• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ADATA SX8200 Pro 1 TB

Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,982 (1.72/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling Modified Alphacool Eisbaer 240
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage 3x Kingston A400 480GB SSD + WD Green 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic 24" 1080p & HP 23" 1080p w/ Arctic Z2 gen3
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C Window
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English
This looks awesome! Lighning fast and not bad price at all.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Location
Timisoara, Romania
System Name Main
Processor I7 8700K
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling AIO Corsair H60 with 2x industrial 3k RPM Noctuas
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR4@ 3000 Mhz C15 (2x8GB dual channel kit)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus Extreme 1080Ti @2Ghz stock GPU
Storage Kingston A1000 480GB M2 NVME@x2; A-data SX8200 PRO 512 GB M2 NVME@x4; Mass Storage: 3TB+2TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Dell IPS 24" FULL HD
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W with UPS as backup from Mustek 1000 VA @600W
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Bloody Turbo- regular illuminated keyboard (silent keystrokes)
Software W10 Enterprise
I bought today the SX8200 PRO 512GB variant ( 3500/2300 R/W ) and i only paid the equivalent of $10 more than my old SX8200.

But here is the issue i have with this drive, in CrystalDiskMark my write speeds for seq Q32T1 is 700-1000 MB/s MAX, it should be over 2 GB/s, capping around 2.3 GB/s.

Anyone else has this problem ? (512GB variant ).

PS.
Firmware on the drive is R0906I ( A-data own SSD toolbox which you use to upgrade firmware and other stuff doesnt give you any option to upgrade, in reality it sends you to their website and nothing more).
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,460 (4.20/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
I bought today the SX8200 PRO 512GB variant ( 3500/2300 R/W ) and i only paid the equivalent of $10 more than my old SX8200.

But here is the issue i have with this drive, in CrystalDiskMark my write speeds for seq Q32T1 is 700-1000 MB/s MAX, it should be over 2 GB/s, capping around 2.3 GB/s.

Anyone else has this problem ? (512GB variant ).

PS.
Firmware on the drive is R0906I ( A-data own SSD toolbox which you use to upgrade firmware and other stuff doesnt give you any option to upgrade, in reality it sends you to their website and nothing more).
You'll never use 32 queues at home, don't worry about that test.
Also, is Q32T1 32 queues and 1 thread? Wth?
 

Andalusian

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2018
Messages
19 (0.02/day)
I bought today the SX8200 PRO 512GB variant ( 3500/2300 R/W ) and i only paid the equivalent of $10 more than my old SX8200.

But here is the issue i have with this drive, in CrystalDiskMark my write speeds for seq Q32T1 is 700-1000 MB/s MAX, it should be over 2 GB/s, capping around 2.3 GB/s.

Anyone else has this problem ? (512GB variant ).

PS.
Firmware on the drive is R0906I ( A-data own SSD toolbox which you use to upgrade firmware and other stuff doesnt give you any option to upgrade, in reality it sends you to their website and nothing more).
Do you have multiple nvme slots? Some are only 2 lanes or 4, with 4 being faster. Also, nvme performance is also bottlenecked by cpu performance and integrated cooling of the nvme drive.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Location
Timisoara, Romania
System Name Main
Processor I7 8700K
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling AIO Corsair H60 with 2x industrial 3k RPM Noctuas
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR4@ 3000 Mhz C15 (2x8GB dual channel kit)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus Extreme 1080Ti @2Ghz stock GPU
Storage Kingston A1000 480GB M2 NVME@x2; A-data SX8200 PRO 512 GB M2 NVME@x4; Mass Storage: 3TB+2TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Dell IPS 24" FULL HD
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W with UPS as backup from Mustek 1000 VA @600W
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Bloody Turbo- regular illuminated keyboard (silent keystrokes)
Software W10 Enterprise
Seq Q32T1 ( 32 queues and one thread as you say ) is the 1st test in Crystaldiskmark ( latest version 6.0.2) and if you look at any review on SSD's, that first test always comes up.

I do have multiple NVME slots (all are PCIEx4 lanes capable), and i currently have 2 occupied ( one runs at x2, since the NVME SSD only works at that speed < aka the A1000 from Kingston> and SX8200PRO ofc works at x4);
Temps are not an issue (under 40 degrees); and SX8200PRO has adequate cooling on it's own and i might say 200mm fans above it also. )
CPU is definitely not a bottleneck ( 8700K );

In 2 days if i dont figure out a solution as to why is so slow on the writes, i'll return it and get another one ( had 2 reserved before i went and bought it hehe).
 

