• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

About DSL internet

industro

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2022
Messages
20 (0.03/day)
Feed horn.... No, it will mess it up. And what you should be saying is LNA, low noise amplifier

Additionally, the signal from tower to you is probably perfect. The backhaul may be fucked up.
Alright thank you for the advice.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2019
Messages
276 (0.14/day)
Location
60th parallel N.
System Name sleeper Compaq
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B550M Pro-VDH WiFi
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 7 X, Nexus D12SL-12
Memory PNY XLR8 Gaming 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX750Ti GDDR5 2GB
Storage XPG SX6000 Lite 128 M.2 NVMe, Seagate 500GB
Display(s) Sony 32" bravia
Case Compaq SR5700 series
Audio Device(s) Samsung Pleomax S2-500B 2.1. Sennheiser hp.
Power Supply SilverStone 500W Strider Essential ST50F-ES230 V2.0
Mouse Logitech G1
Keyboard Logitech 350
Software Win11 Home
The 4G box I used, showed the signal strength even by LED's, but of course it is not comparable to a outdoor box. Not knowing that Codium box, does it have some GUI stats to check signal reception?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
1,363 (0.68/day)
Location
London, UK
System Name ❶ Oooh (2024) ❷ Aaaah (2021) ❸ Ahemm (2017)
Processor ❶ 5800X3D ❷ i7-9700K ❸ i7-7700K
Motherboard ❶ X570-F ❷ Z390-E ❸ Z270-E
Cooling ❶ ALFIII 360 ❷ X62 + X72 (GPU mod) ❸ X62
Memory ❶ 32-3600/16 ❷ 32-3200/16 ❸ 16-3200/16
Video Card(s) ❶ 3080 X Trio ❷ 2080TI (AIOmod) ❸ 1080TI
Storage ❶ NVME/SSD/HDD ❷ <SAME ❸ SSD/HDD
Display(s) ❶ 1440/165/IPS ❷ 1440/144/IPS ❸ 1080/144/IPS
Case ❶ BQ Silent 601 ❷ Cors 465X ❸ Frac Mesh C
Audio Device(s) ❶ HyperX C2 ❷ HyperX C2 ❸ Logi G432
Power Supply ❶ HX1200 Plat ❷ RM750X ❸ EVGA 650W G2
Mouse ❶ Logi G Pro ❷ Razer Bas V3 ❸ Logi G502
Keyboard ❶ Logi G915 TKL ❷ Anne P2 ❸ Logi G610
Benchmark Scores I have wrestled bandwidths, Tussled with voltages, Handcuffed Overclocks, Thrown Gigahertz in Jail
It's an on-going problem here in Oz where the more wireless internet users on the same tower degrades the service and the IPS's start to do bandwidth throttling !!!

I'm in the UK and currently with both BT and Virgin Media. I get the feeling both providers occasionally cap the bandwidth too especially if you're constantly downloading large files (like me). When the problem is experienced, on 2 occasions when calling them they insisted i should just restart my modem and magically the cap was lifted. What they didnt know is i always restart the modem before taking up matters with tech support AND prior to calling them the restart didn't solve the problem. So my feeling being, they manually lifted the cap without confirming it over the phone.

I still experience slower downloads occasionally but its not that bad so i just ignore it.
 

