• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Activity light blinking on Ethernet cable at back of PC when PC is off... and 'Wake on...' are disabled /Allow This Device To Wake Computer =unchecked

Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
122 (1.23/day)
System Name Custom Build
Processor AMD FX(tm)-8350 (Water cooled) Stock not OC'd
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Water 240 rad
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8 GB.
Video Card(s) Nvidia (to old to proudly mention) - water cooled
Storage 120 GB SATA 3 SSD Inland Professional (piece of crap) + 80 GB Intel SSD SATA 2
Display(s) Samsung NU710D 50" TV
Case ANTEC 200 V2 (Custom cut for Plexi window, H20, and 140 front fans)
Audio Device(s) Varies
Power Supply Corsair TX650
Mouse Logitech M325
Keyboard Microsoft Curve 2000
Software Windows 7/10
I don't know how to stop it. The activity light on the plug of my Ethernet cable plugged into the back of my motherboard blinks when the PC is OFF. Not hybernate, not sleep... OFF.

Windows 10 64.
In Windows 7 64, you can simply solve this by going to the advance tab of the Local Area Connection, turn off Wake on Lan or Wake on ??.. just disable it.

Win 10
Advance tab :
Wake on Magic Packet - Disabled
Wake on Pattern Match - Disabled

Power Management tab:
Allow This Device To Wake Computer - Unchecked

I still get the blinking light. It never did this in Win 7 after I did these disables and unchecking.

I have never had to adjust anything in BIOS either.


- Another thing I noticed... my bluetooth dongle is blinking when PC is off. That also never did that. I use a small Bluetooth USB dongle to hear my JBL Flip 4 play. That dongle always was off in Win 7.

If I unplug that, turn off the PC... the Ethernet cable still blinks behind the PC.


I'm about to revert back to Win 7.

Any advice?

Thanks in advance.

PS
Only other thing I can think of is Router firmware change? Recent Asus router firmware? The last two firmwares in the past 4 months?
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
175 (0.48/day)
I have 2 pc with win 7 and blinking too, but one dont. I didnt remember to set anything particular either, any chance to check ErP Lot setting maybe?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,587 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,030 (3.64/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,297 (5.98/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
What's the problem exactly?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
805 (0.69/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Blinking LED on router is annoying at night ?
Fear of being "hacked" while LED is blinking (since it shows activity from network card even when PC is "off") ?
There probably is a perfectly good another reason... I think.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,587 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
because it's not really off ?, and shutdown option does not shut the computer down 100% as it can be turned back on by a mouse keyboard if the options are turned on in the bios.



Even with that turned off though the power options at least will not solve this issue, or at least for some as i have had it with my gaming rig ever since win10.
Disable all acpi options in bios and see what happens. I dunno.

It's not an issue as long as WoL is off.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,680 (1.96/day)
Location
Vinewood
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
391 (1.52/day)
Location
NL
System Name Serenity
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 (Oc to 3.75 Ghz all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Prime X370-Pro
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire (stock)
Memory Corsair CMK16GX 3000 CL15 (@CL14) - SK Hynix dies.
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP!
Storage Rubbish M.2 SATA boot drive + 2x Crucial MX500 1TB Raid0
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG348Q, DELL U2713HM, 2x DELL U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black TG
Audio Device(s) Sony WH-1000X m2, microlab SOLO7C (Gen1)
Power Supply SuperFlower Gold 800W
Mouse SteelSeries RIVAL 600
Keyboard SteelSeries APEX M750
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores (Almost) 9000!
^-- THREAD

The thing is, since ATX was invented many, many years ago, computers aren't really "off" - The motherboard is always powered, ready to get that signal from the power signal button ( or, any other ways to turn it on, like keyboard/mouse, alarm, WoL, etc.)

The fact that the WoL function is disabled, it only means the software is set not to react to it.... but the hardware is still ready.

Just follow P4-630 advice.... turn it off via the switch.

Even better, put ALL your desk on one of these (displays, speakers, whatever else):


(Or any similar type of device wherever you are in the world)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,297 (5.28/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Even with that turned off though the power options at least will not solve this issue, or at least for some as i have had it with my gaming rig ever since win10.
Then it isn't Windows 10 causing it in your case, it is your motherboard.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,030 (3.64/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Then it isn't Windows 10 causing it in your case, it is your motherboard.

Well never had the issue before win10, maybe a option that was enabled with win10 ?.

Not sure about the OP but in my case that's not a option as my mouse don't charge then.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,475 (1.16/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Right it is NOT Windows (regardless the version). It is because when the computer is simply powered off, it goes into standby mode. If it didn't, even your front panel power button would not work because even that uses the +5Vsb standby voltage. So if really bugging you that much, you need to unplug from the wall or flip the master power switch on the back of your power supply - if it has one. Or go buy a roll of black electrical tape and cover it up. Or you could unplug the Ethernet cable.

