• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Acer Nitro 515-55

DisguisedPigeon

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2021
Messages
5 (1.25/day)
Hi there, I got a little laptop (acer nitro 515-55 with i5-10300h and gtx1660ti) and I've had some problems undervolting it. Back in octomber I "achieved" good temps on it(75-78 Celsius degrees) with -125mv on Core and -125 on Cache but then they released a new bios update (1.08->1.10) that locked undervolting/overvolting settings. Yesterday I finally unlocked it and tried to do some undervolting again as the temps got back to 92 Celsius degrees in games (they became sluggish, don't know how to undervolt GPU)
Now I've tried these settings and at least there is no power throttling(only an EDP warning) . Could you guide me in doing better settings for this processor ? Are these good ?

Thank you.
 

Attachments

  • Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    117.9 KB · Views: 16
  • Untitled1.png
    Untitled1.png
    213.7 KB · Views: 17
  • Untitled2.png
    Untitled2.png
    200.6 KB · Views: 17
  • Untitled3.png
    Untitled3.png
    45.4 KB · Views: 16

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,206 (0.68/day)
Could you guide me
Turn on the ThrottleStop log file option and go play a game for at least 15 minutes. This will create a record of your computer's performance. Check the Nvidia GPU box in the Options window so your GPU temp and MHz are included. It will be a lot easier to make suggestions if I have some data to look at. Attach a ThrottleStop log to your next post.

The maximum turbo ratios for your CPU are 45, 44, 43, 42. You do not have an unlocked K series CPU so there is no point in setting the turbo ratios any higher than their default values.

Checking the FIVR - Disable and Lock Turbo Power Limits box is always a good idea.

You said that you obtained good results with the core and cache set to -125 mV. Why is the cache set to -62.5 mV now? There is no magic 2:1 ratio that you have to follow. Set the voltages to whatever works best and is stable.

In the TPL window, did you lock your turbo power limits? The TPL window shows that you are requesting 58W and 100W for your turbo power limits but at the top, the CPU is set to 58W and 60W. I would unlock this setting, shut down your computer so the CPU can reset itself and then I would set the TPL values appropriately. You only need to lock the power limits if something else on your computer is changing these limits.

Try running Cinebench R20 when adjusting your voltages. Cinebench scores are a good indication of your CPU performance.

 

DisguisedPigeon

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2021
Messages
5 (1.25/day)
So,I've tried to do changes as you said but i observed that by default PL1 is 70 and PL2 is 107. Should I let them by that or change them to 60 ?

And in Cinebench i got 2025 score (compared to 2042) on CPU
 

Attachments

  • MonitorLog2021-04-07_16-57-27-464.txt
    1.4 MB · Views: 6
  • Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    383.5 KB · Views: 6
  • Untitled1.png
    Untitled1.png
    68.6 KB · Views: 6

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,206 (0.68/day)
Should I let them by that or change them to 60 ?
Why do you want to change your power limits to 60? What problem are you trying to solve?

Turn on the ThrottleStop log file option
The log file you posted does not look like a ThrottleStop log file.

Code:
Package TDP - 48.456051237899309612931156686
Reporting 27 digits after the decimal point is a little excessive.

A ThrottleStop log file allows me to quickly see how your computer is running. The log file you posted does not.
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,206 (0.68/day)
This should be it
That looks much better. I can quickly scroll a ThrottleStop log file up and down and easily see any problems. Guess what? No problems!

The log file looks great. Both the CPU and GPU are running at their full rated speed. No temperature issues or throttling issues. The CPU peaks at ~80°C. Everyone buys 6 core laptops but there seems to be a lot less throttling and overheating issues on the 4 core laptops. Looks like your undervolt was a big success.
 

DisguisedPigeon

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2021
Messages
5 (1.25/day)
Later edit: I've left all the settings on stock values to see how much difference is between stock and undervolt. Tried RDR2 for a few minutes. Should i leave all the settings on stock rather than undervolting it and maybe breaking something ? (undervolted gpu and it started to appear artifacts on screen or even not starting the games)

 
Top