• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

A8-3850 Has Ineffective BClk Multiplier

Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#26
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
5,614 (1.90/day)
Likes
1,678
Location
San Diego, CA
System Name White Boy
Processor Core i7 3770k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CORSAIR H100
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB @ 2177
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 680 CLASSIEFIED @ 1250 Core
Storage 2 Samsung 830 256 GB (Raid 0) 1 Hitachi 4 TB
Display(s) 1 Dell 30U11 30"
Case BIT FENIX Prodigy
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W Modular
Software Windows Pro 7 64 bit || Ubuntu 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 2017 Unigine Heaven :: P37239 3D Mark Vantage
#27
Ok, is it just me or is this a bit erm, dumb? Why don't they just hard lock it if there is no point in increasing it anyway?
This is AMD we are talking about . .. and that would make sense . . . so obviously the opposite must be done. . . :roll: . . . ..

Joking aside I wonder the same thing myself.:confused:
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
413 (0.13/day)
Likes
95
Location
You are here.
System Name Prometheus
Processor Intel i7 4930K
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Quad Channel 64GB DDR3 1.35V
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 4GB
Storage 2 x Intel 330 240GB RAID0 + 2 x Intel X-25M G2 160GB MIRROR + 4 x 2TB WD Green
Display(s) AMH A409U 4K
Case Intertech AP1
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCIe
Power Supply Seasonic X660
Mouse Razer Death Adder 2013
Keyboard FILCO Majestouch 2 Ninja
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
#28
LoL.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#29
Why should they hard lock it? if it doesnt do anything
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
2,191 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,068
Location
Texas
System Name Behemoth-6700k
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
Cooling D5 Vario w/ EK X-Top; EK 240 PE, EK 420 PE; EK RES X3 150; HeatKiller IV Pro
Memory 32Gb (4x8Gb) GSkill Ripjaws 3000Mhz @ 15/16/16/35 1.35v
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080ti Amp Extreme
Storage Crucial M500 240GB; Mushkin 1TB SSD x 2; WD Blue 2TB; WD Black 1TB x2
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 34" 3440x1440; LG 27" 1920x1080
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo; Phanteks F140SP Fans x 12 (6 x Top Rad); Noctua IPPC-2000 x4 (Bottom Rad)
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1350
Mouse MS Trackball Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB; Razer Tartarus Chroma
Software Windows 10 Pro
#30
Of course it made a difference. They upped the base clock, not the multiplier.
I just checked out too. That was all done with bclk, not multiplier. So, not relevant to this article.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,100 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,255
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#31
I thought we already knew this?
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,258 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#32

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,548 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#35
"Empty overclocking" - sounds like "empty calories". Don't give you nothin' and makes you fat. :laugh:

Damn, this is a really stupid bug and one which could bring their products into disrepute, especially with uninformed and ignorant users and reviewers who will spread misinformation. Also, unsrcrupulous sellers will try to hoodwink clueless buyers.

Fix it quick, AMD and give Intel some competition for once.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,258 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#36
Which means that memory was OCed as well, increasing GPU performance on which these tests are based.
That depends. Some memory will not take a higher clock and its multiplier (which does work) may have been adjusted to get a higher bus.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#37


THEN OCED

 

chuchnit

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
95 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Location
KY
#39
Brandonwh64 how about posting the source of those screenshots and give chew* credit for his work?
 

chew*

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#40
yea but you need a special BIOS that is not released yet, and prob wont be.
This is not achieved via some super secret bios ;)

It can be with an option but this is all via registers and thus can be done in software.

My only concern is making it easy for the majority and it's in the works.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
657 (0.15/day)
Likes
77
#41
ahh i see why not make an executable file that will overwrite the registry?

i am with you on that churchnit.

BTW i am sin0822, if you are wondering.
 

chew*

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#42
ahh i see why not make an executable file that will overwrite the registry?

i am with you on that churchnit.

BTW i am sin0822, if you are wondering.
Well here's how it works.

