• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Acer Announces New Aspire Notebooks

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
Acer America announced U.S. availability of new Acer Aspire notebooks offering exceptional price/performance and cinematic high-definition entertainment to anyone on-the-go, including students and small business professionals.

These systems boast a dynamic multimedia experience with cinematic HD, 16:9 widescreens and Dolby surround sound audio in a visually appealing sapphire design known as Gemstone Blue. The Aspire notebooks are engineered to suit the needs of users desiring an affordable mobile workhorse for being productive and enjoying digital life at school, on the road or at home.

Show full news post
 
Last edited:

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,570 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,469
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#2
smooth one acer i didn't know AMD used a FSB anymore


AMD Athlon 64 X2 QL-64 Dual-Core Processor (2.1GHz, 1MB L2 Cache, 800MHz FSB)
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#3
I think they meant HyperTransport 800 MT/s.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#4
What's the point of having DDR3 1066 in the laptop if the processor they use has a maximum FSB of 800?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,151 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,310
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#5
What's the point of having DDR3 1066 in the laptop if the processor they use has a maximum FSB of 800?
more headroom for overclocking??:rockout::rockout:
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#6
Acer wanting you to overclock? After reading that they'd removed 95% of the overclocking features on their Core i7 platform I REALLY don't believe that's their reason.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,151 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,310
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#7
Acer wanting you to overclock? After reading that they'd removed 95% of the overclocking features on their Core i7 platform I REALLY don't believe that's their reason.
Its a hidden sign Pyro - their teasing you. their tempting you to clock it. its like a worm on a hook wrigglin for its dear little insignificant life before becoming fishy munchies. its like the lump of shit that so big it cant be flushed down the loo - the opotunity is there as bright as the devils bollocks & its begging you to take action & do some dirty deeds......

there are a few tools that you could use to overclock laptops - Clockgen would be a start but with laptops keeping overclocked kit is always an issue.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#8
If the cooling's no better than what they use on travelmates then you'd definitely be buying aftermarket heatsinks to put on the processor and the northbridge, the GPU too probably (IDK if you CAN get them for laptops but mine bloody well needs them). I ended up having to undervolt mine to prevent it from overheating, it still isn't usable while I'm wearing shorts, saying it burns is an understatement.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.56/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#9
Acer wanting you to overclock? After reading that they'd removed 95% of the overclocking features on their Core i7 platform I REALLY don't believe that's their reason.
Yeah, the only way I can overclock my system is through setFSB, but I can't get past 2.8GHz (2.793GHz really) because of DDR speed also increasing (and apparently the RAM can't handle it)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#10
You're the one who had the problem with bugs or something right?
I knew there was someone on here who'd bought a prebuilt Acer i7 system.
I'm guessing that there's no way you could flash the BIOS to a functioning one either is there?