• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

About the 1 [IMG] in sig limit.....

Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
425 (0.13/day)
Likes
60
Location
Australia
System Name Krogoth
Processor Intel Core i5 3470 @ stock
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Stock CPU cooler + 2x Intake 120mm @ 8v + 2x outtake 120mm @8v
Memory 16gb DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 290 Gaming 4GB GDDR5
Storage 1x 2tb Samsung F2, 1x250gb Intel SSD
Display(s) 2x 23.5" IPS on swing arms. @1080p x2
Case Antec Solo II
Audio Device(s) Logitech X140
Power Supply I forgot.
Mouse Logitech mx518. Still going strong.
Keyboard Saitek POC. Not Mechanical.
Software Windows 7 64bit + Kasperky Internet Security
#1
I went to add another image to my sig when I remembered that the forum only allows one.
I understand that its in there to reduce clutter and keep the forum neat as well as keep page loading times down.

But I kinda want to have two images in my sig.

Would you Mods mind If i wrote a script that grabbed two sig images, and sent them as 1 image to use in my sig?
I thought id ask first to be polite. Since it IS a forum rule and some mods might think any form of subverting it is a ban able offense.

oh... I would of course keep to the imposed sig image size limit.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
425 (0.13/day)
Likes
60
Location
Australia
System Name Krogoth
Processor Intel Core i5 3470 @ stock
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Stock CPU cooler + 2x Intake 120mm @ 8v + 2x outtake 120mm @8v
Memory 16gb DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 290 Gaming 4GB GDDR5
Storage 1x 2tb Samsung F2, 1x250gb Intel SSD
Display(s) 2x 23.5" IPS on swing arms. @1080p x2
Case Antec Solo II
Audio Device(s) Logitech X140
Power Supply I forgot.
Mouse Logitech mx518. Still going strong.
Keyboard Saitek POC. Not Mechanical.
Software Windows 7 64bit + Kasperky Internet Security
#3
because they are not static images... they are served live from different websites.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#4
I doubt they would allow it, as then they will have to allow it for everyone.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.96/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#5
Dammit Kreij thats what i was going to say.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
425 (0.13/day)
Likes
60
Location
Australia
System Name Krogoth
Processor Intel Core i5 3470 @ stock
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Stock CPU cooler + 2x Intake 120mm @ 8v + 2x outtake 120mm @8v
Memory 16gb DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 290 Gaming 4GB GDDR5
Storage 1x 2tb Samsung F2, 1x250gb Intel SSD
Display(s) 2x 23.5" IPS on swing arms. @1080p x2
Case Antec Solo II
Audio Device(s) Logitech X140
Power Supply I forgot.
Mouse Logitech mx518. Still going strong.
Keyboard Saitek POC. Not Mechanical.
Software Windows 7 64bit + Kasperky Internet Security
#6
as far as the foums system is concerned it is only 1 image. Its only breaking a rule on a technicality. Im only asking before doing as a matter of politeness...

its not like I would be sharing the source code with everyone on the board so only those who can program in a server-side language would be able to make one.

Also I was addressing the mods and admins of the forum, not other forum users.......
 

mike047

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
483 (0.15/day)
Likes
164
Location
Zirconia NC usa
System Name home/farm
Processor 11quads/1 dual quad/2 dueces
Motherboard Gigabyte/Tyan/Mac
Cooling air
Memory DDR2 800-1066
Video Card(s) 3-260/2-250/2-8800/4-9600/2-9800
Storage yes
Power Supply Cheap Rosewill/Mac
Software 2-XP32/1-XP64/12-Ubuntu/1-Mac
Benchmark Scores No benchies, just a cruncher:)
#7
as far as the foums system is concerned it is only 1 image. Its only breaking a rule on a technicality. Im only asking before doing as a matter of politeness...

its not like I would be sharing the source code with everyone on the board so only those who can program in a server-side language would be able to make one.

Also I was addressing the mods and admins of the forum, not other forum users.......

You could PM a mod/admin as I did...no response yet :)
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.96/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#8
Pm a admin and see what they say my quess would be in negative but who knows.
 

aCid888*

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,754 (0.79/day)
Likes
630
Location
In a state of flux...
#9
Also I was addressing the mods and admins of the forum, not other forum users.......
Why make a topic in a public forum if you don't want peoples input?? :slap:

If you wanted to ask someone who knows the answer then PM Wizzard before making a thread like this.....I'm sure that way you will get your 'No' answer without us telling you first.


