• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Advice on G.Skill F4-3200C16D-16GTZRX

Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
177 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Does anyone have this RAM overclocked on a B350 board, what are the timings like? My friends wants to upgrade his RAM, and I found this one to be best suited for his needs. There was F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX which is Samsung B Die but it's not available anymore and overall memory available is kind of a problem here, and he also wants RGB. I'm wondering what kind of die this is, can't find anything conrette on the die type (some say it's either A or C die). I also opted for X at the end of the SKU because those DRAMs are tested on the MSI B350 Tomahawk as well, while the non X SKUs have been tested on B550/X570 motherboards only, also it seems it's a must to update to the beta BIOS (7A34v1OS) that features AGESA 1.0.0.6, any issues with it? Practically all he does is gaming so he's hoping to get some extra frames from the RAM. He's using Ryzen 7 2700X non overclocked.

I'm not really looking for an alternative, because the availability here is bad at the moment.

Edit: That beta BIOS doesn't update to AGESA 1.0.0.6 but updates AGESA.1.0.0.6 for some unknown reason, also nothing but trouble with that beta BIOS apparently, the current 7A34v1M stable BIOS is installed and running just fine, which also featues AGESA 1.0.0.6, I installed that BIOS months ago and it's very stable.

So for the RAM, the one I was about to get just got out of stock heh, but F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX is back in stock, so I'll get that one I originally intended. Will post more info (or questions) when I'll be overclocking it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
177 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Can I get some help with RAM overclocking? I was able to run XMP with rated timings and speed no problems. I used the DRAM calculator and ran the fast and safe presets, for the fast preset I couldn't even get to POST, pc restarted 4 times leading to default values of the RAM, I was able to get further with the safe preset but it would result in BSODs during Windows loading. I changed all the settings in BIOS with recommended values from the calculator, also I've read in the guide that 3xx chipsets can rarely reach speeds above 3466 MHz. Any simplified options to run without changing pretty much all values? Thanks.
Another question is, would my friend get more performance from higher clocks, he's only gaming on this build. He used to run Cosair Vengeance LPX 2400 MHz but 2x4 GB.
 

Attachments

  • 20210120_002308.jpg
    20210120_002308.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 31
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
1,321 (1.47/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Street Meat
Processor AMD R5 3600XT
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT + TY143 + TFX
Memory 16GB G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Classified 3988
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C TG, White
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply CM Silent Pro M2 850
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech 910
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Some numbers
That looks fairly aggressive.. Im pretty sure it fed me a similar result that did not post iirc.

If you really want a quick way to cheat.. reset to defaults save and exit, get back in

Change main timings that are on the label.. then insert all others it gives you one by one for 2133.. should be pretty tight..

Then go change your Mclk and Fclk save and exit.

I was able to tighten things up a bit more, but you can only do so much..

Not sure if it will help or hinder you, might have to play with tras and trc a little..
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
2,151 (0.48/day)
System Name Budget AMD System
Processor Threadripper 1900X @ 4.025Ghz (100x40.25 @ 1.325V)
Motherboard Gigabyte X399 Aorus Gaming 7
Cooling EKWB X399 Monoblock
Memory 4x8GB GSkill TridentZ RGB 12-12-13-32 CR1 @ 3200
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX Vega₆⁴ Liquid @ 1,800Mhz Core, 1100 HBM2
Storage 1x ADATA SX8200 NVMe, 1x Segate 2.5" FireCuda 2TB SATA, 1x 500GB HGST SATA
Display(s) Vizio 22" 1080p 60hz TV (Samsung Panel)
Case Corsair 570X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X Series 850W KM3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Back timings off to 16-16-18. Those aren't B-Die sticks and only B-Die can run the 14 CAS at those timings from what other people have experienced. It wasn't until 3rdG Ryzen that RAM isn't really a major issue.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
177 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
These are B-die from Samsung, it's my fault I didn't add more info, I bought F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX at the end, not C16.
Original timings are 14-14-14-34 for the XMP profile.
Currently running stable with XMP profile with those timings.
I'm going to test these settings, it's safe preset at 3400 MHz, which also appears to be the limit on a B350 motherboard according to the calculator.
calc.png
 

Attachments

  • unnamed.png
    unnamed.png
    51.2 KB · Views: 19
  • AIDA64.png
    AIDA64.png
    87.1 KB · Views: 16
  • rtc.png
    rtc.png
    31.4 KB · Views: 16
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
134 (0.04/day)
It's kinda a rough road if you're trying to pick up FPS from mem speed on Ryzen 2xxx ??? Isn't that more of a Ryzen 3xxx thing?
Also what are you upgrading FROM? Like, your friend upgraded memory for more FPS, what was his old memory?

honest, I'm not trying to a jerk, it's that... for the 1 and 2 gen Ryzen, i mean, yea back in the day Samsung B-die was the holy grail and awesome, but unless your buddy is coming from like the worst 2133 CAS 24 memory in existance, like expecting more than 10fps gain might be ... over optimistic?