It changes the default multi string from 16x-47X ( IIRC thats the lowest to highest) to 32X-63X.

That is 31 possible multies. And the default is 29x which is 13 multis above the lowest.

Now if it was applied, the multipliers would shift to the high range but it would get applied once again to 13 multis above lowest which is 32X+13 = 45X so 4500 mhz which would certainly crash the system.

So that said it's a little more complicated as the range and lowest base multiplier both must be applied at same time.

32x aka 3200mhz should apply fine however even with no voltage applied.

There may be some other issues to however unless users purchased locked parts, that I can't help with.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
657 (0.15/day)
Likes
77
#43
yea, but will a normal A3850 be able to do it?

that is pretty cool btw, i hope AMD takes note and makes it standard, it will help them with APU sales definitely. Multiplier OCing like sandybridge with the same high frequencies?

Honestly i really enjoyed playing with the APu system, but other reviewers hated it. I think they were just expecting to much.
 

chew*

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#44
yea, but will a normal A3850 be able to do it?

that is pretty cool btw, i hope AMD takes note and makes it standard, it will help them with APU sales definitely. Multiplier OCing like sandybridge with the same high frequencies?

Honestly i really enjoyed playing with the APu system, but other reviewers hated it. I think they were just expecting to much.
If a normal A3850 comes with an unlocked multi yes.

Not sure about hitting sandy speeds at the same temps but yes on the extreme side of things and with the process refined more who knows.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
496 (0.14/day)
Likes
115
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
#45
Overclocking is a madness.

AMD Llano costs 130$ and something. while the Core i7 2600k costs around 300$ and can't even come close in terms of gaming performance. Don't get me wrong, we all know what a core i7 is, a great cpu. But in a laptop, I would take a llano over the other if I'm considering gaming and battery life.

But talking about the desktop llano, I would really love:

1-Black Edition
2-Six cores model. And why not, eight core model.
3-integrated Dual GPU (or bigger GPU, yeah I think it will work way better)
4-keep price under 200 for all the above.
 

chew*

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#46
Overclocking is a madness.

AMD Llano costs 130$ and something. while the Core i7 2600k costs around 300$ and can't even come close in terms of gaming performance. Don't get me wrong, we all know what a core i7 is, a great cpu. But in a laptop, I would take a llano over the other if I'm considering gaming and battery life.

But talking about the desktop llano, I would really love:

1-Black Edition
2-Six cores model. And why not, eight core model.
3-integrated Dual GPU (or bigger GPU, yeah I think it will work way better)
4-keep price under 200 for all the above.
1= feasible
2= not realistic especially due to TDP and heat.
3= not realistic part 1, and 2 the gpu is actually very strong, the problem is TDP.
4= N/A due to 2 and 3.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,328 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,426
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#47
This news is not entirely true ;)

Almost 100% (repectively cpu test ) performance increase anyone?

http://hwbot.org/forum/showpost.php?p=120967&postcount=2
Engineering sample is a lot different. Llano ES chips which were circulated by AMD has an actual upwards unlocked BClk multipler, which could actually increase clock speeds.

The news article covers retail A8-3850, which do not (and are not supposed to) have an upwards unlocked multiplier. Even if the BIOS allows you to set multi above 29x, the chip doesn't actually respond to it, and keeps running at 29x.

So no, the news is entirely true.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
657 (0.15/day)
Likes
77
#48
the retail A3850 i had could to upwards multipliers it would report to be at those multis but not preform at them. The fact that in CPU-Z it would show the higher clocks does give hope.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,328 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,426
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#49
the retail A3850 i had could to upwards multipliers it would report to be at those multis but not preform at them. The fact that in CPU-Z it would show the higher clocks does give hope.
CPU-Z is just telling you whatever the BIOS reports. Yet the CPU isn't actually running at what the BIOS reports to you.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
657 (0.15/day)
Likes
77
#50
yea its not, all i am saying is that i have faith in chew, as he is the AMD king and what he says usually proves to be correct.