lian Li PC-8FIR (Silver)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fata1ity
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M 1000W
Software Win 7 Pro x64 SP1
Benchmark Scores Logitech G500 | Razer Lycosa Mirror | Logitech Z-5300
#11
Nothing wrong with FSP power supplies. I put together a A8-3850 for a friend a month back. The onboard GPU is ok but don't expect too much out of it. Keep your expectations at a reasonable level and you'll be good.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,517 (0.84/day)
Likes
758
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#12
I don't think there's a price difference between 32 and 64bit windows so i'd just get the 64bit. Also, you will need it anyway to use all of the ram b/c of the way video hardware maps the memory.

How graphics cards and other devices affect memory limits
Devices have to map their memory below 4 GB for compatibility with non-PAE-aware Windows releases. Therefore, if the system has 4GB of RAM, some of it is either disabled or is remapped above 4GB by the BIOS. If the memory is remapped, X64 Windows can use this memory. X86 client versions of Windows don’t support physical memory above the 4GB mark, so they can’t access these remapped regions. Any X64 Windows or X86 Server release can.
from http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib..._cards_and_other_devices_affect_memory_limits

when they say x86 they mean 32Bit