Andalusian

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2018
Messages
19 (0.02/day)
Seq Q32T1 ( 32 queues and one thread as you say ) is the 1st test in Crystaldiskmark ( latest version 6.0.2) and if you look at any review on SSD's, that first test always comes up.

I do have multiple NVME slots (all are PCIEx4 lanes capable), and i currently have 2 occupied ( one runs at x2, since the NVME SSD only works at that speed < aka the A1000 from Kingston> and SX8200PRO ofc works at x4);
Temps are not an issue (under 40 degrees); and SX8200PRO has adequate cooling on it's own and i might say 200mm fans above it also. )
CPU is definitely not a bottleneck ( 8700K );

In 2 days if i dont figure out a solution as to why is so slow on the writes, i'll return it and get another one ( had 2 reserved before i went and bought it hehe).
ya, just return it, or exchange, I did that once, and they dont give you any trouble.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,460 (4.20/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Seq Q32T1 ( 32 queues and one thread as you say ) is the 1st test in Crystaldiskmark ( latest version 6.0.2) and if you look at any review on SSD's, that first test always comes up.
I was just asking because I can't imagine how you'd use 32 queues with a single thread.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Location
Timisoara, Romania
System Name Main
Processor I7 8700K
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling AIO Corsair H60 with 2x industrial 3k RPM Noctuas
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR4@ 3000 Mhz C15 (2x8GB dual channel kit)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus Extreme 1080Ti @2Ghz stock GPU
Storage Kingston A1000 480GB M2 NVME@x2; A-data SX8200 PRO 512 GB M2 NVME@x4; Mass Storage: 3TB+2TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Dell IPS 24" FULL HD
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W with UPS as backup from Mustek 1000 VA @600W
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Bloody Turbo- regular illuminated keyboard (silent keystrokes)
Software W10 Enterprise
I finally found and fixed the issue ! Yay me, guess i wont return it anymore.

After i tried several other benchmark tools just to confirm me that my write speeds are shiet, i launched AS SSD ( forgot about it ) and after doing the tests, they were still low on the writes (reads too but not so much as affected as the writes), then just in that little window of information in the program itself it said "31K bad, under offset alignment@4k and i immediately recalled that i used earlier in the day Easeus partition master to wipe/format and even clone the disk (but i cancelled in the last minute) then i used windows own self partitioning and format and i guess something went bad over there :)

After i aligned the partition back to health (using a free app called minitool partition wizard) i redid the tests on CrystalDiskMark and AS SSD and voilá: the manufacturer marketed speeds were there !



I was just asking because I can't imagine how you'd use 32 queues with a single thread.

Obviously your casual user wont use those settings, but if the benchmark boast it in the first place, i guess most people will look at that number and say " wow good numbers".
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,460 (4.20/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Obviously your casual user wont use those settings, but if the benchmark boast it in the first place, i guess most people will look at that number and say " wow good numbers".
No, I mean a typical home computer under heavy usage will reach QD4. For QD32 you need a serious server with lots of concurrent users accessing the disk. I don't see, from a technical point of view, how QD32 can be stressed with only one thread. The guys writing the benchmark are not idiots, so naturally I'm wondering what I'm missing here.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Location
Timisoara, Romania
System Name Main
Processor I7 8700K
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling AIO Corsair H60 with 2x industrial 3k RPM Noctuas
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR4@ 3000 Mhz C15 (2x8GB dual channel kit)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus Extreme 1080Ti @2Ghz stock GPU
Storage Kingston A1000 480GB M2 NVME@x2; A-data SX8200 PRO 512 GB M2 NVME@x4; Mass Storage: 3TB+2TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Dell IPS 24" FULL HD
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W with UPS as backup from Mustek 1000 VA @600W
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Bloody Turbo- regular illuminated keyboard (silent keystrokes)
Software W10 Enterprise
For any buyers of the SX8200 PRO and non pro version, if you want to see the temps and TBW used, if you are on latest windows (1809) there's a bug (as always MS) that wont lead you read even the SMART details of these drives; The only program that let's you see it right now is hard disk sentinel after the devs were asked to fix what MS got broken and they did lmao.

