• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Accelero Xtreme 4870X2

Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello. Does anyone know if Accelero Xtreme 4870X2 is still available or where to get it ? On official website it says that product has been discontinued and people at Arctic Cooling said some retail stores still may have it. So, if anyone has any slightest smallest idea where to get one, it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Kind regards

Matthew
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#2
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
565 (0.18/day)
Likes
534
System Name Artas1984
Processor Intel Core i7 5775C
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical 2X8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz CL8
Storage Samsung Evo 850 M.2 500 GB & Western Digital SE 6 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013
Keyboard Aula SI-859
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 BIT
#4
If you have HD4870X2, you must get that cooler! I recall for someone the HD4870X2 was artifacting when the core hit over 50 C + making noise. Accelero Xtreme solved both of those problems! And HD4870X2 - still great, matches HD6950 in majority of crossfire supported games.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
I think I've made a big mistake. Made a purchase of it on ebay, still haven't arrived, but after reading it on ebay product page, it seems it's only a fan, without a heatsink :( Now there isn't a way to find one anymore. :(
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#7

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#9
Has anyone ever done it?

Any help would be appreciated.
Well i did it with the 4870\90. I believe it's only with the newer ATI ref coolers you cannot do it without spending shit long time taking the cooler apart.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#10
Has anyone ever done it?

Any help would be appreciated.
You would need to cut the 4870x2 stock base plate to make it work with the Accelero.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#11
You would need to cut the 4870x2 stock base plate to make it work with the Accelero.
OOh thats sad.. Because of the GPU area's ?.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#12
No, because of the PCIe bridge chip.

You have to cut the stock base plate because it normally cools the PCIe bridge chip between the two GPUs. Since the Accelero does away with the base plate, the Accelero also needs to cool the bridge chip. If it did not, then the bridge chip would burn up (since it is about 30W) and would then kill the card.