• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Acer 5 Nitro i7 9750H unable to perform??

bloom.exe

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
12 (0.27/day)
E9818582-24EB-4B99-9D95-35EF1DB5F133.png


Reading up on the threads here and it seems some manufacturers have locked bios settings limiting the power during the turbo stages of this processor thus bottlenecking it’s actual performance?

I’m just looking to figure this out asap before my return policy runs out because if it’s locked by the manufacturer I’ll be going with a different laptop (helios 300 has slightly better specs with similar price point and seems to have an update allowing turbo power limit increases?

please let me know any more info you’d like or any other methods i could try.
 

bloom.exe

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
12 (0.27/day)
just ran same tests on my dell g7 i7 8750h

difference is the power to the cores never go past 45 on the i7 9750h no matter what! yet on my 8750h the power goes upwards of 80 watts when in turbo.

i could do a side by side chart between the two laptops for cinebench r20 if that would help?
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
168 (1.25/day)
If you want to know can it run good PM me. Im not asking again.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,490 (4.39/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
If you want to know can it run good PM me. Im not asking again.
Keep all replies in the thread please.

Reading up on the threads here and it seems some manufacturers have locked bios settings ....

I’m just looking to figure this out asap before my return policy runs out because if it’s locked by the manufacturer I’ll be going with a different laptop (helios 300 has slightly better specs with similar price point and seems to have an update allowing turbo power limit increases?
Open the FIVR window, if it says locked then you can't make changes.
The Helios is no better and also suffers from the same issues, heat and limited performance.
 

bloom.exe

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
12 (0.27/day)
the thing is this laptop doesnt get hot because it never has enough power to break above 80 degrees. seems so redundant to have a laptop with this chip but not allow the turbo to fully take place. it doesnt even compare to the 8750h with the power settings like this.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,490 (4.39/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Find the Turbo Power Limits (TPL) and increase them slightly, testing as you go.
 

bloom.exe

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
12 (0.27/day)
i did give that a try earlier but something still keeps core powers locked at about 45w

i was informed to summon @unclewebb :respect:
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,490 (4.39/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I'd say Acer has set a 45W hard limit.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,428 (2.71/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVMEs + 5 HDDs
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
What all are the options in the BIOS that are available to you? Looking at specifically CPU clock and power settings.

Let me check with teamviewer.
That's just sketchy as heck dude. This ain't your first time telling people to basically open up their computer remotely to you.
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
168 (1.25/day)
What all are the options in the BIOS that are available to you? Looking at specifically CPU clock and power settings.


That's just sketchy as heck dude. This ain't your first time telling people to basically open up their computer remotely to you.
Ok. I stop it.
 

Kursah

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
13,270 (2.61/day)
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
Ok. I stop it.
Please do. Until you build more rapport and trust within the community and moderation, we would appreciate it.
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
168 (1.25/day)
Please do. Until you build more rapport and trust within the community and moderation, we would appreciate it.
I have allready fixed few pcs here. But the thing why I say that let me take a look with teamviewer, Its just much easier when there can be 1000 problems. And when Im checking it, person always sees everything and if he doesnt like it he can stop it. But Im not scamming people here or installing shit on their computers. But thanks @Kursah
 

bloom.exe

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
12 (0.27/day)
What all are the options in the BIOS that are available to you? Looking at specifically CPU clock and power settings.
i’ll dig into the bios when i get back tonight. what worries me is i see some people with these acer laptop 8750h’s having trouble bypassing these 45w limits even with fully unlocked bios menus? :confused::banghead:

I have allready fixed few pcs here. But the thing why I say that let me take a look with teamviewer, Its just much easier when there can be 1000 problems. And when Im checking it, person always sees everything and if he doesnt like it he can stop it. But Im not scamming people here or installing shit on their computers. But thanks @Kursah
i did ask what other info you wanted in PM and you told me it was teamviewer or nothing. it seems strange to lurk a forum helping people but not in a way that is documented for others to learn...

i was/am more than ready to screenshot, screen record, log etc any info you need to figure out this problem
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
168 (1.25/day)
i’ll dig into the bios when i get back tonight. what worries me is i see some people with these acer laptop 8750h’s having trouble bypassing these 45w limits even with fully unlocked bios menus? :confused::banghead:



i did ask what other info you wanted in PM and you told me it was teamviewer or nothing. it seems strange to lurk a forum helping people but not in a way that is documented for others to learn...

i was/am more than ready to screenshot, screen record, log etc any info you need to figure out this problem
Everything is already here, Im not the person who want to chat with you the things. I know what Im doing, but if Im going to help you fix it I want to do it my way. Sorry for that.
 