Even if Wake on LAN (WOL) is disabled, the NIC may still show network activity as the router keeps pinging nodes to see who's out there and if still alive, and the +5Vsb voltage is still present on the NIC too. Having this disabled does not stop the network activity. It just keeps the BIOS firmware from waking the computer.
I'm about to revert back to Win 7.

Any advice?
Over this? Yes, that would be silly. Don't go back to a 10 year old OS that hasn't had mainstream support for over 5 years. I say just get used to it. Surely you have other power and activity lights lit. Between my router, modem, computer, 3 monitors, speaker, printer, UPS, switch - heck, even my paper shredder, I have about 20 LEDs lit all the time. :kookoo:
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
122 (1.23/day)
System Name Custom Build
Processor AMD FX(tm)-8350 (Water cooled) Stock not OC'd
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Water 240 rad
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8 GB.
Video Card(s) Nvidia (to old to proudly mention) - water cooled
Storage 120 GB SATA 3 SSD Inland Professional (piece of crap) + 80 GB Intel SSD SATA 2
Display(s) Samsung NU710D 50" TV
Case ANTEC 200 V2 (Custom cut for Plexi window, H20, and 140 front fans)
Audio Device(s) Varies
Power Supply Corsair TX650
Mouse Logitech M325
Keyboard Microsoft Curve 2000
Software Windows 7/10
IN WINDOWS 10 64bit HOME:
Confirmed it is the BIOS that still needed to be adjusted AFTER the OS adjustments:
I don't see Wake on Link Settings optioned (photo was copied from the web cause I don't wan to edit :p )
I would disable Wake on Link Settings also if I did.


And Power options
  1. Press the Windows logo key + X on your keyboard and then select Control Panel from the drop-down menu.
  2. When you go to the control panel it shows up as the “Category” view option by default. Switch it to “Large icons” then click Power Options




By default, the Shutdown settings options are greyed out. Click on “Change settings that are currently unavailable” to unlock the greyed out options.


Uncheck...


Now in Windows 7, the above would solve my problem of blinking ethernet port when Ethernet cable plugged into the back of the PC when PC is OFF. But not in Win 10 for some reason.
I had to also, as others said its in BIOS, turn ON "ErP" Seen in THIS THREAD

SO THE FIX!!!!!
ErP asus.png


In the BIOS under ADVANCED>APM there is a ErP/EuP setting.
ErP Support determines whether to let the system consume less than 1W of power in S5 (shutdown) state. When the setting is enabled, the following four functions will become unavailable: PME Event Wake Up, Power On By Mouse, Power On By Keyboard, and Wake On LAN. redduc900 @overclockers.com (http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php/699445-ErP-Support-Setting-In-Bios?p=7098515&viewfull=1#post7098515)

This is the answer. When I enabled ErP S5 and powered off ALL LEDs were off. Motherboard, GPU, External HHD were all OFF!
So I re-enabled ROG Effects on the motherboard then powered off again. ALL LEDs were still OFF!

So this ErP enabled S5 will allow you to keep your fancy ROG lights on when the computer is on as well as turn OFF everything so you can get a good nights sleep.
As you see, it says turning OFF ErP solves the problem.. but mine was disabled. I enabled and it turned off the lights.

BUT in MY case, as explained in another post...
Enabling ErP if using a ErP compatible power supply has been the solution
So, BIOS under ADVANCED>APM there is a ErP- ENABLE

Thanks for replying guys!
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
9,409 (5.33/day)
Location
Too Long to fit in a single line here.
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Kudos for doing the legwork yourself with this issue!
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
122 (1.23/day)
System Name Custom Build
Processor AMD FX(tm)-8350 (Water cooled) Stock not OC'd
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Water 240 rad
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8 GB.
Video Card(s) Nvidia (to old to proudly mention) - water cooled
Storage 120 GB SATA 3 SSD Inland Professional (piece of crap) + 80 GB Intel SSD SATA 2
Display(s) Samsung NU710D 50" TV
Case ANTEC 200 V2 (Custom cut for Plexi window, H20, and 140 front fans)
Audio Device(s) Varies
Power Supply Corsair TX650
Mouse Logitech M325
Keyboard Microsoft Curve 2000
Software Windows 7/10
Kudos for doing the legwork yourself with this issue!
I did have clues here in this thread to check my BIOS.

Not only that, but I wanted to help others if they came across this thread on a search.
 
Last edited:
Top