And more modern mobo firmwares (in my limited experience) more geared for later hynix sticks. It's not to say that you're SOL with B-die, and it's totally fun to try and run the lowest CAS you can for a given speed but I've noticed later firmwares B-die gets to be more a PITA to post vs hynix. And in the end I'm not sure it matters. I guess what I'm saying is have fun but don't fret if you can't hit some crazy CAS 12 @ 3400 on a 2600 because while those timings would be really awesome... it's like maybe +3 FPS at MOST in a game vs a lazy 3200 CAS 16.

Yea... It's cool if you get it, but.... it's not like you're gonna notice in game.

That said, my only experience with Pinnacle Ridge (?) is a 1600 AF ... which is like the worst binned 2xxx.
But if you already have it, it never hurts to play =D

On my AsRock ab350m-Pro4 the 1600AF memory side was happy up to 3533? I just remember it was 1 under 3600, and it was crazy better than the 1600AE (which topped out at 3066) but made.... like zero difference in perf. eeekk

The 1600 AE i never could get like more than 3750 out of stable, and the 1600AF despite being amazing memory side, gaves me the finger over 3800 unless I do stupid volts like 1.5v.

I guess what i'm saying is, if your friend just needs more memory then the cheapest 16GB kit 3600 rated (hello OLOY) ram (hynix, CJR which happily timed down to CAS 16 @ that 3533) is totally fine, but if you friend is upgraded just for more FPS (other than outright stuttering because - out of ram) I'm not sure this is the way to get it. You might want to look into a Ryzen 3300x or 3600 instead.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
177 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
It's kinda a rough road if you're trying to pick up FPS from mem speed on Ryzen 2xxx ??? Isn't that more of a Ryzen 3xxx thing?
Also what are you upgrading FROM? Like, your friend upgraded memory for more FPS, what was his old memory?

honest, I'm not trying to a jerk, it's that... for the 1 and 2 gen Ryzen, i mean, yea back in the day Samsung B-die was the holy grail and awesome, but unless your buddy is coming from like the worst 2133 CAS 24 memory in existance, like expecting more than 10fps gain might be ... over optimistic?

And more modern mobo firmwares (in my limited experience) more geared for later hynix sticks. It's not to say that you're SOL with B-die, and it's totally fun to try and run the lowest CAS you can for a given speed but I've noticed later firmwares B-die gets to be more a PITA to post vs hynix. And in the end I'm not sure it matters. I guess what I'm saying is have fun but don't fret if you can't hit some crazy CAS 12 @ 3400 on a 2600 because while those timings would be really awesome... it's like maybe +3 FPS at MOST in a game vs a lazy 3200 CAS 16.

Yea... It's cool if you get it, but.... it's not like you're gonna notice in game.

That said, my only experience with Pinnacle Ridge (?) is a 1600 AF ... which is like the worst binned 2xxx.
But if you already have it, it never hurts to play =D

On my AsRock ab350m-Pro4 the 1600AF memory side was happy up to 3533? I just remember it was 1 under 3600, and it was crazy better than the 1600AE (which topped out at 3066) but made.... like zero difference in perf. eeekk

The 1600 AE i never could get like more than 3750 out of stable, and the 1600AF despite being amazing memory side, gaves me the finger over 3800 unless I do stupid volts like 1.5v.

I guess what i'm saying is, if your friend just needs more memory then the cheapest 16GB kit 3600 rated (hello OLOY) ram (hynix, CJR which happily timed down to CAS 16 @ that 3533) is totally fine, but if you friend is upgraded just for more FPS (other than outright stuttering because - out of ram) I'm not sure this is the way to get it. You might want to look into a Ryzen 3300x or 3600 instead.
Friend needed more RAM, opted for 16 GB. According to 1usmus overclocking guide, which was made on a Zen+ CPU, there was increase in FPS with RAM overclocking, though this is a B350 that doesn't clock higher than 3400 MHz without more tinkering, like he said, but the difference is still there if you check the numbers.
Well anyway, I was able to boot into Windows with 3400 MHz, however when I ran Testmem5 using 1usmus_v3 config PC crashed after 6 errors. I'll increase the DRAM and SoC voltage by a little. Here is the AIDA64 result after the overclock.
AIDA64new.png
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
134 (0.04/day)
Friend needed more RAM, opted for 16 GB.
Well I mean i'm not trying to discourage you. 16GB from 8 is totally worth it. Memory pricing right now, at least here in the US is really awesome. And the fact that the 16gb you got is Samsung B-die won't hurt you =D

If I'm reading that screenshot right, a 2700x @ 4150 is already kicking some ass, let alone that you're at 3400 CAS 14 1T (is GearDown off?)