Edit: Being polite may get you what you ask for.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
425 (0.13/day)
Likes
60
Location
Australia
System Name Krogoth
Processor Intel Core i5 3470 @ stock
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Stock CPU cooler + 2x Intake 120mm @ 8v + 2x outtake 120mm @8v
Memory 16gb DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 290 Gaming 4GB GDDR5
Storage 1x 2tb Samsung F2, 1x250gb Intel SSD
Display(s) 2x 23.5" IPS on swing arms. @1080p x2
Case Antec Solo II
Audio Device(s) Logitech X140
Power Supply I forgot.
Mouse Logitech mx518. Still going strong.
Keyboard Saitek POC. Not Mechanical.
Software Windows 7 64bit + Kasperky Internet Security
#10
I agree... I probably SHOULD have PM'ed Wizzard instead of making a public thread...
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#11
write a server side app that pulls your two images, combines them into one image and serves it to the original request. then put a link to your script into your img tag and it's done. make sure this whole process doesn't take too long, maybe cache your images

Edit: Being polite may get you what you ask for.
i dont think so. be creative. figure out ways to solve your problem. think outside of the box.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
425 (0.13/day)
Likes
60
Location
Australia
System Name Krogoth
Processor Intel Core i5 3470 @ stock
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Stock CPU cooler + 2x Intake 120mm @ 8v + 2x outtake 120mm @8v
Memory 16gb DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 290 Gaming 4GB GDDR5
Storage 1x 2tb Samsung F2, 1x250gb Intel SSD
Display(s) 2x 23.5" IPS on swing arms. @1080p x2
Case Antec Solo II
Audio Device(s) Logitech X140
Power Supply I forgot.
Mouse Logitech mx518. Still going strong.
Keyboard Saitek POC. Not Mechanical.
Software Windows 7 64bit + Kasperky Internet Security
#13
Annnnd DONE!
complete with cache.

the image only redraws once every 24 hours... however I should change the way it checks how long its been (it could be better).

This will only be temporary aswell... since its currently being hosted off a friends server. Once i get my own server up itll be a permanent thing...
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#14
I'm glad you got it working Morpha, and it's good to see you proved us ney-sayers wrong about what might be allowed. My hat goes off to you. Good job :toast:
 

mike047

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
483 (0.15/day)
Likes
164
Location
Zirconia NC usa
System Name home/farm
Processor 11quads/1 dual quad/2 dueces
Motherboard Gigabyte/Tyan/Mac
Cooling air
Memory DDR2 800-1066
Video Card(s) 3-260/2-250/2-8800/4-9600/2-9800
Storage yes
Power Supply Cheap Rosewill/Mac
Software 2-XP32/1-XP64/12-Ubuntu/1-Mac
Benchmark Scores No benchies, just a cruncher:)
#15
Annnnd DONE!
complete with cache.

the image only redraws once every 24 hours... however I should change the way it checks how long its been (it could be better).

This will only be temporary aswell... since its currently being hosted off a friends server. Once i get my own server up itll be a permanent thing...
Nice work, I had asked about something similar with FAH and WCG stats. I am not smart enough to do the require script:eek:
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
425 (0.13/day)
Likes
60
Location
Australia
System Name Krogoth
Processor Intel Core i5 3470 @ stock
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Stock CPU cooler + 2x Intake 120mm @ 8v + 2x outtake 120mm @8v
Memory 16gb DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 290 Gaming 4GB GDDR5
Storage 1x 2tb Samsung F2, 1x250gb Intel SSD
Display(s) 2x 23.5" IPS on swing arms. @1080p x2
Case Antec Solo II
Audio Device(s) Logitech X140
Power Supply I forgot.
Mouse Logitech mx518. Still going strong.
Keyboard Saitek POC. Not Mechanical.
Software Windows 7 64bit + Kasperky Internet Security
#16
If wizzard gives an okay... I wont mind making a combined sigpic for WCG/F@H.

