• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

absolute best HDD I can get for $100?

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (0.93/day)
Location
Leesburg, FL
I'm going to RMA my seagate 7200.12 500gb because I can hear it click and spin up and I think its on the verge of dying although it's only 6 months old or so..

I am wondering what is the absolute best/fastest hdd I can get for around $100 for 500gb minimum range?

Or should I buy a drive just like mine so when it returns from RMA I can RAID it?

I've never done raid but Ive heard good things about it so why not try?

If raid no go... then just please recommend a great drive pref. from newegg if new.

Thanks you :toast:
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.45/day)
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
No Seagate! Get two WD 2500AAKS or 3200AAKS drives and RAID0 them up :)
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (0.93/day)
Location
Leesburg, FL
If I raid 0 it don't I only get to use drive space from 1 drive? Debating drive size.
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.45/day)
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
No RAID0 is striping and writes to both drives simultaneously, sort of giving you a 14.4K RPM drive that appears as a single volume the size of both drives.

RAID1 is mirroring and that's where you get the space of one drive.
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.45/day)
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (0.93/day)
Location
Leesburg, FL
yeah that is a great deal, i think im going to jump on it... but ill make that decision after some sleep.

Is raid0 easy to setup? Is it mainly for speed?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,901 (0.34/day)
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua NB-9B SE2
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 3x Dell U2412M
Case Corsair 200R
Audio Device(s) Hifimediy Sabre 9018 USB DAC
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
Software Windows 10?
Samsung F3 are the best atm ;)
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.45/day)
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
Is raid0 easy to setup? Is it mainly for speed?
Yes on both. It's so that you get crazy sustained write/read speeds. Write speeds improve more than anything.
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (0.93/day)
Location
Leesburg, FL
Cool. Sounds like something my pc could use... everything is over 7.5 on WEI but my hdd is 5.4 lol

For under $100 sounds like a great idea.. so I will have 640gb of space? (minus ya know the usually allocations and what not)

When the RMA completes and I get my 500gb back, will I be able to use it as an independant storage drive?

Right now if I move a file from one folder to another, like a .mkv or something... it transfer at about 30mb/sec..
 

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.45/day)
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
Cool. Sounds like something my pc could use... everything is over 7.5 on WEI but my hdd is 5.4 lol

For under $100 sounds like a great idea.. so I will have 640gb of space? (minus ya know the usually allocations and what not)

When the RMA completes and I get my 500gb back, will I be able to use it as an independant storage drive?

Right now if I move a file from one folder to another, like a .mkv or something... it transfer at about 30mb/sec..
Yeah you'll have a single '640'GB volume.

Keeping your 500GB for backup purposes is a good idea, as RAID0 array is dependent on both drives so if one fails all data is gone. I've been working mine like dogs for 9 months so far though and everything is good. As long as a fan is blowing across your drive cage then you're good to go.

Also, 500GB Samsung F3s are $50: http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=HD-HD502HJ

With free shipping = $100 shipped. I hate Samsung products and love WD drives but I wouldn't mind you going for the F3s instead of the AKs :D

You'll love your RAID0 either way.
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (0.93/day)
Location
Leesburg, FL
I could use the extra drive space for the same price too for the samsungs.. i should research there warranty/rma too.. I know WD's is top notch.

I'll probbaly go the samsung route bec. of the 500gb size..

thanks for all the info.. in the meantime I guess it's time to start reading on how to setup RAID0..

my mobo supports SATA RAID 0/1/5/10 Matrix RAID so I should be good.

I'll prob spend the extra $10 and get these from newegg... i love newegg and Im the loyal type. 3 year warranty one these.. the WD had a 1 year on that other link
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
218 (0.06/day)
System Name Gaming PC
Processor I5 4670k 4.6ghz@1.24v
Motherboard Asrock Z87 killer
Cooling air
Memory G.Skill 2133 cas 9
Video Card(s) R9 280x
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 500gb
Display(s) 23'' 1080p
Case Cooler master
Power Supply Antec HCP 850w
Software Windows 7 ultimate x64
I would get a WD caviar black 640gb.

Two small drives in raid 0 is slower than one fast larger drive. I tried two WD 320gb AAKS drives in raid 0, slower in everyway than my old seagate 500gb 7200.11.