I think that 2700x is running about as fast as she's gonna get! (good job!)

If you need more FPS, video card next! (good luck!)
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
177 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Geardown mode is enabled because of the Safe preset I would say. System seems to be stable now by increasing DRAM voltage to 1.37V, SoC voltage to 1.0375V, lowering procODT to 48 ohms, and disabling rtt_nom.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
134 (0.04/day)
Geardown mode is enabled because of the Safe preset I would say. System seems to be stable now by increasing DRAM voltage to 1.37V, SoC voltage to 1.0375V, lowering procODT to 48 ohms, and disabling rtt_nom.
I didn't mean it as a slam, at the speeds and timings you are at, on 2xxx Ryzen, you'd have to have some sort of god chip and/or voltage gonna kill your IMC in a week to turn geardown off.

Again, that 2700x is kicking some serious ass. Well done.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
177 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I didn't mean it as a slam, at the speeds and timings you are at, on 2xxx Ryzen, you'd have to have some sort of god chip and/or voltage gonna kill your IMC in a week to turn geardown off.

Again, that 2700x is kicking some serious ass. Well done.
So you're saying I should turn it off?
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
134 (0.04/day)
(laughs)

No man, you're good. What I meant is at the speeds and timings you are at, there's no shame in having to have geardown enabled (Geardown mode roughly is like having your command rate set to 1.5T)
That said, you can try turning it off just to see (Geardown OFF with 1T command set = actually running at 1T). If windows bluescreens or other problems just turn GearDown back on.

Sorry for the confusion.

EDIT ADD: actually, errr.. more likely since you're already at CAS14 @ 3400 turning geardown = off will either

a)work
b)not post

so um. how's the bios recovery on MSI boards? oops

ah gez now I feel bad. I hope I didn't just brick this guys box.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
177 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
@xrror
I left it enabled because it apparently improves stability. I also want more stability on his PC because I don't have it anymore and I have to deal with any potential issues. Personally I didn't want to hassle for another day with the timings. These timings ran fine, finished a lot of stress tests including the 1usmus_v3 config, default serj config, anta777's low and medium configs.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
177 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I really hate this, friend calls me and tells that he's having game crashes and some BSODs. I tested the damn overclock for a few hours using Testmem5 and different configs, also left GTA V running for 1 hour, no problems at all. No errors during memory stress tests, but there are BSODs when he plays some game that doesn't even use RAM all that much... Told him to load default settings, and change back to XMP Profile #2 which is 3200 MHz (14-14-14-34), he says there's no issues then. My guess would be it's related to the B350 chipset and limited overclocking potential of the MSI B350 Tomahawk (not the best one of the bunch). This doesn't really make much sense.
None the less I still think it's a solid upgrade from 2x4 GB Corsair LPX Vengeance running at 2400 MHz. Running a 3600 MHz CL16 kit on this motherboard would be questionable.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
1,525 (4.05/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x with optimus sigV2 & 10900k with optimus foundation & Q9550 with EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) Titan Xp & 1080ti ftw3 & evga 980ti
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply evga 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 & CyberPower-GX1325U
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G910 & G710+x2
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Hi,
3200c14 do need some extra dimm voltage to do 34-3600mhz price of c14
Seen the newer 3600c14 ? it's default is 1.45v lol where as 3600c16 is 1.35v
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
177 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Hi,
3200c14 do need some extra dimm voltage to do 34-3600mhz price of c14
Seen the newer 3600c14 ? it's default is 1.45v lol where as 3600c16 is 1.35v
Original voltage for the XMP profile is 1.35V. I was getting BSODs with 1.36, but it was alright with 1.37 at 3400 Mhz, or so it seemed...
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
1,525 (4.05/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x with optimus sigV2 & 10900k with optimus foundation & Q9550 with EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) Titan Xp & 1080ti ftw3 & evga 980ti
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply evga 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 & CyberPower-GX1325U
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G910 & G710+x2
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Original voltage for the XMP profile is 1.35V. I was getting BSODs with 1.36, but it was alright with 1.37 at 3400 Mhz, or so it seemed...
Hi,
Yeah if you notice min/ max reading on dimm voltage it will ready a max well above rated dimm voltage
This is a bad example of what I'm saying I forget my actual dimm voltage setting it maybe set at 1.36v on a 3600c16 set using 3200c14 timings

1611354400212.png
 
Top