HOWEVER:
you require access to your own php web server with the following criteria.
1: It needs to have GD classes installed. They are used for drawing the image, most php servers have this...
2: Fopen() needs to be allowed to open URL's outside the local network. This is a security setting managed by the admin in charge of the server.
3: Any hosters that attempt to place banner adds into the pages they serve mess it up (such as godaddy)

... I am using my friends server right now because NEITHER of mine could do it because of 1 or more of the above problems... once I get my ITX rig up I might try serving it from home :p
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#17
if you can come up with something that is more complex ie. allows a broader range of users to benefit from it, i'd certainly be willing to host this off tpu's servers
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#18
morpha said:
however I should change the way it checks how long its been (it could be better).
filemtime() + random value to avoid multiple processes trying to create the same image at once.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
425 (0.13/day)
Likes
60
Location
Australia
System Name Krogoth
Processor Intel Core i5 3470 @ stock
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Stock CPU cooler + 2x Intake 120mm @ 8v + 2x outtake 120mm @8v
Memory 16gb DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 290 Gaming 4GB GDDR5
Storage 1x 2tb Samsung F2, 1x250gb Intel SSD
Display(s) 2x 23.5" IPS on swing arms. @1080p x2
Case Antec Solo II
Audio Device(s) Logitech X140
Power Supply I forgot.
Mouse Logitech mx518. Still going strong.
Keyboard Saitek POC. Not Mechanical.
Software Windows 7 64bit + Kasperky Internet Security
#19
It will add more complexity to the script. However...

The F@H sig pic is generated via a URL with a user ID in the action string. Id say the WCG one does the same. I can make it so that the user can pass those parameters to my script via action string(GET) and then it will create the image.

Handling 100+ sig images though might be a pain in the but...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
425 (0.13/day)
Likes
60
Location
Australia
System Name Krogoth
Processor Intel Core i5 3470 @ stock
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Stock CPU cooler + 2x Intake 120mm @ 8v + 2x outtake 120mm @8v
Memory 16gb DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 290 Gaming 4GB GDDR5
Storage 1x 2tb Samsung F2, 1x250gb Intel SSD
Display(s) 2x 23.5" IPS on swing arms. @1080p x2
Case Antec Solo II
Audio Device(s) Logitech X140
Power Supply I forgot.
Mouse Logitech mx518. Still going strong.
Keyboard Saitek POC. Not Mechanical.
Software Windows 7 64bit + Kasperky Internet Security
#20
Wizzard: would you mind if It was setup as a Cron Job to redraw all the sigs every X time? And do you mind if I uses a MYSQL table to store user info?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#21
mysql is fine. dont use a cronjob. every time you generate an image and have sent it to the browser, close the connection and look for expired images to regenerate, so the load will be spread more evenly over the day and the script wont slam the origin servers
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
425 (0.13/day)
Likes
60
Location
Australia
System Name Krogoth
Processor Intel Core i5 3470 @ stock
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Stock CPU cooler + 2x Intake 120mm @ 8v + 2x outtake 120mm @8v
Memory 16gb DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 290 Gaming 4GB GDDR5
Storage 1x 2tb Samsung F2, 1x250gb Intel SSD
Display(s) 2x 23.5" IPS on swing arms. @1080p x2
Case Antec Solo II
Audio Device(s) Logitech X140
Power Supply I forgot.
Mouse Logitech mx518. Still going strong.
Keyboard Saitek POC. Not Mechanical.
Software Windows 7 64bit + Kasperky Internet Security
#22
Development update!

>> Background Image; If not specified a random color is used.
>> Supports 2 images. Users have control of where these are placed on the canvas. Clipping and overlapping can occur.

are people fine with this? Do they want to be able to add more images? as many images as you want?
What about the actual image size: should you get to choose the dimensions of the canvas?
 
Last edited:

mike047

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
483 (0.15/day)
Likes
164
Location
Zirconia NC usa
System Name home/farm
Processor 11quads/1 dual quad/2 dueces
Motherboard Gigabyte/Tyan/Mac
Cooling air
Memory DDR2 800-1066
Video Card(s) 3-260/2-250/2-8800/4-9600/2-9800
Storage yes
Power Supply Cheap Rosewill/Mac
Software 2-XP32/1-XP64/12-Ubuntu/1-Mac
Benchmark Scores No benchies, just a cruncher:)
#23
Development update!

>> Background Image; If not specified a random color is used.
>> Supports 2 images. Users have control of where these are placed on the canvas. Clipping and overlapping can occur.

are people fine with this? Do they want to be able to add more images? as many images as you want?
They both look very good. Well done.