1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adobe Launches Media Player

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Oct 1, 2007.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,458 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    With the three main firms currently competing in the media playback industry being Microsoft, Apple and Real, Adobe has decided to launch its very own media player in an attempt to gain a foothold. Adobe Media Player (AMP for short), which is backed by several companies including CBS, PBS and Yahoo (as well as a few other online companies), is designed to work with files based on the same .FLV format used by YouTube and several other video sharing sites, with Adobe saying:
    AMP is still only a BETA at the moment, with a final release scheduled for March 2008, but if you want to take a look at it you can download it for free from here.

    Source: TG Daily
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,711 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Tennessee
    What market do these media players have? I thought they were all free.

    EDIT: I guess their market is their music library that people can purchase?
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Quote: "backed by several online companies including CBS, PBS and Yahoo"

    PBS AND Yahoo?! Well that's it! I'm removing all my other media players and installing AMP. (Yeah right!)

    Seriously, CBS, PBS and Yahoo are "online companies". What are offline companies?

    [Sorry, too easy.]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,458 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    I'll change that if it's a bit misleading - perhaps I use the term market a little loosely?

    Edit:

    Sorry, my mistake. Mis-worded it, I'll fix that too. :eek:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,065 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    download link doesnt work for me in FireFox.Server error blah blah
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    850 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    Your download text says:
    http://”http//labs.adobe.com/technologies/mediaplayer/”
    It should say:
    http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/mediaplayer/
    Thats the issue with the downloads.

    If they made "AMP" play MP3, WMA, WMV, FLV, MOV, MPG, AVI, RM, etc I'd be more interested in it.
    Also some steap requirements on it too:
    2.0 GHz Pentium-class processor or better
    512MB of RAM
    32MB video RAM
    Windows 2000 Service Pack 4, XP Service Pack 2; Vista

    Mac version req?

    Free version but with adds?
    I'm tired of having 3 players because everyone wants to do their own thing.
     
    Jimmy 2004 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,458 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,812 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,265
    If it is anything like other Adobe software I predict annoying upgrade popups, mediocre performance, huge resource load, and crappy support.


    Yay, just what we all need.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  9. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,711 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Yeah Adobe does have a really annoying software updater.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    850 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    Software updater Annoyed Thirded! ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,717 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    446
    Location:
    Blighty
    Wow, what a bunch of arse this is going to be, i think ill wait for the real/quicktime alternative style strip-down of this
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,484 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,132
    Location:
    New York
    Adobe = BLOATED ware.......no way i will try that crap as well as any other software they have ....;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Quicktime update is MUCH more annoying.

    And how is Adobe software bloated guys?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Misiowiec New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    117 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    ...which can easily be disabled, just the Quicktime one. But yes, they are a pain and it's not like we need yet another player.

    Personally I like WMP with the corporate minimalist skin and the K-Lite pack installed, as this handles pretty much anything I use. And of course VLC :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Anyone tried it yet?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    850 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    Honestly I find it easier to turn off/disable quicktimes updater. Adobe's isn't as friendly and it always has the update me button in the top bar. And of course once done the popups start again . . . I have 70 pcs to maintain many have both programs. I hate adobes updater.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,809 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I thought AMP played all major formats?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)