industro

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2022
Messages
20 (0.03/day)
The 4G box I used, showed the signal strength even by LED's, but of course it is not comparable to a outdoor box. Not knowing that Codium box, does it have some GUI stats to check reception?
No it doesn't, I checked reception through cellmapper. However, I'm not quite sure if it's accurate on dBm and other statistics. I wished I could access the receiver through the network like my previous isp's receiver but I can't.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
1,363 (0.68/day)
Location
London, UK
System Name ❶ Oooh (2024) ❷ Aaaah (2021) ❸ Ahemm (2017)
Processor ❶ 5800X3D ❷ i7-9700K ❸ i7-7700K
Motherboard ❶ X570-F ❷ Z390-E ❸ Z270-E
Cooling ❶ ALFIII 360 ❷ X62 + X72 (GPU mod) ❸ X62
Memory ❶ 32-3600/16 ❷ 32-3200/16 ❸ 16-3200/16
Video Card(s) ❶ 3080 X Trio ❷ 2080TI (AIOmod) ❸ 1080TI
Storage ❶ NVME/SSD/HDD ❷ <SAME ❸ SSD/HDD
Display(s) ❶ 1440/165/IPS ❷ 1440/144/IPS ❸ 1080/144/IPS
Case ❶ BQ Silent 601 ❷ Cors 465X ❸ Frac Mesh C
Audio Device(s) ❶ HyperX C2 ❷ HyperX C2 ❸ Logi G432
Power Supply ❶ HX1200 Plat ❷ RM750X ❸ EVGA 650W G2
Mouse ❶ Logi G Pro ❷ Razer Bas V3 ❸ Logi G502
Keyboard ❶ Logi G915 TKL ❷ Anne P2 ❸ Logi G610
Benchmark Scores I have wrestled bandwidths, Tussled with voltages, Handcuffed Overclocks, Thrown Gigahertz in Jail
BTW, is there a reliable method (maybe application/browser based test) to keep tabs on bandwidth/ping/etc performance? The type if left enabled for periodic tests it records all the data patterns for review?
 

industro

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2022
Messages
20 (0.03/day)
BTW, is there a reliable method (maybe application/browser based test) to keep tabs on bandwidth/ping/etc performance? The type if left enabled for periodic tests it records all the data patterns for review?
I've used windows mtr to keep track of packets sent and the ping. It's basically a traceroute, you can keep track of packetloss or ping through each hop, then you can export the data and whatnot.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2019
Messages
276 (0.14/day)
Location
60th parallel N.
System Name sleeper Compaq
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B550M Pro-VDH WiFi
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 7 X, Nexus D12SL-12
Memory PNY XLR8 Gaming 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX750Ti GDDR5 2GB
Storage XPG SX6000 Lite 128 M.2 NVMe, Seagate 500GB
Display(s) Sony 32" bravia
Case Compaq SR5700 series
Audio Device(s) Samsung Pleomax S2-500B 2.1. Sennheiser hp.
Power Supply SilverStone 500W Strider Essential ST50F-ES230 V2.0
Mouse Logitech G1
Keyboard Logitech 350
Software Win11 Home
and then this . "Device management TR069 SNMP v3 Web UI Software upgrade via WEB/TR069/FOTA USIM PIN management"
Not sure what it means, or is it only for the ISP to use.
 

industro

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2022
Messages
20 (0.03/day)
and then this . "Device management TR069 SNMP v3 Web UI Software upgrade via WEB/TR069/FOTA USIM PIN management"
Not sure what it means, or is it only for the ISP to use.
Probably only for them to use
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2019
Messages
276 (0.14/day)
Location
60th parallel N.
System Name sleeper Compaq
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B550M Pro-VDH WiFi
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 7 X, Nexus D12SL-12
Memory PNY XLR8 Gaming 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX750Ti GDDR5 2GB
Storage XPG SX6000 Lite 128 M.2 NVMe, Seagate 500GB
Display(s) Sony 32" bravia
Case Compaq SR5700 series
Audio Device(s) Samsung Pleomax S2-500B 2.1. Sennheiser hp.
Power Supply SilverStone 500W Strider Essential ST50F-ES230 V2.0
Mouse Logitech G1
Keyboard Logitech 350
Software Win11 Home
What they didnt know is i always restart the modem before taking up matters with tech support AND prior to calling them the restart didn't solve the problem. So my feeling being, they manually lifted the cap without confirming it over the phone.
You must've been a VIP and download/upload a lot stuff, if that was the case, millions of other internet users at the same time, it is not always just to switch cap off/on by a button(yes I have been in various "operator" rooms around half of the globe).
 
Last edited:
Top