BTW, a solid state disk is worth every penny. I'd get one for a boot drive and use your 500gb for storage.
I have 3 SSD's in raid 0, here's my speeds-



Here's a single-



HD tune does not read SSD's in raid 0 properly. Windows 7 experience is 6.8 with a single drive, and 7.7 with three :rockout:
 

techsmith

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Location
Canada
Processor E8400
Motherboard P5K-E
Memory 4GB G Skill DDR2 1000mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 4890 OC Cyclone
Storage 500GB Seagate 7200.11
Case Antec 200
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
If you are going for 500GB, Samsung F3s are single platter I think (so are Seagates new 500GB IIRC)

If you are going for 640GB, Caviar Blacks from Western Digital have dual platters, 5 year warranty, 32MB cache, etc.
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.30/day)
Location
North Carolina
Two small drives in raid 0 is slower than one fast larger drive. I tried two WD 320gb AAKS drives in raid 0, slower in everyway than my old seagate 500gb 7200.11.
Hmmm.

That depends on alot of things. Yes, two 80GB drives is Raid 0 will be slower than a WD6400AAKS. Largely due to the fact that the 640GB drive has a much much much larger platter density that it's able to overcome the increased bandwidth that the 80GB drives in Raid 0 has. But assuming the same firmware (ie optimized the same way), two 500GB single platter drives will be faster than a dual platter 1TB drive. Why? Simple. There are two drives delivering data at the same time. A single hard drive can only be in one place at a time while two hard drives can be at two places at once. That's the whole principle behind Raid 0. Half of a file is delivered by one drive and the other half is delivered by the other. In theory, this doubles your bandwidth. Real world gains are often dependent on the task, but I can't think of any way that Raid 0 would be slower than a single drive.
 

rockleez

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
136 (0.04/day)
System Name AlanZ
Processor AMD Phenom II x2 550
Motherboard Asus M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight-S1283
Memory Crucial 2GB DDR3 1333MHz Ballistix Memory CL7
Video Card(s) HIS HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 PCI-E Graphics Card
Storage Western Digital 500GB SATAII 7200RPM 16MB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 226BW
Case Antec Three Hundred
Power Supply Corsair PSU/VX Series 550 Watt ATX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
could you raid a ssd?
 

Wrigleyvillain

PTFO or GTFO
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (1.75/day)
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
could you raid a ssd?
Hell yeah you can :)

http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=318&Itemid=60&limit=1&limitstart=7

Hmmm.

That depends on alot of things. Yes, two 80GB drives is Raid 0 will be slower than a WD6400AAKS. Largely due to the fact that the 640GB drive has a much much much larger platter density that it's able to overcome the increased bandwidth that the 80GB drives in Raid 0 has. But assuming the same firmware (ie optimized the same way), two 500GB single platter drives will be faster than a dual platter 1TB drive. Why? Simple. There are two drives delivering data at the same time. A single hard drive can only be in one place at a time while two hard drives can be at two places at once. That's the whole principle behind Raid 0. Half of a file is delivered by one drive and the other half is delivered by the other. In theory, this doubles your bandwidth. Real world gains are often dependent on the task, but I can't think of any way that Raid 0 would be slower than a single drive.
Excellent, simple explanation. :toast:
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.41/day)
Location
UK
System Name Betty The Dirty Dragon
Processor AMD 8350 @4.8
Motherboard ASUS sabertooth rev 2
Cooling Watercooling - Swiftech GTZ - XSPC RS360 - XSPC RX120
Memory 8GB corsair vengeance cas 9
Video Card(s) 280x 1100core 1600 mem
Storage 240 gb ssd- 2 tb Storage
Display(s) Samsung 24" 2433BW
Case Corsair 650d
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatality Titanium Pro
Power Supply XFX 850 fully modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
The samsung F3 drives are the best atm they trade blows with the WD caviar blacks, but the samsungs just come out on top and are alot cheeper.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,514 (1.98/day)
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 3.0
Processor i7 8700k @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus X APEX
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 16GB 3600 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 4TB
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
Western Digital Black 640GB is one of the best high capacity drives at the moment.

Newegg sold a special on them this week for $65 shipped and now they are sold out.

I have 2x320GB WD AAKs's in Raid 0 and I love them. I have a third I'm using for my other build just sitting here.

If your going Seagate, go with the 7200.12's the .11's had issues and the .12's are definitely better.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
218 (0.06/day)
System Name Gaming PC
Processor I5 4670k 4.6ghz@1.24v
Motherboard Asrock Z87 killer
Cooling air
Memory G.Skill 2133 cas 9
Video Card(s) R9 280x
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 500gb
Display(s) 23'' 1080p
Case Cooler master
Power Supply Antec HCP 850w
Software Windows 7 ultimate x64

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,466 (5.22/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Just by the same drive as the one you are RMAing and put both in RAID. 1TB of extremely fast space, or buy two and do RAID5...speed and data redundancy FTW!
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
I've got Samsung F3 and i am very pleased with it. it stays very cool and much better than my 500GB Barracuda 7200.11
 
Top