• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Actual Amount Of Memory /OS install time Questions

Lillebror

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
719 (0.19/day)
Likes
88
Location
Denmark
Processor Intel Core2Duo e8400 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro w/ mBios
Cooling Xigmatec something with a orange fan
Memory Kingston HyperX 4 gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd4870
Storage 320 gb Maxtor 750gb samsung f11 250gb hitachi
Display(s) IIyama e1900s
Case CoolerMaster Ammo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2/PM Pci
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 7 x64
#26
It could also be slow or damaged ram. Happened to me before.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#27
It could also be slow or damaged ram. Happened to me before.
I ran memtest for about two hours before with zero errors, How else could i figure out if it is damaged?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#28
For that, you can insert the windows CD and boot from it and run the Memory Diagnostic tool. Used to use MemTest 86, but that seems to work fine too.

Edit: Did you run this one?

http://hcidesign.com/memtest/

And did you make sure you ran enough of them to cover all of your ram?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#29
No, I will give it a try. Thank you!
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#30
Ok, they just got to 100% Coverage. I have zero errors, I had to test 2048, 2048 and 512.The first 2048 test i started first took about a minute longer to finish than the other one, and i started it about 30 seconds before. could that be a problem?
 

Lillebror

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
719 (0.19/day)
Likes
88
Location
Denmark
Processor Intel Core2Duo e8400 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro w/ mBios
Cooling Xigmatec something with a orange fan
Memory Kingston HyperX 4 gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd4870
Storage 320 gb Maxtor 750gb samsung f11 250gb hitachi
Display(s) IIyama e1900s
Case CoolerMaster Ammo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2/PM Pci
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 7 x64
#31
Nope, thats not a problem. The only thing that could slow the install down, is that dvd drive you got.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#32
Hello,

First, Update that firmware...The latest is SB02 from here:http://us.lgservice.com/index_b2c.jsp When you get to the web site, just click search, where is has GSA-H44L.

Second, make sure you are using an 80 conductor cable and not the older 40 conductor.

Third, check in device manager and make sure the ODD is set to DMA not PIO, change if it is.

:)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#33
Ok i updated the firmware and installed Win 7 on a partition, it still hangs at This Screen for about 5 minutes

Then it hang for another 4-5 minutes when i first click next when the window pops up.
But once it started to install it only took me 15 minutes to get to my desktop. Is it normal to hang at that first screen for so long?
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#34
No, it should start right up. Have you loaded any other software yet?
If not, you may have a driver/hardware conflict. Unplug any thing you don't need to boot like scanners, printers, external drives, etc..
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#35
The only thing i have plugged in while i'm installing my os is Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor, And power. what do you mean by if i loaded any other software?

-- I just put the 32bit Vista DVD in my OLD dell inspiron 1000 to see how long it would take to load the install windows screen.. and it took about 10 seconds, Wonder what could be causing my i7 to be wayy slower than a 5 year old laptop.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#36
you could try ruling out the DVD drive by installing off a flash drive.
You need a working machine to do this with an installed OS, fix the drive letters as needed (since yours wont match mine) and then paste this command into a run window.

command for copying vista/7 DVD to flash drive


xcopy d:\*.* /s/e/f E:\


d: being source (DVD / ISO image on Virtual drive)
E: being destination drive (flash drive)
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#37
Thank you! I will give that a try.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#38
The only thing i have plugged in while i'm installing my os is Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor, And power. what do you mean by if i loaded any other software?
Bootloader, bootmanager, linux,etc. Did you partition and format the disk manually and with what software?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#39
Ok, I couldn't get it to boot 7 from my Flash Drive but i will try vista, and no i had no software installed before i installed windows, and the partition i use to test how long 7 installed was created using Acronis Disk Director, and then i reformatted it within the win 7 installation.
 

membreya

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#40
Dude, seriously you spent so much money on i7, 6GB RAM etc ....stop being tight and just replace the freaking ODD.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#41
Dude, seriously you spent so much money on i7, 6GB RAM etc ....stop being tight and just replace the freaking ODD.
lol, your right, i could spend another $20, i just hope that the problem is the ODD though, and not something worse. Oh and i could not boot vista off of my Flash drive either, it just sat at a black screen when i tried.