1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Add Put "temperature" in taskbar? (when mininized)

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by kocoman, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. kocoman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is there any plans to add this feature?

    Add Put "temperature" in taskbar?
     
  2. joshiers8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    what program is this for?
     
  3. jamesrt2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    193 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    well its in gpuz section ;)

    but yeah i agree kinda like how cool temp does it etc,

    so yeah +1
     
  4. kocoman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes its for gpu-z

    When its minimized I only see the "GPU-Z icon" in the taskbar. it is better to see a "number" I think. I run at 800x600 so I can't see the gpu-z temperature all the time
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,253 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,211
    Use Rivatuner to display the GPU temperature in the system tray.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    realtemp also has and option to display the gpu temp on the taskbar - right next to where it displays the core1 cpu temp
     
  7. kocoman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    For some reason (I think) some of the other monitoring program causes a hard freeze on the system, maybe its because its monitoring too much things and overwhelm the SMBUS? If I run gpu-z it does not hang at all.. works fine

    Anyway has anyone consider make a program that will read/phrase the GPU-Z sensor log file, then put them on the icon tray? Extra features are "suspending" the system if over temperature is detected. etc

    Its for the people using the bad nvidia overheating chips. (by hplies dot c om , hp etc)
     
  8. lylewaggoner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I would like to see this feature too. HWMonitor does it, but it wakes my drives from sleep everytime it measures their temps.
     
  9. kocoman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You could make your own hack,

    1) enable the log file
    2) enable background monitoring

    (check both checkmarks)

    then on your program, parse the log every 'x' seconds, then put it in YOUR taskbar program..

    but the log will get so big once in a while you have to delete it.
     
  10. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    Personally, I prefer ATI Tray Tools . . . very, very low-key app. I've never had any issues with it affecting SYS performance at all; whereas I've had some problems (occasionally) with leaving GPU-Z up and running.

    RivaTuner, though, has a bit more functionality, in so far as what it can display - just another option to throw out there.
     
  11. Marineborn

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Everest will display all your tempatures for everything in your taskbar while minimized
     
  12. lylewaggoner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah, Everest does work, but a) it's not free and b) I've lost a bit of trust in the product as it's CPU sensors deviate so much from my RealTemp and CoreTemp reported temperatures.

    Otherwise, it'd be perfect, as my desire is to have both my CPU temp and my GPU temp in my system tray, and I know that Everest can do that.

    RealTemp has introduced that functionality but at this stage it's buggy on my Win7 x64. The previous version had GPU monitoring greyed out, and the new beta won't run for me without compatibility mode, and then it crashes down the line anyway. Still hopeful regarding that program though. Rivatuner and ATI tray tools could do in a pinch (I've used both in the past for overclocking/fan control and other things), but I'd prefer something simpler given my requirement is very simple, and GPU-z is nice and simple.

    So at this stage, I'd like to run CoreTemp/RealTemp and GPU-z side by side, if GPU-z would just put a sensor icon in the system tray. :)
     
  13. pedritux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I support this idea. I only use RightMark, which displays the CPU temperature, and I know e.g. SpeedFan does it for the GPU or whatever we want, but if you're like me, you want to have the bare minimum of tools installed, and GPU-Z is for sure one of them.
    So, why not add this temperature-display-on-the-taskbar-icon feature ?
     
  14. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,234 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,808
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Does anyone still use Speedfan? that will display in taskbar too.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)