• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

A8-3850 Has Ineffective BClk Multiplier

chew*

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#51
Engineering sample is a lot different. Llano ES chips which were circulated by AMD has an actual upwards unlocked BClk multipler, which could actually increase clock speeds.

The news article covers retail A8-3850, which do not (and are not supposed to) have an upwards unlocked multiplier. Even if the BIOS allows you to set multi above 29x, the chip doesn't actually respond to it, and keeps running at 29x.

So no, the news is entirely true.
Sorry was not aware that they were locking them ( the highend sku )......especially if I were to read your "article"

"Empty Overclocking" is a term we just made up, to describe unreal overclocking headroom that does not translate into any performance improvements, with AMD's A8-3850 APU. This chip has an upwards unlocked base clock (BClk) multipler. Setting it above the factory default will increase clock speed (at least the clock speed that's reported to you), but that "increased" clock speed will not translate to any performance improvements at all."

I'm confused now.

You just told me that they do not nor are they supposed to have an upwards multiplier......

But the article states it does........

Either way the ball bounces here what is stated is not entirely true still................
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
117 (0.04/day)
Likes
11
Location
El Salvador
System Name The K6 Killer II
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.7 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97A Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i GT
Memory 4x 4GB G.Skill RipJawsX DDR3-2133 CL9
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 Ti Amp! 2000/11600
Storage 1TB Samsung SSD 840 EVO / 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Samsung UN40KU6000
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Power Supply XFX 650W XXX Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro
#52
"AMD recommends only the base clock increase method for overclocking".

:wtf: Then what's the benefit of having unlocked multiplier? I don't get it.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#53
"AMD recommends only the base clock increase method for overclocking".

:wtf: Then what's the benefit of having unlocked multiplier? I don't get it.
It doesn't really have an unlocked multiplier, AMD doesn't market the chip to have one, either. That's the point.
 
Last edited:

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#54
Sorry was not aware that they were locking them ( the highend sku )......especially if I were to read your "article"

"Empty Overclocking" is a term we just made up, to describe unreal overclocking headroom that does not translate into any performance improvements, with AMD's A8-3850 APU. This chip has an upwards unlocked base clock (BClk) multipler. Setting it above the factory default will increase clock speed (at least the clock speed that's reported to you), but that "increased" clock speed will not translate to any performance improvements at all."

I'm confused now.

You just told me that they do not nor are they supposed to have an upwards multiplier......

But the article states it does........

Either way the ball bounces here what is stated is not entirely true still................
I rephrased the article. The A8-3850 does not have an unlocked multiplier, a BIOS bug on some boards lets you "set" the multiplier above 29, and even misreports the "increased" speed but that doesn't actually set anything on the chip.
 

chew*

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#55
I rephrased the article. The A8-3850 does not have an unlocked multiplier, a BIOS bug on some boards lets you "set" the multiplier above 29, and even misreports the "increased" speed but that doesn't actually set anything on the chip.
Cool, deal.

I will still see if we can get this little registry tweak sorted in the meantime per chance they do unlock one of these little guys :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
117 (0.04/day)
Likes
11
Location
El Salvador
System Name The K6 Killer II
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.7 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97A Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i GT
Memory 4x 4GB G.Skill RipJawsX DDR3-2133 CL9
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 Ti Amp! 2000/11600
Storage 1TB Samsung SSD 840 EVO / 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Samsung UN40KU6000
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Power Supply XFX 650W XXX Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro
#56
It doesn't really have an unlocked multiplier, AMD doesn't market the chip to have one, either. That's the point.
Fair enough.
 

mumak

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Thunder Ridge
Processor Haswell-EX
Motherboard [Brickland]
Memory present
Video Card(s) Mars-XT
#57
This whole thing is because the CPU has two 'different Max clock settings':
- P0 limit (2.9 GHz for example on A8-3850) which is the max clock for a given SKU
- MaxPllClock (3.6 GHz on A8-3850) - a reference clock from which the other clocks are derived from
Now, if you set a clock above the pre-set P0 limit the CPU doesn't seem to accept it (but reports it as taken, which must be a bug).
HWiNFO32/64 is not fooled by this 'virtual' clock in such case and reports correct speed:

 
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,088 (0.23/day)
Likes
360
Location
66 feet from the ground
System Name 2nd AMD puppy
Processor Phenom II x4 BE 970-3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2
Memory 16 Gb DDR3:8GB Kingston HyperX Beast + 8Gb G.Skill Sniper(by courtesy of tabascosauz &TPU)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6850 Cyclone;860/1100 Mhz
Storage SSD-840 pro 128 Gb;Seagate 500Gb;WD-1Tb
Display(s) Samsung 2032BW
Case NZXT 820 PHANTOM
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE with Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Cooleer Master RP M520
Mouse Razer copperhead / Gamdias zeus (by courtesy of sneekypeet & TPU)
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software win7 64bit sp1
Benchmark Scores irrelevant for me
#58
no big deal

at least people who increase multiplier can't destroy the chip and obtain a virtual bigger e-peen
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,518 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,938
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#60
Brandonwh64 how about posting the source of those screenshots and give chew* credit for his work?
How bout you re think posting. I just posted the pictures FROM his post to show the people that are too lazy to click the link.

I IN NO SHAPE OR FORM TOOK CREDIT FOR ANYTHING.