• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

About how powerful is a 3200+...

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#1
Ok, so my dad is getting an AMD socket A processor, It's a 3200+ 400MHz FSB and 512K L2 cache... exactly how powerful is this compared to say my processor in spec (P4 3GHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2)??
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#2
It should perform about even. In games, it will be better. In a normal application, you shouldn't notice much difference. Intel is generally good at office stuff, while AMD is generally good at games.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2,570 (0.66/day)
Likes
92
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 (with Scythe SFF21E)
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 CAS4 DHX
Video Card(s) PALiT 9800GTX 512MB PCI-E
Storage WD2500AAKS, WD1600YS, WD1200JD, WD400EB
Display(s) LG L1920P, Viewsonic VA520
Case Lian-Li A05b (with two 120mm Yate Loon D12SM)
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Vista Business 32-bit/XP Pro 32-bit dual-boot
#3
It should perform about even. In games, it will be better. In a normal application, you shouldn't notice much difference. Intel is generally good at office stuff, while AMD is generally good at games.
At least with this caliber of CPUs. Modern chips have pretty much broken that distinction.
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#4
Yeah, they would break about even in most apps, but that 3200+ would slap around the Intel in games. That's always how it's been....until....C2D
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2007
Messages
39 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
Location
Central FL, USA
#5
Yeah, they would break about even in most apps, but that 3200+ would slap around the Intel in games. That's always how it's been....until....C2D
As far back as the 386 days, I found that AMD was beating the pants off of Intel, in price, current draw, heat generated and performance.

Nothing's changed! My little AMD Athlon 3000+ will outperform many of the P4's I have to work on. With only 1 gig of SDRAM and my SATA I hard drive, my system screams like a banshee!

Much of my success is not in the CPU, but in the way I've set up XP to run most efficiently.
Then keeping my HD clean, mean and lean, makes programs load and run faster too.
There's a lot more to a fast running PC than just the selection of the CPU. That's not even in the top five on my list.

Regardless of what we say here, everyone will make up their own minds anyway, whether its right or wrong.:rolleyes:

Cheers Mates!
The Shadow
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#6
I forgot to mention my CPU has Hyperthreading... :banghead: does that make any diff?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#7
I forgot to mention my CPU has Hyperthreading... :banghead: does that make any diff?
barely, our p4 also has hyperthreading. hmm in a pure calculation of mips, my laptop is exactly the same on the p4 for a single thread, and it's 2 times as fast if you factor in hyperthreading vs dual core (rough numbers, i got this from when i used to do seti@home on my laptop, but after i blew up a hdd i stopped) but in 3dmark03 it gets around 550 in cpu marks when my laptop is around 1100 (when i ran xp..) the amd will kill the p4 in gaming, just plain kill, then like other people said, stuff like video encoding and office stuff, the p4 will probably be faster.
 

Fox34

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,048 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
Venice
System Name Amber
Processor AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ Toledo 3.0GHz/2.0GHz 1.5V
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI Expert
Cooling Air: 1 80mm-Intake-top | 4-120mm 3-intake-1-exhaust | Proc 120mm blue orbII | N.B-T.T Key 3|
Memory 2GIG, 4x512 Kingston Hyper-X DDR333 PC 2700@167Mhz |2-2-2-5|-7-1T-8(CPU-Z) Dual channel
Video Card(s) 2 PNY Verto 8600GT'S in SLI, 670MHz/540MHz(Core)800MHz/700MHz
Storage 320 Gig Western digital SATA
Display(s) Sony 17" LCD 1280x1024 @ 75Htz
Case Sunbeam clear acrylic
Audio Device(s) Native Instuments Guitar Rig 3
Power Supply 520 Watt Aspire Dual rail +12#1 16 amps +12#2 18 amps(I think)
Software Fedora Core 8, Windows Vista
#8
Well I own a 3500+ on 939 and I mark higher than 3.2 almost matched to 3.5. If that proc is backed up with a gig of RAM then you should run great, also what core is it?(the codename)
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#9
what core is what? mine is a prescott, no clue what this new AMD cpu is
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
280 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
#10
I used to have an 3200+ barton core socket a which i thought and still think is a very good cpu
, they are very cheap now and i would still recommend someone getting one as i have upgraded twice since the 3200+ and have not been overly impressed !

my upgrades over the years were amiga - intel p3 500 mhx - amd 1600xp - amd 2100xp - amd 2400xp - amd 3200xp - amd 400064 xp - amd fx60. all better than each other but if i was buying a new machine today it would be a intel c2d as the benchmarks say so.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,762 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,026
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#11
If it's a socket A and rated at 3200 with a 400FSB it has GOT to be a Barton Core, as people have said, these origionally were introduced to combat Intels P4 with the 800Mhz FSB (the previous Thunderbirds were holding their own against the P4 533Mhz FSB derivitives).

I had the Barton 3200 when it came out, in 2003 I think and reading the reviews at the time, it "spanked" the P4 800Mhz in every test apart from Video encoding/decoding and similar related apps, the downside was that the P4 generally overclocked better on air than the Barton as the 3200 was almost maxed out if I remember rightly so a lot of the ground could be made up on the P4 but it still wouldnt match the barton for gaming.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#12
what core is what? mine is a prescott, no clue what this new AMD cpu is
the p4 i was talking about is a prescott. it's paired with 4 sticks of 256 mb ddr2 at...i htink 553 mhz, on dual channel.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#13
damn them 3200+ bartons still go for a good price on fleabay, about 3 pc's ago i had a xp2500 oc to 3200 with the 400fsb (anyone remember?) and it kicked ass over my p4 2.93@3.4ghz w00t for socket a Athlons :rockout: (my first was a xp 1900+ palimino damn brings tears to a techies eyes :cry: )
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,762 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,026
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#14
damn them 3200+ bartons still go for a good price on fleabay, about 3 pc's ago i had a xp2500 oc to 3200 with the 400fsb (anyone remember?) and it kicked ass over my p4 2.93@3.4ghz w00t for socket a Athlons :rockout: (my first was a xp 1900+ palimino damn brings tears to a techies eyes :cry: )
Yes I remember the XP2500, that was the lowest 400Mhz FSB barton but overclocked better as it had a little more headroom.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
1,044 (0.22/day)
Likes
42
Location
Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
System Name Jezebelle
Processor FX6300 @4.5GHz
Motherboard Biostar A880GZ
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD 7870 Tahiti 2GB
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB, Sammy 1TB F3
Display(s) BenQ Xl2411Z
Case Acer Aspire T180 stealth case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 7.1 HD, does the job!
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software 7 Pro
#15
Better value for money can be achieved by sticking a barton 2500 in a board that allows a cpu bus of 200MHz then changing the 2500 default from 166 to 200. The core is the same only the bridges are set differently so that the 2500 barton runs at 1.83 GHz instead of 2.21GHz which the 3200 does. FAR better value and the same cpu, I've done it a couple of times with absolute success!
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#16
1. My dad is no overclocker
2. This cpu is going to be free anyway