bloom.exe

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
12 (0.27/day)
Everything is already here, Im not the person who want to chat with you the things. I know what Im doing, but if Im going to help you fix it I want to do it my way. Sorry for that.
from unclewebb himself:
“If you set the power limits in the ThrottleStop TPL window high and you check the FIVR - Disable and Lock Turbo Power Limits box and your laptop still throttles to 45W when running a stress test like Cinebench R20, there is usually nothing you can do except buy another laptop.”

so if there IS anything more you can do then please drop some info whenever you find the time
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
168 (1.25/day)
from unclewebb himself:
“If you set the power limits in the ThrottleStop TPL window high and you check the FIVR - Disable and Lock Turbo Power Limits box and your laptop still throttles to 45W when running a stress test like Cinebench R20, there is usually nothing you can do except buy another laptop.”

so if there IS anything more you can do then please drop some info whenever you find the time
I have talked with unclewebb a lott and I appreciate his work a lot. Im not saying he is wrong, but if your changes is buying another laptop or downloading teamviewer you have nothing to lose.
 

r9

Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,661 (0.60/day)
System Name PC1| PC2|Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6600k| Ryzen 1600| 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Memory 16GB DDR4 |16GB DDR4 | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1070|2 x RX570 |On-Board
Storage 512GB SSD+1TB SSD|512GB SSD+1TB|2x256GBSSD 2x2TBGB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Software Windows 10 |Windows 10| Server 2012 r2
I have talked with unclewebb a lott and I appreciate his work a lot. Im not saying he is wrong, but if your changes is buying another laptop or downloading teamviewer you have nothing to lose.
Take a break!
 
Low quality post by ereko

bloom.exe

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
12 (0.27/day)
still no luck today
started speaking with acer support but they told me to try back monday

it’s looking like this laptop’s turbo is capped at an underperforming PL1 of 45w and PL2 of 56w
thus rendering the actual turbo of this chip useless. it also seems like it underperforms quite a bit under heavy load as well in comparison to my i7 8750h with higher PL’s (but still doesn’t go over 92 degrees)

EDIT:
more followup
did a vr gaming session today playing blade and sorcery and wow i am so upset by the horrid performance in comparison to my dell...

dell g7 i7 8750h rtx 2060 > acer nitro 5 i7 9750h rtx 2060 due to manufacturer lack of increased TDP. pl1 and pl2 limit this chip from it’s full capability effectively removing it from the performance level it is classified in alongside it’s lesser restricted counterparts.
 
Last edited:

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,874 (4.26/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
still no luck today
started speaking with acer support but they told me to try back monday

it’s looking like this laptop’s turbo is capped at an underperforming PL1 of 45w and PL2 of 56w
thus rendering the actual turbo of this chip useless. it also seems like it underperforms quite a bit under heavy load as well in comparison to my i7 8750h with higher PL’s (but still doesn’t go over 92 degrees)

EDIT:
more followup
did a vr gaming session today playing blade and sorcery and wow i am so upset by the horrid performance in comparison to my dell...

dell g7 i7 8750h rtx 2060 > acer nitro 5 i7 9750h rtx 2060 due to manufacturer lack of increased TDP. pl1 and pl2 limit this chip from it’s full capability effectively removing it from the performance level it is classified in alongside it’s lesser restricted counterparts.
Ive heard that some manufacturers HARDLOCKED or HARDCODED the powerlimit for some CPUs or set some silly parameters such as CPU starting to throttle at 60'c (i think that might of been an MSI laptop...) Not a lot you can do about it apart from trying going with another manufacturer
 

bloom.exe

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
12 (0.27/day)
so acer seems to have allowed users with the helios line to tweak theird TDP with a recent bios update. i just tried installing the predatorsense software from acer’s site for the PH315-52 (same processor as my nitro 5) but i got a message stating my computer is not supported.

there is however a bios update listed as “Updates EC Version” that i believe is the key (from acer only to helios users) to this problem. if we could get that version of the software to work with the nitro line of laptops the issue could be solved. until then i believe we’re in the hands of acer, waiting for whenever they push an update allowing users of the nitro line to use the full predatorsense (or nitrosense in this case) software
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,490 (4.39/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
dell g7 i7 8750h rtx 2060 > acer nitro 5 i7 9750h rtx 2060 due to manufacturer lack of increased TDP. pl1 and pl2 limit this chip from it’s full capability effectively removing it from the performance level it is classified in alongside it’s lesser restricted counterparts.
The Dell G series are actually quite good, the early Acer Nitro had an inefficient cooling system that was changed for later models to include dual fans and better heatpipes and vents.
 

bloom.exe

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
12 (0.27/day)
The Dell G series are actually quite good, the early Acer Nitro had an inefficient cooling system that was changed for later models to include dual fans and better heatpipes and vents.
surprisingly the cooling system on the nitro is far superior to dell’s including the vent sizes, exhaust sizes (and amount of ports) as well as much more accurate fan control software.
 
Top