Right now if you try to watch the temps with any program (even A-data own SSD toolbox geezes) it will show you erroneous numbers, you are safe if you have windows under 1809 version tho'.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,460 (4.20/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
For any buyers of the SX8200 PRO and non pro version, if you want to see the temps and TBW used, if you are on latest windows (1809) there's a bug (as always MS) that wont lead you read even the SMART details of these drives; The only program that let's you see it right now is hard disk sentinel after the devs were asked to fix what MS got broken and they did lmao.

Right now if you try to watch the temps with any program (even A-data own SSD toolbox geezes) it will show you erroneous numbers, you are safe if you have windows under 1809 version tho'.
You're quick to pin this on MS, yet if it works with every other drive, there's a good chance this is on ADATA ;)
Still, a useful heads-up. Thanks.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Location
Timisoara, Romania
System Name Main
Processor I7 8700K
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling AIO Corsair H60 with 2x industrial 3k RPM Noctuas
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR4@ 3000 Mhz C15 (2x8GB dual channel kit)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus Extreme 1080Ti @2Ghz stock GPU
Storage Kingston A1000 480GB M2 NVME@x2; A-data SX8200 PRO 512 GB M2 NVME@x4; Mass Storage: 3TB+2TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Dell IPS 24" FULL HD
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W with UPS as backup from Mustek 1000 VA @600W
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Bloody Turbo- regular illuminated keyboard (silent keystrokes)
Software W10 Enterprise
You're quick to pin this on MS, yet if it works with every other drive, there's a good chance this is on ADATA ;)
Still, a useful heads-up. Thanks.
Well, I havent tested with other products from A-data, but if you use the same drive on a different version of windows (let's say 1803 or 1709 etc.) your temps and TBW and S.M.A.R.T data will show up with no issue, so yea, it is MS fault here. ( developer from the software Hard disk sentinel confirmed this);
 
  • Like
Reactions: bug
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
383 (0.15/day)
System Name Hydra
Processor AMD Threadripper 3970X w/ Watercooler Heatkiller IV Pro
Motherboard Asus Zenith II Extreme
Cooling D5 PWM pump •• 2x Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS rads •• 6x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM •• 2x Corsair ML140 Pro
Memory 4x 32GB G.Skill Trident Royal Silver @ 3600MHz, 18-22-22-42 (F4-3600C18-32GTRS)
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 3090 TUF
Storage 1TB Phison E12 SSD (OS) ••• 2TB Phison E12 SSD (Work Space) ••• 40TB QNAP NAS via Intel X550-T2 NIC
Display(s) Alienware AW3418DW (3440x1440 @ 120Hz)
Case Lian Li PC-O11 WGX ROG EDITION ($5 on clearance at microcenter, lol)
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Logitech G502SE (play) + Logitech MX Master 2S (work)
Keyboard Keycult #2 R1, Alpaca Switches w/ Krytox 205G0, Durock Stab w/ Permatex Dielectric, GMK Mizo
Software W10 X64 Pro (duh)
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/t8uze7
the 1TB samsung 960 Evo in my main rig just died (2nd samsung SSD to die on me in the last 4 months). i'm going to give this guy a whirl and see how that shakes out. should be here today.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,379 (1.16/day)
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 FTW Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
the 1TB samsung 960 Evo in my main rig just died (2nd samsung SSD to die on me in the last 4 months). i'm going to give this guy a whirl and see how that shakes out. should be here today.
I am still hearing good things about the 1TB SX8200 I put in the Z370 build a short while ago. Blazing fast.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Is there any difference between SX8200Pro and the new XPG Gammix S11 Pro? ( http://www.xpg.com/en/feature/587 ) I've checked the specification and it looks like the only difference is a larger heatsink on the S11 Pro. Am I missing something or are they essentially the same drives with the same memory modules and controllers?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
383 (0.15/day)
System Name Hydra
Processor AMD Threadripper 3970X w/ Watercooler Heatkiller IV Pro
Motherboard Asus Zenith II Extreme
Cooling D5 PWM pump •• 2x Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS rads •• 6x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM •• 2x Corsair ML140 Pro
Memory 4x 32GB G.Skill Trident Royal Silver @ 3600MHz, 18-22-22-42 (F4-3600C18-32GTRS)
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 3090 TUF
Storage 1TB Phison E12 SSD (OS) ••• 2TB Phison E12 SSD (Work Space) ••• 40TB QNAP NAS via Intel X550-T2 NIC
Display(s) Alienware AW3418DW (3440x1440 @ 120Hz)
Case Lian Li PC-O11 WGX ROG EDITION ($5 on clearance at microcenter, lol)
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Logitech G502SE (play) + Logitech MX Master 2S (work)
Keyboard Keycult #2 R1, Alpaca Switches w/ Krytox 205G0, Durock Stab w/ Permatex Dielectric, GMK Mizo
Software W10 X64 Pro (duh)
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/t8uze7
Is there any difference between SX8200Pro and the new XPG Gammix S11 Pro? ( http://www.xpg.com/en/feature/587 ) I've checked the specification and it looks like the only difference is a larger heatsink on the S11 Pro. Am I missing something or are they essentially the same drives with the same memory modules and controllers?
did you even look at the link you posted? the two products are not even remotely comparable. the gammix drive is literally half as fast and uses a realtek (garbage) controller.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
did you even look at the link you posted? the two products are not even remotely comparable. the gammix drive is literally half as fast and uses a realtek (garbage) controller.
:) Ha ha. Must have pasted the wrong link accidentally as was comparing all the products at the same time. Did you even notice that I was asking about S11 Pro and the link took you to the S5? :D

This is the correct S11 Pro link - http://www.xpg.com/en/feature/596
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
443 (0.38/day)
Location
Here
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB DDR4 3333 16-16-16-36
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Ti Ventus OC
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB 2x-500GB XPG SX8200 PRO 1 TB
Display(s) Acer Predator Z321QU
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 750 Gold
Thanks for the review TPU. I'm getting one of these while the prices are still low.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,857 (3.68/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech G602
Software MacOS 10.15.6
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
443 (0.38/day)
Location
Here
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB DDR4 3333 16-16-16-36
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Ti Ventus OC
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB 2x-500GB XPG SX8200 PRO 1 TB
Display(s) Acer Predator Z321QU
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 750 Gold
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
443 (0.38/day)
Location
Here
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB DDR4 3333 16-16-16-36
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Ti Ventus OC
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB 2x-500GB XPG SX8200 PRO 1 TB
Display(s) Acer Predator Z321QU
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 750 Gold
This thing is fast for sure. Of coarse it depends on the game itself most of the time. Realistically it seems 3 times as fast in most cases.

ADATA SX8200 Pro 1 TB.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
3,102 (2.44/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua XPX Pro TR4 block
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
I have a total of 6 ADATA drives in my rig. The SX8200 Pros are 256GB boot, 512GB x2 in RAID 0. The SX 8200 is 480GB x2 in RAID 0 and by itself a SX8000 512GB. I can say that there is not much difference between the drives in terms of read speeds. For writes the 8200 Pro is about 70% faster than the non pro and the 8000 is about 40% slower than the non pro. In RAID 0 the SX8200 pro and SX8200 have around the same read performance but for some reason the writes for the 8200 are not much faster than the single drive's sequential speed of around 1.9 GBps. The 8200 Pro on the other hand is in the range of 5.5 GBps writes in RAID 0. I did some test runs by moving TWWH2 from one RAID to another and then from RAID to the single 8000. The difference in moving files was about 10 seconds between the fastest and slowest drive(s). The best thing about these drives though are that they run at about 1/2 the temp of my Corsair MP 500 480GB. I never see that drive at less than 60 C in Everest 64 vs the Adata drives which never go higher than 40 C.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2016
Messages
87 (0.06/day)
System Name Portable Rocket
Processor Intel i7-7820hq
Motherboard Dell
Cooling Dell
Memory 32GB Ballistix DDR4 2400 (2x16)
Video Card(s) Intel 630
Storage Adata sx8200 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) 14” 1920 x 1080
Case Dell Latitude 5480
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Dell
Mouse MS Wireless
Keyboard Dell Backlit
Software Win 10 PRO x64 , Office 2019, SPSS, Minitab
Benchmark Scores Home work machine, makes Excel 2019 scream!
What drivers are you using in Windows 10 with your SX8200 pro?
 
Top